Jump to content

Thra11

Members
  • Content Count

    4
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Thra11

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Deer Park, New York, United States
  1. The reason, to me, that it is ambiguous, is that "before" part. If they didn't intend for it to occur before your engagement occurs, why not just say "when you engage"? "Before you engage" makes it sound like it takes place at the very last moment before your initiative starts engaging.
  2. The card reads "Before you engage, roll 1 attack die. On a hit result, suffer 1 hit damage. Action: Repair this card." If a ship has one hull left, rolls for this crit, and takes the final point of damage, does it still get to shoot? It came up in a game today where we both had Init 5 ships. Opponent had console fire from the last turn. I had initiative. I activated and reduced him to one hull point. As per the card, before he activated, he rolled (came up blank) and proceeded to kill my last ship. I congratulated him on his win and pointed out he was lucky that didn't kill him, because that crit applies damage before you activate, meaning it would have killed him before he activated. He insists simultaneous fire rule would over ride that. I argue that the wording is very specific that that last damage would take out a ship before it activates and gets to fire, just as it would had he took the last hit before activating in any other situation. I agree thematically it should work that way because my damage from shots came at the same time his shots would have, but rules don't care about themes. If they did, crits received from simultaneous fire wouldn't take effect until after you both fire, but they do.
  3. The one reason I would question that interpretation is that by the point the card is talking about "All units in excess" they are talking about the movement of the defender's pieces to another place on the planet. If they meant it applied to attackers as well, I assume the devs would have indicated it,
  4. I'm hoping one of the actual devs will jump in on this one. I've seen some things posted by non official sources regarding retreat that I can't figure how they got that interpretation. Here is the situation. Player A (Zerg) is invading player B's (terran) area. There are 3 spaces. 2 zerg owned, and the one terran space. When th retreat is played, all of the zerg forces were mobilized from one of their areas into the terran. When the battle is canceled does that cancel the movement? Do they return to their starting places? I assumed the results should be treated exactly as if the defenders had all successfully used cloaking, except have to retreat to an empty space on the active planet as per the card text instead of being able to fall back to an adjacent planet. If they exceed the unit limit of the space they retreat to, the excess die. Attacker continues like any other successful attack, and send any overflow to any acceptable spot.
×
×
  • Create New...