Jump to content

CNYGamer

Members
  • Content Count

    31
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by CNYGamer

  1. I want to buy the card sleeves that I'll need for when my pre-order arrives. Is it a safe assumption that all of the cards will be the same 1 5/8" x 2 1/2" sized cards that TI 3e uses?
  2. I notice that all reference to it has been removed from the website, and the forum has been archived (https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/forum/34-battlestar-galactica/) Has anyone heard anything official about the game being discontinued?
  3. I'm not sure how you can count cards with the destiny deck. You have no way of knowing which cards came from the destiny deck and which cards were contributed by a player. That's the whole reason you shuffle the stack of skill cards before revealing them.
  4. I noticed the same thing. I'm hoping it doesn't get discontinued. I finally picked up Exodus and Daybreak recently.
  5. It does go back to his hand, but he can't immediately play it again. The Rebel player is only allowed to play one objective card per combat, and one objective card per Refresh Phase. Thanks to KoalaXav for pointing out my mistake. The Rules Reference actually addresses this card specifically: "If the Rebel player does not roll a <direct hit symbol>, he keeps the card and does not gain any reputation. The card can be used during a future combat round." So I was a little bit correct. He can't replay the card "immediately" but he can play it on the next combat round.
  6. I'll add to the opinions here: when I play the Imps, Mon Calamari is a system that I like to get a grip on quickly because I can deprive the Rebel player of a Mon Calamari cruiser and give myself an additional Star Destroyer. And if I can't have it for myself, I have no problem destroying it so the Rebel player can't have it either.
  7. 1. Yes, you must pair an action card with the picture leader, or one of the two pictured leaders in the case of action cards that have two leaders shown, unless the card explicitly says otherwise. 2. The Rebels deploy first. Placing units on the build queue is done simultaneously. 3. The card you're referring to is Wookie Guardian. Because it says "Use when your opponent attempts a spec ops mission" (emphasis mine), that means the mission in question must be opposed in order for Wookie Guardian to cause it to fail. If an Imperial mission says "Resolve...", Wookie Guardian can't be used because "resolve" missions can't be opposed. Likewise, if an Imperial mission says "Attempt..." and if the Rebel player has no leader in the system Wookie Guardian can't be used because such a mission is unopposed, meaning no dice are rolled and it automatically succeeds. 4. No. If there is an Imperial loyalty marker, any Imperial units (space or ground), or a destroyed system marker in the system in question, the Rebel player cannot relocate his or her base to that system. 5. A player may reveal a mission during the Command Phase as long as at least one of his leaders is assigned to the mission. So if, for example, a mission has one of the admiral's leader and one of the general's leaders assigned to it, even if the admiral has already passed, the general can still reveal that mission because at least one of his leaders are assigned to it.
  8. To add to what KoalaXav said, if Ozzel's action card, which we have already established resolves during the Assignment phase, results in a combat, the Rebel player has the option of bringing in a leader to assist in the battle as per the normal combat rules.
  9. You play it during the Assignment phase and it resolves during the Assignment phase. This gives the Imperial player a rare opportunity to get the jump on the Rebels, who get to take the first action during the Command Phase.
  10. Another subtlety to consider is what happens immediately after a Rebel leader is captured. That leader can't be moved from the system in which it was captured until the next round. But the Rebel player gets to take the first action during the Command Phase of that next round. So if the Rebel player happens to have Daring Rescue in his hands, potentially he can rescue the captured Rebel leader and vanish off to the Rebel base before the Imperial player can do anything about it.
  11. Yes, Capture Rebel Operative can only be played against a Rebel leader that is in a system that contains an Imperial unit. It has to be that way because if a captured leader is ever in a system that contains no Imperial units, it is automatically rescued. So even if the card did you allow you to play it against a Rebel leader in a system that contained no Imperial units, you would capture the leader and then it would immediately become rescued. Edit: changed "Rebel unit" to "Rebel leader"
  12. I guess it depends on the rules for that specific tournament. I'm pretty sure some tournaments automatically advance the first person who rage flips the table to the final round.
