Jump to content

jcbbjjttt

Members
  • Content Count

    46
  • Joined

  • Last visited

    Never

Everything posted by jcbbjjttt

  1. mustardayonnaiz said: Lurk states: exhaust this card during your turn to perform a search action; this does not require an action. While this card is exhausted add 1 additional brown die to your defense pool. The search action happens immediately after you exhaust it. Atleast, that is how I read it. If it said, "Gain an extra action this turn. That action must be used to perform a search action." Then you could use greedy. My $.02.
  2. Again, I don't have the exact wording but it seems like they wouldn't stack.
  3. We play where greedy allows you to draw a search card. It would be useless (for the most part) otherwise. I don't have the exact text for Lurk so I can't say exactly how it works.
  4. Philodept said: @jcbbjjttt: What happens if the nearest closest space is further away than the monsters movement range? Wouldn't that be a little unfair for the Heroes? If the OL has no legal moves, he can not move the monster. However, if there is a legal move BUT the heroes do something that prevents the monster from having a legal end location, the monster goes to the nearest available spot. It isn't unfair to the heroes if they know that is what will happen if they activate their ability. (The monster must use a second movement if able).
  5. Our house rule is to place it in the nearest available location.
  6. /Drizzt/ said: Greetings everyone, Just one short rule question as stated in the topic: Can a creature / hero block while being attacked when stunned? The card text reads that discarding the card is the only possibe action when it's your turn. But it says nothing when it's not your turn ( which is the case when being attacked ). You could switch out the lights of pretty every big monster easily by stunning it, then attacking it and always doing full damage. Am I correct that blocking is still possible when stunned? Many thanks and cheers, Chris No where in the rules does it indicate that rolling defense dice is an action. I do believe you continue to roll defense dice even when stunned.
  7. Triu said: I don't see "move action" for the web. IMO, move is move -- whether it's an action, fatigue, or ability / skill / feat. I disagree. This would be like saying when a character is knocked back, they must spend a fatigue or take a damage since they are being removed from the space. Same with any ability that would read "remove the figure from the board".
  8. Nuwanda said: Heyhey Yesterday I played the scenario "Death on the Wing" . If you win the first encounter you are allowed to take the first turn on the second, which is a huge advance! Therefore I wondered: Did anybody ever succeed in trapping a hero? How is this to be managed? When we have played, the OL has never won but has gotten close. He was able to stall the heroes in the fire pit area while he placed blocks in the hallway behind him. He then played dark charm, moved a character with low Might and Awareness (eyeball symbol?) into the hallway and blocked entrance with a large red Giant who was able to stun the hero. The heroes were able to beat the Giant on their turn but it was close. Without the conversion kit? The Meriods might be able to do the same but… probably not. They simply don't have enough life.
  9. Anyone know the legality of making one? If I were to make one would they be upset?
  10. Snakeye said: jcbbjjttt said: FAQ Says: Q: When exactly can cards that are used “during your turn” be used? A: Any skill or ability that can be used “during your turn” can only be used during the Perform Actions step of a hero’s turn. A hero cannot use these skills or abilities at the start of his turn or at the end of his turn. Does this mean that I can only use these before the first action, after the first action but not after the second action? Example: Averic has 4 fatigue on his card and would like to use Healing Prayer. Unfortunately, he cannot. He takes a Move action to place himself by a monster. He then takes an attack action during which he recovers a fatigue. At this point, is he at the EOT or is there time for him to use Healing Prayer? That's an easy one. Resting only rids you off the fatigue at the end of your turn. So when you declare "I am done", and before passing the baton to the next player, you discard all fatigue but can't do anything else. Your turn is done. That makes sense for the rest action. What about my example though? He makes an attack during which he spends a surge to gain a fatigue. Can he use the fatigue after the attack or is his turn over after the attack is resolved?
  11. FAQ Says: Q: When exactly can cards that are used “during your turn” be used? A: Any skill or ability that can be used “during your turn” can only be used during the Perform Actions step of a hero’s turn. A hero cannot use these skills or abilities at the start of his turn or at the end of his turn. Does this mean that I can only use these before the first action, after the first action but not after the second action? Example: Averic has 4 fatigue on his card and would like to use Healing Prayer. Unfortunately, he cannot. He takes a Move action to place himself by a monster. He then takes an attack action during which he recovers a fatigue. At this point, is he at the EOT or is there time for him to use Healing Prayer?
  12. uppTagg said: I'm actually in a similar situation as the OP with the Heroes spinning out of control DPS-wise quite early in the campaign. They steamroll pretty much everything at the moment and we're just on our third ACT I quest. Avric - Disciple w radiant light Loeric of the Book - Necromancer Grisban - Berserker Tomble - Wildlander They're very well kitted already due to being able to search a lot and getting heaps of money. I have no real issue with Tomble and Grisban, they're strong but not really OP as long as I can stop Grisbans movement and fatigue management. Avric has a chainmail, which Tomble almost always uses from the back so he's no real target unless on his own. Radiant light is super strong in act 1 and getting out of LOS is harder than one might thing in this game. The irritating part is that there is no save of any kind for it, just eat the damage. Now my real issue lies in the necromancer. He bought the no-brainer damage upgrade and ****, there's