Jump to content

JBento

Members
  • Content Count

    353
  • Joined

  • Last visited


Reputation Activity

  1. Like
    JBento got a reaction from Avatar111 in Blink and You'll Miss It - Easily Overlooked Rules   
    Except nowhere does it say that you can use them without buying them, while Wait specifically comes out and tells me "Hi, I'm a Support action." Not Support plus whatever else you want to do, just... Support. And it STILL doesn't address the fact that if it doesn't trigger, you can do whatever you want at the end of the round.
  2. Like
    JBento got a reaction from Myrion in Questions   
    They gain strife through inner conflict. If your samurai expresses their true emotions all the time, you have bigger issues, like having 0 Glory and probably having to have been ordered to commit seppuku already. Non-stoic Samurai is, in short, an oxymoron.
    If you aren't Compromised, you can't Unmask. If you're going through events that you FEEL should give you enough Strife to Compromise you, you can just add ad hoc Strife with the GM's permission. If you don't have enough Strife to be Compromised, your Samurai shouldn't be firing off Inappropriate Outbursts.
    Here's (a possible) Buoyant Arrival interpretation: you're in an intrigue scene, and you're losing the **** out of it. Your Strife is growing, so you decide to Buoyant Arrival away. Unfortunately, your roll gives you enough Strife to become Compromised. AFTER you become Compromised, you pass the check for Buoyant Arrival and exit the scene with dignity. As soon as you're out the room door, you Unmask and flee the building. You're still screwed, but if you're lucky it won't make it to the ears of the people in the room (which are presumbaly more important than the folks you run past on your way home).
  3. Like
    JBento got a reaction from Myrion in Blink and You'll Miss It - Easily Overlooked Rules   
    I mean, there's literally no point to the Wait action in intrigues, because you act whenever you feel like it in the round.
    And if a party is just going Earth ring, they're probably not really getting anything done. You can inflict more strife than they can remove, and they're not getting any successes in to accomplish any goal other than "I gather information on person X", which is more useful at the start of the intrigue, when your Strife is probably not all that high anyway.
  4. Like
    JBento got a reaction from AK_Aramis in Questions   
    They gain strife through inner conflict. If your samurai expresses their true emotions all the time, you have bigger issues, like having 0 Glory and probably having to have been ordered to commit seppuku already. Non-stoic Samurai is, in short, an oxymoron.
    If you aren't Compromised, you can't Unmask. If you're going through events that you FEEL should give you enough Strife to Compromise you, you can just add ad hoc Strife with the GM's permission. If you don't have enough Strife to be Compromised, your Samurai shouldn't be firing off Inappropriate Outbursts.
    Here's (a possible) Buoyant Arrival interpretation: you're in an intrigue scene, and you're losing the **** out of it. Your Strife is growing, so you decide to Buoyant Arrival away. Unfortunately, your roll gives you enough Strife to become Compromised. AFTER you become Compromised, you pass the check for Buoyant Arrival and exit the scene with dignity. As soon as you're out the room door, you Unmask and flee the building. You're still screwed, but if you're lucky it won't make it to the ears of the people in the room (which are presumbaly more important than the folks you run past on your way home).
  5. Like
    JBento got a reaction from Myrion in Blink and You'll Miss It - Easily Overlooked Rules   
    It's probably only for 1 round, though. Presuming the dude teetering on the edge is actually doing something with their action they're probably getting Compromised mid-way through it, and then the other side can pounce on them. It's not like you're passing any check worth a **** while compromised, what with half the successes having Strife on them. If two folks on the other side act in succession without someone calming the target, not even that: one of them can compromise the target and the other can just do whatever it is they want out of the Intrigue.
    Strife-giving is probably going to be a whole lot more than 2 Strife, so the other side is actually winning on this on action economy alone.
    ...
    It's actually not a bad Intrigue tactic, now that I think of it. Keep pushing on the weakest link and forcing everyone else on their team to keep him from getting them all thrown out of the room, while the rest of YOUR side goes on to accomplish your goal. Hmm...
  6. Like
    JBento got a reaction from Myrion in Blink and You'll Miss It - Easily Overlooked Rules   
    Getting 2 Strife off of you isn't going to really keep you uncompromised, though, presuming the other side actually WANTS you to be compromised. 2 Strife isn't, as you pointed out, all that much.
  7. Like
    JBento got a reaction from Hida Jitenno in Blink and You'll Miss It - Easily Overlooked Rules   
    Ninja aren't really that good at initiative, though. I mean, they can beat the casters, but about half the warriors leave them in the dust. This tactic alone is eating up a lot of XP on improvements: Tactics, 2 rings for Focus, Fitness, Skulduggery, Martial Arts [something], and they're still getting owned by anyone with high Vigilance, or, heavens forbid, someone with The Earth Needs No Eyes.
  8. Like
    JBento got a reaction from Myrion in Blink and You'll Miss It - Easily Overlooked Rules   
    This seems narratively appropriate, though.
    "No, Samurai-san, I know the courtier just implied you lie with your sister, dogs, and a dog that IS your sister, but you cannot lose your temper in front of Daimyo."
    It's the metaphysical "Hold him back before he does something stupid that gets us all killed."
  9. Thanks
    JBento got a reaction from Murdochi in Questions   
    Narratively, obviously. If you want to game the system, if you're already high on strife you might want to get a couple more points so you can unmask at a less dangerous time instead of risking a new scene where it could have worse consequences.
  10. Like
    JBento got a reaction from Hida Jitenno in Blink and You'll Miss It - Easily Overlooked Rules   
    The risk with that is that EVERYONE ELSE is acting before you do this round, and if they happen to either knock you out or Compromise you you're not coming ahead of anything.
