Jump to content

Corwyn2

Members
  • Content Count

    27
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Corwyn2

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    http://-
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
  1. I think the fluff text is for the "brute force" approach, and doesn't apply to the subtle approach. As an analogy, one way is like storming the gates (lots of fighting), the other is sneaking in through the sewers (no fighting at all).
  2. We might be getting off-topic, but I don't believe there is a skill for shooting starship weapons. Anyone can do it. Void-Master's are just (potentially) better at it, since they can elect to choose the "Master of Gunnery" trait which allows them to re-roll all failed shooting actions aboard starships (see core rulebook, page 72). The rules for shooting ship weapons are on page 219 of the core rulebook: "When firing a Weapon Component, the character directing the fire makes a Ballistic Skill Test, adding in any appropriate modifiers. Characters may direct the fire of more than one Weapon Component (either macro-batteries or lances). This means that one character may direct all of a ship’s weapons fire, although different Weapon Components may be fired by different characters if the party chooses."
  3. I've been playing RT for the past couple of months, and this is how I've played (and seen it played): - From what I've read most psychic powers doesn't obviously emanate from the psyker (with some exceptions). Hence the use of the Psyniscience skill. You could use Delude and Dominate for instance and on-lookers will have no idea it's you. You don't have to wave your arms about, or put your hand to your head, or do anything else that would indicate you're using a power. - That can sometimes make it hard to figure out who is using a power, since Psyniscience is by default a Full action. Makes it slightly more difficult to find out who the renegade psyker in your command crew is (which took my character a little while to do). - I play a fairly "puritan" psyker, so my character has *always* used his powers at Fettered strength. - My character also uses powers almost every turn in combat, typically something like "Sensory Deprivation", "Dominate", "Know Thy Place", "Chorus of the Righteous" (which my fellow command crew love), etc... - There's never been a suggestion that I should gain auto-corruption points for using psychic powers every turn. - My character did acquire (just recently) Best-Quality Bionic Eyes. They don't do anything for him, but they look like the real thing except under close scrutiny. Makes it easier for him to fit into polite society better.
  4. Btw, the one exception seems to be the Beastmaster power, which states in its description: "...equal to his Psy Rating, and if the psykers succeeds at the Opposed Willpower Test, the target animals..." In this case it explicitly refers to "the" Opposed Willpower Test, and previously didn't state anything to the effect of "The psyker makes an Opposed Willpower Test against the target".
  5. A buddy of mine and me have a different rules interpretation on how Opposed Willpower tests work for psychic powers, and so I thought I'd consult the forums. Consider the "Compel" power, though others are similar: Focus Power Test: Opposed Willpower Description: ... The psyker makes an Opposed Willpower Test against the target. So here's the question: Do we need to do an opposed willpower test just to activate the power, and then an additional one to have any effect? I say that they are combined, but my buddy says that they are separate (perhaps due to balance issues). I can see how from a very literal reading you might decide they are separate tests. Other powers have a Focus Power test, and then the description states what happens. In this case the description states that you have to make an Opposed Willpower Test, and doesn't explicitly reference the one from the Focus Power test. Is it distinct then, and you essentially need to win an Opposed Willpower test twice? Also keep in mind that astropaths get a bonus to their Focus Power Tests (+5 for each Psy Rating). So if an Astropath (who already has a high WP) then also gets a bonus (for example +20 at Psy Rating 4), then they are *very* likely to win. So my buddy's thinking is: 1. First, you need to do a Focus Power Test just to activate it, and you get the +5/PR bonus. 2. Then you do another Opposed Willpower Test, with no bonuses. If you win this test as well then you successfully compel, delude, dominate, whatever. Thoughts?
  6. You're right, this is really simple. I got lost in the multiple meanings of the word "turn": 1 turn of combat vs a ship turning. I misread it for some reason and thought the first sentence was essentially trying to say "In one turn of combat, a starship cannot rotate more than 90 degrees". Thanks for the reply.
