Jump to content

Adamaro

Members
  • Content Count

    14
  • Joined

  • Last visited

    Never

About Adamaro

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    , , Slovakia
  1. Sinfe FFG guys were kind enough for a fast reply, Im posting the whole correspondence thing here. 1. Here is the situation: We have Kevan Lannister next to green rank Lannister calvary unit. Both are activated and Kevan decides to use his ability to add +2 to attack of adjacent unit instead of attacking himself. Green rank Lannister calvary attacks opponent and routs him, thus using Pursue ability to attack again. My question is: When attacking the next time, is green rank calvary attacking with 2 or 4 dice (+2 bonus or no bonus)? Restrictive interpretation says no because: - it is no longer next to Kevan - Kevan can use his ability to replace attack with buffing adjacent unit only once But card buffs "stick" for entire round, thus this question. 1.1 Subquestion: What if Kevan buffs a unit that can attack twice and remains next to Kevan? (I am not sure this is even possible, the only unit that comes to my mind ATM is Maege Mormont that has activated ability to attack twice … but she is obviously a Stark unit so … ) 2. Now for this next question I am not exactly sure if it applies to Robb Stark "Young Wolf" option or "King in the North" option, but I know one of them has an ability for Robbs figure to switch places with friendly adjacent calvary commander. So here is the question: We have Robbs unit that lost all white horse figures and only has Robbs figure left. Next to it is green rank Stark calvary unit of full strength (3 white horse figures). When it is his turn and he is ordered, may Robb switch places with adjacent calvary banner bearer and keep his banner? The point being that player may have most of Robbs' red rank unit killed, then have Robb placed next to measly green rank Stark calvary, switch places with green rank calvary banner bearer and get sort of free new full strength red rank heavy calvary because Robb keeps his initial red baner. answer: 1) The idea is that the chosen unit would get the extra dice as long as it remained adjacent. So attacking twice while adjacent is okay. Pursuing is not (unless the ending space is adjacent as well). 2) No. The reason is twofold. 1st there is the rule that says commanders don't take damage like other units and the other rule that says you cannot use a commander to trigger card effects by taking hits. Basically you must have one or more figs with Robb to kick the ability. However, his banner does go with him. Of course the most annoying use of this power is if you can back Robb up with both a blue and green unit. When attacked, switch with the color that does not appear on any of the hit dice. I love pulling that off. Another good one is switching with Smalljon because of his Pursue 1 when counterattacking. Thanks for the questions! FFG
  2. Same here. This would be great fun and i think it would not take much programming effort. (maybe even an official tool, made by FFG?)
  3. Important question indeed. I treasure my figures and dice like ring of Sauron, but these things may get lost. Is there a way to replenish them?
  4. I do not have the cards at my hand ATM, but I know that some leaders (Robb Stark I think) have an ability I would like to clarify. This ability is to replace leader figure with flag bearer of an adjacent unit (prior to attack I think). My question is based on this example: - there is Robb stark figure with red banner on the field with no additional calvary figures - next to this unit is full power (3 horse figures) green calvary unit with green flag, belonging to Stark side - Robb uses his ability to switch places with adjacent flag bearer My question is: Does Robb figure keep its red flag or gets green flag of adjacent unit and is now considered part of a green rank unit? tnx
  5. I just used super glue. I used VERY SMALL quantities and it worked perfectly.
  6. Ahahaha! I got answers from Rob Kouba himself! Weee Just wanted to share my questions and answers I got here ... They are all regarding scenario nr. 9. 1. What does the term "to control" exactly mean? Especially in scenario 9. where besides houses there is also a demand for two bridges to be controlled, but have no control tokens on them? Must a unit stand on the bridge all the time for a bridge to be concicered controlled (game end)? As for houses with control tokens, if I am correct, one unit must stop there, token is changed to that unit houses' color and unit can continue its movement next turn, but building is still regarded as controlled by the house(Lannister/Stark) whos' unit entered this building previous turn. 2. Burn a) can a unit retreat into a burning building? (willingly or if forced by black flags and has no optional retreat route) b) can a hex with a unit standing on it be made to burn/Can a fire level be applied to that hex? 3. Commander Clegane in scenario 9. is a red rank unit. Is that maybe an error? In rulebook page 24 is Gregor the Reaver designated as blue rank unit. 4.Burning down the siege towers/tents. If a fire level is put on one of these, are these destroyed this turn or in this happens Regroup phase? 