Jump to content

pauare67

Members
  • Content Count

    18
  • Joined

  • Last visited

    Never

About pauare67

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    , Virginia, United States
  1. You win the objective. A civil war automatically defeats the opponent and you get to win that objective card.
  2. I initially thought the man holding the keys was an actual photograph. It's the good. Excellent. Really..I am just ..wow! I visited your "signature" and saw more of your art. AMAZING!!!
  3. Hi This might be more of a question for FFG and maybe the community might be able to share some thoughts about this. I've been looking at the "paintings/images" on the cards and I am just amazed at the artwork. One Asylum pack, FFG had like 20 different artists do the work for each card. I was wondering where and how they were able to contact these artists? Take for example the card: "Domestic Sacrifice" (Yog Sototh event). Have you seen the artwork on this? It's a cat with it's head stuck in a sink-e-rator. I laughed at the artwork. Very smart! Another fantastic artwork is : "Sleep Therapist" (Agency Character). Ok just sharing some thoughts. Back to work... LOL!
  4. I am going to try TCO tonight. I am a new player and will probably get demolished when I play online. I have yet to win a game with the wifey. Haha!
  5. Thank you The Professor for your reply. Everything is clear now. By the way, I was being noseychecked your ORN Jazz signature. I see you love jazz. I'm a big jazz listener myself. I listen to Dexter Gordon, Roy Eldridge, Ben Webster, Art Tatum, Bud Powell, many others. Anyway, thank you SO much for your reply. Paul
  6. Hello, I have a question about activating an "Action" text in a card. I checked the forums for information regarding my predicament and I was unable to find anything similar to my inquiry. Here's an example based on my question: Mature Deep One(Cthulu-character) Action: Pay 3 to choose and destroy an Attachment card. Question: Am I allowed to put this card into play and delay the "action" written on the card until the right moment or am I required to immediately activate the "action" written on the card as soon as I put the card into play? Another example: Hastur (Hastur- Character) Action: Pay 3 to choose a character. That character goes insane. Question: Can I put this card into play and not activate the Action yet (even if I have 3 resources available); and then when the moment is right, say I want to put my opponent at a disadvantage, activate this Action (by paying 3 resources), assuming that this card has not been put out of play? My wife and I had a long discussion about delaying an Action text and activating the Action text as soon you put the card into play. We're confused. LOL! Thank you. Paul
  7. 1. The Thing 2. The Exorcist 3. Texas Chainsaw Massacre- original 4. Texas Chainsaw Massacre (2003) with Jessica Beal
  8. Other games that interests me and currently own. B-17- Flying Fortress : Single Player Board Game, next to impossible winning a bombing mission, fun Blackbeard- late 90s (?)- TONS of rules, I found it difficult to play Space Hulk (the 3rd edition)- sitting in my storage, good game Coup de Etat- very old boardgame 1990s- fun fun game, very funny take on gov't corruption The Hunt for Red October- early 90s- still a classic Sum of all Fears- early 90s- tons of tokens, easy to play A Line in the Sand- early 90s- fun to play, game came out after OPeration Desert Storm Arkham Horror- excellent Space Hulk- Death Angels- excellent Warhammer Quest- (still brand-new, have not opened since buying it in 1995?) For PC- currently playing RIFT (mmorpg), Forsaken World (free to play)
  9. I use fishing tackle boxes made by PLANO to store my CoC LCG cards. They have this fishing tackle box with yellow latches that you place your cards in. It even comes with plastic dividers so you can organize your cards. The plastic dividers can be removed and moved to different slots. For my Arkham Horror game, and other board games (WotC -Ravenloft, Ashardalon), I was able to fit all of them in a PLANO heavy duty fishing tackle box. I find tackle boxes the best to store board games and cards because they are very secure and well covered, and it comes with a handle that you can carry around with you.
  10. I too had problems understanding the Azathoth card. I learned it the hard way. It was my wife's turn and then she put it into play and she immediately declared herself the winner. Of course I was wondering how she managed to declare herself the winner when the card says "At the end of the turn, you are eliminated from the game." The key phrase she pointed out was "At the end of the turn..." I was left with no characters or support cards to control, she had Azathoth, she was leading by two stories and three tokens, she was still in the middle of her TURN. She won the her third story and immediately the game ends. I didn't speak to her all evening after that game and that card she played . LOL!!!
  11. It's an awesome game. When I don't feel like playing CoC, I do a solo game of SH:DA and it's FUN! I find it funny when I get massacred. Funny in a sense that "Man I got owned again by these Genestealers." sort of funny. Shuffle the deck and try again. You'll hear Bill Paxton in your head yelling "Game Over man!" when you get surrounded in the first few minutes of the game and you've already lost two marines. One thing that I would advise is to read up on the FACING rule. How you are facing will determine what you can do with your marines. There's a rule there about Support Tokens and how you are facing. Make sure you read and remember it. On my very very first run of the game, I didn't put the support token facing rule and I felt the game was too easy. On my second run and after having corrected my mistake, the game became HARD..challenging!
