Jump to content

bobh

Members
  • Content Count

    602
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by bobh

  1. its an excellent idea; in my old campaigns the RT's PA had a pair of packs hooked to HPs he could duel weild.
  2. firing a lance into the water a ta distance might flashboil the animal and leave the shell?
  3. the shadow in the warp, tyranids - we're all gonna die a necron tomb world awakening, plus its satellite worlds, in a pattern around the region they adventure in cutting off access to the warp through their use of pylon worlds, like the ones on armageddon, meaning their ship can't navigate, warp powers are crapped on and the only way to get out fo the area is through a maiden eldar world's gate through the webway - give them hints from eldar that webway use could lead to the salvation of the region, they can adventure through the webway, fight necron some eldar and whatever filth inhabits the webway - i dunno it seems to have a lot of potential, removes them from the warp and their ship a warp plague that turns non psychers into dessicated vampire husk zombies, eliminating their ships crew - no crew no ship no need for astropaths, need to find alternative transport or dragoon a new crew if you can clear out your own ship - im tired already
  4. are they accepting new players? im back into the hobby after a very long hiatus
  5. bobh

    40K Novels

    Rogue Star & Star of Damocles
  6. On page 192 of the BC Core Rules indicates a Bionic/Implant called Tox nails. I see no description of said item in the book. Does anyone know where it is or is this something that needs to be added in an update? Do we have an errata thread started?
  7. I encourage players with a lack of lore to play archetypes that aren't expected to know much. Like a Imp Guard troop from a backwater. They can then RP their lack of knowledge and when they are comfortable they can start a more involved character.
  8. Objulen said: Sororitas power armor is listed as having a Very Rare availability in Blood of Martyrs, which is also the rarity of light power armor in the Rogue Trader book. Given the resources of a Rogue Trader, I see no reason why it should be any harder than an Extremely Rare acquisition test to get a suit with the military power back already installed, or a Very Rare test to upgrade an existing suit. All Power Armor (even light with batteries) is Extremely Rare in Rogue Trader. Errata'd that way. And if a suit with batteries is ER Fusion Backpacks should be what? Easier to get?
  9. MrFlopi said: Fortinbras said: 1. Only Inquisitors can order an Exterminatus. The Astartes may do the deed, but they don't get to make the call. So much for knowing your backstory. No. The Imperial Navy Commanders, and Space Marine Captains and Commanders can also. Is stated in Codex: Space Marines and Codex: Blood Angels. An especially froggy Rogue Trader with a Nova Cannon or two can pound a planet into glowing space rubble if he had a mind to....of course it should be a xenos planet or a planet xenos overran - just to be sure theres no uncomfortable stares.
  10. Siranui said: bobh said: Bolts blow up inside the target - not on the carapace of a termagaunt - inside the carapace. Mass reactive has a purpose - to explode within a targets mass and kill it. This does not imply extra effects or hits for a boltgun. Two words: Organic shrapnel. I don't know why but it makes me laugh.
  11. Edited my post on page two ak to make it more understandable - after re-reading I wasn't getting my point across so I reworded it. And about damage - if your using the minimum damage = dos rule its not required to roll damage for each in most cases as long as your GM tells you the soak value (TB+Armor) of the enemy: Ogryn Soaks (TB10+4 armor) 14, Boltgun Round does minimum 1d10+9 pen 4 so its reasonable you'll do mag damage to an ogryn horde but you still have to roll a d10 to see if you get a 1 and fail to damage unless your DOS on the attack is >0 in which case the minimum damage = DOS rule saves you a lot of time.
  12. Ak-73 First, if each hit does ZERO mag damage its reasonable to say no damage is done at all (Bolts blow up inside the target - not on the carapace of a termagaunt - inside the carapace. Mass reactive has a purpose - to explode within a targets mass and kill it. This does not imply extra effects or hits for a boltgun) so you have to determine if any damage is done by each hit. If only ONE hit does mag damage proceed... Also - mag damage is abstract. What might kill a lot in a horde might only wound an individual ogryn. I will take liberties here as the system is set up deliberately to be abstract. In the Horde rules : • Weapons that inflict Explosive Damage (X) gain a bonus against Hordes, and count as having inflicted one additional Hit per Attack after all other Hits have been applied. This can be used RAW to do as you say but my interpretation of the common sense action of the weapon itself simply adds 1 to mag damage. It makes little difference. 1 hit = a chance to damage and cause 1 mag damage baseline which can be doubled by SOI or gain you NOTHING if you fail to damage or my interpretation 1 hit = +1 mag damage (1 less damage test) (doesn't apply if the other/original hits failed to damage) which can be doubled by SOI.
