CNYGamer

Members
  • Content count

    29
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About CNYGamer

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    http://-
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -
  1. I notice that all reference to it has been removed from the website, and the forum has been archived (https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/forum/34-battlestar-galactica/) Has anyone heard anything official about the game being discontinued?
  2. I'm not sure how you can count cards with the destiny deck. You have no way of knowing which cards came from the destiny deck and which cards were contributed by a player. That's the whole reason you shuffle the stack of skill cards before revealing them.
  3. I noticed the same thing. I'm hoping it doesn't get discontinued. I finally picked up Exodus and Daybreak recently.
  4. It does go back to his hand, but he can't immediately play it again. The Rebel player is only allowed to play one objective card per combat, and one objective card per Refresh Phase. Thanks to KoalaXav for pointing out my mistake. The Rules Reference actually addresses this card specifically: "If the Rebel player does not roll a <direct hit symbol>, he keeps the card and does not gain any reputation. The card can be used during a future combat round." So I was a little bit correct. He can't replay the card "immediately" but he can play it on the next combat round.
  5. I'll add to the opinions here: when I play the Imps, Mon Calamari is a system that I like to get a grip on quickly because I can deprive the Rebel player of a Mon Calamari cruiser and give myself an additional Star Destroyer. And if I can't have it for myself, I have no problem destroying it so the Rebel player can't have it either.
  6. 1. Yes, you must pair an action card with the picture leader, or one of the two pictured leaders in the case of action cards that have two leaders shown, unless the card explicitly says otherwise. 2. The Rebels deploy first. Placing units on the build queue is done simultaneously. 3. The card you're referring to is Wookie Guardian. Because it says "Use when your opponent attempts a spec ops mission" (emphasis mine), that means the mission in question must be opposed in order for Wookie Guardian to cause it to fail. If an Imperial mission says "Resolve...", Wookie Guardian can't be used because "resolve" missions can't be opposed. Likewise, if an Imperial mission says "Attempt..." and if the Rebel player has no leader in the system Wookie Guardian can't be used because such a mission is unopposed, meaning no dice are rolled and it automatically succeeds. 4. No. If there is an Imperial loyalty marker, any Imperial units (space or ground), or a destroyed system marker in the system in question, the Rebel player cannot relocate his or her base to that system. 5. A player may reveal a mission during the Command Phase as long as at least one of his leaders is assigned to the mission. So if, for example, a mission has one of the admiral's leader and one of the general's leaders assigned to it, even if the admiral has already passed, the general can still reveal that mission because at least one of his leaders are assigned to it.
  7. To add to what KoalaXav said, if Ozzel's action card, which we have already established resolves during the Assignment phase, results in a combat, the Rebel player has the option of bringing in a leader to assist in the battle as per the normal combat rules.
  8. You play it during the Assignment phase and it resolves during the Assignment phase. This gives the Imperial player a rare opportunity to get the jump on the Rebels, who get to take the first action during the Command Phase.
  9. Another subtlety to consider is what happens immediately after a Rebel leader is captured. That leader can't be moved from the system in which it was captured until the next round. But the Rebel player gets to take the first action during the Command Phase of that next round. So if the Rebel player happens to have Daring Rescue in his hands, potentially he can rescue the captured Rebel leader and vanish off to the Rebel base before the Imperial player can do anything about it.
  10. Yes, Capture Rebel Operative can only be played against a Rebel leader that is in a system that contains an Imperial unit. It has to be that way because if a captured leader is ever in a system that contains no Imperial units, it is automatically rescued. So even if the card did you allow you to play it against a Rebel leader in a system that contained no Imperial units, you would capture the leader and then it would immediately become rescued. Edit: changed "Rebel unit" to "Rebel leader"
  11. I guess it depends on the rules for that specific tournament. I'm pretty sure some tournaments automatically advance the first person who rage flips the table to the final round.
  12. I think it would be difficult to center an organized play program around a game like Rebellion. First, as you already pointed out, games take a long time. And they take longer still when you're teaching new people how to play. As both a former retailer and a former OP manager for a game company, I feel confident in saying that good organized play events are held on weekdays in the evening, and typically don't ask anyone to be willing to commit more than about two hours of time. Second, although the game is technically a 2-4 player game, in my opinion it's really a two-player game (and I know that there are some very intelligent and well-informed opinions that disagree with mine, so take my opinion at just that: one person's opinion). But either way, you're talking about needing a $100 set-up for each game that takes place, whether that is accommodating two players or three or four, it's still a bit much for organized play. I can see game conventions running multi-round tournaments of Rebellion. At Origins, I've participated in tournaments of Twilight Imperium, which is a game that takes even longer to play than Rebellion. They typically don't have more than one round in the same day, which means players who advance play the next day. Or they have multiple feeder games over two or three days, with the top player from each feeder game playing in the final round. Just my $0.02 worth.
  13. No, the ten die cap is a ten die cap. The five die cap is combat. In combat the die cap is also 10 per player: 5 black + 5 red.
  14. No, each player can roll a maximum of 10 dice. From the Rules Reference, page 9: "When resolving a mission, each player can roll a maximum of 10 dice total (dice color does not matter)."
  15. Nah, don't feel foolish. Like Marinealver said, it can be difficult to find things in the RR. The worst is when you know something is there because you've definitely read it before, and you spend 20 minutes trying to find it again. I do that a lot.