Jump to content

herichimo

Members
  • Content Count

    953
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About herichimo

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    http://-
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    , Arizona, United States
  1. Ganging up works when the attacking group outnumbers the opponent they are engaging. The key here is engaging. To engage a target in melee, all a character must do is be in a position where he can make an attack and decide he engages. No attacks are necessary to count as being engaged. You can be able to attack a target and still decide not to engage them. BUT you cannot make melee attacks against a target UNLESS you engage them. THUS To gain a ranged Ganging Up bonus from the signum, the battle-brothers must ENGAGE the targets with double the number of characters being engaged. Since you MUST be able to attack the target in order to be engaged, you MUST be able to see it and hit it with a ranged weapon, though you aren't actually required to make an attack. NOTE: You may only engage* as many targets as you can shoot (normally one). IF a character has talents or options allowing him to shoot multiple targets (Independent Targeting or Walking Fire for instance) then the character may choose to engage multiple targets BUT each enemy engaged counts for outnumbering for the whole group. * No, you cannot get free strikes against enemies engaged by ranged weapons, "Engaging" in this sense only applies due to the signum rules, you cannot normally "engage" targets at range. Edit: It is also possible to choose not to use the signum, to allow some Battle-Brothers to benefit from the signum without others polluting the link. Say a devastator shooting a horde while the other KT members shoot something else with the signum. Examples: A 4 person KT fights a group of 3 Chaos Space Marines and a 10 person horde of cultists. All 4 members of the KT engage one of the CSM, every KT brother who attacks the CSM gains +20 to hit him from the signum. Next all 4 target one CSM but the devastator uses walking fire to hit (and engage) the other CSM. This time the KT only gets +10 for outnumbering since it is now 4 KT brothers vs. 2 CSMs. Finally the KT targets the cultists, but since they are targeting an area target, versus specific entities, AND you do not gain outnumber bonuses against hordes, they would not receive any signum bonuses.
  2. RoB p. 225: Passive Solo modes on all the time; Solo Mode Abilities may be activated freely when in Solo Mode. RoB p.226: Anyone can activate Squad modes. From Tim (FFG Rules Clarifications) "...only the Battle-Brother who originally activated the Squad Mode Ability can sustain it. Other Battle-Brothers may benefit from it, but they are not in control of the Ability, and thus, cannot sustain it. This goes for Chapter-specific Abilities as well as Codex Abilities." "When a Battle-Brother leaves Squad Mode, for any reason, while sustaining a Squad Mode Ability, the Ability is no longer sustained and its effects end as if he had chosen to stop sustaining it at that moment." "...in the event that you leave squad mode for any reason, you do, in fact, have to pay the Cohesion cost again when you choose to reactivate the Squad Mode Ability. One clarification should be made about the current errata for "Sustaining Squad Mode Abilities (page 220)" on page 5 of the Errata v1.1 document. The sentence "The Battle-Brother may choose to stop sustaining and [sic] ability (possibly to activate a new Squad mode Ability) as a Free Action at the start of any of his Turns" should change to "The Battle-Brother may choose to stop sustaining an ability (possibly to activate a new Squad Mode ability or benefit from another active Squad Mode ability) as a Free Action at the start of any of his Turns and must pay the Cohesion cost of the sustained ability if he wants to reactivate it at later [sic] time." The following sentence should be added to the end of the description: "A Battle-Brother may only sustain or benefit from one Squad Mode ability at a time." Keep an eye out for a future Errata and FAQ for the above clarification." >.> The single Out of Activation Ability Action a turn (SOAAAT) clarification come from a response from FFG I do not have personally. Generally, the rule allowing only a SOAAAT also applies to Solo Mode abilities, but otherwise there is no limit to the number of Solo Mode abilities a character may use at one time (though there are limitations on how many times a battle/day these abilities may be used).
  3. These are correct. Swift(2)/Lightning(3) Attacks allows a character to use the Multiple Attacks (MA) attack. When using MA the character makes 2 or 3 attacks instead of one according to the talent. When using Two Weapon Fighting (TWF) rules the character may make a single additional attack with an off-hand weapon according to the TWF rules.