  13. ak-73 said: Charmander said: bobh said: X adds 1 mag damage per attack. So that is 7. Explosive adds one additional hit per attack (after all other hits have been calculated), not mag damage, so you change the math and end up with 16 mag damage (assuming each hit wounds). That's why I was saying when you apply the bonus from hellfire versus storm of iron it can make a difference, especially with things like storm bolters and heavy bolters (well, barring that hellfire sucks bad in a heavy bolter). Going by RAW you're doing it wrong, I'm afraid. Assuming all hits do wound, the process consists of 3 steps. 1. Calculate # of hits. 2. Translate hits into mag damage. 3. Calculate final mag damage. So it's 3 hits + 1, translating into 4+4 points of mag damage, adjusted by SoI for 16. But a Marine with SOI and Hellfire rounds should be able to do lots of damage to hordes. At that point in his career, he'll probably be faced with more than 1 mag 20 horde regularly. It's a normal ramping up process. No low rank marine has normally SOI (outside of some Deed perhaps). Alex PS Extra damage against hordes comes from additional damage or disruption due to the explosive nature of the bolts. Either more Termagants get killed or the explosive effect has a devastating effect on the enemy rebel squad's morale. Bolts blow up inside the target - not on the carapace of a termagaunt - inside the carapace. Mass reactive has a purpose - to explode within a targets mass and kill it. This does not imply extra effects or hits for a boltgun.
  14. Plasmafest said: Charmander said: bobh said: X adds 1 mag damage per attack. So that is 7. Explosive adds one additional hit per attack (after all other hits have been calculated), not mag damage, so you change the math and end up with 16 mag damage (assuming each hit wounds). That's why I was saying when you apply the bonus from hellfire versus storm of iron it can make a difference, especially with things like storm bolters and heavy bolters (well, barring that hellfire sucks bad in a heavy bolter). That is what it suggests RAW, but it feels a little "Magic Bullet" to me for the Type (X) hit to generate further effects; like a fourth bolt round had mysteriously appeared and hit the target. We just treat the X hit to read as an extra point of MagDam instead of a 'hit', though still multiplied by SoI, so total MagDam of 14 as bobh said. Exactly the way I read/interpreted it. Bolts don't appear out of nowhere.
  15. I find the complaint hilarious from ANYONE that purchases FFG books which, most of the time and especially the Core books of all their 40k RPGs, contain massive amounts of repackaged fluff from the 40k universe which has been around for ages in other sources. I love the RPG and have spend hundreds to buy the books and have no complaints, well maybe the editing and play testing could have been taken a BIT more seriously for the price. My eyes were open when I bought them. Kudos for the DW game, Xenos compendium, BFK (editing/play testing! - REALLY!) and the ROB book. Great stuff.
  16. There is a very telling moment in one of the first Horus Heresy books where a female laments 'what a waste' in reference to an astartes she sees without his armor on. It is not specific but it seems telling. Marines simply have little interest or are incapable of sex. As no 'sons or daughters' of astartes have ever been written about - made after one becomes a marine not before, its a common sense leap of faith that they don't engage in sex or are incapable of breeding true (either seems just as likely). It is really a non-issue.
  17. This just came up in my new DW campaign...this was my solution. I left the Shears with the errata stats (we use errata stats). Breaching Augur (18 -) MELEE 2d10†E, Pen 15, Tearing, Unwieldy, Power Field, 28kg A Breaching Augur 's bulk makes it impossible to effectively use any weapon, shield or equipment with the hand it replaces. A Space Marine already doubles his Strength Bonus from his Unnatural Strength Trait. Therefore, the Breaching Augur increases the multiplier by one, tripling the Space Marine’s Strength Bonus) It replaces the normal bionic hand and glove on Astartes power armour, and imposes the same weapon restrictions and manual dexterity penalties as a lightning claw. It is cheaper but you have to use it in place of a hand. It is detachable but again you don't have a hand unless you requisition one and have a tech marine swap it out for you. This also imposes manual dexterity penalties on everything you do that requires two hands. GM NOTE: It is unwieldy meaning it cannot be used to parry. It is tearing but you, for 2d10, roll only 3d10 and take the top two. Like a Power Fist it has no inherent + to damage but doubles the SB of the user - in the case of a marine this means his SB is x3 not x2. I more than doubled its PEN rating to showcase its use against inanimate objects and vehicles. However it is a tool primarily and not a weapon so only ONE melee attack may be made with the augur per round whether one has swift and lightning attack or two weapon wielder. Hope you like what resulted.
