Jump to content

DreamsInAnime

Members
  • Content Count

    7
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About DreamsInAnime

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    http://-
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    , Michigan, United States
  1. What would happen if the Runner's Stack was emptied? 1. Sorry if this is extremely n00b question. If the Corp's deck (R&D) is empty, the game is over, that is the game's time-limit. I get that. If the Runner's deck (Stack) is empty, he... ? I've checked and I've re-checked, the rulebook, FAQ, this forum, nowhere does it actually say the Runner can re-shuffle his discard (Heap) and start his deck (Stack) over, like in so many other card games? It does not actually say the game is over, either. Am I missing something here? 2. Hypothetically, though it doesn't say so, the Runner would simply not be able to draw cards, play continues? 3. Follow-up: If 2 is a "yes", a Runner could theoretically be "TKO" if his Rig was too trashed (by card effects) or simply inadequate to deal with the ICE (Example: not the right Icebreakers)? 4. Has this ever happened to anyone? ...or am I getting this wrong? No, I've not actually had a game drawn out long enough for this to happen (yet) but I'd rather not have to argue this one at the gaming table!
  2. Philanthropist was having a bad day, and with only one home planet with 3 ships, started an encounter against Squee, risking everything he could spare (2 ships). Being so low on ships, he didn't dare not invite Animal, so Animal joined in with 2 more ships. Squee's power then required Philanthropist to throw 3 ships into the Warp to continue the attack. Philanthropist chose yes, and threw all his ships into the Warp! We then had an attack where: Offense has 0 ships Offensive ally has 2 ships Defense has 3 ships This raises many questions: 1. Can a player remove ships from the hyperspace gate when taking losses (for any reason)? 2. Can Squee's Power cause this to happen? 3. Can attacks (in general) continue if the Offensive Player loses all ships before cards are revealed? 4. Can attacks (in general) continue if only Offensive Allies have ships remaining before cards are revealed? 5. If no, does the Encounter end? 6. If the Encounter ends in this way, do the Offensive Allies return the ships to their Colonies (as if the Main Players started a Negotiation, and Allies go home)(This is how we resolved it the interest of finishing the game quickly). I believe these are important questions because they cut to the core mechanics. I would love to hear an official ruling from FFG on this.
  3. Does the coin in the upper left corner of the Currency technology card mean that Currency gives a player a coin? (In a recent game, the players' opinions were mixed as to whether it counts as real coin or if it is merely a bit of poorly chosen art on the currency technology card.)
  4. (I'm disappointed there's virtually nothing around here about strategies for Ad Astra. So I'll just have to write it myself. If you guys like this, I might write on some other aspects of the game.) At first glance I thought the game had 5 different colors playing from the same decks... but not quite. Each player can reach only 6 of the 8 systems with their own movement cards, the rules even say so, but the subtle thing is the 5 factions are playing different resource production cards. Each player can produce different combinations of resources. I really like this, because it means the game has factional differences but they're not blatant bonuses but part of the game mechanics. I'm going to run-down what each faction's production cards mean for strategy. Grey: Produce food/water means they can never produce BOTH food and water in the same turn themselves. As a result, Grey tends to be slower to build colonies and terraformers. Generally grey will lose out to other players in a race to build the most terraformers, and should emphasize other scoring strategies; most systems being the most obvious as it's the other side of the score terraformers/systems card. Also, because grey cannot produce the resources for a colony in 1 turn, grey tends to be the faction most reliant on trade. Red and Blue: These players can produce all minerals in the same turn, making them similar. They tend to be fast at building ships and factories. They can also play the resources to make a colony in 1 turn. The red's energy/yellow mineral card makes yellow mineral valuable for building colonies, while the blue's energy/red mineral makes red mineral valuable for their faction. On the downside, those energy/mineral production cards tend to make these players move their ships less, and fully devellop the first system they move to. Yellow and Green: These factions have energy and food or water production cards, making them similar. Yellow can produce water/energy, green can produce food/energy. This tends to make them expand systematically, as they can play energy+movement+movement to reach new systems in 1 turn, then the resources to make colonies the next turn. Also, the yellow faction's food/red mineral card makes red mineral less valuable to their faction for building colonies, while the green player's water/yellow mineral card makes yellow mineral less valuable for them. One caveat to all this is that, in my experience, each player's first two planets (the homeworld and first planet they land on) makes a bigger difference than their faction's production differences, though the differences will shade which planets are desirable for each faction to colonize.
  5. I've had this happen to me, and changed my game strategies to deal with it. The obvious counter-strategy is sending your starting ship to a planet of the same resource type as the majority of your opponents homeworlds. I've found this type of mutual production can happen in the middle of the game, if your opponents colonize the same kinds of planets, so I make sure I have the same kinds of planets as my opponents to take advantage of their resource production throughout the game.
  6. If Fodder's opponent plays a reinforcement card after Fodder plays extra attack cards, can Fodder still play more extra attack cards in response to the reinforcement card? (In other words, must Fodder decide exactly how many extra attack cards he is playing in an encounter before players begin playing reinforcement cards?)
  7. I would like a ruling (official, if possible) on the following situation, which wasn't in the FAQ: The Loser declares an upset, but only has negotiate encounter cards. The opponent must play an attack card, so this is an attack v. negotiate encounter. Normally the player who played an attack card would win, but due to the Loser's power the winner and loser are reversed. Therefore, the opponent who played an attack card ultimately loses. Now, since this is an attack v. negotiate encounter, does the player who ultimately lost the encounter (the Loser's opponent, after the Loser's power reverses the outcome) collect compensation? Related question: In this same situation, must the Loser reveal her hand to play a negotiate card after declaring an upset?
×
×
  • Create New...