Jump to content


  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

About blacksun

  • Rank

Contact Methods

  • AIM
  • MSN
  • Website URL
  • ICQ
  • Yahoo
  • Skype

Profile Information

  • Location
    Paris, 0, France
  1. Ok but in the end, you didn't really answer why Our issue is that with current rules if you're not in a case where a card targets another card ("they cannot be targeted by cards"), immunity doesn't work. In all these scenario, you target the player not the card, and after a player chooses a card so how claret knight is immune? Is a player considered as a card?
  2. One question we had during the European championship was: Is Claret Knight immune to indirect triggered effects (effects that target the player and oblige him to do something on one of his character like Temple of R'lyeh or Initiate of Huang Hun or Echanted Wood + Deranged Diva) If I quote the FAQ on immune (2.36) It could be understood as "if you don't specifically target the card, then immunity doesn't work". When FFG designed Claret knight, did you intend to immune it against any type of triggered effects (Bold word: XXX) and may be we need to modify/complete the immune part in FAQ? Or did you plan to protect him only against specific target triggered effects and indirect triggered effect could work?
  3. Just for the unofficial FAQ in France... we have choosen to win the game directly at 5 tokens BECAUSE we didn't want to extend the game length during tournament. I'm still convince if i read the faq that you can only win a game when the third story card goes to the win story pile as i said in the thread of dreamwalkers+zoog... Thread => there
  4. We playtested bird + steps deck since last tournament in Paris in March. It was just after the mulligan rule release. The problem is the cumulative effect of getting 3 characters with 1 domain (that have a free attack next turn if you play steps) with chance to get the steps combo. If you have no direct kill or disrupt to handle the situation it’s 6 free tokens. It’s like attacking on first turn with 3 characters if you’re the beginning player… After you can use many tricks to gain one more turn to go on 4 tokens by managing exhaust characters of your opponent, like agoraphobia, fischers, behind bar, cavern, pillar… You can also play freely endless interrogation, that’s clearly broken with the recursive way. 3 domains = 4 cards discarded = No chance to win. I loose semi final due to endless interrogation because you can’t block or manage 3 birds in 3 stories during your next opponent turn with steps on table. Only one passing bird and you can apply multiple times the endless interrogation effect. During the French regional, in top 8, 5 decks had this combo with a different splash (Agency, syndicate or Yog). In Top 4, I was the only guy without Hastur playing a Myskha/Agency dreamer deck. I finished third. In mirror match with this Hastur combo, almost all the time the guy playing first won the game. Just some maths… Use this excellent link (http://www.kibble.net/magic/magic10.php). For excel in French it’s “LOI.HYPERGEOMETRIQUE”. Without mulligan you have 35% chance to have a bird or steps in first hand… That’s a lot. The mulligan rules without a drawback (7 cards instead of 8) just amplify this combo problem. My point of view is the cumulative effect of bird + steps + mulligan is too powerful. I have suggested on French forum a bird errata “going into hand” instead of “put into play”. For endless interrogation, it was forbidden to play it with its recursive way (errata was 1 success story = 1 time endless effect) in last French tournaments but we had to apply official rules during the regional. We had the same kind of ban for Eibon before the 2 tokens errata.
  5. May be you're right dadajef on the story part but i'm not sure how you play it. "Until" is clearly different from draw X in my point of view even if it's in the same story effect. It's not saying "you have to draw 8 minus X cards where X is the number of card in your hand". You still have the problem with anytime-immediatly on the book. Disrupt is a "before effect", anytime seems "during" the effect. It doesn't prevent you from drawing cards but you have to discard immediatly-anytime so... Anyway, I think it's broken and need an errata as Pearl said. It's not in the game spirit. I'm not ok to transform it in an Forced Response (you can disrupt/cancel it) but more on permanent effect replacing anytime with "After"
  6. "Each player draw until he has 8 cards in hands" (check news) + •Book of Eibon, Mind Bending Revelations ---------------------------------------- Game Text: Attach to a character. Attached character’s controller cannot have more than 5 cards in his hand. If that player has more than 5 cards in hand, that player must choose and discard cards from his hand until 5 cards remain. FAQ 1.1: book of Eibon does not prevent a player from drawing above 5 cards in hand (for example during the draw phase). The card does, however, force a the player affected by its card effect to immediately discard cards from his hand until he has 5 cards remaining anytime he has more than 5 cards in hand. I have 2 independent timing problems there. 1) First on the story. When you have a "draw 2 cards", you draw all X cards in one time. With the story, it's "until". So you draw 1, you check condition, you draw 1, you check condition... I'm right? 2) Book of Eibon is a gametext so always active. The "anytime" is quite confusing but if it's anytime you can't go up more than 6 cards and you have to immediatly discard. If one of these 2 problems is right, you can't never reach the 8 cards condition and it's an auto loss...