no stopping that zombie. Immobilise/slow him, Loeric can remove him, walk his movement, put him up, have reanimate move 3sqrs and attack (total range of him is 8 squares move + attack). Kill the reanimate and he'll come back next round and do the damage anyway. (Loeric has 5 fatigue so he can go on for a while) Also, you waste damage you could've done on others. Ignore him and he'll eat you the **** up. >< with extra action as well during loerics turn he's a beast. Kill Loeric - Since FAQ and RAW, it doesn't matter, reanimate can act before stand up anyway. In my opinion, he's way out of line with the other characters.. oh I dread for "army of the dead" later on.. My first group of monsters always die on the first round or so.. I always put them as far away as possible but that doesn't really help. I'm worried that this campaign have already gone out of hands because of this party. Will it shift over towards OL supremacy during ACT II or what? We just played the Interlude tonight and it was extremely close. The heroes did win BUT it was extremely close the entire time and only won because of a really bad turn for the OL and a really good turn for the heroes. We are going to hold out for one Act II quest to see if it is close, if not, we are going to just restart the campaign with a random selection of heroes and classes along with random monsters for the OL to make things a little more interesting.
  13. kingbobb said: I tend to agree. I don't know about monster balance…they actually seem fairly decently balanced…but I think it's the quest icon system that wasn't thought through enough. Putting Giants in the same icon as some lesser monsters seems to be the biggest questionable call. Another way to play is only being able to use monsters with similar group limits. For example, if in the original game you could only use a monster group with group limit of [1, 3] or [1, 4] you can only use monster groups of similar size (excluding Kobolds which can always be used). They really needed to add in some kind of ranking system for monster difficulties.
  14. jim_t_ca said: As I've found out a group of 9 Kobolds with 3 master's splitting slow a hero group in a hallway just as much as a 6 space dragon if not ever better. Assuming no one is playing the Spirit Speaker with Shared Pain
  15. Hypherflaeion said: Wait, why would you virtually roll them 1 million times when you can just use absolute probabilities, such as 1/6th the chance for a miss? That is fine for calculating the odds of a miss. But, what about the other 72 possibilities for rolling 2 Red and a Blue?
  16. I've put together two spreadsheets containing the probabilities for attack and defense dice. These were generated by rolling the dice pools virtually 1 million times. I have covered most of the possible dice pools but not all. The missing dice pools include those that a Disciple buffs with an additional yellow die, the knights ability to add a brown die, and the thieves ability to add a brown die. I think most others are accounted for. These are both public Google Documents. Attack Probabilities Defense Probabilities
  17. Triu said: Maybe one of the game designers is a BIG skellie fan. With Fury of Undeath you could use the Reanimate three times a round if it started on the board: activate, discard, summon, FoU activate, end-of-turn activate. Fists of Undead Fury! The Chuck Norris of the undead. maybe…
  18. I don't think that is right simply because Fury of Undeath ability that lets you activate the Skeleton as an action. Why would they make an ability to activate the skeleton (that cost the same as summoning) if you could use it twice with the basic ability?
  19. For my group, we have made a house rule that you can only select monster groups that have the same size as those you could select without the conversion kit. To me, the conversion kit monsters were not play tested well. With the Golem's in Castle Daerion it is almost impossible to win since the Golems can just block the two hallways. On this map, if they can get a Knight adjacent to Sir Palamon it is much harder for the OL. Without the conversion kit, the OL normally can only use small figures on this map. What do others think?
  20. We play that once the encounter has been won, no one else may take an action. To me, this makes sense because there are instances where it would be more beneficial to end a quest to win the main objective rather than continue on and try and get the search tokens. It adds additional strategy in my opinion.
  21. This could be fun! Wolverine: Hero Ability: At the start of each turn you may test might. If you succeed recover 2 wounds. Heroic Feat: During combat after dice have been rolled, add +6 pierce to this attack.
  22. You also get some monsters that are OP. It seems to me that the conversion kit was not play tested enough. Look at the first encounter of Fat Goblin. Before, the "beefiest" monster you could choose was the Merriod. Now you can choose Giants which are twice as strong and can stun all the heroes immediately unless they manage to break through the Giants. Also, they can be placed in such a way that the heroes can only have two heroes attack on turn one. The heroes need some decent dice rolls to knock down the white one, afterwhich only two of the heroes can get by AND then the overlord can retrap the two heroes that had to attack to break him down in the first place. I still think Aviric's healing ability is the best at the start of the game. Also, with so many heroes, you could play so each player gets 4 random hero cards and then chooses the one they want to play. Then, for each open group, the overlord randomly gets monster cards (half of the possible open groups maybe) to choose from rather than all of them. My $0.02.
  23. Unless the printed in bulk, it could be quite expensive. It is not like they can just print what they need when someone orders it. They would need to print a thousand copies for the price to be as low as the original set. I don't expect they intend to sell 1,000 copies of the minis for a game that is out of print. Just my 2 copper. Maybe I am wrong.
  24. We will play the interlude next and at least 1 act II quest to see if the Overlord wins one (or is at least close). If not, we will probably start a fresh campaign. It is no fun when the Overlord doesn't even have a chance.
×
×
  • Create New...