Jump to content

kalev

Members
  • Content Count

    37
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About kalev

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    , Berlin, Germany
  1. Check this thread. It contains also a link to a good overview thread at BGG. I would go for WoD at least before bying RtL, preferably add AoD as well. RtL just with the core game is only half the fun. And you can spice up your vanilla quests with WoD or AoD features also, so you might want to add them after, say, having played 4 or 5 quests of the base game.
  2. I am also very interested in this. We are in early silver against the Beastman Lord and I think we have good chances of facing him eventually in his keep. We already agreed on using the SOB rules for our RtL Avatar fights but didn't think of the Beastmen Lord's special upgrade. If anyone has playtested this please share your experiences (or estimations)!
  3. Parathion said: Actually that´s not a houserule - it´s right there before our eyes, in the GLoAQ... nobody reads it these days, obviously 35. Do creatures with Soar also have Fly abilities? Yes. While outdoors (not while in a dungeon) creatures with the Soar ability have all the benefits of Fly in addition to Soar. Likewise, creatures with Fly retain all those benefits while outdoors, in addition to gaining the benefits of Soar. Good finding! But unfortunately it mentiones only the benefits of Fly, not its restrictions. So what is your guess? Can Soarers/Flyers end their movement on water or not?
  4. In our group the hero players discuss openly. That helps the OL a bit, true. But not enough to justify his absence for the time the heroes plan their moves. That poor guy is all alone anyway, nobody is ever happy with him or sorry for him. Let him listen to the heroes' chat at least!
  5. arjov said: other 2 questions: 1)can a hero pass between 2 diagonally near obstacles? Yes. arjov said: 2)are pierce,explosion etc. istances cumulative? i.e. if i have a weapon that says power sourge: pierce2, if i pay it twice, do i get pierce 4? Yes. Abilities with a rank (marked by a number after the ability name) are always cumulative. Command even stacks on a figure if it is in within the area of two or more commands from different "Commanders". A bit confusing might be Aura: Aura 2 means that a figure moving into the Aura space gets two damage. The radius of the ability is not increased.
  6. Corbon said: House rules are fine. But advertising them as actual rules, especially when they change the interaction under discussion..... Well, initially I was not aware that this might be a house rule, which I meanwhile admit. That's what the forum is for, right? Discussing rules which can be misunderstood due to their nebulous wording. I never intended to adverstise a house rule as an actual one, knowing that this would be a rather hopeless effort as long as you stick around here, anyway. Yet even now, taking into account everything you wrote, I am not really sure of what is right and what is wrong. Your ruling is based on the two assumptions that the "flying above the ground" part is flavour text and that water is terrain. You also presented some reasonable arguments why you think so. Still I have doubts in both cases, and I don't see any way to overcome them on the basis of the sources on hand. Accuse me for being stubborn, which I probably am. I for my part accuse FFG for messing things up. But I do not want to start all over again. As you mentioned, non-flying soarers are very rare, so ruling them either way will probably not break anything. A statement, which-for the record-is not meant to subtly advertise anything.
  7. Corbon said: Quite right - I got that muddled around, sorry. I've even pointed out thematic reasoning for it being this way round to doubters many times (the big monsters with wing's can't stretch them out inside the dungeon so they can't Fly over obstacles). I guess then that is why they added the rule that Soarers could ignore terrain in the FAQ - because before that Dragons etc were 'flying high' but still restricted by terrain since Soar does not have any inherent anti-terrain rules. Recognizing this, your interpretation of Soar in consequence has to forbid soaring but non-flying monsters to move through enemy figures. Instead they may end their movement on water. I am sorry, but I don't see any point in this. My reading of Soar might be "totally wrong" as you kindly uttered before, but it simplifies things. The passage "Any figure with Soar is considered to be flying above the ground" indicates to me that creatures with Soar do not get Fly, but that the rules for Fly are applied to them as well. If they would have typed "flying" capitalized or bold this might have suggested that those Soaring creatures actually get Fly in addition to Soar, which they don't. Because if they would get it, they could Fly in dungeons as well, which was not indended. Another thing: If you insist on the "there's no connection between Soar and Fly" dogma the FAQ become extremely important, since only there we learn about such a basic principle of Soar as the ability to move through something undoubtedly is. Neither the "Fly" nor the "Acrobat" description lack this part. Can't this be because FFG believed us to be familiar with Fly already when Soar was invented, so they thought a small hint would be enough to let us apply Fly to Soar, thus making Soar an extended Fly? That seems more elegant to me, easier, more comprehensible from a developer's perspective. I am convinced-if of anything at all in this matter-that the rules for Soar could have been written much better than they are and that they offer more than one possible way of reading them in their current state. Let alone the dubious usage of "terrain" and stuff. Anyhow, my claim that water is no terrain, at least not the kind of terrain addressed in the above quoted FAQ entry, is rather a gut feeling, so forget about it. That would be another tiresome discussion. Just for the sake of an easier gameplay I will stick to the (maybe or even possibly wrong) rule, that Soar is sth. like "Fly deluxe", with the same options and restrictions concerning movements through and ending movement on something as Fly comes with. Just out of curiosity: How do others handle this? PS: My apologies to the thread opener for abusing the thread for a side discussion.