5. I would also ask for an an explanation of Gregor Clegane The Reaver commit ability which says: "Flip this card after executing an order to increase the level of all existing fires by 1. Then declare a direction. Spread up to 3 fires by two hexes in the declared direction. a) area of effect here is commanders' ZOC? b) if fires spread in a certain direction for two hexes, does this mean that lvl 1 fire levels are placed in these hexes? What if these hexes are plains or hills (no burn effect)? c)what if units stand in hexes where fire is to be spread? ANSWERS: 1) In the case you are talking about in Scenario 9, it refers to having a unit on that particular location so you would have to have a unit on the bridge in question to score at the game's end. You are correct as far as anything marked with a control marker (referred to as controlling objectives on pg. 3 of the Battle Plans). 2) a) No. b) Yes. This is done usually by a fire spreading onto the hex where the unit is. 3) His rank is red for that scenario. 4) Immediately (like the tent). 5) a) No. b) Yes. Think of it as the fire spreading once with a level one fire and then that level one fire spreading and causing another level one fire. So if you were spreading a fire adjacent to a river and chose the direction of the river, it would not spread at all. It wouldn't cause a level one fire to sprout up on the other side of the river. Does that make sense? Just so you know though, not having a burn effect does not necessarily mean that the hex does not have the capability to have fire. For example, the 4 after the Burn Threshold for plains means that you can place up to four levels of fire on that particular hex. c) The fire is placed normally and the unit has the possibility of taking damage in the Regroup Phase. Happy Gaming! FFG
  7. Gunshy said: I was wondering if toughness applies when attempting to capture a commander. I imagine it does i was only questioning it because of how annoyingly unstoppable it makes killing commanders. thanks Yup, it applies. And, lore-wise, good sir, in such medieval-sih settings commanders are not killed, but captured! Ransoms present a decent sum of money. Also, the figure of commander sort of represents commander and his/her entire retinue. And that is some noble, rich and 1337-weapons, heavy horse equipped retinue. So while one will be able to easily exterminate green rank war host of the north, it will be much more difficult to capture (not kill!) Rickard Karstark, Lord of Karlhold, a man as rich as say Donald Trump of today.
  8. Tnx for replies As for official queries ... cant they just read the forum? It is not busyest on the net.
  9. I have a few question regarding Toughness and ranged attacks. 1. There are some cards where a unit takes a hit in order to attack as one rank higher unit. Can toughness negate this effect while unit still gets the bonus? 2. Damage when unit gets black (retreat) flags rolled against it and can not retreat. Can toughness prevent this damage? 3. Do cover (in house) bonus and toughness stack? 4. Ranged attacks and directional retreat - if unit is hit with a ranged attack (black flag) that causes unit to retreat - must the unit retreat away from a direction from which attack came since this is not melee attack? tnx
  10. Another one. When we played last BOW we took into account new retreating rules, that is, that unit is retreating away from the attacker who also rolled black flags. Here's what happened: ADF A= attacker (leader) D=defender (leader unit with capture rating 2) F=forest A attacked D and rolled one hit and two black flags. D took one hit and retreated one hex, but this led him to a forest for which is known all units must stop when entering it. Now, we ruled that unit that can not move further due to forest effects does not get an additional one damage due to that second flag, but I would like to know if there are any rules regarding this? Should D be captured if he got stuck in the forest and could not move on?
  11. Addendum: 3.What conditions must be met in order for a location to be controlled by one side? Is it true that units must remain on a location during game end in order to claim them or must they just stop there once during the game or can they just march trought such locations in order for tokens to be replaced by those of the house to which a unit is part of? 4. Razing the Red Fork. Stark gets 1 VP for each controlled house, 1 for wood bridge and 2 for stone bridge? Despite the fact that stone bridge is easier to defend ... then wooden one. And Lannister gets 5 VPs for EACH razed house? Lannister can burn down like 2 houses and there is no way in hell Stark can amount enough VPs to match that. Or did I miss something? tnx
  12. 1.Archers and tokens Are archers considered engaged if they attack an adjecent unit? Is an engagement token placed between attacking archers and their target, the attack always being ranged? 2.Certain strategy sections of cards state that "if you have X and Y token in your Order Pool, then each enemy unit engaged with a friendly unit must take 1 hit. - does thie apply to entire battlefield or only to ZOC of a leader executing this command card? (I think I got this in errata. Tactics always affect an entire battlefield?) - how does this affect toughness keyword/cover effect?
×
×
  • Create New...