  7. I have a problem with Dreamwalkers as a third story card won with Stealthy Zoog attached on it. "Stealthy Zoog Response: After you drain a domain to which Stealthy Zoog is attached as a resource, unattach Stealthy Zoog from that domain and attach it to a story. (Counts as an Attachment Zoog support card with the text: "If attached story is won, its effect must resolve.")" The main problem here is: when do you win a game? Core Set rules say: 5 tokens => win => effect or no => game face up. It's not clear but you win immediatly the game after you win the third story. "If, at any time, a player has five or more success tokens on his side of a story card, he immediately wins the story and may choose to execute its effect (see below). When a player wins his third story card, he immediately wins the game! Winning A Story Card Immediately after a player has won a story card (which happens the moment that a player has five or more success tokens on his side of the story card), that player takes the story card, chooses whether or not to execute its effect, and then places it prominently in his game area, faceup, to indicate that he has won the story. This occurs before resolution of the next story card begins. After a story card has been won, and its effect executed or declined, it is replaced by a new story card from the story deck. Thus, if a story card has been won before it is fully resolved (usually by having the fifth token placed from an investigation struggle), it is replaced, and the resolution of that story is over. Characters that were committed to a story that was won are no longer considered committed to any story." FAQ say: introduce won story card pile and it's not immediatly it's after you have 3 or more story in this pile "(v1.0) Story Totals A player has achieved victory if he has three or more story cards in his “won” story card pile. If any card effect shuffles a won story card back into the story deck, that player no longer has that story for the purposes of counting his victory total. For example, Darrin has won two story cards and needs only one more to win the game. But his opponent then wins the story card Dreamwalkers (Core Set F164), and chooses to activate its effect that allows the opponent to remove one of Darrin’s won story cards and shuffle it back into the story deck. Now Darrin needs two stories to win the game." Questions: 1) In this situation Stealthy Zoog gametext resolve if it's the third story? If yes, you don't win because in the end you have only 2 won story in the pile? 2) If Stealthy Zoog was a response or disrupt, should it work in this situation? Thanks.
  8. After dogs on bicycle with guns, penguins with mask and dagger, killing night with parallele universe, thanks to cthulhu i can now nuke crowd with insanity... I don't really understand, when we are playing, why people don't approach us...
  9. ok thanks -Passive effect seems ok for me even if i don't find it logical to have "one time event comes into play" as an on-going effect -"all" doesn't target or choose. This one i don't understand it.
  10. Hi everyone, Here is a situation that is currently under discussion on a French board. It should not work but it raises many questions... Player 1 as in play: The Rays of Dawn, Cleansing Light Type : Support Cost : 1 Subtype : Environment. Game Text: Day. It is Day. After The Rays of Dawn comes into play, destroy all Night cards. Each non-unique character loses a T icon. Guardian of the Key Type : Character Cost : 2 Skill : 2 Icons : TC Subtype : Monster. Game Text: Loyal. Disrupt: Exhaust Guardian of the Key to cancel 1 effect that chooses a support card as a target. On player 2 turn, comes into play: The Setting Sun, The Light Fails Type : Support Cost : 1 Subtype : Environment. Game Text: Night. It is Night. After The Setting Sun comes into play, destroy all Day cards. Each non-unique character loses an I icon. Of course in this situation Player 1 wants to disrupt with guardian... Please try to answer individually to each questions, not only to the global situation Question 1) "Destroy all day cards". Should we consider that we target cards? Is it similar to "target X cards where X is the number of cards that have the keyword day"?Question 2) "cancel 1 effect that chooses a support card as a target". Should we consider that during the process of "destroy all day cards", the player chooses each cards as a target if the requirement is ok? Question 3) "cancel 1 effect that chooses a support card as a target". Should we consider, that guardian doesn't need any choosing action by the player 2 (ie: "choose and destroy a character") because it's not mentioned? Question 4) FAQ p4 "Passive Effects. Passive effects are ongoing effects that are not optional, unless otherwise stated. Passive effects and abilities do not have a trigger such as Action:, Forced Response:, Response:, or Disrupt". Ok so Setting sun has a passive effect so we can't counter with "disrupt". Period. Night is really an "on going" effect and can be considered as a passive effect. Problem is "After XXX comes into play, YYY" is not really an "on going" effect and has a clear timing. Should we still consider this game text as a passive effect?Question 5) I propose the following wording. Do you agree? Setting sun. "Night. It is Night. Forced Response: After The Setting Sun comes into play, choose and destroy all cards with day keyword...". Guardian of the key "Disrupt: Exhaust Guardian of the Key to cancel 1 triggered effect that target a support card" Question 6) With question 5 wording, can you disrupt the destruction of of the day card with guardian? Question 7) In the end, can you disrupt the destruction of the day card with guardian with current cards? If you have read this until the end, you can join us as an insane follower of hastur
  • Create New...