  8. Corbon said: Yes, this means that Soar does not inherently allow travel through figures or obstacles without effect. It never needed to originally, because as part of the Soar definition, every figure with Soar has Flying, which already provides those capabilities. There are no figures with Soar but not Fly, by definition. No, it is the other way round: "Note that all monsters with the Flying ability also automatically have the Soar ability." (RtL p. 30) There are indeed monsters with Soar but no Fly: Demons, Dragons, and Manticores.
  9. Corbon said: Soarers, while Soaring (not landed), may definitely end their movement in a space that blocks movement - they are ignoring the terrain effect and there is nothing in the soar rules that says they may not end there. (Note that while they are "...considered to be flying above the ground..." that 'flying' is neither capitalised nor bold and is thus not a reference to the Flying ability.) Soarers ignore terrain effects, yes. But is water terrain? I know that there have been discussions about what is considered to be terrain and what is not. At least this is unclear. In the RtL rules water is listed among "obstacles and props". When it comes to "terrain" in the FAQ they talk about beneficial or hazardous terrain all the time, which means they refer to terrain as sth. you can move on and end your movement on. The FAQ entry which tells us about Soarers ignoring terrain is also an answer to a question about beneficial terrain, actually: "Q: Do Soaring creatures benefit from terrain? A: While a creature is Soaring, it ignores the terrain in its current space. A Soaring creature may choose to “land” and disable its Soar power until its next turn; if it does this it is affected by terrain just like any other figure." I understand that you regard Soar as sth. completely independent from Fly. But if you do so all you learn about Soar comes from the ability description and the FAQ only (and not from the Fly description). The ability description says (apart from the +4 range and the swooping), that figures with Soar are "considered to be flying above the ground". What does that mean if you cut the reference to Fly? That those figures are more difficult to attack because of the extra range, but that comes in the subordinate clause. Do you read the "considered to be flying" part as mere thematic flavour text? Furthermore, if you negate the reference to Fly the Soar description does not even say anything about moving through obstacles or other figures, as the "Fly" description does. According to such a strict reading figures with Soar (but no Fly) could not move through enemy figures. Is this how you play? To sum up: I am not convinced that 1) Soar has nothing to do with Fly, and that 2) water (the only movement-blocking space in outdoor encounters, if I am not mistaken) is terrain.
  10. Falculus said: What about the more general question regarding Soar: can soaring creatures end their turn on obstacles that block movement? Soar is a variation of "Fly". "Fly" says: "Figures with the Fly ability may move through enemy figures and obstacles as if they weren't there. However, flying figures cannot end their movement in a space containing another figure or an obstacle that blocks movement. A flying figure may end its turn in a space containing an obstacle that inflicts damage without effect." The difference between Soar and Fly consists in the +4 range stuff only (and the sweeping coming with it). Apart from that Soar should be treated like Fly.