    ETA: For me, the obvious problem with Wait is that, as written, you can abuse it with Water stance.
  11. Haha
    JBento reacted to Hida Jitenno in Questions   
    *Gets stabbed*
    "Oh, so it's gonna be like that, is it?"
    *Gets stabbed again*
    "Good day to you, sir. I say GOOD DAY!"
  12. Like
    JBento got a reaction from AtoMaki in Questions   
    The effect is LITERALLY "If you succeed, you may enter or leave the conversation gracefully." I don't know WHY you'd use Buoyant Arrival in a skirmish, but i guess now you won't insult the dude trying to stick sharp metal bits in you repeatedly by not talking to them.
  13. Like
    JBento got a reaction from Hida Jitenno in Blink and You'll Miss It - Easily Overlooked Rules   
    Better yet, if you have the Tactical Assessment kata, you can give a piece of terrain a piece of terrain Obscuring FOR YOUR SIDE ONLY during the first round.
  14. Like
    JBento got a reaction from Avatar111 in Questions   
    The curricula are weird that way; the example pretty much says that you can repeat purchases, so there's no reason for the duplication. I don't think there's any salvaging that one on ur end. This applies to the weird kata options as well.
    The Wait action REALLY needs to include the caveat that it also has the type of the action you're readying so you can't Water stance the **** out of everything. If that happens, I'm not sure of how many shenanigans you can get up to with it that would make up for not acting earlier. I'll have to play and see.
    You never LOSE Incapacitated, so the Void point thing isn't for when you've gone down in a fight (that's the OTHER Void point thing, where you eat a crit to the face to not go Incapacitated in the first place). THIS Void point thing is so you won't get ganked in your sleep and stuff like that.
    I haven't read up on Duels, so I won't comment on Predict.
    The Clash is inconclusive right away. The participants can choose to extend it or end it. It's very cinematic that way - if they extend, the two warriors stride towards each other in the battlefield as the rest of the fight rages on around them. If they choose to end it, then the battle cuts them off from each other. The 5 range bands aren't all that much because the issuer at least should move 1 range band towards the target if needed (challenging and then fleeing is not honourable, after all), and then they still get turns during the challenge itself, during which they can each move 1 range band for free.
  15. Like
    JBento got a reaction from Avatar111 in Questions   
    In this case, it isn't a rules interaction, it's the ACTUAL rule. I'm HOPING there's a rules interaction somewhere that says it isn't (or that I'm misreading something).
  16. Like
    JBento got a reaction from AK_Aramis in Blink and You'll Miss It - Easily Overlooked Rules   
    Better yet, if you have the Tactical Assessment kata, you can give a piece of terrain a piece of terrain Obscuring FOR YOUR SIDE ONLY during the first round.
  17. Like
    JBento got a reaction from Avatar111 in L5R Core Rulebook Typos and Corrections   
    Dollars to donuts at one point in development "spear" and "polearm" were different weapon groups.
  18. Like
    JBento got a reaction from Avatar111 in L5R Core Rulebook Typos and Corrections   
    School chapter: In the gear kits, it shows up "yari (spear)", but "spear" isn't a thing. Yari is a polearm. Unless they mean it as an indication so people don't have to immediately go to the glossary to see what a yari is, in which case it's still weird because the gear kits list "naginata (polearm)".
  19. Sad
    JBento got a reaction from Avatar111 in L5R Core Rulebook Typos and Corrections   
    Unfortunately, the book not only says I can but if I start the Technique (which I can, because the only prerequisite is that the weapon be Razor-Edged), I HAVE TO. You cannot, in fact, fail to ready the weapon in a 1-handed grip (it's not conditional to you passing the check).
  20. Like
    JBento got a reaction from Avatar111 in L5R Core Rulebook Typos and Corrections   
    I honestly looked at Wait for the same reasons. Here's how it's PROBABLY intended to work:
    Since you need to declare what action you'll take when you declare wait, your Wait ALSO has the types of that action. If the action involves a check, you can't use Wait as the Water bonus action at all.
    As written, it occurs AFTER. "When action X occurs, I do Y" means X has to occur.
    Your initiative stays the same. You MIGHT get acting twice in a row out of this (especially if the trigger doesn't come about), but you're already taking a big hit by not acting first this round already, so, eh.
  21. Like
    JBento got a reaction from Avatar111 in L5R Core Rulebook Typos and Corrections   
    What happens if I Iaijutsu Cut with a naginata? It's Razor-Edged, so it can technically be used, but then you can't ready it in a 1-handed grip, so... bupkiss? It's probably missing "that you can grip with one hand" in the requirements.
  22. Thanks
    JBento got a reaction from Nheko in Questions   
    TN4 Meditation (Earth 2, Air 5) means it's a Meditation check with a TN of 2 if you use an Earth approach, of 5 if you use an Air approach, and of 4 if you use any other.
  23. Like
    JBento got a reaction from KveldUlfr in Reviews? Sell me on/off?   
    Oh, duh, thanks for that edit >_>
     
    From what I understand, you can always choose to take Strife, so even if you don't have to make some sort of reaction test to the first or something similar ("how do you react to seeing your brother in front of you?" "I yell at him, asking how he could've murdered our father?" "Roll Intimidate (Fire) to see if he cracks, even a little bit" (or whatever)) you can always say it's a jarring experience and take Strife anyways. Or maybe you didn't really like your dad, so, meh.
     
    As for the door, the Narrative Dice are very elegant, I feel, in that second situation: do you care, and I mean CARE, about finding out how the door got broken? Then taking successes paired with Strife represent exactly that (are there dice sides with successes and no Strife?). Or maybe you don't really care, in which case after you roll the dice you decide to fail anyway, and your character just shrugs "meh, whatever". And in either case, you may be able to use Opportunities to notice the nearby footprint, whether you find out what happened to the door or not.
×
×
  • Create New...