Jump to content

KenToad

Members
  • Content Count

    124
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About KenToad

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    http://-
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
  1. The opening scene of A Song of Ice and Fire contains a wight. Just think about that for a moment. And you're kidding yourself if you think the battles and particularly the heroes in these stories are in any way realistic. George Martin does a great job making his fantastic vision of Westeros seem real, but it's not meant to be realistic or even historically accurate. It's fantasy. I agree that some of the abilities in the game are wonky, though. Amazingly, most of the crazy assortment of stuff seems to work. The stuff that didn't work was pretty much covered by the optional rules that are in the official FAQ/Errata document on the game's support page. I haven't played Baratheon yet, but I've read the rules. Is it fun?
  2. I asked the designer the question. Here is the complete explanation of the King in the North's Abilities: Robb Stark-King in the North Can remove Engagement Token against Fearsome opponent. His Commit Ability only allows him to change places with an adjacent friendly Cavalry banner bearer figure if at least one figure in Robb's Unit would be removed. Otherwise, according to the designer, this would break the rule that Commanders cannot take hits to trigger Abilities. This means that Robb Stark's figure alone in his Unit may not utilize his Commit Ability. However, if Robb Stark has at least one figure in his Unit who will take damage (i.e. be removed from play), then he may switch places with any friendly adjacent Cavalry banner bearer, even one that is a different rank (Color) or another Cavalry Commander, or even a different type of Cavalry, and the new figure will determine hits for the original attack. This means that, if the attacker has rolled two red shields as hits and Robb changes places with a blue banner bearer, then those hits will no longer count. Also, if Robb switches places with a banner bearer that is a Commander, then the new Commander of Robb's former Unit may use Abilities, such as Smalljon's Pursue 1 when counterattacking, in response to the current attack as if the attack had been rolled against the new banner bearer. While a new Cavalry Commander would simply add Abilities to Robb's former Unit, as usual, Robb Stark-King in the North may switch places with banner bearers from different types of non-Commander friendly Cavalry Units. In that case, Abilities are determined by majority type, with the banner bearer figure breaking ties. So, if Robb switched with a Last Hearth Lancer and there was only one Winterfell Rider left in Robb's old Unit, then the whole Unit (consisting of a Winterfell Rider and a Last Hearth Lancer banner bearer) would behave as Last Hearth Lancers with the Abilities Wedge and Line Formations and Pursue 1.
  3. Murnaz said: Hello Everyone, A couple of questions have arose during my friends' skirmish battle. The Brotherhood without Banners were in play in this scenario. 1. The Lightning Lord's Longbowmen have an attack range of 2-5. Does this mean that they cannot attack in melee even if engaged by an enemy melee unit? 2. If they in fact cannot attack in melee even when engaged, we decided it would be prudent for them to withdraw from enemy attackers whenever they have the oppurtunity. The question is, how is withdrawing handled for Brotherhood units? Since they cannot go inactive, we've decided that a Brotherhood token must be discarded if a unit withdraws. Is this correct? Thanks for taking the time to read my questions! They cannot attack in Melee both because they have no Melee Icon on their Unit Reference Card and they cannot attack or counterattack adjacent (Range 1) Units because they have a minimum Range of 2. Remember that Ranged Units with no Melee Icon never Melee attack, even against adjacent Units, so they do not affect Engagement Tokens, cannot Flank and cannot participate in a Coordinated Attack. Yes, I believe you discard one Brotherhood Token per Withdrawing Brotherhood Unit, in addition to the normal Morale payment for Withdrawing.
  4. Also, Units can Advance or Pursue out of Forest hexes on the same turn that they moved in and had to stop. Also, don't stop when Units are retreating. Stop when Units in Pursuit enter a new forest.
  5. I asked the designer and explained the complicated scoring rules according to his clarifications: Battle Plan 9 - Razing the Red Fork: Greatjon should be Blue Rank. Because they don't have Control Markers, the Bridges are only controlled if a Unit is actually standing on them when they are scored, either at the end of the Round or the end of the game. It is easy to forget that the Wooden Bridge is scored for Stark once per Round and the Stone Bridge is only scored at Game End. At the end of the final Round, score both Round End and Game End Victory Points. Each Round, Stark scores Points for Buildings based upon the number of Control Markers that show Stark (Control Markers show which side most recently occupied the hex), which can still be scored even if the Building is on Fire. However, Devastation makes the Building hex basically a Plains hex and removes Stark's ability to score Points. An easy way to show this would be to remove the Control Marker when adding Devastation, remembering to keep the Fire Levels. Also, For Lannister, score either Fire Levels on Buildings or Devastation Tokens on Buildings, for 1, 2, 3 or a maximum of 5 points per Building (Either 1, 2, or 3 for Fire Levels or 5 for Devastation). Lannister scores 1, 2, or 4 points at the end of the game for destroying the Wooden Bridge (either 1-2 for Fire Levels or 4 for Destroying the Bridge, as the Fire Levels are removed after destroying the Bridge). Remember that Units cannot Advance or Pursue onto Bridges.
  6. In the Core Set, momentum never changes hands. If using Gambit Cards, the player with the faceup Gambit Card has Momentum. The scenario only indicates who starts with Momentum, i.e. the player who will start with a faceup Gambit Card.
