Jump to content

Unclechawie

Members
  • Content Count

    81
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Unclechawie

  1. Just got notified by CSI that my order shipped yesterday. Also, I pre-ordered for the discount and for the free shipping by ordering over $100 as a whole. Had to wait a few extra days, but it beat having to pay for shipping for the first order and shipping again for the second.
  2. KristoffStark said: skullcap said: Where in the rules does it say that if a game ability does not specify los, then it dosen't? I could not find that. Also, the rules do seem to imply that the players need to determine the order of play before starting to take their actions. Counting Spaces, top of page 13: "Counting Spaces Some abilities require players to count the spaces from a figure to the target of the ability. When counting spaces for attacks and abilities, players ignore any non-obstacle terrain in those spaces (see “Terrain” on page 18). The player just needs to verify that his target is in range for the ability to reach the target. If an ability affects figures within a specified number of spaces, line of sight is not needed unless specifically noted. However, when counting spaces for an ability, players cannot count spaces through a door because the spaces are not considered adjacent." Now, I realize, having read this again, that it's talking about "abilities," and not specficially the actions available from Class Cards. I also realize that it is speaking of when "an ability affects figures," but I don't see why a search token would be substantially different. I understand the phrase "If an ability affects figures within a specified number of spaces, line of sight is not needed unless specifically noted," to be generic enough to apply to other actions and targets as well. I have read that there are players who think the rules imply that the decision on turn order must be decided before the first hero activates, but I just don't see that. I imagine they're referencing the phrase: "Each round, the hero players decide as a group the order in which they wish to act. This order may be different each round." This phrasing might be considered to imply that this decision is made a the beginning of each round, but nowhere is this explicitly stated. For a differing point of view, I point to the following from the Hero Turn Summary: "After the player flips his Activation card, another hero begins his turn." I note another hero. Not the next hero, which might be the language I would expect in the case of a pre-determined list. From this, I infer that there is no hero yet defined as next. I recognize that this issue may require clarification from FFG. Actually, that's not the part that implies turn order being decided up front. It's the next. If the players can't decide, they act in seating order starting on the OL's left hand. If the players got to decide as the round proceeded, this would never be a factor and would never happen unless they happened to have decided for that to happen.
  3. any2cards said: exy said: any2cards said: Since you can interrupt one action with another, it seems to me that you can perform a Leap Attack action with a blood ape, interrupt it to do a move action, and then complete the Leap Attack. Seems to me you could do a lot of damage this way, potentially affecting all heroes with a single attack (assuming you can reach all of them). I don't have the rules in front of me, but I believe you cannot, in general, interrupt actions. Move actions are exceptional in that they can be interrupted. So you could interrupt a normal move to perform a Leap Attack, but you could not interrupt a Leap Attack (which says to move a certain number of spaces, not to take a Move action) with a Move action. Thanks for posting all the preview information, by the way. My spreadsheet is filling up! Hmmmm …. the leap attach says the following: Action: Leap Attack: This monster may MOVE its Speed, ignoring enemy figures as it does so. When it finishes its MOVEMENT, perform a single attack taht targets each figure this monster moved through. Each figure rolls defense dice separately. Limit once per turn. Note the emphasis is mine. Granted, it is not specifically a movement action, but it is an action that includes movement. I definitely understand your position, but I really see that this could be debated both ways. Let's assume that you are correct. I would imagine that there are still circumstances with the relatively small map, skinny corridors, etc. that such movement will still be able to affect multiple heroes. I think the most interesting aspect is that it does not have to be in a direct straight line like before. So unless you keep your heroes significantly away from each other (making it harder for them to support each other), this still could cause some good mayhem. Just looked through the rules and the only action that the rules say can be interrupted is the movement action.