  4. What a Character can, and cannot parry is up to GM discretion. Remember, parrying isn't a block, the character isn't stopping the attack dead, but directing it a few inches away from his body. That said, I would not allow a character to parry a bio-titan's attacks. Generally speaking, anything hitting a character with a weapon that is literally twice the size of that character is pretty much overpowering any form of parrying. At least in my games.
  5. You are absolutely correct. A Character cannot use Fate to repair or ignore the damage effects from Critical damage. Even so, Fate points can be used to bring your Wounds back up from critical. Your arm's still off though.
  6. The difference is Critical Effects, and Critical Damage. When a character suffers 7 critical on the explosive table. The Critical Effects of the attack are 1d10 rounds of being stunned, 1d10 levels of fatigue, and the test of shock. The Critical Damage of the attack is the arm being blown off and blood loss. Pain suppressants would allow you to ignore the stun effect, fatigue, and delay the test for shock for 1d10 rounds; but not your arm being blown off. Pain suppressors suppress pain, they don't instantly heal massive damage. Similarly, when using fate points to heal, you heal the wounds you've taken, but all the effects and damage still apply for their normal duration. In the above example, the character uses a fate point to heal 8 wounds, putting him at +1 wound; but he still suffers 1d10 rounds of stun, 1d10 levels of fatigue, must test for shock, starts bleeding, and loses his arm.
  7. The above is correct. I'll add in the ranged example, the Horde makes 3 full ranged attacks INCLUDING any rules etc. associated with the weapons. Meaning the horde can make 3 FULL AUTO attacks, if their weapons can do so, when the horde chooses to use the FULL AUTO action. Each of the three (3) attacks benefits from the additional horde damage (in this case +2D10).
  8. A character cannot benefit or sustain more than a single sustained mode power at once, unless the power is passive. A kill-team may activate any number of non-sustained powers at once, BUT a character can only benefit from a single Out of Activation action a turn. This means if X character is sustaining Power (a), and Y character is sustaining Power (b); X character can not benefit from Power (b) unless he stops sustaining (allowing to expire) Power (a), and vice versa. Space Wolf Player Z has his passive smell power, which is always on, but is not sustaining any active powers and may therefore choose to benefit from either Power (a) or Power (b), but not both. In Turn 156, Marine X decides to declare Furious charge, Marine Y decides to declare Regroup, and Space Wolf Player Z activates Bolter Assault. All three powers activate, as a team can activate as many non-sustained powers as they want at once, BUT each character may only use one of the three since they each allow an out of activation action, and characters can only use one Power-based out of activation action each turn. If Marine X activated Furious charge on turn 157, Marine Y activated Regroup on turn 158, and Wolf-boy Z activates Bolter Assault on turn 159; then all the players can benefit from all the powers as they are all on three separate turns.
  9. It has been ruled, by FFG, multiple times. You can not voluntarily chop off your limbs and replace it with bionics simply because you have requisition. "The rules for bionic replacements are not intended to be purchased with requisition unless extenuating circumstances arise that make the replacements necessary." Tim - FFG rules person. You are allowed to use requisition to purchase a replacement bionic, but you aren't allowed to use requisition to create the need for a replacement. Iron Hands have access to a bionic hand at character creation (pretty much a requirement, as it is part of their initiation rights). Other things: The Flesh is Weak 1, The Flesh is Weak 2, and The Flesh is Weak 3 are all unique talents. Which means, among other things, they each can not be taken multiple times. I.e. you cannot take The Flesh is Weak 1 in both the Iron Hands chapter table AND the Techmarine table. But you can take The Flesh is Weak 1 in the Iron Hands table and then The Flesh is Weak 2 from the Techmarine table.
