Jump to content


  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

About jasonconlon

  • Rank

Contact Methods

  • AIM
  • MSN
  • Website URL
  • ICQ
  • Yahoo
  • Skype

Profile Information

  • Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Here's a chance for us Aussies to participate in this year's worldwide Fellowship event for The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game. Tackle the yet-to-be-released Murder at the Prancing Pony adventure, and claim some sweet swag for being a part of it all. New players welcome! When and Where: Choose from one of the following sessions - * 7:00pm Tuesday 15/12/2015 at Good Games Burwood, Level 1, 195a Burwood Rd, Burwood NSW - phone (02) 9715 3229 * 6:30pm Thursday 17/12/2015 at Good Games Epping, 66 Beecroft Rd, Epping NSW - phone (02) 9876 8899 * 7:00pm Friday 18/12/2015 at Good Games Chatswood, Level 1, 16 Anderson Street, Chatswood NSW - phone (02) 9904 6315 Who: New and experienced players are welcome to join in this fun, yet challenging, cooperative adventure game Cost: $30 per person per session; SPACES ARE VERY LIMITED so pre-registration is strongly recommended to secure a place, by contacting the store with your reservation Prizes: Every participant will score a COMPLETE SET of adventure gear, including: 1) an advance copy of the 'Murder at the Prancing Pony' adventure deck; 2) an event-exclusive Fellowship 2015 playmat featuring Gimli & Legolas atop Helm's Deep; and 3) an event-exclusive alternate-art version of the Legolas Hero card. Bring: Nothing needed but yourself and your spirit of adventure. Friendly, experienced players will be happy to teach the game to newcomers, and loan you a player deck featuring legends of Middle-earth to use on the day (though if you have your own deck you are more than welcome to use it). For more info about the Fellowship event, see https://www.fantasyflightgames.com/en/news/2015/10/30/join-the-fellowship/ For more info about The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game, see https://www.fantasyflightgames.com/en/lord-rings-lcg-showcase/ Hope to see you there!
  2. Beginning with the active player, each player may choose one story where they have two or fewer success tokens, and then add just one success token on their side of that story (i.e. increasing from 0 to 1, from 1 to 2, or from 2 to 3 success tokens at the selected story).
  3. Hey mjg, I see you've already found the CardGameDB forums (which are followed by more players than these forums) and posted your question there. If you're looking for an official answer on this one, go through to the Contact page here and you'll find a link to the Rules Question page. When you hear back (which I wouldn't expect to be until some time after Gen Con), it'd be great if you shared the answer with us.
  4. Greetings alexbobspoons, You should absolutely give this game a go. It's fantastic! Apologies for the quietness of these forums - most of the action these days has moved over to the CardGameDB forums. The first deluxe expansion pack, Secrets of Arkham, was originally released as a 110-card box (2x copies of 50 cards, plus a set of 10 story cards) that you do want to avoid, as it has since been re-released in a revised version as a 160-card box (3x copies of 50 cards plus a set of 10 story cards). You can readily identify the current 160-card version by the "REVISED EDITION" subtitle, and/or by confirming that it has an "e" after its product ID printed near the barcode: Secrets of Arkham - CT32e (deluxe box) As for the little asylum packs, it's unlikely you'll find any of the older, thinner, 40-card packs in stores these days, but just in case... The cycles originally released in 40-card packs (containing 3x copies of 10 cards, and 1x copy of 10 other cards) were: * Forgotten Lore cycle * Summons of the Deep cycle * Dreamlands cycle You can readily identify current 60-card pack version (containing 3x copies of all 20 cards) by their thickness, and by confirming that they have an "e" or "p" after their product ID printed near the barcode. That is, you're looking for: Forgotten Lore cycle Spawn of Madness - CT12e (box) Kingsport Dreams - CT13e (box) Conspiracies of Chaos - CT14e (box) Dunwich Denizens - CT15e (box) The Mountains of Madness - CT16e (box) Ancient Horrors - CT17e (box) Summons of the Deep cycle The Spawn of the Sleeper - CT19e (box) / uCT19p (blister) The Horror Beneath the Surface - CT20e (box) / uCT20p (blister) The Antediluvian Dreams - CT21e (box) / uCT21p (blister) The Terror of the Tides - CT22e (box) / uCT22p (blister) The Thing from the Shore - CT23e (box) / uCT23p (blister) The Path to Y'ha-nthlei - CT24e box / uCT24p (blister) Dreamlands cycle Twilight Horror - uCT26p (blister) In Memory of Day - uCT27p (blister) In the Dread of Night - uCT28p (blister) Search for the Silver Key - uCT29p (blister) Sleep of the Dead - uCT30p (blister) Journey to Unknown Kadath - uCT31p (blister) Here are details of the Secrets of Arkham reprint. Here are details of the first couple of Forgotten Lore boxed reprints. Here are details of the Dreamlands blister pack POD (Print On Demand) reprints. Note that the blister pack POD versions of Summons of the Deep are yet to be released at the time of writing this, but you might find some of the 60-card boxed versions still out there somewhere. Here are details of the boxed Summons of the Deep reprints.