  4. Igneus said: Also, I like to add that for us South Americans the game costs us a little fortune. It can't be bought nowhere, so we have to ship it from USA, which doubles the cost. After spending that much money, I want to protect the cards so they can be played with even when I'm dead Acording to the case they come in, they are "100 micron polypropylee" plastic. I guess that is the measure of how thick they are. I only had a difficulty shuffling the item decks of WOW Boardgame (hundreds of cards), else you won't notice any difference. And the cards can be read as well as those without sleeves. To Unclechawie: here not even the games are sold in stores (the most complicated boardgame you'll find in Argentina is Monopoly). So we buy everything online from CoolStuffInc (http://www.coolstuffinc.com) or The War Store (http://www.thewarstore.com). Maybe you can try that too. Entiendo Senor. I lived in Bolivia for 6 years and getting most things down there was ridiculous. As a matter of fact my parents still live there on a full time basis. I'd offer their assistance to make the shipping less expensive, but they are currently in Cochabamba with no plans on coming up here. Plus they normally have all their suitcases chock full of stuff to take back with them. As for me, I currently live in Texas so don't have any issues with supplies. Coolstuffinc is a great place and I'm currently waiting for them to send me my e-mail as to when my order is shipping (stupid conversion kit). One of the guys that works there (does all the TCGs) is an online acquaintance of mine from having played VS System for several years.
  5. KristoffStark said: Unclechawie said: The really sad part is that to sleeve all the cards you need for packs of sleeves (smaller mini-american size). Unfortuantely, unless you have another game to use them on, 48 of the fourth pack go to waste. Makes me wonder if FFG did that on purpose to sell more sleeves. I know it's not a ton money but if you don't want to buy that 4th pcak, just unsleeve to of the condition cards and leave them in the box. Considering how varried the number of cards of any give size are in any given game, how many sleeves would you suggest they put in one pack? But aside from that, cards and card sleeves have always had the same relationship as hot dogs and hot dog buns. Most card games require a deck minimum of 60. So how may sleeves are in the standard pack? 50. Yes, they love your money. I agree that from a business perspective they need to decide on a standard pack size. It just sucks that in this case, FFG decided the the appropriate number of cards for the game was 152 instead of 150. It wouldn't have been as annoying if there were 175 of those sized cards, but in my case, I don't have any other games that use that sized card. Thus 48 get to go to waste/get reserved (to replace damaged sleeves).
  6. The really sad part is that to sleeve all the cards you need for packs of sleeves (smaller mini-american size). Unfortuantely, unless you have another game to use them on, 48 of the fourth pack go to waste. Makes me wonder if FFG did that on purpose to sell more sleeves. I know it's not a ton money but if you don't want to buy that 4th pcak, just unsleeve to of the condition cards and leave them in the box.
  7. Unclechawie said: Sausageman said: Unclechawie said: In regards to the sleeves, that should be fairly simple to figure out. I don't see any reason FFG would use different size cards from what is in the main game. So basically, you'll simply need 2 sleeves (ACT I and ACT II) of the appropriate size (don't remember off the top of my head) per monster type that was in the first edition (again, don't remember off the top of my head). Unless you are buying sleeves for the hero cards (oversized) that should do it. How many is that? And are there any smaller card sleeves needed? Since I don't have the 1st Edition game I had to rely on the information contained on the www.descentintothedark.com website. It shows 25 first edition monsters. Thus 50 sleeves. The monster cards from the 2nd Edition are "Bridge-sized" per the 2nd Edition rulebook. So overall, you'll need: 152 Small Sleeves (Base Game) -FFG Yellow - 1 5/8" X 2 1/2" - 41mm x 63mm 132 Bridge-sized Sleeves - FFG Green - 2 1/4" X 3 1/2" - 56mm X 87mm Base Game - 82 cards Conversion Kit - 50 cards Hope this helps. Typo: Should be 134 Bridge Sized Sleeves.
