Jump to content

A. Harbinger

Members
  • Content Count

    57
  • Joined

  • Last visited

    Never

About A. Harbinger

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Mainz, Rheinland Pfalz, Germany
  1. Yeah, I was referring to the 1.0 rules. Well, looks like I have to get the revised rules after all, but since they are not available in German at the moment...
  2. The manual for Novgorod states that it is possible to play the included map with three squads and special rules for this should be published on the Tannhäuser-website. But the site seems to be disbanded by now. So could anyone summarize those rules or point out where I could find them? Thanks in advance.
  3. @myrm: Those are some very valid points, thanks for sharing them, although I kind of find it hard to apply them to "Death Angel" (with the exception of those things like "The others are idiots, I do what I want to do"). The player's hand is too small and in no way random, so an experienced player can tell a new player what to do and therefore "play the game for him" without seeing his cards, because with only three cards available it's not that hard to recall their workings from memory if you played the game for quite some time. Based on your explanations, I think it's a nice attempt at balancing out this co-op-issue, but at least up until now I don't think it works very well for this game. I think it would have worked better if they had implemented some kind of permanent action/random action-stuff like the "Age of Mythology"-boardgame for example.
  4. Frankly speaking, I don't get it. You may talk about strategies and who should play which card, but you may not show your cards to the other players? I mean, after two or three rounds everyone should know everyone elses cards, the abilities and even the priority-levels aren't that hard to memorize, so I find this rule rather irritating. Or is there a good reason for it that I'm not seeing right now?
  5. Is it possible? During our last game a frined of mine tried to do this all the time and I couldn't find a satisfying explanation why this shouldn't be possible (except for balancing issues). It does make sense and if I'm correct, it isn't addressed anywhere directly in the rules (at least not the german rules). So... Any clear answer on that?
  6. I just recently played my first round of Tannhäuser yesterday and it was pretty terrific. Yet I noticed that the second German edition that I own doesn't have the revised ruleset. I looked at the revised rules today and they seem to be totally different from the standrad ruleset which seemed to work pretty well yesterday (the Reich scored the first hits and wore the Union down a lot, but when McNeal was alone with some Reich-troops, he picked them off one by one, only to be blown to pieces in the very last round of the game where the initiative-roll kind of decided who would win, the Union with McNeal acting first or the Reich with it's last Stoßtrupp having the upper hand...). So since I'm not that keen on buying the revised rules for 10$, I thought about asking: Which kind of ruleset do you like better? The original, the revised rules or some kind of house rules using the best of both sets or something completely different?
  7. Okay, thanks to both of you. Then I'm looking foreward to my next paycheck and spending some money on Tannhäuser
  8. First of all let me clarify, this is not something like "I've played a game but forgotten it's name, so is this said game" or something like that. The reason I chose this title for the thread is because I was looking for a certain kind of game, something one could call a squad-based skirmish-game where two squads of (roughly) equal strength battle it out. The best comparison that would come to my mind is something like a tabletop-wargame on a smaller scale without the collectible-components-aspect, where both players select some pre-defined units. Not unlike "Okko" if you know that one, or maybe the Deathmatch/CTF-modes of the "Doom"-boardgame. Is "Tannhäuser" such a game? And if yes, feel free to tell me: how good is it? I read there were some issues with the standard-rules but nowadays with the revised rules this should be fixed, shouldn't it?
  9. Steve-O said: In the video game teleportation was involuntary as soon as someone stepped on the pad, but in the board game it costs a movement point, which requires the figure to interact with the space. Hm, that's open to interpretation, I'd say. From the LoS-rules I'd get the impressions that the relation between figure-sizes and space-sizes isn't exact. So I'd guess that the teleporter-marker doesn't cover the whole space but signifies that there is a teleporter somewhere on that space. Well, either way, I guess that's something the playing group has to decide for themselves, both points have valid arguments in my opinion. I think the possibility to knock someone through a teleporter allows some nifty strategies with telefraging and stuff, but... oh well.
  10. I was thinking about the knockback-ability of the rocket launcher the other day and was asking myself... would it be possible, to use this to force another marine through a teleporter in a Deathmatch or Capture The Flag-game? For example, if a marine stands one space away from a teleporter, you knock him back one space on the teleporter and one space "through" it... From a thematic point of view it would make sense (thinking about all those times in UT where someone threw me through a teleporter with the rocket launcher)...
  11. I recently bought Innsmouth Horror and the rules say that when you combine Innsmouth Horror with another big expansion (Dunwich or Kingsport) you should count the number of investigators for purposes like number of open gates and stuff as one less per additional expansion board after the first one. So I'm curious, is EVERYTHING affected by this? Resp. what isn't? What about the successes the investigators need to hurt the GOO during the final battle?
  12. I just read through the playing manual twice and only one question remains: When fighting neutral armies to conquer their capital, they do fight back, don't they? So they get a defending dice roll as well. Who rolls for them? And do they gain the same boni for the capital as well? Thanks in advance for clarifying this.
  13. Quick question: Is it allowed? The rules don't seem to forbid it, yet again, from a thematical point of view it doesn't seem to fit (at least not in the first mission of the campaign) and on the other hand, tonight my very first action was spawning an Archvile inside the starting area and did pretty serious damage to the marines. So is there an official answer?
  14. I just looked it over and - at least in the german translation that we are using - it's pretty ambiguous. But thanks. Anyway, another question occured concerning the "Prepared"-skill. It says that you won't get your tokens back when you're reanimated. But what about one mission and the next? Do you have those three cancel-tokens for every mission or are they gone once they're gone? And what can you actually cancel with them? On the card it says "event cards". So does that mean only Invader event cards or Invader spawn cards as well?
×
×
  • Create New...