  11. Moneseki said: Pit-LOS isnt very logical to us(you`re in a pit, you only see adjacent. 10 spaces away from you a monster see you without a problem. Anyone able to explain how that is logical?). Well, I suppose you know about logic and Descent being evil enemies, don't you ? But it makes still some sense. Sitting in a pit ought to be a disadvantage. So you have restricted LOS, outside figures don't. Moneseki said: 2: So Tahlia gets movement points instead of ehhh "move"???? That makes her pretty much more powerful than we have played her the 3 months shes been in play. Here she`s only been allowed to move up to three spaces, no movement actions permitted. Check this thread: www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp. Corbon cites a GLoAQ entry later in the thread covering Thalia and her special ability. It answers your question directly. Moneseki said: Crystal of Tival reads : "Discard after equipping at the start of your turn to recover 6 wounds and restore your fatigue to its maximum value." Does this mean if you equip it you NEED to discard it? I agree with Parathion, though I am not native English speaker, either. But I guess they would have used the word "immediately" if it was meant to be discarded immediately. Many things have to be done or trigger "immediately" in Descent, so FFG is aware of the existence of this word. Thus we can assume that it was deliberately not used in the Crystal of Tival wording.
  12. 1) I agree. The base game rules say "Other figures may trace line of sight to a figure in a pit normally" (p. 17). And the FAQ adds (p. 8): "Furthermore, if multiple figures are in the same large pit, all may trace line of sight to each other as if they were on normal floor spaces. All normal line of sight restrictions still apply, of course." So the hero in the middle blocks LOS between the other two figures, no matter whether LOS is drawn from inside or outside the pit. 2) Base game rules: "Spending Fatigue for Movement: At any time during a hero’s turn, he may spend one fatigue to gain one movement point" (p. 18). Since Thalia interrupts the OL's turn with her guard order she may not spend fatigue to gain movement points at this occasion. She may still use her normal movement points for movement actions.
  13. The base game comes with 36 Overlord cards. The Overlord deck consits of all of them. No restrictions, nothing is to be left aside. In fact nothing is allowed to be left aside. The expansions Well of Darkness, Altar of Despair and Tomb of Ice add more Overlord cards to the deck and also give the Overlord player an opportunity to modify his deck with treachery cards (those are more powerful Overlord cards). But even with the expansions there is never any restriction referring to the number of traps, spawns, or events in the Overlord deck. Only if you play an Advanced Campaign (you need either of the two expansions Road to Legend or Sea of Blood to do so) certain cards in the Overlord deck are to be taken out for purposes of better game balance.
  14. Steve-O said: I suggest deciding on a hero selection method that works for your group and sticking with it. That is what we tried but we found ourselves readjusting the rule repeatedly, especially after adding expansions to the game. What we mostly did is starting with harsh rules. Then we softened it for the following shots when the first one was not won by the heroes. Steve-O said: There's no particularly easy way to tell how "hard" a given quest is without playing it, there certainly isn't any kind of absolute metric for measuring how hard a quest is, so changing the hero selection method based on something as esoteric as this seems difficult and mostly pointless to me. You are right in general, but still there are some things you actually can tell about the difficulty level of a quest. You can assume whether spawning will be easy or difficult. You can check whether treasures come in early or rather late. The distance between glyphs plays a role as well as special quest rules. Monster types and monster locations can also be taken into account ... also there were some attempts made by players to rate quests which can be found at BGG if I am not mistaken.
  15. I suggest adjusting your rules for party selection to the supposed quest difficulty. You are the OL, so check the quest map and try to figure out how hard it may become for the heroes. Then suggest a party selection rule for this quest to them. If you play without AoD or WoD all base game quests apart from #7 should be playable with quite strict selection rules apllied (the whole party may redraw one hero in total seems fair to me, we did the same). If you add treachery from AoD or WoD or play quests from those expansions it gets more difficult for the heroes, so giving them more options to choose from might become neccessary. If you add ToI heroes get a boost from feats, so you might want to reduce their options again. Generally I prefer (as a hero as well as an OL) to reduce the party selection options as much as possible. Thus the variety of the game shows best. It is a challenge to deal with a "bad" hero or a weird party, and it is fun to detect rather hidden strenghts or to develope uncommon strategies to compensate for some hero weaknesses. On the other hand I find it boring to have the same few characters in play all the time.
×
×
  • Create New...