  8. Sausageman said: Unclechawie said: In regards to the sleeves, that should be fairly simple to figure out. I don't see any reason FFG would use different size cards from what is in the main game. So basically, you'll simply need 2 sleeves (ACT I and ACT II) of the appropriate size (don't remember off the top of my head) per monster type that was in the first edition (again, don't remember off the top of my head). Unless you are buying sleeves for the hero cards (oversized) that should do it. How many is that? And are there any smaller card sleeves needed? Since I don't have the 1st Edition game I had to rely on the information contained on the www.descentintothedark.com website. It shows 25 first edition monsters. Thus 50 sleeves. The monster cards from the 2nd Edition are "Bridge-sized" per the 2nd Edition rulebook. So overall, you'll need: 152 Small Sleeves (Base Game) -FFG Yellow - 1 5/8" X 2 1/2" - 41mm x 63mm 132 Bridge-sized Sleeves - FFG Green - 2 1/4" X 3 1/2" - 56mm X 87mm Base Game - 82 cards Conversion Kit - 50 cards Hope this helps.
  9. Marximus said: The way this supplement is releasing seems very odd to me. There was a great deal of fanfare from FFG and from online stores about the 2nd Edition base game. It's release date was made public weeks ago and I was able to order it last Monday from Coolstuffinc - two days before FFG "officially" announced it was available in stores. The release of the Conversion Kit seems almost shrouded in mystery by comparison. Coolstuff and several other online stores don't have it for pre-order (listing it as out of stock) and don't even have a box cover pictured on the sales page. Other than a short preview months ago, FFG hasn't had much to say about the Kit at all. What gives? I'm not exactly sure how much you're looking for here. Would a release date have been nice? Yeah, but the big deal was the main game. The conversion kit simply gives access to the old heroes and monsters. For the most part, only those who are buying the game are going to consider the conversion kit. In regards to the marketing, they were previewing numerous heroes on their facebook site. You can find all the previewed information on the kit on BGG. In regards to it not being available for pre-order, I can tell you from experience that Coolstuffinc has had it for pre-order for months now and I just double checked and it is still listed as available for pre-order. In regards to the sleeves, that should be fairly simple to figure out. I don't see any reason FFG would use different size cards from what is in the main game. So basically, you'll simply need 2 sleeves (ACT I and ACT II) of the appropriate size (don't remember off the top of my head) per monster type that was in the first edition (again, don't remember off the top of my head). Unless you are buying sleeves for the hero cards (oversized) that should do it.
  10. www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_news.asp New article on the news feed shows a release date of about one week. Giving a little leeway this should be on shelves by 7/30/2012 as has been previously suggested. Glad to finally get some type of confirmation/estimate as I pre-ordered both at the same time and mine is being help up by the conversion kit.
  11. @JSM3050 What will be in Thursday? The base game or the conversion kit?
  12. Edit: Referencing Schmoo34 If that were the case, the "while you have this card" is completely unnecessary. It would simply read, "-> Discard this card or token. This is the only action you may perform on your turn." By adding in "while you have this card", it further specifies when on your turn you are limited to this action. While you have this card on your turn, the only action you can take it is to discard it. Once that is done, you no longer have the card, and thus, if you have any actions left, you may take them.
  13. OK, so here is the card in question. www.boardgamegeek.com/image/1310671/descent-journeys-in-the-dark-second-edition The wording on the card indicates that spending an action to discard the card is the only action your can perform while you have the card. If you are stunned to start your turn. The only action you can perform at this point is to discard the card. Once you discard the card however you no longer have the card and thus can use that second action. That is how I would rule it and wat I believe makes most sense based on the wording.
  14. any2cards said: I appreciate the time you are taking to provide information both about the actual game, as well as what was discussed at Realms. I must admit that I can at least appreciate the point of view of wanting to actually see the cards you purchased come into play at some point. I can't tell you the number of times I speant treachery in D1 to swap out base level cards, only to get an unfortunate shuffle that put a majority of the cards at the end of the deck. Having said that, you still will have to play a quest/encounter or perhaps two within a campaign where you don't yet get to buy any cards. For those quests/encounters, I will know exactly all 15 cards in the deck, and can play accordingly as cards come out. I guess I just wished that the number of cards provided was say 30 or 45, and from that the OL draws/deals 15 cards for his base deck. At least that way, you wouldn't know what was within the deck. One of the reasons why that I really hope as they move forward, expansions are released that include additional base deck cards as well as additional campaigns, quests, and encounters. I guess this leads me to an additional question. Suppose I choose to never play in campaign mode (won't happen, but just suppose), but just decide to play individual quests/encounters (perhaps because I am always playing with different people - no continuity, no reason for a campaign). It is my understanding that in this situation all you ever will play with, as the OL, is the base deck. In that case, you run into the same problem I have been discussing. Can you confirm this? I suppose I could always make some kind of homebrew rule, but … just curious. Not quite, the game rules allow you to choose a method of play. If you opt not to play the campaign, you get to choose a level to play at. Each player would then be able to build his hero/OL with the gold and XP branted them by that specific level and then play the campaign. This lets you vary the play experience and not have to worry about playing only with the same 15 cards each time.
