Jump to content

Patton68

Members
  • Content Count

    8
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Patton68

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Edmonds, Washington, United States
  1. 6 RRG: “When a player has a unit with an initiative that matches the number that was said out loud, the count stops and he activates that unit. If multiple units have the same initiative, the players take turns activating those units, starting with the 1st player. Players continue counting out loud, stopping to activate units as appropriate, until all units have activated.” The rules tell you that activation happens during the activation phase. None of your units are active until their initiative number comes up on your turn(P1 or P2) If you have multiple units with the same initiative value the unit you choose is active. If your Flesh Rippers have the current initiative value and are your only unit with that initiative they would automatically be the active unit without touching their dial. Activation happens automatically as you count through initiative. You can’t skip your units initiative or your turn. If you put a blank space on the dial it’s initiative is 10 and every unit has to be activatedd for the current initiative before going to the next higher number or end phase. Therefore your unit is activated by the initiative you set for it and not before. You activate at least one of your units with the current initiative value. If you only have one unit the rules clearly state you activate that unit. “When a player has a unit with an initiative that matches the number that was said out loud, the count stops and he activates that unit”. You want the rules to say activation starts with turning over your dial 5.1 they don’t. They say you activate a unit when it matches the current initiative. “When a player has a unit with an initiative that matches the number that was said out loud, the count stops and he activates that unit”. I know you’re going to say that it says the player activates the unit. However it also says this ”6.2 If a command tool has no chosen action, the unit is activated at initiative 10.” activation is dependent on initiative. 5 RRG: “When a player activates one of his units, he resolves the following steps in order:” Which means a unit has to be active before you can resolve 5.1 “Reveal Command Tool: The player reveals his unit’s command tool by tipping it over so the icons on the dial are faceup on the play area.” It does not say turn over your command dial to activate that unit. The rules reference guide is alphabetical which is why 6 activation phase is after 5 activation. Rule 5 is a subset of rule 6 Activation Phase which is also the game sequence. It is clear that your initiative determines your units activation. I do however understand your question and the semantics because in the learn to play guide it states turning over your command dial is how you activate a unit. “To activate a unit, a player reveals that unit’s command tool by tipping it over so the icons on the dials are face up”. However this statement is made as part of the activation phase rules and after the statement “When a player has a unit with an initiative that matches the number that was said out loud, the count stops and he activates that unit”. Oh and to be clear you can’t move your Flesh rippers and then activate another unit and say that it’s their move Before you reveal their dial on your next turn. Lol
  2. A player chooses 1of his units to activate during the Activation Phase 6RR “During the Activation Phase, players activate each of their units, starting with the unit that has the lowest initiative and continuing in order of ascending initiative. 6.1 Players resolve the Activation Phase by counting out loud, starting with “one.” At each number during the count, the 1st player declares if he has a unit with an initiative value that matches that number. If he does, he activates one unit that has that initiative value.” You are activating a unit when you pick that unit. So flesh rippers are an active unit when you choose them over any other units with the same initiative. 5RR “Units are activated during the Activation Phase. When a player activates one of his units, he resolves the following steps in order:” Activation happens before you tip over your command dial that is just the first step in resolving the activation. The weird thing is you kept referencing the rule that tells you right in the first sentence that the unit is active.
  3. I understand where your coming from but you get 2 defense from being in a woods hex which provides cover (hard trees) and concealment (bushes, branches, broken LOS). Smoke only provides concealment not cover, which is why I think it should be only 1 defense but still blocking (cant see through it).
  4. I have one problem with smoke and that is that it gives 2 cover. Now I understand that to keep things playable for the average weekend gamer FFG didn't make over complex rules. Smoke as blocking terrain I get, the half firepower I get, but hard cover I do not understand. I think that it should only be 1 cover to represent lack of clear LOS. Anybody else have a take on why it should be 2?
  5. yes it works without being to complex, the best part is when your opponent guesses wrong. Try it you will be surprised at how it changes movement until squads are revealed.
  6. OK concealment works as is but fails to do one important thing conceal your squads from your opponent. This can be done rather easily with out changing the way the rule works now. Simply mark a letter (A,B,C and D) on one side of the concealment tokens say opposite of the question mark. Then take a piece of paper or cardboard and draw 4 squares and label each square with a letter (a,b,c,and d). Now place each of your concealed squads in a box on the paper (only 1 per box). Keeping the letter of the concealment marker secret from your opponent, place it with the letter down on the board as you would the squad normally. You will move only your tokens until your concealment is broken or removed. The squad with the matching letter on the token that is revealed is placed on the board. This will introduce a little fog of war into your game and your oppenat will not send his tanks right at your regular infantry if he thinks it might be the squad of elites with the AT specialation. Keep in mind that it only works with 2 or more squads and if you have an officer concealed but move 5 every time your opponent will know. let me know what you think.
  7. I am new to the game so I am just learning with a friend how to play. In the first scenario as the Germans I got frustrated because I did not seem to be doing that much damage. Yet I was assaulting the objective hexes on the 3 round with heavy losses and I quit in the fourth because I thought I had a flawed plan ( it was but not the way I was thinking). Then I read the post here and saw that I had done OK for a new player and that combined fire really wouldn't have helped. To make my point when I got to play the American in the same scenario I was able to stall my friends attack by putting squads in the trees. For 5 rounds he blasted the poor Bas...... with combined fire and I kept putting new units in. Every time I moved and fired I would pick off 1 guy here or one there and my entrenched units were working him over. I think however the best example would be 2 full squads in the same hex one with an officer, hit with suppressive fire. One squad was pinned but because of the officer could still make an attack. I could roll 4 halved due to pinned plus 4 halved for combined equals 4 firepower or 2 firepower and second action 4 firepower. More dice equals more chances for a result however more throws of the dice equal more chances for results.
  8. It would be nice to have an updated errata sheet and maybe some FAQs thrown in. I like the idea of a rules compendium, with advanced rules too.
×
×
  • Create New...