Jump to content


  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited


About craggle

  • Rank

Contact Methods

  • AIM
  • MSN
  • Website URL
  • ICQ
  • Yahoo
  • Skype

Profile Information

  • Location
    Leeds, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
  1. As said, I believe the rule is there to explicitly prevent a gnome in a high water room from making a self-sacrificing fix of a system before drowning--say, if the high water were in the missile launch room and there was a missile event tile on the track. The only option for a gnome that can't escape a high water room is "No Action" and then drowning. Any other situation (except a room on fire) a gnome can choose "No Action" and move the ghost timer on one minute of the track (in addition to any time for hatches and movement) and their turn ends. Then resolve after the turn as usual for checking "kicking the bucket" and event cards. Then check for the next gnome to act. Yes, if you wish, you can repeatedly choose the "No Action" until such a time as you pass another gnomes time tracker and they take their turn, although if you are a fair distance back, you'll probably be drawing a good number of event cards while doing so.
  2. Possibly to make it a little less difficult, as having the square (like the suitcase puzzle) needs tiles with very specific placement of two symbols on each tile to be able to solve, and no tiles in a position to swap over, meaning a need to draw a new tile if either the tile just doesn't have those symbols or sometimes even if a tile is in the wrong place (you can rotate the cross piece, but that will not always help if some of the pieces are already correctly placed). By comparison, having a row of tiles like the front door puzzle gives more options: there are only two tiles needed to be matched on two sides, making rotating the central puzzle piece more viable more often, and the pieces on the outside edges can be swapped with the inner pieces if they happen to have the corresponding symbols on two adjacent sides.
  3. Are you referring to gnomes in a high water room only being allowed to take the "no action" option? If so, I don't believe this is to allow for another player to act first, but rather to specify that the gnome can't attempt to fix anything or pump the water out of the room; so no "last ditch" heroics preventing the sub from overheating or similar.
  4. I find the dynamic changes once you've gotten to the point where you know all three Objectives well enough to remember the details of each (there are more than three possible set ups for each scenario though--the first has twelve different configurations, and the rest even more than that--but that just changes the route through the rooms, rather than the win/lose conditions). Once everyone knows what the Keeper potentially needs to do to win, it becomes more a game of tactics and misdirection. New expansions and scenarios are certainly good to keep up the surprise factor of a new scenario though, that's true. There's still a very good board game there after you've got through all fifteen base scenarios, and that's not counting fan-made and home-made ones (although they certainly could have done better at facilitating playing those).
  5. Dam said: Bandyka said: Hi! I wonder how can the investigators win this scenario if they loose when one of them enters into the freezer. It's only two turns need to enter into the freezer, and most of the players explore rooms where are lock cards. Really? At least around here they follow the Clues first, only hit Lock rooms when there is nothing else to do. IIRC, the first Event card also warns them not to enter the Freezer. Tendency to enter rooms with Locks in them "just for kicks" will get people killed in the Season of the Witch scenario as well. I've noted a tendency to explore "off track" more the larger the group of Investigators. On the couple of occasions we've had five Investigators, it's generally seen a couple chasing the clue trail and two or three sweeping every other room for anything useful. Especially if they've played some of the earlier scenarios, where you sometimes find spell books and shotguns (one of the particularly useful ranged weapons for it's ability to shoot through doors) in locked rooms that aren't always essential places to visit.
  6. No, it sounds like you were correct; such are limitations of making it a competitive board game instead of actually an RPG. In this case, the rising body can give a more definite clue as to the location of the next part of the puzzle if the Investigators were a little undecided or dragging their heels.
  7. amikezor said: Playtested the scenario last week. Found it interesting, but the monster mechanics is too similar to "inner sanctum". Though, there is a twist of non-linearity in the clues that I especially enjoyed. Really? I must have missed that on my reading over the scenario (not got to play it yet), unless it refers to the "two-use key" situation... I suppose you could skip one clue entirely if you had explored enough to know the location of the door one down the row; that does seem to sabotage the Investigators in at least one of the scenario end games.
  8. eorahil said: BUT, you can only "discharge" ONE SAMPLE in the Altar an the beginning of your turn. Your creature should take 3 turns to unload 3 samples, one to reach altar, at the beggining of the next turn unloads first sample, at the beginning of the third turn unloads the second sample. I was fairly certain that Corey has confirmed that all sample tokens are traded at once the first turn that the creature starts it's turn on the altar space.
  9. Yeah, I'd agree with discarding the original: most cards such as the new trauma are worded as "resolve the effects, then discard", suggesting that they have to be played as a normal trauma first, therefore discarding the existing trauma.
  10. Mr. K said: I believe the card in question is the Mythos card 'Eyes in the Dark', the torch or lantern can help you for the 'a room darkness' part. However, the card doesn't require the Basement to be in darkness, so the torch can't help you there. Hope that help! K xx Oddly, that's different from what I first read your post as until I quoted it... odd board behaviour, obviously. However, that's my reading of the situation also.
  11. Elbi said: Story 1, the objective where the keeper has to kill 2 investigators. A simple way of doing this is to always attack Harvey with a Maniac, since Harvey's chance to successfully make an Dex.check is slim. Break his leg as soon as possible, so he slows down the whole group or they leave him behind, which makes it easier to spawn Maniacs on him. As soon as he's dead (after about 5 turns if he got the statue), switch to a new prime target. Whoever has the second lowest Dex.score might be a good choice. Stab him or her to death. Win. Takes you about, say, 10 turns if you're using only 1 Maniac, if you get some other monsters it's far quicker. *Always* ignore all other investigators. You have your prime target, the others are just around to keep him/her some company. See, I think that should telegraph to the players that: the Keeper wins by killing off X number of characters, therefore, every effort should be made to avoid a single death from occurring. And that becomes even more interesting once everyone is so experienced that the Investigators have to figure out if you're bluffing just for the purpose of slowing them down. But I say such all-out play tips your hand too much that it should balance out with more easy to form counter strategies. Admittedly, I wouldn't say such tactics should be played by experienced Keeper against a full group of first time players, but more seasoned groups: fair game.
  12. flames said: There is an option not included in section "How did the keeper win?" It is "Keeper won due to last event card". Which means investigators run out of time. I think the same could be use on "How did the investigators win?", but I have not checked it The Keeper only wins in the method if their Objective includes drawing the last card (which then becomes "Keeper wins achieving Objective"), otherwise both sides lose on drawing the last Event card.
  13. Tibs said: What does "keeper mistake" mean? Presumably a win by the rule where the Investigators may ask the Keeper to confirm the correct set-up of the cards in a seemingly unwinnable situation: if the Keeper discovers that they have indeed erred, the Investigators get a win.
  14. Possibly a slightly more manageable option would be to use just an expansion board, instead of the base game's behemoth. Also, you may consider looking at the Arkham Casebooks site which has a slightly similar idea, but with a "choose your own adventure" companion booklet to handle the encounters.
  15. Eidolon said: Just house rule it in that no one can be put in the brig until after the first jump or until everyone has had at least one turn. Personally, I don't see the issue other than you have some questionable players if they randomly throw people in the brig. Or, you're just a really bad Cylon and your eyes lit up when you looked at your card. You mean something like this?
  • Create New...