  10. If you're talking about making up rules, then you're talking about house rules and you should move the discussion to the House Rules section. This section is for questions concerning official rules, and according to the official rules: 1: Only weapons with power fields break other weapons. 2: It only happens when you parry a weapon without the power field rule using a weapon with a power field. Now, if you have a problem with your players using skills they spent thousands of XP points on (the squad mode requiring the accumulation of said points to unlock) simply because of the powerful abilities these grant them combined with a powerful weapon they can only get IF you as the GM choose to allow them to gain; then, from an official rules standpoint, either don't ever give them the weapon or never reward them with XP so they stay at Rank 1 forever. "Fluff" is a terrible word and tabletop should never (or very rarely) be evoked for rules in an RPG. How about we have all space marines using their backpack exhaust vents as rockets to fly around, or allowing non-psykers to use force weapons with all of said weapon's psychic-y effects? No, that sounds absurd? Well those are "fluff", from official GW publications. A lot of writers tend to make up stuff when they don't understand, fan-gasm out, or simply need a deus ex to keep the story going. Never mind that relic blades are RELIC blades, made in the dark age of technology when Human tech surpassed all others. Never mind, Necron technology and how it works is understood, and could be duplicated by the ad mech. You seem to want a weapon of amaze that you can use to punish your players for playing the game and making a mockery of a specific encounter you came up with. Methinks you may be taking things a bit to personally. These things happen in RPGs. Instead of looking for a way to overpower your players using the same old tactic, come up with something else this method doesn't work against. Granted I didn't look through all my books when I checked for a C'tan phase sword for my previous post, but I didn't find one. So if you want to make an uber-sword-of-awesome-bad-assery-cuts-through-god-ness as a HOUSE RULE, go right ahead. But remember, it still does all that stuff when your player finds a way to steal it from its current wielder and keep it for himself. Then you get to enjoy the butt-hurt when your player uses Stalwart Defense with that sword and AUTOMATICALLY destroys EVERYTHING when he parries.
  11. First off I will remind everyone: Parrying is not a block. Typically a parry involves striking the side of a blade (not the sharp end) and applying enough force to divert its path away from body parts. You aren't stopping the attack, just moving it out of the way. The chance to destroy the weapons comes from the Power Field rule, specifically how a power field disrupts matter simply by contact. Therefore striking the side of a weapon of any type with a power field will likely result in the power weapon's power field tearing the other weapons molecular structure apart and breaking it. It has nothing to do with how powerful or mystical the weapon is. Breaking the weapon is a function of a Power Field, not uberness. Any weapon with a Power Field or a "counts as a Power Field" rule will follow the rules for Power Fields. Relic Blades are Power Weapons and have the Power Field rule. A Relic Blade's Power Field is simply more powerful than that of a standard Power Weapon, thus it overpowers normal Power Fields. Force Weapons are immune to Power Fields due to their Archeotech nature and psychic field. When wielded by non-psychers though, they count as a normal slab of metal and can be destroyed by Power Fields. ("Unless wielded by a psyker...") Warp Weapons (being warp weapons) and Natural Weapons (for simplicity's sake I imagine) ignore this rule. Many Necron weapons have the Power Field special rule, including the Warscyth. Those without it, are still subject to a Power Field. Some Tyranid weapons are not considered Natural Weapons. Such as Boneswords and Lashwhip. They are susceptible to Power Fields. Eldar Witchblades have the Power Field rule.
  12. Whether the previous statement has merit or not; it is not legal, officially, in the framework of the rules to do so.
  13. No you cannot improve cover more than once. You cannot have an infinite well of cover. Tactics involve more than just hiding behind that slab of metal (I blame "tactical cover based shooters" for this). Utilizing cover is not a bad idea though, but you aren't going to be digging a trench or building a bunker in a few rounds. It takes a while to do these things. Even space marines will take about 10 minutes to dig out a trench (assuming he brought a shovel, otherwise digging with your hands takes much longer). Cutting, moving, then welding or nailing other pieces is time consuming as well. Pre-fab stuff could cut the time down a bit, but you've got to carry that stuff, and it can be pretty heavy.
  14. Negative, Avdm. The Netharcium only modifies the Marine's threshold for First Aid actions made with the Netharcium. Natural healing uses the character's normal wound thresholds for light/heavy damage. Think of it as the difference between a doctor attempting to fix a broken bone by eye and touch vs. an x-ray. Once the doc sets the bone though, that X-ray doesn't help it [the bone] heal any faster.
×
×
  • Create New...