  5. In both instances, the card should have already left play during step 3) Action is executed, and before either 5) Forced Responses or 6) Responses are initiated. Also in both instances, taking a final wound seems to meet the criteria for the exception of cards that may be triggered by themselves, self-referentially, due to "effects that may cause that card to leave play" (like taking a final wound) or to themselves leaving play. 2) Can you clarify and/or provide examples of what is meant when the FAQ refers to Responses On Cards Leaving Play, of "...only Response or Forced Response effects can be triggered in this manner, and they must respond to leaving play or the effect that causes them to leave play," and whether this applies to being wounded in particular. The way the FAQ reads, it certainly sounds like Bokrug's forced response and Laboring Gug's response meet the criteria stated here, in that their effects are self-referential, and that they respond to being wounded which is an "effect that causes them to leave play"... However, the Laboring Gug ruling at least states otherwise. Just FYI, there's a lot of confusion on this topic in the forums. I had a go at answering myself - thinking that perhaps "self-referentially .. to effects that may cause that card to leave play" DIDN'T mean "wounded", but instead meant explicit references to being "destroyed", "sacrificed", "discarded", etc... ...but that was before I found the Bokrug example in the FAQ, and now I'm perplexed. We have two different things being referred to here, the first is “Response: After Professor Nathaniel Peaslee enters the discard pile…” and refers directly to him entering the discard pile. The second is, "Forced Response: After College Prospect is destroyed, draw 2 cards.” And it refers to the effect that causes him to leave play. Wounding is not the effect that cause a character to leave play, it simply places a wound token on the character. The game rule is the effect that destroys any character that has wounds exceeding its toughness. So “After effect triggers” must state it works on the character leaving play or the effect (destroy, sacrifice, return to hand, remove from game, etc.) that causes them to leave play. Does that make more sense? (continued below)
  6. FFG almost never respond to comments or questions in these forums. Instead, you need to contact them directly using the 'Contact' link on their page, which eventually leads you to the Rules Question Page. Once you've received an official response, please post the question and answer here to help out others too.
  7. "+1" means "add 1". So with 3x Ageless Mi-Go, it's 3x "add 1", which means a combined additional Toughness +3 bonus to each Mi-Go.
  8. Hi Gesitwandler, Yes, Mi-Go bonuses of extra icons, skill and Toughness do stack - the more Mi-Go you have, the bigger and badder they get! With respect to Toughness specifically, this is referenced in the Core rules as follows:
  9. Hi Panzerbjrn, This particular thread isn't for asking questions... Rather, it's for recording questions that were previously asked, that have already received official answers from FFG (i.e. from Damon Stone). If you're after unofficial answers from the community you can just create a separate topic for it in this forum; however I see you've since found that you can do the same on CardGameDB - which also gets more traffic and generally quicker responses.
  10. Hi Nomadic, The official answer hasn't changed. Laboring Gug cannot respond to the final wound that destroys him because is no longer in play when the window opens to trigger responses. The exception referred to in the FAQ only applies to cards that explicitly reference changing to an out of play state (e.g. "Response: After Budding Young leaves play...") or to an out of play area (e.g. "Response: After Professor Nathaniel Peaslee enters your discard pile..."), or that reference a specific leave-play effect (e.g. "Forced Response: After College Prospect is destroyed..."). See also subsequent clarification here.
  11. Only cards that specifically state to "attach" them to another card get attached when they enter play. Generally these are Support cards which have an Attachment subtype. Support cards that do not specify to "attach" them to anything instead just remain in play on your side of the table like Character cards. Check out the Game Setup and Suggested Play Area Diagram on page 7 in the rulebook... Pictured there on one side of the table is Atwood Science Hall, a Support card with the Location subtype, standing on its own alongside Character cards of Blackwood File Clerk and Thomas F. Malone. Pictured on the other side of the table is Sword of Y'ha-tallo, a Support card with the Attachment (and also Weapon) subtype, which includes the text "Attach to a character. Attached character gains Terror Combat." This card is just visible behind Innsmouth Troublemaker, a Character card, to which Sword of Y'ha-tallo has been attached. Also present is Cthulhu, The Great Old One himself. Some cards specifically interact with (or, conversely, cannot affect) cards with a certain subtype. For instance, Torch the Joint! can destroy a Support card but only if it has the Location subtype (or it can instead be used to destroy a non-Agency resource card). Some cards can interact with (or, conversely, cannot affect) certain card types, regardless of any subtype. For instance, Burrowing Beneath can destroy any Support card - be it a Location, Attachment, or any other subtype. Also FYI, just for completeness... Some cards interact with (or, conversely, cannot affect) certain card effect types. For instance, Power Drain can cancel Action or Response effects (but not Forced Response or Disrupt effects, and passive effects can never be cancelled), regardless of card type or subtype. Also, Performance Artist can cancel any Character card or Support card ability (i.e. any Action, Response, Forced Response or Disrupt effect triggered from a Character or Support card in play).
  12. Well spotted, jhaelen. Here's the answer -- Can you please clarify the difference (if there is one) in these answers?
  13. Note: This was originally asked in relation to the Claret Knight and indirect triggered effects topic.
  • Create New...