  18. I'd let them take advantage of it after they take a hit to the head like that they'd be pretty hard up. Lol. Yeah, you can smell....blood coming out of your eyes ears nose and throat.
  19. Assuming you have 3 hits that do damage...that is 3 hits for 1 mag damage each. Hellfire adds 1 mag damage per hit, assuming you even do damage to the creature. Base damage goes up from 3 to 6. X adds 1 mag damage per attack. So that is 7. Storm of Iron Doubles overall damage per attack. For a grand total of 14 mag damage. Bolters are the boss of BASIC marine weapons.
  20. Oh yeah, NOW the voices of reason enter the fray. Wonderful timing. It turned into a mess because some people want to argue till they are blue in the face when the facts say they are plain wrong. Reactions are non-sustained...because they are reactions. Sustained? No. Simple.
  21. The big hint is where the chart says Sustained? No. Also, if any of those participating use another squad mode ability they can't keep the soak fire ability up, so how will you account for that? Once you use another ability the previous one ends. Its a Reaction plain and simple and Reactions need to end unless your entire soaking group of battle brothers will have NO need to use any other squad mode ability - this desperate belief that you can soak for an entire combat for the cost of two cohesion is pathetic. Now you want to believe that a soak fire can be sustained by the users through an entire combat - so is it sustained if one of them uses his reaction in the next round for something OTHER than soaking fire? And it has to NOT be his turn to act when someone is shot at in the next round/turn (its a Reaction, remember) for him to soak? So they'll all stay huddled waiting for that grenade/missile/flamer to wipe them out. Smart.
  22. tmac832 said: Ok, a Librarian (for example) faces down the Tau hovering battletank, charging it as it opens fire on the Imperial lines. He leaps onto the top of the physical, slamming his force sword into the armor, channeling psychic power down its blade, opening the xenos tank like a tin can...." Ok, how do I do that rules wise? Do I simple use the pilots willpower in the opposed willpower check for the tank? That seems kinda silly, but ok. Any other suggestions? Force Weapons (page 155): The following sentence should be added to the description of Force Weapons section: “The Focus Power Test to channel psychic force through a Force Weapon can be made at any of the three psychic powers’ power levels (see page 185), and has the same chance to generate Psychic Phenomena/Perils of the Warp (see page 186-188). The additional damage dealt by channelling psychic force through a Force Weapon is Energy for the purposes of determining Critical Damage.” So yes its physical energy damage not just something that attacks a sentient mind. If a power sword does E damage and a Force weapon does E damage theres no reason it shouldn't damage the tank with the focus of killing power as it is E damage just like a lascannon. “If the Focus Power Test is an Opposed Test, the psyker must successfully pass the Test and gain more Degrees of Success than at least one of his opponents to activate the power. Note that even if the psyker gathers less Degrees of Success than his opponent and does not activate the power, he still can generate a disturbance in the Warp if using the power at Unfettered or Push level.” So it is not an auto succeed on the Focus Power test. So if your libby gets 0DOS no he doesn't get the extra damage. All he needs is 1DOS. But he has to actually damage the vehicle before this comes into effect because fo this passage in the DW Core: In addition to normal Damage, whenever a psyker damages an opponent... Aim for the rear and don't fail the Focus power test.
  23. Page 219 is amended in errata. Specifically: Using Squad Mode Abilities (page 219): The first paragraph should change to “Squad Mode abilities function just like other Actions and can be activated by any Battle-Brother—not just the squad leader—in his turn or as specified by the ability’s description. There is no test to activate these abilities. However, the Battle-Brother must spend the required amount of Cohesion (as indicated by the ability) and be in Squad Mode. He only needs to spend this cost once, however, and once an ability has been activated, it remains so for the remainder of the Mission (for Sustained abilities, until the Kill-team no longer chooses to sustain it) or for the duration of a single combat, (if the ability is not Sustained) and may be used by either him or any other members of his Kill-team in Squad Mode.” Add the following at the end of the first paragraph of this section: “Some non-sustained Squad Mode abilities have a duration different than single combat and are indicated as such. These abilities can be activated multiple times in the same combat, provided the full Cohesion cost is paid for each activation.” @ak-73, theres that non-existant non-sustained in the rules.
  24. The OP asked if its too powerful. Given its limitations and cost, I'd say, no.
×
×
  • Create New...