Jump to content

Mallumo

Members
  • Content Count

    559
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Mallumo

  1. I only knew it cause I saw it when double-checking before replying. It's been some time.
  2. Correct. This is the only way for a legend to defend a fulcrum, so it's even in the FAQ.
  3. Yes. It doubles all damage assigned to units, no matter what kind or source.
  4. Your opponent can distribute the indirect damage any way he wants, he just can't assign any more to a unit, legend or zone than it would take to destroy/burn it. So in your example, if he assigns 3 damage to the unit, he has to assign the other 2 to other units/legends/zones. He can assign both damage to the same unit/legend/zone or split them up. It's all his choice. He could also just assign 1 or 2 damage - or none at all - to the unit to keep it alive and assign the rest somewhere else.
  5. Monster of the Deep has an errata, it should read "Action: Corrupt this unit to ..." You're understanding it correctly though. The Action can be used during any action window. There are several of those during the battlefield phase. If you corrupt a unit after it has been declared as attacker or defender, it will still attack or defend normally. If it is corrupted before, it cannot be declared in the first place. During the battlefield phase, you first declare the target of an attack (the zone, legend, or fulcrum in multiplayer), then there's an action window before attackers are declared. That would be the last opportunity to use Monster of the Deep's Action to corrupt units and keep them from being declared as attackers. But of course it could be used earlier in the turn too.
  6. Your first scenario is correct. In the second, you could still use the Hydra Blade's effect to get rid of all the damage. The 3 damage are applied and placed on the unit at the same time. (Note though that your opponent can never attack your unit. He can attack a zone or a legend and you can choose to have the unit defend, or he can defend if you attack with the unit, but he cannot aim an attack at the unit or force it to participate in combat unless a card effect specifically accomplishes that.) If you want to destroy a unit with Hydra Blade attached in combat and can't make it so your opponent doesn't have the 2 resources, you have to destroy the Hydra Blade first.
  7. 1. Yes 2. Depends on the card effect that would make it leave play, and what effect you want to use to sacrifice it. You can't just sacrifice a unit without a card effect allowing you to do so. If an Action targets the unit and would result in it leaving play, you can respond with an Action that sacrifices it, and the latter will resolve first (the unit will either be sacrificed during the resolution of the effect, or directly as part of paying the cost, if the sacrifice is a cost) before the one that would make it leave play. But you cannot respond to a Forced or Constant effect, so if one of those would make the unit leave play, you'd have to sacrifice it before that effect fires.
  8. 1. No. These power symbols in your kingdom/quest zones only count for the number of resources and cards you collect/draw in the respective phases. Likewise, the power symbols on support cards don't contribute to combat damage. 2. Warpstone Excavation is one of the most powerful cards in the game, so much so that steps had to be taken to severely limit its strength. It might be hard to see as a beginner, but the small disadvantage is largely irrelevant compared to getting a power symbol for free. And yes, there are even ways to turn the disadvantage around and benefit from corrupted units, though you might not have the cards for that yet. 3. Not exactly sure what you're asking, but the alliance cards aren't really special. They're just support cards that give you one loyalty each for multiple factions. That's the end of it, they don't enable you to do anything, you don't need them for anything. You are not required to include them in multi-faction decks, they just might make it easier to deal with loyalty requirements there. As for Attachments, all requirements are in the card text. If it for example says "Attach to target unit you control" you can attach it to any unit (of any faction or cost or whatever) you control. If it says "Attach to target High Elf unit" you can attach it to any High Elf unit in the game, no matter who controls it. And so on. The alliance cards have nothing to do with this. So if you have an Orc attachment that says "Attach to target unit" you can just attach it to your Chaos unit, for example.
  9. We did not. If you'd like the cards printed, you'll have to work everything out with the print service yourself.
  10. Assuming the unit has two power, your understanding is correct. How useful this effect is depends on the circumstances.
  11. 1) Restore means to "un-corrupt" a corrupted card. Core rules, page 17, Corruption. 2) If there is only one attacking unit and the Counterstrike damage destroys it, then yes, the actual combat doesn't take place. 3) Correct (Though some later cards have effects that allow you to move a unit already in play onto a quest.)
