If a player explores another realm are they obligated to attempt to close the gate?
You are in the second area of an other realm, a monster appears. You need to evade it because its a Gug. You need to spend 1 (of 5) clue tokens to add a die to your evade roll. You return from the gate in the Silver Twilight Lodge with only 4 clue tokens. Can you choose not to close the gate and stay there, holding onto your explored marker, and have arkham encounters until one appears that gives you clue tokens that will allow you to close and seal the gate?
The rules are vague about whether you HAVE TO try and close an explored gate. Its clear that if you leave the area you lose your explored status. Any insight?