  13. I think it would be difficult to center an organized play program around a game like Rebellion. First, as you already pointed out, games take a long time. And they take longer still when you're teaching new people how to play. As both a former retailer and a former OP manager for a game company, I feel confident in saying that good organized play events are held on weekdays in the evening, and typically don't ask anyone to be willing to commit more than about two hours of time. Second, although the game is technically a 2-4 player game, in my opinion it's really a two-player game (and I know that there are some very intelligent and well-informed opinions that disagree with mine, so take my opinion at just that: one person's opinion). But either way, you're talking about needing a $100 set-up for each game that takes place, whether that is accommodating two players or three or four, it's still a bit much for organized play. I can see game conventions running multi-round tournaments of Rebellion. At Origins, I've participated in tournaments of Twilight Imperium, which is a game that takes even longer to play than Rebellion. They typically don't have more than one round in the same day, which means players who advance play the next day. Or they have multiple feeder games over two or three days, with the top player from each feeder game playing in the final round. Just my $0.02 worth.
  14. No, the ten die cap is a ten die cap. The five die cap is combat. In combat the die cap is also 10 per player: 5 black + 5 red.
  15. No, each player can roll a maximum of 10 dice. From the Rules Reference, page 9: "When resolving a mission, each player can roll a maximum of 10 dice total (dice color does not matter)."
  16. Nah, don't feel foolish. Like Marinealver said, it can be difficult to find things in the RR. The worst is when you know something is there because you've definitely read it before, and you spend 20 minutes trying to find it again. I do that a lot.
  17. I kind of hope they leave the game as is. It's elegant and balanced (except for the 3-4 player rules, which feel like they were thrown in at the last minute). I do agree with Stone37 that if there is an expansion, it might be nice to see the 3-4 rules smoothed out.
  18. It is in the Rules Reference on page 14.
  19. You are not required to reveal missions in any particular order. In fact, you are not required to reveal missions at all. During the Command Phase, both sides take alternating turns performing one of the following two actions: 1.) Reveal a Mission and 2.) Activate a System. Each time it is your turn during the Command Phase you must take one of those two actions or you must pass. If you pass, you can no longer take one of those two actions during the current Command Phase. If any of your assigned missions remain unplayed after you have passed, later during the Refresh Phase you will return those missions to your hand and retrieve the leader(s) you assigned to the missions to your leader pool.
  20. If you are referring to tactic cards, no matter how many leaders you have a system when combat starts, you can only draw a number of space and/or ground tactic cards equal to the highest respective value of your assembled leaders.
  21. The Rebels can't face off against the Imperials in a toe-to-fight. Firstly, the Imperials outnumber and outgun the Rebels, and secondly there is no victory condition for the Rebels based around all-out combat. Basically, they are guerrilla warfare fighters, making many, small niggling attacks against the Empire in order to keep the Empire from doing the one thing the Rebels don't want them to do: finding the hidden Rebel base. There are many powerful Project cards for the Empire, and it is often in their interest to get those Project cards into play. If the Rebels are laying out sabotage markers, when the Imperial player plays R&D, he or she has to make a decision: do I cycle through my Project deck and get some of these cool toys in play or do I free up a system's resources by getting rid of a sabotage marker?
  22. To supplement what Stone37 said, if you choose to pass before you reveal all of the missions you laid out (face down) and assigned leaders to, during the Refresh Phase, you return the leaders to your leader pool and return the unrevealed missions to your hand.
  23. I don't think that anybody ever argued that the Imperials lose the game if they destroy the system containing the unrevealed Rebel base. I think the argument is that they don't win the game at that time (again, it's not my argument, but it's a legitimate argument based on RAW).
  24. It's neither definitive or irrefutable. He only quoted the L2P, which is contradicted by the RR. Please show me, in the Rules book, where it DIRECTLY refers to what happens when A Death Star blows up a system where the unrelieved Rebel base is. The Rules Reference *doesn't*, and that is exactly the issue. L2P page 11: If the Death Star destroys the system where the Rebel base is located, the Imperial player immediately wins the game. RR page 14: The Imperial player can win only if the Rebel base is revealed. If the Imperial player destroys the system where the unrevealed Rebel base is located, the L2P says he wins. But the base is unrevealed, so the RR says he can't win. We have a contradiction between the two rule books. RR page 2: If information in this Rules Reference contradicts the Learn to Play booklet, the Rules Reference takes precedence. So by the letter of the rules, the Imperial player doesn't actually win. Now, I said it up above and I'll say it again: I believe that if the Imperial player destroys the system containing the UNREVEALED Rebel base, he does, in fact, win the game. But by strict RAW interpretation, he actually does not win. In other words, there is more than enough there to fuel a discussion with people on either side of the issue. I will continue to play the game assuming he does win. If, by some really odd turn of events, FFG comes out with an official ruling that he does NOT win if he destroys the system with the unrevealed Rebel base, I will grudgingly accept it and switch to playing that way. But I seriously doubt that will happen.
×
×
  • Create New...