Jump to content

Kiwamu

Members
  • Content Count

    46
  • Joined

  • Last visited

    Never

About Kiwamu

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    , Bavaria, Germany
  1. flightmaster101 said: Kiwamu said: If my math isn't off, you seem correct (22*5=110) and I guess again two sets are in there a second time (like the core game)… well at least I know how much to order … 22*6=132 (objective cards are still cards) I knew something was off… well I know now^what it was… besides they pretty much updated their news page and confirmed it…
  2. Rozgutt said: If I understand the news correctly, we'll have to buy two deluxe expansions to get the full set of cards? If my math isn't off, you seem correct (22*5=110) and I guess again two sets are in there a second time (like the core game)… well at least I know how much to order …
  3. ScottieATF said: Kiwamu said: I enjoy the card game so far. I really love it, not just mechanically, but also thematically. Also I enjoy seeing all the iconic ships, sure I miss some like the millenium falcon, but I guess these hit with future expansions sans one. The B-WING. The reason I'm nervous is that it isn't also featured in the X-WING miniatures game. All the other ships had been released so far, but not the B-WING and I fear it might be forgotten by FFG . Sure there is hoping we will get to see it in a RotJ expansion… but I'm not too confident… I really miss that ship … :s You have no reason to think FFG has forgetten anything. One game is only on the first expansion, the other is just the base set. There is no basis for you to worry yourself over. Sorry, just love this fighter… it's usually the most overlooked one… unfortunatelly…
  4. In the Star wars comics, there was a Astromech droid who was strong with the force. It was the one with the bad motivator. I don't know how muc canon this story is, but essentially the bad motivator astromech droid killed his motivator so that R2D2 and C3PO could have their mission going. Would be nice if he makes some entrance in a jedi deck
  5. I enjoy the card game so far. I really love it, not just mechanically, but also thematically. Also I enjoy seeing all the iconic ships, sure I miss some like the millenium falcon, but I guess these hit with future expansions sans one. The B-WING. The reason I'm nervous is that it isn't also featured in the X-WING miniatures game. All the other ships had been released so far, but not the B-WING and I fear it might be forgotten by FFG . Sure there is hoping we will get to see it in a RotJ expansion… but I'm not too confident… I really miss that ship … :s
  6. I know, I know, it's just sad, that they didn't switch inbetween , because I had fond memories of the game… not so much the randomized collecting. Lucky me I made the jump .
  7. Toqtamish said: Kiwamu said: I consider it the necessary evil. FFG is a company that wants to earn money. Selling at least a second core set is a huge boon to them. This part is not exactly true as with that second core set comes all of the other bits that cost them money, the box, the tokens, rulebook etc. They probably don't really make that much extra money off of another core set purchase. I have to disagree in a kindly way. They probably get more discount for ordering a bigger stock to be produced. If they had to splitt, the discounts wouldn't be as high or wouldn't apply. Sure you now could say, they just have to print out the cards, but I guess they would require a second packaging etc. Also marketing would be HELL! Imagine the game and the complement pack at the same retailer, at the same shelf, the casual player that just buys it because STAR WARS, or A GAME OF THRONES would be immeadeatily put off to see that one of the purchases wouldn't give him all the cards. Howeve if there is only the core set to display, than he would grab it and present the newest FRANCHISE game to his beloved ones and cries out in joy if he draw his favourite franchise character. Last but not least, if they wouldn't benefit in the sale, why bother to sell the first core set in the first place and reprinting it? So they would probably loose out on the discounts AND the impulse purchases.
  8. Evazorek said: I think the issue boils down to people who like card games like having all the cards they can use but don't like having excess cards which they can never use. I get rid of so many junk commons and uncommons from my magic collection so I know the feeling. The problem with an LCG is that no one wants these excess cards you have so you are at a loss what on earth to do with them most of the time. Well, I must admit that I am one of these person, needing every single card, even if I don't plan (not excluding it) to play in a competitive area. However, I like to not limit my options. I guess I will just put all the excess cards and dials (Star Wars: The Card Game) in one box and the other in another box. Sure I'm more lucky that Star Wars just needs 2 Core Sets (confirmed by other players) than getting three for Netrunner (if I really want a third copy of 11 cards). Evazorek said: I guess the best thing to do is if you want to play at the highest level just buy that second core set and no longer think about it. From what I can gather the issue is only with the starter or core packs for a game so it is hardly a huge issue. Also this. I consider it the necessary evil. FFG is a company that wants to earn money. Selling at least a second core set is a huge boon to them. Also there is so much as customer research. If you don't like this kind of distribution, don't support it. The thing is that it's only done with core sets and deluxe expansions which are rare enough for me. If they just would release a whole cycle as a deluxe expansion I would happily rejoice with every complain and grab my torch and do some enlightening towards FFG. Coming from M:TG I blew a lot of cash just for some card to compliment one (1) deck, sometimes in the form of several boosters, sometimes buy buying them flat out. I eventually sold all of my cards for less than I invested and never looked back. Also remember that FFG catered to the community. The first cycle in the WH:I universe (if my researche was correct) came with two cards of the same, instead of three. Ppl grabbed pitchforks and burnt the whole place down, now they offer each ENTER NAME pack with enough cards that gives you the max number of each card. They could've ignored the outcry and LCG would have been a much more horrendous money sink… Also I guess the "casual player" who maybe will not even buy every force pack and maybe JUST the deluxe expansions will not care that much. Are they missing out? Sure! Will they play it that much so they should care? Doubtful. However if they are, that might warrant the purchase of another core set. TL;DR I can understand it's a nuisance, but not one that should be met by another product.
