Jump to content

conykchameleon

Members
  • Content Count

    167
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About conykchameleon

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    , Pennsylvania, United States
  1. What if you set up your Royal Guard one or two spaces closer than that? (Possibly with the Reserved Groups in front of them? That's what I did anyway)
  2. Though I'm a big proponent of 'this game is actually pretty balanced', my experience is that if you get this mission at the wrong time (for my group it was early in the campaign after an Imperial win or two, maybe threat level 3?) it can be :really: hard for the rebels. If I remember correctly (I'm not near my game so I can't check), the Imperial player can bust down the door near the top of the map (as it's oriented in the rulebook) pretty easily with the E-web. Then you can spawn a Royal Guard as an optional deployment on either turn 2 or 3 (again, I forget). They grab the thing while the Reserved groups break down the other door near the bottom. Then, if you set it up right (and unless the Rebels are REALLY savvy), a Royal Guard team can escape out the entrance via a double move without being touched. Again, I think if we had gotten this later in the campaign, the heroes may have been able to give me more of a run for my money. But at the time we played it, I think I won in four (maybe five) turns without the Rebel players even attacking the 'carrier'.
  3. I agree that what you're saying makes sense, but I don't think the rules support it. Nowhere does it give the stipulation that you have to 'stop moving' to interact, since there's no real timeline for moving.
  4. We actually had this situation, the mission might have been called 'Brushfire' or something like that. Based on the same rules that I cited in the OP, if you have enough movement points, I believe you could complete the following sequence: 1) Spend your first action to gain X movement points. 2) Spend movement points to 'pass through' one of the spaces occupied by the Imperial figure that is adjacent to the terminal. 3) Spend your second action to interact with the terminal. 4) Spend remaining movement points to vacate the spaces occupied by the Imperial figure Anybody see any errors in that?
  5. I'll offer my experience, with the caveat that I haven't played with children. 1) My guess is that the average child in that age bracket would be able to play as a Rebel player. The biggest thing I would say about this question though, is that you should be ready to adapt and shave off complexity where needed. For example, some of the special abilities may be difficult to grasp. So the spending of XP and leveling up the class decks may prove difficult. If so, you could help them with that, or consider a simpler system of leveling up. I will say though, that I think the basic experience of the game is enjoyable enough that making these kinds of modifications would be just fine. 2) I would estimate that most groups could play through three campaigns of this without it getting 'same-y'. So at the absolute minimum, maybe 40 hours of gameplay? I think the biggest thing you should strongly consider is the attention span of the child and her friends in terms of sitting down for an individual missions. Which leads me to... 3) In my experience (we've gotten through one campaign so far), setup/playing/cleanup runs us about 90 min per mission. You can save some time on the front end by setting up the first map before the players arrive, but if you're playing multiple missions in a session, you're going to have some downtime while the Imperial player sets up the map and figures out deployment groups etc. (only 15 minutes, but a very slow 15 minutes). So without knowing the specifics of the situation, I would say that if you think the attention span is there and you're willing to adapt/change the rules to hit the right level of complexity it could be a good experience. Hope that helps!
  6. Another quick tip for Imperial players (this was said in another thread, but I can't remember which one or I would credit the poster): The biggest weapon the Imperial player has at his disposal is information. Between sessions, you will know what the next two missions will be (one story, and one side). Take twenty minutes and study them. Figure out how much threat you can generate by what turn and pick appropriate open groups. Check where your deployment points are relative to objective locations and plan accordingly. Just being comfortable with the specifics of the mission and the layout of the tiles will give you a huge advantage over the Rebel players.
  7. Yeah I would agree it's only one movement point. It's an interesting question though, and it represents a type of situation that makes me SO happy about the level of abstraction in the Movement/Line of Sight rules for Imperial Assault.
  8. I think the rules actually cover this, but I want to make sure other people are reading it the same way: If the Imperial player sits an AT-ST on top of the 'Entrance' space during one of the missions that involve an escape, Rebel players can still 'Escape', because the definition of 'Moving Through a Space' (Rules Reference, pg 19) says that the figure enters the space but cannot end its movement there. So by the definition of 'Escaping' (Rules Reference, pg 12) they have spent a movement point while in a space adjacent to the Entrance token. Does that seem right?
  9. For posterity (and Rich!): I figure he wouldn't mind me posting it here since the card has already been spoiled by FFG anyway
  10. ...cool. Can anybody tell me where to direct my rules questions for FFG?
  11. So I know not many people have it, but I figure I'd throw it out there because it's pretty vague. Can you use Frodo's response to cancel (for example) the Hide 2 triggered by revealing a Black Rider from the encounter deck; and then subsequently shuffle him back into the encounter deck? Is it really :that: powerful?
  12. Semi on-topic: I'm assuming treachery cards that damage allies also affect Arwen, even though she's an Ally-Objective?
  13. I understand what you're saying, but those rules are only governing when you "play" a card. It has already been established that "play" is different than "put into play", and I can find no such restriction on "put into play".
  14. When you cancel the When Revealed effect of a treachery card, and Surge or Doomed still happen. They happen before the When Revealed effect would even go off, let along canceled. Hope that helps!
×
×
  • Create New...