  12. I am new to CoC LCG and after buying the core set from my local store, I managed to get Secrets of Arkham and Order of the Silver Twilight from the same store the following day. I did a lot of reading in this forum to guide me to my next step, and quite a few have said to immediately get the two deluxe mini-core sets. I then hunted down the APs and I managed to get the complete Dreamworld Cycle AP, and the complete The Yuggoth Contract cycle AP. Now I am working towards completing the Summons of the Deep cycle. I am only missing two from this cycle.. The Antediluvian Dreams (not sure if this is already out) and The Terror of the Tides (not sure if this is out already). The "Thing from the Shore" was a bit of a challenge to hunt down but my local store was lucky enough to find one. I removed the two banned cards Magah (Journey Unknown Kadath) and Endless Interrogation (The Thing from the Shore)from our decks for safekeeping. I have a feeling these will be a sought after card even if banned. I asked my local store if they could find Ancient Horrors for me and the guy at the register gave me that "You gotta be kidding me." look. He said it's next to impossible finding Ancient Horrors. Oh well... Just sharing with you what I began acquiring as a new player to CoC LCG.
  13. Thank you SO muc for your reply. Very clear! Ok time to play again tonight. Regards, Paul
  14. Hello I am reposting this here as this is the correct area to post this question. I mistakenly posted this question under Deck Construction. I was not paying attention to the forum board's current location. I apologize for doubling posting. Thank you. My wife and I are new to CoC LCG or any CCGs . We are mainly boardgamers. My wife and I have been playtesting the game for several weeks now. We are a bit stuck and hopefully the community can help us. I've done a search of this topic before I posted this topic and although I've seen quite a number of discussions related to taking action, we are still a bit lost on the cards that say "Choose a character..." or "Wound a character" Here's an example: T-Men (Agency-Core set) :Forced Response: After T-Men enters play, choose and wound a character. Question: Does the owner/controller of the card (aka the one who puts this card in play), chooses one of his own characters and wounds it OR can he choose one of the opponent's character's and wounds it? I know it's silly to actually wound your own character but just a point of discussion I'd like to clarify. I know there are cards that say "Choose an opponent's card...", but we're a bit stuck when the card only says "Choose a character.." and sometimes the cards do affect the controller of the card negatively. I guess what we're trying to figure out is how to determine who gets affected by a response/action. I know there are a hundreds of permutations depending on what each card says (core set and APs). Our "house rule" so to speak is that if it doesn't say "Choose an opponent", that means it affects either the controller/owner of the card or the opponent, depending on what "effects" the card is executing. In a nutshell: how do you determine who gets affected (you or the opponent) when you see a text that says "Choose a character" or "Wound a Character? I apologize for drawing out this question into a long speech. As I've said, wife and I are new to this game. Thank you for your understanding. Paul
  15. Hello My wife and I are new to CoC LCG or any CCGs . We are mainly boardgamers. My wife and I have been playtesting the game for several weeks now. We are a bit stuck and hopefully the community can help us. I've done a search of this topic before I posted this topic and although I've seen quite a number of discussions related to taking action, we are still a bit lost on the cards that say "Choose a character..." or "Wound a character" Here's an example: T-Men (Agency-Core set) :Forced Response: After T-Men enters play, choose and wound a character. Question: Does the owner/controller of the card (aka the one who puts this card in play), chooses one of his own characters and wounds it OR can he choose one of the opponent's character's and wounds it? I know it's silly to actually wound your own character but just a point of discussion I'd like to clarify. I know there are cards that say "Choose an opponent's card...", but we're a bit stuck when the card only says "Choose a character.." and sometimes the cards do affect the controller of the card negatively. I guess what we're trying to figure out is how to determine who gets affected by a response/action. I know there are a hundreds of permutations depending on what each card says (core set and APs). Our "house rule" so to speak is that if it doesn't say "Choose an opponent", that means it affects either the controller/owner of the card or the opponent, depending on what "effects" the card is executing. In a nutshell: how do you determine who gets affected (you or the opponent) when you see a text that says "Choose a character" or "Wound a Character? I apologize for drawing out this question into a long speech. As I've said, wife and I are new to this game. Thank you for your understanding. Paul
×
×
  • Create New...