Jump to content


  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Shindulus

  1. 1- yes, it can trigger for itself 2- no, triggered action, can not be triggered more than once per occurence of the trigger.
  2. @Jojo/Entropy Let talk about such an effect : 1- Action: Spend X resources to deal X damage to a target unit with X or less hit point. X is the number of developments in this zone. 2- Action: Spend X resources to deal X damage to a target unit . X is the number of developments in this zone. What do you do? 1- I would say that as I must check target requirement I always "set" X as my number of developpement in this zone as X is defined by the number of developpement, and I must check my target Hit point according to the number of dev (not the cost) 2- I do X equal to the cost, because I have nothing to check during resolution.
  3. In this case it's "when a card is played" a card is played when you pay its cost. Yes your opponent have to bounce/destroy/... your unit even before you play your support card. Because you can not play your support card in response to this bounce/detruction/... HappyDD said: So, once there is a guy on a quest and I can trigger the quest, there is nothing stopping the effect? That make sense no? The rules only specifiy that you must check "target requirement" when playing and resolving the action. You do not have anything else to check, in this case, you do not have to check that there is still a unit questing during resolution.
  4. Primus_Magicus said: 52 Sons of Coin. Empire Unit. 2 E. 2P, 2HP. Noble. Kingdom only. Forced : At the beginning of your turn, spend 1 resource or deal 1 damage to this section of your capital. They made it... Really unbelievable... The greatest aberration of the game...
  5. Don't even seen this card before this discussion : 52 Sons of Coin. Empire Unit. 2 E. 2P, 2HP. Noble. Kingdom only. Forced : At the beginning of your turn, spend 1 resource or deal 1 damage to this section of your capital. The new total aberration, the typical fast set up card I was talking about. Any "low cost" card giving power is potentialy a card that bring unbalanced things. Even more when those low cost cards give power equal or superior to their cost. It's like a faction is geting "triple lands" while others are playing with "normal land".
  6. DB.Cooper said: So: I trust your opinion and it's just the same as mine...And I'm pretty sure Verena itself is not the core problem...But it's still a problem. You HAVE to develop, I DON't. I was talking about that on my national forum, the threat brought by some cards is as efficient that the fact of playing those cards. Because to counter the threat you must play in a particular way, in the case of Verana this can lead to "lose" a card almost for nothing every turn. Talking about some cards during the game or at the beginning of the game can be as efficient as effectively playing those cards. Depending of the level threat and what does it cost you to play according to the threat you "must" or "not" do it. But I really think that for more and more decks this Verana's threat is less and less effective. And the more the game will get new cards, the more this threat will be less effective. DB.Cooper said: Then, Empire decks right now are most "turbo-rodrick resource control" decks. Play rodrik, replay it, play skinks, replay it, save your guy, play some other rodrik and so on...Than Frederich and the emperor come out and the game ends in 2 turns. That's how it goes. Verena is an added power in a powerful faction. You develop 1 per turn. Turn 2, I can go Verena + Long Winter and even destroy you 3 cards. Game over. The problem with empire itself, in the end, is the fact that THOSE boost aren't neutral, but imperial: no loyalty issues. You can easily start with 3 cards in play. Turn 2 you get 5 resources and draw 2. Play rodrick 2 times and it's game over. That's absurd. The two bold quote are for me quite the same "fast set up" compared to your opponent. Rodrik is a card that I mainly considered to be a "fast set up card", and more over you can do some strong strategy just around this card. But yes finally we have the same opinion that's not fun .