  7. Yes, I believe it is counted as a modifier, so a Red Rank Unit at Reduced Strength attacking into or out of a Forest would only roll one Attack die.
  8. The designer, Rob Kouba, replied that Robb King in the North can switch with different types of Units and Abilities are determined by majority with the Banner Bearer figure breaking ties. Obviously, a new Commander would simply add abilities, as usual. So, if Robb switched with a Last Hearth Lancer and there was only one Winterfell Rider left in the Unit, then the whole Unit would behave as Last Hearth Lancers with the Formations and Pursue 1. It's a bit odd, but there you have it. Big thanks to Rob for getting back to me so quickly.
  9. 1. Tactics on Leadership Cards affect the entire board. It was clarified as errata in the rulebook by the designer. 2. Toughness ignores the first hit of each attack. Hits taken from retreats are considered part of the same attack and so would not trigger Toughness a second time. 3. Archers don't have melee attacks because they don't have the melee symbol on their Unit Reference Cards. Even when they attack an adjacent target, no engagement token is placed and they never flank, but, yes, they counterattack and parting blow as normal.
  10. This is very interesting. Can you switch Robb Stark with a friendly Cavalry Banner bearer of a different type, such as Last Hearth Lancers? Then, if so, how do the Abilities work? Can Robb's old Unit of Winterfell Riders suddenly move in formation? For now, I'll assume that the Banner bearer determines the Abilities of the Unit, but it would be nice to have some clarification. I guess we'll have to ask officially tomorrow, if no one has the answer.
  11. The news item and "About" page for the game mentioned eight new Battle Plans and then also the first Epic Battle, a scenario in 3 parts, the Battle of the Blackwater. It's not clear if the 3 part scenario is in addition to the 8 Battle Plans, or what. But, there are 6 Unit types and 8 Leaders, so it looks like the whole army is there, no Wardens type splitting up of product. I think this is a genius move and sets the stage for further Army boxes, like Targaryen with Dragons or Greyjoy with a sea coast board. Oh, and the MSRP is 10 dollars lower than the Core Set. That also seems about right, as it will likely go for around 45-50 dollars online.
  12. I would suggest clarifying your question. Is this Robb Stark's ability? I can't remember it offhand. Can you write the exact wording of the ability here on the forum? That might help. Also, FYI, you aren't supposed to ask rules questions on the forum. At the top of the page, under Official Rulings ..., there is a link to an official form for rules questions. In my experience, the designer of the game will answer very quickly during work hours. If you do go that route, be sure to post the answer here. Here's a link: http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_faq.asp Good luck.
  13. Email customer service. FFG has historically had amazing customer service. Link "User Support" in grey at the very bottom of the page, fill out the form. Choose customer service from the drop down box.
  14. KelemvorFFG said: KenToad said: You order the Brotherhood units just like any other unit. Probably, the confusion is because of the subtle, but fundamental, differences between the terms "active" and "order." Brotherhood Units are always Active, but, in order to Order them, you still have to play a Leadership Card in a Commander's Zone of Control or an Order Token anywhere on the board. At the end of the Round, if you have ordered any Brotherhood Units, you discard a single fire sword token. You also lose fire sword tokens when special abilities, Like Tyrion's, would normally make your Brotherhood Units inactive. You gain Brotherhood Tokens each Round, too. But, in terms of gameplay, as long as you have at least one fire sword token, just think of each Brotherhood Unit as having their Flag rotated to the Active side. They still must be Ordered as usual in order to be able to move and attack. Does that make sense? Yeah, let us know how your next game goes. I'd like to hear more about the expansion. Totally agree except for a little mistake: when you said "At the end of the Round, if you have ordered any Brotherhood Units, you discard a single fire sword token." you had to say "At the end of each of your turns during Command Phase, if you have ordered any Brotherhood Units, you discard a single fire sword token (aka Brotherhood tokens)." That's a big correction. Thanks. I guess that's the balancing effect to these Units. If you use a single Order Token to Order a single Brotherhood Unit, then you will also have to pay a Brotherhood (fire sword) token at the end of that turn. However, if you use an Order 3 Leadership Card to order 3 Brotherhood Units in a Commander's Zone of Control, you still only have to discard one Fire Sword Token at the end of the Turn. Sounds cool, hope I get to play this one at some point.
  15. You order the Brotherhood units just like any other unit. Probably, the confusion is because of the subtle, but fundamental, differences between the terms "active" and "order." Brotherhood Units are always Active, but, in order to Order them, you still have to play a Leadership Card in a Commander's Zone of Control or an Order Token anywhere on the board. At the end of the Round, if you have ordered any Brotherhood Units, you discard a single fire sword token. You also lose fire sword tokens when special abilities, Like Tyrion's, would normally make your Brotherhood Units inactive. You gain Brotherhood Tokens each Round, too. But, in terms of gameplay, as long as you have at least one fire sword token, just think of each Brotherhood Unit as having their Flag rotated to the Active side. They still must be Ordered as usual in order to be able to move and attack. Does that make sense? Yeah, let us know how your next game goes. I'd like to hear more about the expansion.
×
×
  • Create New...