  15. I would definitely be in for at least 2 extra sets to split between heroes.
  16. Actually the rules DO state that the hero gets placed in the closest empty non-lava space. The issue is actually that it is a part of the knockout process. When the hero is knocked out his hero token gets placed in the nearest empty non-lava space. Then the OL places his monsters in such a way that when its the hero's turn to stand up, he is forced to stand up in the closesest empty space, which in this scenario is a lava space, thus immediately killing the hero as he can't move when he stands up. A thread on BGG has discussed the possibility of the hero simply chosing not to stand up. The rules for this do say "may" so technically the hero could choose not to stand up, essentially wasting the OL's actions and time, allowing his group a better opportunity to win the quest. But in the off chance that the OL is just a punk and decides he's lost the quest anyway and would rather just piss off a certain player, OK, the rules allow for him to be screwed over as well. A thread on BGG has discussed the possibility the the Hero just stays knocked out. The rules for this state that standing up is the only action a hero "MAY" perform. May indicates that he doesn't have to and thus he chooses to stay knocked out essentially wasting the setup the OL was intent on setting up. Other than that, another easy house rule would be that the hero token is placed in the lava where the hero was knocked out. When he stands up or is revived, he is moved to the closest empty non-lava space available.
  17. Video Trailer released. www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_news.asp
  18. I just looked over the rules and I don't believe it is ambiguous. "If any other game effect FORCES a hero to suffer Fatigue in excess of his Stamina instead suffers damage equal to the excess fatigue that would have been suffered." Its all about cost and effect gentlemen. If suffering Fatigue is a cost (using a skill, additional movement, other game mechanic that requires the use of Fatigue to do something) it is optional and does not force the hero to suffer Fatigue. Thus you can't use if you don't have the necessary Fatigue. An effect on the other hand is the result of having used a skill or other mechanic that may cause the loss of Fatigue. This would force the loss of Fatigue but it is not voluntary. To illustrate: Cost: You have a relic that requires you to suffer 3 Fatigue to activate it's ability. You can't use it if you have too much Fatigue. Effect: You have a relic that you can use for free. As a part of the effect you suffer 3 Fatigue. You can use this regardless of the amount of Fatigue you have.
  19. Jafix said: They state a "late summer" in their last preview… well, that give a hint (dont expect june) Given the retailer preview is in July, I don't think anyone is expecting June .
  20. Unclechawie said: The new preview is out and it takes us through the Mage and Necromancer classes. Enjoy www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_news.asp Sorry Runemaster, not Mage.
  21. The new preview is out and it takes us through the Mage and Necromancer classes. Enjoy www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_news.asp
  22. Thinking the one on the back right is the Merriod. Could be wrong though.
  23. That would be easy enough to accomplish. Just use the travel system to either go directly to another quest or back to the town. I think the reason they didn't do this is that in the vast majority of cases and given the opportunity, the heroes would opt to heal and shop before going on another quest. Since there are no OL turns on the campaign map similar to RtL, the heroes have no reason not to go back to town to heal and shop as they are not being pressured by opposing Lieutenants. That being the case, it makes some sense to just move them back to town to heal and shop before the next quest.
  24. Looks like release is pushed back into July/August time frame. Preview events July 6-8.
  25. The Sinister Schemes preview stated that at the start of each quest the OL has the opportunity to pair his full deck down to a minimum of 15 cards.
×
×
  • Create New...