Jump to content

Three Headed Monkey

Members
  • Content Count

    46
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Three Headed Monkey

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    , Victoria, Australia
  1. Hehehehe. Yeah, it can be annoying. After a few games I've figued out how to place them all, but once you start trying to put in damage markers things can fall apart . Activation marks can get lost in the mess too. You can always put the original cardboard bits back in, and forgoe the plastic fortifications to get a bit more room if it's annoying enough. Another thing you can do, at least to begin with, is to place the cardboard hero marker in a Space Marine unit's damage marker slot. That can free up some space.
  2. I haven't heard any rumours. There have been no official annoucements in regards to expansions so no one here would be able to tell you for certain.
  3. They could just be covering all their bases, and allowing for the possibility that a situation that they had not encounted during testing could arise.
  4. SquirrelonRampage said: I am not completely sure but wouldn't you move your initiative marker only AFTER having performed the action (i.e. the attack)? That way you would first move your opponent's marker forward during battle and then after the battle move your own to pay for the attack . So your own marker would stay on top and you retain the initiative for one more action. I think that's what the rules actually suggest. Yes, that is the case. Moving your initiative marker happens in the Advance Initiative step, which is after the Action Step. The chosen action is resolved in the action step. So if you executed an order card that started a combat you would not move your initiative marker to pay for the order card until after the combat is resolved. If the effect of a combat card moves an initiative marker, obviously the marker is moved as the special effect is resolved. So if both of the markers would end up on the same space after the combat, the current player should have his on top as his marker was moved last. IE, after the combat.
  5. In my gaming group we were unsure if Khan's ability allowed him to be treated as a flying unit. I sent the question off to FFG and got this response: Rule Question: When using Jaghatai Khan's ability, can Khan and White Scars Space Marine units moving with him enter and pass through areas containing enemy units as flying units would? A: Yes. Khan and any White Scars Space Marines in his area can move through enemy and contested areas and crossing a crevasse only costs one movement point. However, Khan may not use his ability to join a coexistence battle (see “Flying Units Joining Battles” on page 25 for details).
  6. The ruling didn't suprise me in that there was nothing in the rule book to begin with that directly stated that heroes could be transported by flying units. However, I thought that this may have just been an oversite and played the assumption that the rule that said that heroes count as units for all movement purposes meant that they could be treated as a unit for transport. A little bit disapointed in the restriction but I will play it the way they rule it. I dont feel that it will make a massive difference and will just increase the importance on placing your heroes in the right spot to begin with. EDIT: Someone on BBG got an official answer to another question some of us had. Rule Question: Do temporary breaches (by Thunderhawks) impede the Fabricator General and Rogal Dorn from using their special ability, namely from building fortifications and from pushing the rank of Dorn's followers up one step? A: No. Thunderhawks only treat fortifications as breached for damage-reduction purposes. The Fabricator General can remove 1 breach token or place a fortification token, and Rogal Dorn can use his special ability as long as his fortification does not contain an actual breach token. I had been playing the Thunderhawk's interaction with Dorn differently, although I thought that they wouldn't remove the fortification token. We've never had the Fabricator General in a battle though . I'm glad. This makes Dorn a little less craptacular.
  7. It does seem wierd. It follows the letter of the rules exactly but it still seems wierd. I cant think of a fluff reason to disallow this, gameplay balance must be the only reason. And even then, it I'm not sure why exactly. A few suprising things in the FAQ, like not being able to retreat from a coexistence battle. Does this mean that causing a unit to rout in a coexistence battle will automatically eliminate this unit? Also, no mention on whether or not Khan can move through areas containing enemy units when resolving his ability. My thoughts are that he doesnt suddenly become a flying unit, but still, clarification would be nice.
  8. Fair enough. Missed that on the card. Also, FAQ is out now and the answer given in that matches the OP's word for word.
  9. So you are saying that Mortarion's ability comes first? So Imperial Fists with two damage points will die before they get boosted by Dorn's ability? I'm not sure if I like that. Also, what are you basing your information on?
  10. Rasiel said: BrooklynMike said: Just a comment from an interested party: This debate is interesting and is starting to take on aspects of a legal brief. However, the situation described is extremely common, and I think we need FFG's direct response on this. Has anyone gone directly to them with this question? I have, so finally we have an official answer. A: All units in the target must participate in the battle, even if they have a normal activation or routed activation marker. An official response. Awesome. Thanks for taking the initiative Rasiel. I guess this means an end to the debate. It was fun though! *sigh* I shall miss it. *Replays highlights of debate in his head with soft music playing in the background.*
