Jump to content

civBob

Members
  • Content Count

    8
  • Joined

  • Last visited

    Never

About civBob

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Richardson, Texas, United States
  1. krotznapopulov said: The Hanging Garders says 'Start of turn: build a figure in the squrare containing the Hanging Gardens for free'. Does this happen every single turn as long as the wonder is active (and you have figures in your stack), or just once (the first turn after you build the wonder)? Same question for all the others. If you have the Opera House, do you advance on the culture track every turn? Do you get one coin every turn when you have the Canal? We thought this was a bit much, so we treated it as though these wonders had a one time only effect, at the start of the first turn after you build the wonder. Did we interpret this correct? Thanks in advance if anyone wants to answer. Wonders are powerful items. Start of turn does mean each and every start of turn, not just once. This may seem way over-powered and broken, but there are ways to counter wonders - use Tech II Monarchy to obsolete any ancient wonder; Tech III Gunpowder to obsolete any ancient or medieval wonder. The canal and opera house are modern wonders; you won't see those until very late game, at which point, the idea is to accelerate to the finish. In the ten games I've played, a modern wonder never hit the board.
  2. I think I'm wrong on this one. Having slept and looked at the rule book again, summarizing, it says players place the researched tech facedown in front of them in their pyramid until all players are ready to reveal their newly researched tech. In this regard, you'd have already spent and retained trade from coins, before the tech is revealed. This is yet another nuance part of the rules my friends and I have played incorrectly; we'd research simultaneously but simply place the tech face up - in some cases, allowing others to see their opponents tech before choosing themselves.
  3. I'd interpret that differently. From pg. 21 "Example 2: If the player from example 1 possessed four coins, they would retain 4 trade after learning Sailing." This is saying you first learn the tech, and then you retain trade based on the number of coins you possess. If a tech gives you a coin, I'd count it toward retaining trade immediately.
  4. Disregard my last post. It seems you're talking about having a scout in a city's outskirts and not on the city itself - to which, I do not disagree.
  5. "I actually sent in a rules question about the Scout asking if it may funnel resources from one of your own cities to another of your cities and the answer was yes. So you CAN let a scout figure send, for example, construction points that your Capital doesn't need (maybe they Capital is devoting to the arts or have more construction than they need anyway) to a newly settled city to help boost the new city's initial growth. Needless to say, though, the Capital cannot also use the same resources." Fnoffen - Can you link the primary source of the errata regarding Scouts being able to sit in one of your cities and send back resources? This directly contradicts pg. 20 "Friendly and Enemy Cities: A player may move their figures through their own city centers, but they may not end any figure's movement in their city center. [...]" Also, even IF a scout could sit in one of your cities, pg. 13 "Building New Cities: [...] Note: The city center never generates anything. Its map [sic] icons are effectively erased as long as the city marker remains. Only squares in a city's outskirts provide icons and resources."
  6. okorz001 said: [...] I do not find barbarians hard to kill at all. The following may come off as preachy, which is not the intention. I simply believe you and your friends may be playing combat incorrectly for the following reasons (like my friends and I played incorrectly for our first seven games). In the beginning of the game, civilizations don't have combat bonuses and your unit hand size (in battle) is 3 - just like the Barbarians. If the Barbarians play a unit that you can't trump, then it's about a coin flip chance that you'll win that battle - at the end of combat, count up all remaining unit strength and combat bonuses to determine the winner. If you lose this early battle, you take a major loss in terms of growing your civilization. A first turn combat bonus is possible with the Germans, but not practical - you'd lose a lot of important early momentum, or Americans if they can get a General as their free random great person. You really do need some sort of advantage before picking a fight with Barbarians - either a combat bonus or having two army figures stacked and attacking simultaneously which add +2 to unit hand size - only Germany can field 5 units before the third turn - on the first two turns for every one else, they only have 1 city and can produce only 1 unit a turn. So, now we're into turn 3 before the first battle should take place against a Village. Most players will have researched two Tech I cards and be ready for their first Tech II at the end of Turn 3. Taking Code of Laws first turn seems - to me - a waste, because unless you're willing to battle in turn 1 or 2 at a coin flip's chance, you have a useless tech until turn 3. I'd much rather have Horseback Riding as my first turn tech - speed is very good. Third turn is less predictable, but if I'm able to research a Tech II, then I'm taking Sailing, Printing Press, or any of the three Tech's that upgrade my units to rank 2 - this is not the "correct" way to play, it's just how I play. After three turns, I still have no interest in Code of Laws; perhaps I'd consider it on turn four at the earliest. For sake of argument, let us suppose that you have Code of Laws, start attacking by turn 3 and continue to do so each subsequent turn - though I don't think even this is possible without a couple turns in which you're just moving into position, unable to attack anything. To be generous, let us say that by turn 7, you've won four battles and now have four coins. That's great, but not the boon you seem to think it is. Your other opponents will have had just as many turns doing whatever it is they do and will continue to be a threat worth reckoning. Back to the point about how I think you may be misplaying combat; you don't use combat bonuses to add to the strength of your units when playing them down on the field: pg. 25 "4. Resolving the Battle: After both players have played all of their battle forces, the battle is over. First, all wounds are removed from the surviving units in the battle. Then, each player tallies up the strength of all of their surviving units, adding in the value of the combat bonus card (if they have it). The player with the highest total wins the battle, with ties going to the defender." If the Barbarians tie or beat you early on, you're at a major disadvantage. Even if you win the battle, if you lost two units, you lose an army figure - though, you cannot lose your last army figure in this way (pg. 25 "Winner's Figure Losses). One of the reasons my friends and I did combat incorrectly is because this rule is the only instance mentioned in the rule book on how to apply combat bonuses. Unfortunately, combat examples provided in the rule book, do not show or discuss how to deal with combat bonuses. I hope this clears up why I suspect you may be playing combat incorrectly. Cheers
  7. Yes. Pg. 23 "Combat" [...] "When an army figure moves into a square containing a village marker, an enemy army figure, or an enemy city, a battle takes place." Though, I fail to see how anyone is getting four gold coins - by winning battles - before level 2 tech is being researched (which is often achieved by turn 3). Code of Laws says "Once per turn [...]." I suspect you may be doing combat incorrectly if you're defeating villages easily, turn after turn, in the beginning of the game. You need 15 gold coins for an economic victory, also... in case you're thinking you win once you get all 4 coins for Code of Laws.
  8. Quoted from the Russian card: "Once per turn, the Russians may move an army or scout into an enemy city and sacrifice that figure to research a tech known by that civilization for free. Armies sacrificed this way cannot also attack." The way I interpret and play Russia, is that I have to move a figure into a city (not the outskirts) and then I must sacrifice that figure to research a free tech, otherwise battle is triggered if an army moves into a city. Scouts cannot move into an enemy city, according to pg. 20 "Friendly and Enemy Units" with exception to the Russian rule.
×
×
  • Create New...