Jump to content

Drake Leonclaw

Members
  • Content Count

    87
  • Joined

  • Last visited

    Never

About Drake Leonclaw

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
  1. 1) We had a situation last night where the lich had one life counter on him, and one of our players walked up to him and cast Soul Shatter, which says when cast on a creature, they are killed. Not defeated, but killed. Does that bypass its life counter rule? 2) Another player was curious because he was playing the Necromancer, how does taking it on as one of his "pets" work if it has life counters on it? does it keep those life counters and if so can they be used somehow, as in, could the lich above fight twice if they had a life counter on them? I'm guessing no but I've been surprised before in this game
  2. You're absolutely right, I just reread the sections relevant to this both in the main rulebook and the FAQ. I don't know where I got the shuffle thing from or how I missed the text saying you HAVE to buy something
  3. The dread knight character from sacred pools if I remember correctly is a 2 Strength, 3 Craft. He makes up for his crummy stats with his special abilities. I'm speaking from an unbiased perspective, but if I weren't, I'd add in there that he has a %100 death rate in our games. Usually quite early.
  4. I'm extremely new to these forums (2nd post) so excuse the newb question. The guy that normally runs our games mentioned something that seemed odd to me, and when I questioned him about it he claims it's not a house rule, but an official one buried somewhere within the rulebooks somewhere. Basically, I mentioned to him the entry from the FAQ that describes how one couldn't simply remain at and browse for an Elder Sign at the Curiositie Shoppe because you're technically supposed to shuffle the deck each time you draw from it, which includes shuffling of any cards that were discarded and slipped underneath the deck. He said, right, but the other thing that prevents hanging out at a shop all game is because when you encounter a space with a shop, you MUST buy something if you have the money for it. Let's say you have 3 bucks, and draw items and only one of them is $3 or cheaper. According to him you HAVE TO BUY that item, you can't just decide not to. When I asked him about what if the items you draw are all too expensive, he didn't have an answer. When I asked about how Tasks and Missions would then be treated, he still didn't have one. Help anyone?
  5. Oh I very much hope they print out the Dark Pharoah Herald card. I was going to do it myself at where I work (a school photography company) but I was dreading getting the awkward stares from the baseball card department here when I ask them to do it for me. Plus we don't have the right card stock... Also it'd be funny if as an easter egg/joke they printed the Penny-Arcade guardian and characters and slipped them in without telling anyone.
  6. Well, earlier this week we got a massive 8 player game up and going (yeah i know it's 2 above the max), and we experienced a first for us: one player had their character die before they even had a chance to take a turn. Playing as the Dread Knight (a character who has been played at least 8 times and boasts a 100% death rate in our games [each one a spectacularly quick one]), the Reaper was moved twice in a row and landed on our unfortunate evil equestrian. He rolled a 2, didn't want to lose his warhorse, paid a fate, and rolled a 1. Boom, gone, didn't even get to move off the graveyard. He at least made a lasting effect in the game: since he died without actually losing a life, his warhorse sat there on his space, which another character picked up and kept for the remainder of the game. Here's a follow-up question: did we play that right? Should the warhorse have stayed on the space like we played since the reaper "killed" the character and didn't actually cause him to "lose a life" which is the condition to make the warhorse scurry off to the stables deck again.
  7. I did the same thing with my buddies for months until I read what the word "value" meant in game. Suddenly the Monk became a lot less powerful...
  8. I posted this already in the other thread, but it applies here too. Neutral alignment cards weren't introduced until Sacred Pools, so I don't think alignment cards follow the same rules for "limited resources." To me a "resource" is something that can be spent, like gold or fate tokens, or something with a significant effect, like strength, craft, or life counters. The alignment cards to me seem like placeholders more than anything for reminding yourself
  9. Hmm, I think we need to remember really quick here...Neutral alignment cards weren't introduced until Sacred Pools. So what did we do before that? I believe the alignment cards are more of a reminder to you than serving a tangible purpose like gold does or fate tokens do.
  10. So I was looking through one of the Arkham Horror expansions I had and thought of a nifty idea i'd love to see implemented somehow. In AH, one of the expansions introduces these cards that correspond to a particular playable character and contain objectives unique to them. Upon completion of these objectives, they get a permanent bonus. This sounds like something that could be introduced into Talisman with entertaining results! I'm thinking of two decks of cards, one where each card has a written quest that corresponds to a different character and are assigned at the beginning of play (a Mission Deck, if you will), the other with the corresponding personal quest reward card (let's call it the Paragon Deck) you get after completion. These bonuses essentially become a permanent character ability or bonus! Unlockable character abilities sound amazing and could be just the thing to spice up those characters some feel are a little sluggish in the power-department. Some examples: Mission Card: Sylvan Whispers Character: Elf Quest: Visit 3 Woods spaces, then visit the Forest and miss a turn. You may use your ability to teleport to other Woods spaces to accomplish this Paragon Card: Elven Archery Character: Elf Benefit: If you begin your turn in a space that has an Enemy or character in an adjacent space, you may use your turn to stay in your space and encounter them, even though you are not in the same space as them. If you lose, the encounter is treated as a stand-off. If an Enemy is killed, you may take it as a trophy, but you may not take any items in that space. If you defeat a character with this ability, you may only force them to lose a life. Spaces are only adjacent to each other if you could move