  9. Eruletho said: […] You should only need 1 of each force pack, going forward, for this to remain true […] Which is totally awesome, if only MAGIC would have gone this way… but no
  10. Eruletho said: Buying two core sets, you end up with 2 of every objective set except Hit and Run for the light side and it's equivalent for the Dark Side, where you get 4 instead. All of the objective sets that you can only use 1 of are neutral, so they work well in most decks (no need for resource matching for their command cards) and situational (a lot of decks won't use/need them). However, there are a lot of sets you won't use. Two copies of the core set gets you enough cards to make one really good deck from each of the fully expanded affiliations at a time. If you want to use the better sets from an affiliation you already have a deck built for, you'd have to break the other deck down though. Luke, for example, finds his way into almost every Jedi deck, and since two core sets gets you two copies of him, you'd have to constantly break and remake decks. It's really not that bad though. Well, since the company I should have got my first CORE SET still saying they are awaiting stock, I ordered it some place where they have stock (importing in germany, so I select german retailers). Now I will have two core sets and at least enough of every copy I can use in a single deck - correct me if I'm wrong here? I do not mind always creating a new deck … I think always deconstructing and reconstructing will force me to look at all cards and maybe see other usage, especially when further force packs land ^-^o. But again, two core sets got me covered (and a friend of mine, who will be my opponent). Correcto?
  11. Well Community, here I am, waiting for my copy of STAR WARS: TCG and I couldn't be happier. I liked all the demos & videos from the gameplay I've seen so far and with that I am confident that I am going to like the game. I'm not new to card games (have played and stopped M:TG for several times and even dipped in WH:I), so I especially like the mechanic, that cards in your hands can get you favor in a decisive battle, even you just hope they will win you an edge battle and in order to maintain the force, you can't commit everything to the battlefield. Also since I tried the LCG out with WH:I, I really like it. I just never dipped to deep into WH:I, because I was already late for the party and I had to buy a ton of cycles (I like to collect) some of them already sold out… With being a Star Wars Fan it was natural I already took a closer look at the game. Being an LCG it was also great to convince some ppl to play with me (Nothing is more convincing, when you say "You don't have to buy anything, I got you covered"). Now there is another juicy question. I read that in order to have the full potential you have to buy another core set. No worries with that, I know what I spend in M:TG and with the force packs having all that is required with one purchase, I'm okay with that. But do I end up with more cards I acutally can play by buying a econd core set? Are there some missions that are limited to one? Also, having not bought a single WH:I pack, are the cards easily identified, in which pack they go? I can imagine, that you can identify them for each cycle, but can you easily spot on the cards from which force pack they have been? Well that are all my questions for now, I figure more arise, when I actually hold the cards in my hand. So long … … and may the force be with you.
  12. Here ya go! http://www.bolterandchainsword.com/smpbeta.php
  13. ZephonSoul said: Ruskicowboy said: If you play with the Militia cards, you can discard the relic and bring in a soldier (or hopefully the Captain) to potentially help you out. I would recommend playing with this option just for these types of situations. True, always use Militia. Keep in mind though that the revised rule require you to discard a "Stake Card" to recruit one militia, so you can''''t discard you Guild''''s starting Relics for this purpose. Oh didn''''t catch that a STAKE card is required for the help of the melitia. Thanks for pointing that out. However I''''m using this thread for clarifying an event card. According to the rules the militias help end after the resolution phase and they return to the milita pile, which is fine and understandable. However one event card says that all milita cards should return to the pile at the beginning of the intrigue phase and militias facor can''''t be won. Why should a card state that all militia return to the pile in the intrigue phase (I''m writing out of memory here). It''s implying that the militia are stayin if the stake card is not won, but the rules say otherwise. Maybe it''''s just over careful for "houserules", but it confuses me more. Right now I go by the rules (also we didnt add the event deck to our games so far), but maybe I understand something wrong. Any intel on that would be nice, even if that just confirms my modus operandi.
  14. n4rwoo said: I was wondering what happens when you draw 4 relic cards at the beginning of the intrigue phase. Can you discard them and draw 4 new cards? Another question that bugs me is what happens if you do not want a card effect to take place? Can you say that you do not want to use the ability on the card (i.e. swap stack cards) or do you have to use it? Well two both of your question I would point you to p. 8 "During a player's turn he must perform on of these actions: [...] • Discard one card from from his hand to his Discard Pile withput applying any effects." As I understand, if you have four relic cards, that is your only option. So this round is a lost round for you and the second question is also answered with this. Sorry for answering that late, but I just got the game .
  15. I've two questions concerning psychic powers. The questsions occurded to me, because I'm not a native english speaker. Thanks for anyone who helps me out. Rulebook p. 185 Focus Power Test: "You may add a bonus to your Focus Power Test equal to 5 times the Psy Rating used for the power." Since a small part before covers opposed test, does this bonus only apply to opposed psychic power, or everytime the psyker uses a power? Rulenbook p. 186 Unnatural Characteristics: "Characters with Unnatural Willpower may add the multiplier to their Psy Rating" If I understand this correctly If a creature with Psy Rating 4 and Unnatural Willpower (x3) He can add +3 to his PsyRating (boosting it two 7). Can he also use these 7 to get the bonus to his Focus Power Test, as described above?
×
×
  • Create New...