Jump to content

gioSistino

Members
  • Content Count

    9
  • Joined

  • Last visited

    Never

About gioSistino

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    , , Italy
  1. Greetings DocSavage said: Advance after a fire combat Infantry units in open order may shoot at enemy units in different hexes. How may this unit advance after a combat if different hexes become vacant? It is not stated in the rules. I would suggest that after a unit in open order has fired and the target hex get empty, player decides if the unit advances (if with attack order) and then becomes disordered or if the unit fires at a second target. If it fires at a second target and the target hex get empty, the player decides if the unit advances (again, if aloud), then becoming disordered. Page 32: "All fire or mêlée combats of units within the same group must be declared at the same time, before rolling any dice. All combat effects inflicted by units of the same group are considered simultaneous." So a skirmisher capable to fire in two different hex, must declare them before rolling any dice. If either become vacant you can advance as for page 35: [...] may advance into the hex left vacant by the enemy target unit [...]. You cannot split your unit, so you can choose to advance in one of them, not either. DocSavage said:Advance after melee combat If attacked hex becomes vacant, a unit must advance. But infantry in open order is not disordered after this advance (as after the advance in a fire combat). Is that correct? It is disordered. See page 36, paragraph "After mêlée, if an infantry advances into a hex that is not open terrain..." It is disordered if advance in open terrain (changing formation from open order to column) otherwise no. I apologize for not having differentiated the answer, somehow I understood advance in difficult terrain. DocSavage said: Artillery reacting to a cavalry charge If an artillery unit becomes charged by more than one cavalry unit frontally, in the same phase and from the same cavalry unit group at the same time, may it fire against all the cavalry units once and if so, does it have to do a morale test every time or only once? If an artillery is charged by multiple cavalry units, only one cavalry unit is the attacking unit, the other(s) supporting the charge, giving a +2 modifier each (per "Charging with multiple cavalry units", page 38). Although it is not stated clearly, I would say that the artillery reaction fire is only against that attacking cavalry. Page 38 Artillery reacting to a cavalry charge: […] may fire against the charging cavalry. In this moment (before the cavalry rolls for its attack, same paragraph), all cavalry units are charging. The artillery can shoot at one of them, or two using the optional canister rule. Sergio G.
  2. An attack on the flank of the enemy is definitely a best way to attack. To execute a flank attack you can maneuver keeping a certain distance from the enemies line. For a correct execution of an order, is important to see the situation from a strategic point of view. Sergio
  3. Cavalry can cross (and charge) through a crest hexside and move (or charge) into an open (flat terrain) hexagon. Crests, hedges, fences are hexsides between two hex. You cannot charge, for example, through a hedge (or crest) into a wood (or village) Sergio G
  4. Open hexes are flat (even with a small house or some trees). Woods, orchards, farms, villages, fortress, redoubts and the sandpit, are difficult terrain. Cavalry and artillery may not move throguh them. HEXSIDE: Hedges, fences and crests. Cavalry and artillery can cross them. Wall is a hexside, but cavalry and artillery cannot cross it. Cavalry can charge through a hedge or crest but no inside a wood. Sergio
  5. The event card are played before the reaction and the term "immediately" gives priority to a card. i.e.the "Fire Reaction" (you may immediately fire ...) is calculated against the formation, or orientation, that the enemy unit had before to complete his move. Another example: you can play "My horse!" (reaction card), only after the attacker has announced his intention to use the leader in a melee attack. In this case the attacker announce the assault, the leader presence and, eventually, play his event card (for example "the Bravest of the brave"). After him the defender can play his reaction. The leader's horse is dead and the "bravest of the brave" rolls on ground, alive but without glory. No bonus for the leader (and the card) during the melee but no die roll to check if the leaders is dead (as wrote in the event card). Sergio
  6. Advance after a fire combat An open order unit can shoot with each base in two different hexes. If both will be vacant, you can choose one of them and advance with either bases. Advance after melee combatYes Movement Yes Retreat It lose a figure and do not retreat. Artillery reacting to a cavalry charge One moral test, two fire using grapeshot (optional rules), otherwise only one.
  7. Hi James, in your example, the infantry who has only declared to support the melee, in absence of combat (because the enemy withdraws BEFORE the melee) don't go into disordered status. Sergio
  8. 1. Question - Can a movement card move an out of command unit? IE if your calvary unit is out of command (and thus 'cannot move') - can an event card during the movement phase allow it to move anyway? No, because you cannot play any cards on out of command units 2. Observation - Moving Hex Vertix to Vertix makes it appear that the units are 'sliding' from one hex to another yes? It's an odd way to move as opposed to hex sides. 3. Question - If an artillary piece is higher than another unit does it still get +1 for being higher at 2 hexes away? Yes 4. Question - Is there a downfall to skirmishers? Generally spoken, you cannot target a skirmisher figure if it's combined with closed order unit. 5. Observation - Changing orders is hard. I wanted my unit of calvary to change to a movement order from the attack order it had. Having a 5 base number to follow orders, I still needed a 6 plus on the die to execute them. It seems very difficult. (and subsequently, we don't change orders all that much) Yes it’s hard if you can’t use the entire chain of command. For example at Maida, if you combine the CinC orders bonus (3) with the cavalry group commander value (5) you obtain a base number of 8. You'll need only a 3 or more on die roll! 6. Quesiton - If one unit of a group is in Hex A and another is in Hex C and another unit from another group is in Hex B (between them), Can the UGC occupy the middle Hex (of the group he doesn't belong to?) so that his two units stay 'in command" Yes, but remember: you cannot use any UGC bonus (morale, melee) on unit in hex B because it’s part of another group. Only the CC can modify any units of his side, the UGC are strictly restrained to his units 7. Situation - French Column attacks British Line. British play event card to 'Counter charge with beyonets'. British cause retreat of Calvary Infantry- Question - do they get to advance? Depends. The british line must advance if it have an attack order, otherwise it cannot advance. As for advance after fire, the line will be automatically disordered at the end of advance move. 8. Question - Can a unit that used the formation change segment to eliminate a disorder token then be used to support in the same action phase? No. During a single action phase a unit can do only ONE action. In your example, the disordered unit can remove the disorder status OR can melee. In the second case, it cannot support any friendly unit because it is disordered, but can receive support from good ordered units. 9. Question - A Calvary unit with a manuver order can move 2 hexes. Can they use 'At the Gallop' Event to increase that to 3? (The card says that the Calvary unit can move '2 hexes' instead of 1. Should it read...'move an extra hex'? (Or is it not available because the calvary is 'already galloping'. Yes, the cavalry is already galloping! You can use this card only on cavalry unit with attack order 10. Observation - Either Calvary Suck in this game or I suck using them. I can't seem to hit a unit that doesn't go into a square. And then they are mired in that area. They don't seem 'as manueverable' as I'd like. Cavalry is a strong… but it’s also a delicate instrument of war. It’s really hard to play … I suggest you, if you allow me, to recall your cavalry after a charge, and carefully use it to smash a weak enemy instead a strong, good order one. The combined use of the arms (infantry, artillery and of course cavalry) is the best way to win a battle.
×
×
  • Create New...