  7. I considered Forge and Rodrik as "set up" cards which I am talking in my last post. Rodrik's main aim is to create differencial power with your opponent. Once more that's not because the 10 players, believed that they are the ones who play the most and the best and...that does not meant they are the only to play a lot. And moreover that does not meant that they are always right. Ok take the right to speak louder if you want, that does not make your arguments more relevant. There are local playgroup with more potentiels players than the 32 in "european championship". Their "mistake" has just been demonstrate : "A competitive Verena deck NEVER lost against Dwarves on a regular basis". During a tournament where at least during Top16 those "never losing against dwarves decks" have taken a 0 4 (at least 4 and maybe 6) against only one archetype. And this archetype was just an "old archetype" totally nerfed by the RL and despite what you are trying to say, it's not a totally anti verana deck he has weapon very efficient against others decks. But I am quite sure that this deck was using forge + village or exca. Am I trying to say that faction that have access to "fast set up cards" have a too great advantage? How many empire decks there were at the start of the tournament? If you tell me that there were more than 16 empire deck, those empire deck have just made a result according to their massive presence during the tournament. The main problem of WH:I is the general use of cards which only aim is to have a fast set up. Any low cost cards that give power can be considered as a such card, ,not a matter of how balanced they are, but how many of those cards are accessible to a given faction. Those cards randomize the game and force players to have similar contruction no matter which deck they are creating. And yes in this way contested village is a problem, no matter if it is limited or not it just bring more randomization. And yes actually empire have many of those cards. This is that point that should be modified (access to forge + rodrik + contested/exca + ... not the power of verana or something else). The second problem of WH:I is that too many players are believing what others say. It's really easier to complain than looking for solution. I am not sure that we have such a different opinion we just don't see the source of the problem in the same points.
  8. Where do you see empire domination? I just see overplayed archetype that do result cause it's overplayed, and losing against an old archetype deck, against which he was losing the same way more than 1 year ago. Players are just too influenced by the "10 guys" that speak louder than the others on the web. The only thing that should be nerfed is always the same thing, the "setup speed", I mean there are too many cards accessible to empire which the purpose is only to speed up the set up. But this is the same for any faction. Contested village should also be on the RL, this card is almost in every deck with no other purpose than speed up the set up. Those cards look like "lands" in magic. Ressource in WH:I are the "strong point" of the game, any card that "just look like a land" bring a high degree of randomization with no reason. Those settings cards just bring randomization and most faction does not have the same or equivalents "cards" to set up as fast.
  9. I play the same way as you, (the same way I also play plague monk for example). Raiding camp action does not requires that you need to first resolve the action pile in which you have played a non attachement chaos support card. You can directly play rainding camp action in the same action pile. When you play is when you "pay the cost" not when you resolve the "action".
  10. Gardine said: The argumentaion of my opponent was that x is only checked when he plays burn it down! and not when it resolves. He refered to the repeater bolt thrower ruling: Q. If a response to the activation of the Repeater Bolt Thrower destroys a development (e.g. via Demolition), does it change the amount of indirect damage the Bolt Thrower does? A. No, since the X was already fixed when the Repeater Bolt Thrower activation cost was paid. James's ruling Does burn it down work the same, fixing x when playing the tactic, or does it check when resolving? The rule is that you must check the target requirement (and only target requirement) when targeting and during resolution. In the case of repeater the requirement is that the target must be an opponent (if your opponent is no longer an opponent during resolution, I hope for him he is still.) In the case of burn it down you must destroy a support card that as a cost of X or less. Where X is your number of developpement. This requirement must be checked when you chose your target and again when you solve the action. The target requirement are : support card of a printed cost of X, so during resolution you must check that your target is still a support card and still have a printed cost of X (where X is you number of dev). This is the same case for snitch action and destruction of skaven before resolution.
  11. Vamosamorir said: In spanish championship, 2 chaos and 2 Dark elves in TOP 4. They have no problem with Rodrik raiders and Derricksburg forge. In fact, no order decks in semifinals Hard to get usefull informations upon this sentence, as long as we don't know how many peoples were at the event and at least the main faction of each deck We were 8 and all playing chaos / DE deck. (a very good reason for having no problem with forge and raiders ) We were 90 and all playing order except the 4 finalist.
  12. Do not see the things like that because this will lead you to some misunderstounding in others cases. The text of Bloodletter is the formulation of a particular case of a "mathematical" expression : - N number of bloodletter - D damage initialy assigned - F(N) a function that gives you the total amount of damage assign There are different function that can give F(N) = 2D for N =1 there are for example : F1(N) = D x 2^N F2(N) = D x (N+1) F3(N) = D x 2 (no matter how many Bloodletter are in game) Looking to the bloodletter text you supposed that the described function is F1(N) instead of F2(N) or even F3(N) or even another function. But the text "only" do not give any reason to suppose that the formula beside it is F1 F2 F3 ....The clarification says it's F2, that's all.
  13. FORCED: When a Dwarf unit enters your discard pile from play, put a resource token on this quest if a unit is questing here. The quest just check that a dwarf unit enters your discard pile, so yes the quest is triggered, no matter what it was in play it enters the discard pile as a dwarf unit.