into them with a movement roll of 1 (so you could not use this ability to attack across the Storm River unless it is on the Sentinel firing into the Hills in the Middle Region) ******** Mission Card: A Tankard or Three Character: Dwarf Quest: Discard 3 gold at the Tavern and roll 3 die. Miss a turn for each dice that results in a 4, 5, or 6. Paragon Card: Dwarven Constitution Character: Dwarf Benefit: Any Armour worn by you has its range of protection increased by 1. For example, a helmet would protect on 1 or 2, armor would protect on a 3, 4, 5, or 6, etc.. In addition, any card or space that says you are poisoned doesn't affect you and you cannot get drunk and miss a turn when visiting the Tavern. ******** Mission Card: Scholastic Pursuits Character: Philosopher Quest: Visit the Village, the City, and the Castle in that order and miss a turn in each. Paragon Card: Scholarly Focus Character: Philosopher Benefit: Whenever you draw a spell, instead of discarding one you do not wish to keep and drawing another one, you may draw a second one and choose which one you want to keep. In addition, once per turn you may ignore effects that rob or drain you of your spells ******** Mission Card: Dark Secrets Character: Warlock Quest: Accumulate enough Spirits with a total Craft of 15 as trophies and discard them at the Warlock's Cave (without gaining any Craft counters) Paragon Card: Fiendish Reserves Character: Warlock Benefit: Your maximum number of spells you can possess increases to 4. This extra spell slot is not dependent on total Craft. ******** Mission Card: The Reddest Wine Character: Vampiress Quest: Drain the life of 3 followers while visiting the Graveyard. You do not have to have health missing to accomplish this. Paragon Card: Children of the Night Character: Vampiress Benefit: You can assume a bat swarm form in combat. Enemies and characters must beat you by at least 2 in battle or psychic combat or else it is considered a stand-off. In addition you may ignore effects that change your alignment. ******** And so on and so on. Adding flavor text to the quest card may be a good way to establish a bit of immersion and understanding as to the character you're playing and their motivations for going after the crown of command. If you want to get super ritzy, you could include TWO different paragon cards per person, and they have to CHOOSE a benefit to take when completing their Mission. I realize these benefits are pretty overpowering, but I feel a hard enough mission to complete should grant a correspondingly powerful ability, especially for characters generally considered weaker than others. Cheers!
  11. Dam said: #1: You need to roll 6. For Str 6 (or more), there is always the Weakness Spell (gives -3 Str to the creature). Whoa, is that true? You can use a spell like that when attempting to charm? I thought you could only do that when engaging in battle with them.
  12. In your example I fail to see how another player can CHOOSE to make another character's amulet be in use. If one character targets another character with a spell and that second character has the amulet and is on the cursed glade, it's the player with the amulet that would "use" the amulet to block it, not the other character. Even if its the character casting the spell that's doing it, he has no power to use another character's objects, he's just taking advantage of the fact that the OTHER player can't use the amulet. To me though another question arises. When do the effects of the glade end? Obviously the magic item nullification only happens when you encounter that space, and not when you encounter a character on that space. So if a character encounters the cursed glade, and he has the amulet which now is nothing more than a rock while encountering this space, spells can now freely affect him during his turn. But what happens when his turn is over? What happens when it goes to another player? While they chill out in the glade, is the amulet still deactivated? Is he still fair game for spells? If he is, would he have been had he encountered another player on that space instead? If he isn't, does that mean the solomon's crown example in the rulebook would apply as well, and if there were an event drawn where every character could draw a spell, would the example's wizard still be unable to?
  13. hmm, good point. I see what your saying. I think that will have to stick to being a houserule. In my opinion I think you're technically still "using" the bag of holding because it's currently DOING something for you when you land on that space: holding your objects. The amulet, however, is tricky. I think that you technically ARE using it when someone attempts to cast something on you. You're USING it to block it maybe? Again, I think it's more of an opinion of the players you play with to decide, because I doubt we'll get an official ruling on this.
  14. One additional point to bring up is the FAQ talking about the Cursed Glade. The rules for losing the use of your magic objects only occurs when encountering THE SPACE. If there's another character on that space and you decide to encounter him or her instead, you don't lose the use of your objects.
  15. You bring up some incredibly interesting, and complicated, points. The 4 examples you gave in your explanation about your house rules seem pretty straight forward. These are magic objects, after all, and thus are not able to be interacted with at all by you (used or otherwise) when on the Cursed Glade. After all, the rulebook uses Solomon's Crown in its example on page 13, an item that works PASSIVELY and is not "used" by the character necessarily in a direct sense. It's effects are negated when landing on the cursed glade, according to the example. So, it would seem that yes, when landing on the Cursed Glade, your magic items are "deactivated" so your bag of holding would then vomit up all of its contents into the space (sorry, but them's the breaks). The evidence that supports this is again in the example in the rulebook of the main game. When Solomon's Crown was deactivated for the Wizard, he went from 7 craft to 5 craft, and 1 of his 3 spells was lost forever, even though the crown was only "suppressed" temporarily while the wizard chilled out in the cursed glade. Even when he leaves, he doesn't gain his lost spell, just as you wouldn't get to pick up your dropped items unless you happened to land back on the space with some non-magical carrying capacity abilities (horse and cart, for instance). The short version? Go to page 13 of the rulebook and look at the example that's in the boxed section.
×
×
  • Create New...