Clinthulhu

Members
  • Content count

    6
  • Joined

  • Last visited

    Never

About Clinthulhu

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    www.lovecraftbookclub.wordpress.com
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Massillon, 0, United States
  1. I just picked up the Secrets of Arkham Expansion which contains the Azathoth card. For those of you who don't have it in front of you the text line for this card reads... Response: After Azathoth enters play, each player must sacrifice all characters not named Azathoth and all support cards he controls. At the end of the turn, you are eliminated from the game. Now I'm not the worlds greatest at strategy but from what I'm reading this would end the game for me. Is there a card that counters this effect or some reason I would ever want to play this card? Better yet could someone give me an example of when it would be used in play? Because I can't for the life of me figure out why I would want to put this card in my deck. Thanks!
  2. Thanks for taking the time to answer these! As for the 3rd question. It was really only our second attempt at the game and we were both just going over the steps of Icon Struggles. It was basically the only card he had out that he could play so he just put it on there to cause the Icon Struggle which brings us full circle to the question that came up regarding how that would be resolved. Thanks again for the help!
  3. I posted this elsewhere but haven't got any answers. Figured I would try in here because it's more "rules" related. I'm new to the game so forgive me if these seem like stupid questions. First Question... Some cards have Faction Icons before the Card Title... For example card (F 105) Fishers from Outside has two Yog-Sothoth "keys" before the name. What do these mean? I have looked in the rule book and ether it isn't there or I've missed where it's explained. Second... When Draining a Domain to bring a card into play. Does the entire cost of the card need to come from one domain or can I Drain 2 or more to bring the card out? For example... the card costs 5 to bring out. Domain A has 3 Resources and Domain B has 2 Resources. Can I Drain both to bring out the card or does the entire cost have to come from a single Domain? Third... During the Icon Struggle... At one point I was the Active Player and I commited 1 card to a story, my opponent only applied 1 card as well. My card had 2 Combat Icons, his only had 1 Combat Icon. So his character took a wound which killed the card. Now here is where the questions comes in. Does the card immediately die and go to the discard pile or does that happen at the end of the Icon Struggle? The reason I ask is because both of our cards had Arcane Icon and Investigation Icons on them so. If his card dies and goes to discard does that mean that I win an extra Token during the Investigation Struggle? In this case as well, when you Resolve the Struggle is it considered Unchallenged now because their aren't any opposing cards at the story? It seems to me that in this case I would win 3 Tokens for this story card. 1 for the Investigation Struggle and two for the story not being contested. Is this correct? Thanks in advance for clearing this up for me. Like I said I can't find anything that really explains this so I figured it was best to ask. -Clinthulhu
  4. Forgive me if this is a stupid question or if it has been covered someplace else. I haven't seen anything about this so I figured I would ask. Is there a rule against putting more then two factions in the same deck? Can you have 3? Also is there a limit to the amount of cards in a Deck? I know the minumum is 50 is there a Max?
  5. I run a H.P. Lovecraft reading and discussion group and this is a very common problem that people have with Lovecraft. He isn't an easy guy to read and some of his stuff is really... Bad... I'm a huge fan but I have to say that some of his stuff is **** near impossible to read. I would say that the best stories to start with are... Pickmans Model, The Picture in the House and The Outsider. All of those are short and sweet. Easy enough to wrap your head around and aren't filled with a bunch of "eldrich" vocabulary.
  6. Hi everybody! Nice to meet ya! I've only been playing Call of Cthulhu LCG for a few days now so it stands to reason I have a few questions that I can't seem to find a rule for so I figured I would ask you fine people who know more about it then I do. First Question... Some cards have Faction Icons before the Card Title... For example card (F 105) Fishers from Outside has two Yog-Sothoth "keys" before the name. What do these mean? I ether can't find a rule for this or have missed it completely. Second... When Draining a Domain to bring a card into play. Does the entire cost of the card need to come from one domain or can I Drain 2 or more to bring the card out? For example... the card costs 5 to bring out. Domain A has 3 Resources and Domain B has 2 Resources. Can I Drain both to bring out the card or does the entire cost have to come from a single Domain? Third... During the Icon Struggle... At one point I was the Active Player and I commited 1 card to a story, my opponent only applied 1 card as well. My card had 2 Combat Icons, his only had 1 Combat Icon. So his character took a wound which killed the card. Now here is where the questions comes in. Does the card immediately die and go to the discard pile or does that happen at the end of the Icon Struggle? The reason I ask is because both of our cards had Arcane Icon and Investigation Icons on them so. If his card dies and goes to discard does that mean that I win an extra Token during the Investigation Struggle? In this case as well, when you Resolve the Struggle is it considered Unchallenged now because their aren't any opposing cards at the story? It seems to me that in this case I would win 3 Tokens for this story card. 1 for the Investigation Struggle and two for the story not being contested. Is this correct? Thanks in advance for clearing this up for me. Like I said I can't find anything that really explains this so I figured it was best to ask. -Clinthulhu