  12. No. Kairos' effect has made the development count as a unit too, but it does not have a printed cost, which is different from having a cost of 0. So the "printed cost lower than 3" targeting requirement isn't fulfilled.
  13. For the other games, do they re-publish the older packs in the new form?
  14. Some old decks are up at http://deckbox.org/users/Mallumo, if that's what you mean.
  15. You do as much of an effect as you can. If you don't find a Spell card to put into your hand, you still shuffle your deck. What you can't do is pass on searching the top 5 cards and just shuffle the deck.
  16. It'll be expensive either way, whether you buy most or all of Invasion, or keep buying Conquest. With Invasion, you at least have the benefit of hindsight and can more accurately determine which expansions are most worth getting. I think Invasion is the better game, but tastes vary of course. And for the time being Conquest at least has a more active community and better tournament support, if that matters to you. I'd say get the core set of Invasion to see if you like the base mechanics. No doubt the game improves with expansions, but I'm sure this will apply to Conquest too.
  17. The Great Temple is unique, so you can have only one in play at a time. Using the Sun Temple and the Ziggurat (which each are unique too) you can have up to three Pyramids in one zone, but you still only get the effect from each one once. You get +1 combat damage if you have one or more Pyramids, not +1 per Pyramid. If you could have multiple Great Temples in play though, the effects would indeed stack.
  18. The draft variant never got any attention from an official side beyond the core set. I don't know many people who have used it with even just the core set, or found the effort worth it if they did, and with a bigger card pool it becomes more and more impractical (while deck building becomes more tempting, I'd say). But you can certainly try drafting multiplayer decks and see if it works for you.
  19. The rules were printed on sheets included with the expansions which feature cards with these keywords. I'll paraphrase. Ambush X The Ambush X keyword is active when on a facedown development. During the Ambush step of the Battlefield Phase, the defending player chooses any facedown developments in the defending zone with the Ambush X keyword he wishes to ambush with and pays their Ambush cost (denoted by X). These cards are turned faceup, stop being developments, and become their printed card types. If the ambushed card is a unit, it must be declared as a defender against the current attack. If the unit has an "Action: When this unit ambushes ...", this action has met its trigger condition and may be used during the following Action Window (or not at all). If the ambushed card is a tactic the card is no longer considered to be in play once it has ambushed. It is considered to have been played and its action must be used during the following Action Window. The Ambush X keyword on a faceup card, including a faceup development, has no effect. Savage X This keyword allows a unit, whenever it is dealt 1 or more damage and survives, to deal X damage to one target unit in any corresponding zone. Raider X When a unit with the Raider X keyword participated in an attack and survives combat, its controller gains X resources. These resources come from the general pool, not from the opponent. The Raider keyword triggers even when no damage has been dealt during combat, or when there were no opposing units, provided the unit with the keyword attacked and survived. Necromancy This keyword allows a unit to be played from the discard pile as though the unit was in its owner's hand. The unit enters play from the discard pile. If a unit that was played via the Necromancy keyword is still in play at the end of the turn, it is put on the bottom of its owner's deck. All other restrictions still apply, so unless another card effect allows for the unit to be played at another time, a unit with Necromancy can only be played from the discard pile during its owner's capital phase. If a unit that was played from the discard pile with Necromancy leaves play again, it is treated as a new copy of the card. So if it is destroyed and put in the discard pile, it will remain there at the end of the turn and not be put at the bottom of its owner's deck. For the same reason, if a unit does not have the Necromancy keyword printed on it but got it from a card effect, it loses the keyword again upon re-entering the discard pile
  20. The Cataclysm rules booklet has a 2 vs 2 variant on page 6. There are no official multiplayer rules for more than 4 players total, but they can be easily adapted from the existing rules.
  21. There aren't any for sale, you'd have to create some yourself: http://winvasion.net/episode-2-we-dont-need-another-hero/ https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/94221-capital-boards-homemade/
  22. When a card leaves play any cards attached to it go to the discard pile, yes.
×
×
  • Create New...