  7. In the core RT book it states on page 214 that "Unless specified otherwise, a starship’s turn may never be more than 90 degrees." Does the maneuver "Come to New Heading" (on the same page), which allows you to turn twice, count as "unless specified"? By the rules as written it doesn't seem to (it doesn't state an exception), so that would give Light Cruisers and bigger a way for them to turn 90 degrees in one turn. But it also means that it would be (almost) useless for Frigates and below. What have you done in your campaigns? Do you allow Frigates and smaller to turn 180 degrees in a turn?
  8. I'd note that if the players have a colony and you're tracking time spent, then you'll probably want to modify some of the colony rules. By the book you roll for colony changes every 90 days. Considering that 1 day of warp travel is on average 12 real-time days (RT book, page 184), that leaves the characters 7.5 days of warp travel. That's for both there and back, so realistically about 3 days of warp travel out, then 3 days back. That's not a lot of time. Most warp travels take weeks. Now a colony size change doesn't always occur, and the characters can use Background Endeavors using the colony governor. But even so the rate of change is rather drastic. If the governor fails it could be a couple more "cycles of change" before the characters get back to their colony and by then it's too late. I've seen it mentioned elsewhere in these forums that it's probably a good idea to change the rate at which colony changes to every 1 year. That also makes it line up better with the rate at which Resource depletion happens (SoI book, page 28). Personally, I also think a year is just a more realistic amount of time for a colony (potentially) changing size.
  9. Galth said: And for the love of all that is holy, stay AWAY from Maptools dice. 1, 1, 1, 100, 1, 100, 100...I wish I was kidding. Hmm... I've never seen anything like this. As mentioned, there is actually a rather big community that uses Maptools (probably bigger than the DH community in all fairness) and I haven't seen any complaints about this. I've used it myself many times as well (both as a judge and as a player). For RPGs that use a tactical map it seems like MapTools is what the RPG community is converging on. But if you don't use a map in your combats, then you don't need Maptools. Of course, for me I find that even in very story-driven RPGs (like White Wolf's Werewolf game) combats are just more engaging if you can see where everything is around you, and can make use of positioning, cover, etc... (especially in DH if your group is fond of Pinning and using blasts). In the DH Play-by-Post games I've seen on GitP tactical maps are inevitably used for combats.
  10. Have you guys looked into MapTool? I've used it a lot in LFR (D&D) games, and it's a really great program. There is a very large player base. It allows you to see a tactical map, move your character on the map, do dice rolls, and chat (though Skype/Ventrilo/TeamSpeak is what I'd recommend instead... I've used all 3 at different times). There is also a toolset you can add to it specifically for Dark Heresy that does all your die rolls and includes a Char Sheet.
  11. Graver said: least the Emperor unleash more furry upon him... or find smarter friends to watch his back. Ahh! Please don't unleash the furries!
  12. Thanks for the reply. That's pretty much how I feel as well, but I'm also hoping someone knows of something official. Anyone else? What are your thoughts on allowing it?
  13. I was reading through the skills and noticed that the description of Trade(Merchant) says (core book, pg 108): "Used to find, bargain and sell trade goods." That sounds a lot like it would include the process of what is done when a character is trying to find an item. The Availability rules (pg 125) instruct you to make a successful Inquiry Test in order to find the item that you're looking for. I suspect that this is because Inquiry is a basic skill and a lot more common of a skill, hence more generally appropriate for the majority of characters. Questions: 1. Are there any expanded rules for skill uses (similar to what was done in the Inquisitor's Handbook) for using Trade (Merchant) in place of doing an Inquiry test? 2. If not, as a GM would you be receptive to a player that wishes to use his Trade(Merchant) skill instead of Inquiry for the purpose of finding an item?
  14. Quartermus said: and go with "Dark Holder" race (start with 1d5+1 corruption). Also, I would take the "Living Nightmare" background package (start with 1d5 insanity) These together will make it harder for you to qualify for the Templar Calix path (no more than 10 corruption/insanity). At least there's an option for removing Insanity (at an xp cost), but not for Corruption (pre-Ascension).
  15. Inquisitor sapiens potensque said: Without wishing to necro myself I had two new players for the game, but one dropped out due to work obligations. So if anybody is interested, please let me know. Game sounds interesting -- hopefully you're still looking for a player. I'll send you an email.
×
×
  • Create New...