  11. Glad to hear that it worked out. Also that's the first explanation I've heard as to why some of the early boards were warped and its good to know. FFG have the customer service angle down pat. It's funny though. We consumers always seem to assume that there is a whole department set up to take care of complaints with many employees working all day on our problems, stat! No, its just one person. And she was away . Thank you Thaad for your hard work and for putting up with our complaints in a polite and understanding way that goes above and beyond!
  12. Rasiel said: Still no official answer or FAQ? Okay what about absurdum proof: Imagine you activate the area, but have no other units in adjacent areas to attack. Only those in target area. So, you are saying, because units are in target area, they are brought into battle, even there is an activation marker from previous order. But, no other unit is attacking the target area, so units in target area are not "brought into battle", they are the only units that are actually attacking the target area. So they are using order card to attack somewhere, which they cant. What? You could have been clearer in what you were saying. Be careful of the terminology that you use. Remember that it is not a target area until the combat is started. Until then, it is just classified as a contested area. Just to clarify; you think that I am making the arguement that units in an activated area that is also contested can act on an attack order targeting the area that they are in? That is not what I am saying at all. You cant order the units in the contested area if there is an activation marker there. So you need friendly units in an unactivated adjacent area to attack the contested area and thus create the combat. This is what happens. An attack order card is played in the region of the proposed target are which the units in the adjacent area act on. The target area is a contested area with a friendly activation marker in it. A marker is placed in the origin area, but not in the target area as there already is one. So the units in the adjacent are attack and combat starts. To resolve that combat, these are the steps that you go through: Joining battle Engaging units Preparing to fight Combat iterations End of battle The rules for the second step, engaging units, states that "all units and Heroes in the target area, whether belonging to the defender or attacker, become engaged automatically." After that, no exceptions or further clarifications on the matter are listed. So the units that are already in the target area become engaged. As stated before, the activation markers are placed as soon as the origin and target areas are identified so there will always be an activation marker in the target area when step 2 comes around. Now, the only definition of the word 'all' that I know of usually meens everything. So if the rules say all units, without naming any exceptions, then I have the only conclusion I can draw is that every unit in the target area becomes engaged in the battle. Really, I dont know what else I can say. That sentence page 24 just seems so clear to me. Also compare the next line; "in a coexistence battle, all units and Heroes present in the area are automatically engaged." I cannot find anywhere in the rule book that specifically states an exception that allows units in an activated area to fight coexistence battle. They do, of course, but that is because of the rules in the 'engaging units' step. If units in an activated area can become engaged in a coexistence battle, then they can become engaged in a combat in the situation that I have described. Note, that in all of that, I did not once say that the units in the activated, contested area are acting (attacking, moving, etc.) due to the execution of an order. They are not acting. They are not attacking. The units in the unactivated adjacent area are carrying out the attack order. They cause a combat, in which you then follow through the steps for resolving that combat. If you follow those steps, as they are witten, ALL of the units in the contested become engaged in the combat. Whether or not there is an activation marker in the target area before the combat is irrelevant in this situation.
  13. Also, a port landing played in the vengeful spirit region will allow you to bring units any units on a spaceport into either vengeful spirit area. It says so on the game board itself just under the vengeful spirit. As said above, it is pretty easy to move Horus from the vengeful spirit to terra. Not that port landings and pod orders allow you to choose units and heroes from the stockpile as well as the vengeful spirit. A specific vengeful spirit area is not specified so assume that you can do it from both. After moving troops into the vengeful spirit, if the Imperial player does not kill horus before a change of current player then Horus will just bug out.
  14. Yup, I remember that interview. It also has a review of the game as well. It was done by the D6 generation. Linky.
  15. Mr_Q said: Three Headed Monkey said: Mortarion's ability reduces the rank of non-traitor units by one, to a minimum of one. So Imperial Army units will not be instant killed. They will not be affected by the ability at all. Ah ok - so it's only units that are already 1 wound away from death - eg. Space Marines with 2 wounds - which would die from this? Still a nasty power. Yup. And yes, it is a really nasty power. Probably the best.
×
×
  • Create New...