  14. Ok, according to what you just say, is it correct to guess that while creating an action pile, each card played can be considered as "just played"?
  15. @Jogo : yes it works, as burying the grudge just check that a unit enter the discard pile (even a card discarded from hand check this). I like the idea to play deck with the same core but around the mechanics that can bring burying the grudge & muck! By the way, burying the grudge, particulary fits well with the actual deck and allow you to reclaim the fallen even right after any kind of units/support reset in any zone (just need to still have 2 dwarf symbols), by playing tunnel figthers + burying. Two cards (burying + muck!) that bring some tricky situtations and a lot of speed and "fun", that leads to hard to anticipate situations for our opponent. Whereas those moves are very agressive & effective. Depenging on your hand size you can get the ressources necessary to "chain" - Burying the grudge - Reclaim - Muck! In the needed orders or in the numbers of actions piles needed. You are able to play by "only" develloping and playing power in ZQ, as burying + n.muck! can bring you amazing numbers of ressources while puting units into discard pile. But it's really good for the deck to get 3 to 9 more units to be more efficient.
  16. Primus_Magicus said: Does it also double the damage of plague bomb? It doubles any damage assign to units, so yes. If multiple bloodletters are in game total damages are : n bloodletters in game, X damage initialy assign, total damages = (n+1)X
  17. Was talking about "just played" on my "national" WH:I forum and wanted to answer a question about Just Played. As I wanted to check my answer. I was checking FAQ, and unofficial rulling Twin-Tailed Comet Q. If a variable cost tactic like Flames of Tzeentch is copied, what is the X in the effect? A. 0. So a copied Flames of Tzeentch would normally do 0 damage. Nate's ruling Q. When does a card which targets a "just played" card (like TTC, Drain Magic, or High Elf's Disdain) have to be played? A. Cards which target a "just played" card must be played immediately after the card to be targeted. This ruling may change slightly in FAQ v1.6. 1- Please can someone give me the source of that rulling? (as it is not mentioned on deckbox forum). 2- To be clear : That means if I play a tactic and I want to copy it with TTC, as I have to let my opponent play a response first, if he decides to play something I can not copy my tactic. I was really thinking that all action in the current action pile, were considered as "just played". In some others example this rulling result in strange... things.
  18. Ok but it makes senses . By the way that was making senses from start .
  19. http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/ffg_content/warhammer_lcg/capital-cycle/realm-of-the-pk/spoils-of-war.png A question directly about this subject and this card. Do I take control of spoils of war if I declare an attack and then do not declare any attacker? I would like to follow Mallumo but for me the clarfication : If the active player declares no attacks OR no attackers, players immediatly skip to "end of turn" action phase. Once at least on attackers has been declared, players will carry out the entire battlefield phase to the extend able, even if there are no participating units. Does not really leads directly to this conclusion.
  20. Wichtel said: Forgotton Cairn looks for a Wood Elf unit leaving play. If I turn a tree kin into a devlopment (counts no longer as a unit) does it trigger forgotton cairn? No. In the same way, Rip Dere 'Eads Off! does not make Grimgor trigger his ability.
  21. Yes you can do that. More precisely : - You can do that before declaring defenders - You can do that after declaring defenders As long it is before assignation of damages.
  22. 1- Yes 2- Yes 3- Yes Any target of an action must be declared when you play the action. So each time you see the word "target" on a card you have to declare it when you play the card. In your Temple guard exemple : - Temple Guard (Action: Spend 1 resource to redirect the next 2 damage dealt to TARGET unit you control to another TARGET unit you control)
  23. I need a special edition with : Warpstone + Village + all 1 / 2 cards from the core set . It's hard to get "common" card in LCG, I mean cards that you want in any deck (Warptsone/village/Innovation/ ....). A set (or 2 3 different set) with those "core deck" cards + missing cards in 3 from other set would be nice. As I will continue to play WH:I i will need such set cause I need those core deck cards in the same way that I need sleeves for my deck. I have many decks, but can not play theim as I want cause I need to switch warpstone / village from deck to deck and I don't like to play with fake cards .
  24. cchopman said: How about the assigned damage of Tree Kin? Re-assigned to another units? or Re-assigned to Capital? or All assigned damage is cancelled? They are "cancelled". This is not the correct word, but the idea is here.
  • Create New...