Jump to content

Namrok

Members
  • Content Count

    8
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Namrok

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Herndon, Virginia, United States
  1. The more I think about it, it really is still balanced completing as much of an order card as the situation allows. Because you are still using precious command points on a commander who only has so many, as well as giving up advantage. If your best command only allows you to order 1 unit because of whatever restrictions, you are already getting screwed enough. I see no need to take a player who is already in that bad of a situation, and saying to them "No, you can't even do that. Now just sit still while I continue to beat you down."
  2. We've been playing "Up to" as well. And even if the answer is that you can only play them when you have the required number of troops to command, I will likely continue to play it "Up to". Largely because that would make the game incredibly restrictive, especially late game where you've lost most of your troops. The freedom it offers you in the order cards and command tokens is one of the reasons I really enjoy this game, and I'd hate to lose that.
  3. I also have a question about Kevan. If he is engaged, and wants to use his ability to give another unit +2 attack dice, does that disengage him? If it does, must he disengage first, take a parting blow, and then allow the other unit to attack with +2 dice? We played it before that it doesn't force him to disengage, but I began to wonder about that.
  4. So in the first scenario, a lot of retreating around the fjords happened. For infantry as assumed that if they had to retreat 2 spaces, the first was into the fjord (which forces them to stop) then the 2nd retreat would have to turn into a wound. Just made sense. Then some calvary had to retreat across the fjord. Since the fjord knocks one off their movement, would that automatically convert one, but only one flag result into a hit?
  5. I'm still waiting for my FLGS to get this. Usually they get things pretty timely, but maybe I should have ordered online.
  6. Namrok

    RULES!

    I actually did have a question. A unit gets attacked. You put down an engagement marker. You roll the dice. A morale result comes up. Now the engaged unit is forced to retreat. Does the attacker get an extra parting blow now? Or does that only occur when someone is disengaging in a non-retreat situation?
  7. Just lately I was planning on putting my PCs in a survival situation where stress, fatigue and party tension would be a huge part of the challenge, instead of encounters. I don't think every session will be see stress, fatigue and wound threshold being of prime important. But I do think you can design encounters where the emphasis will be on managing one, two, or even all of those levels. Personally I'm looking forward to running my survival session and seeing how an entire session based around trying to manage an ever increasing amount of fatigue and stress will work. So far my players have always had an us VS them type adventure, and I think a combatless us VS the harsh wilderness could be interesting.
  8. Lets say I have 3 units that as an ability can deal 1 direct damage to a creature. And I'm using all 3 to target a creature with 2 hitpoints and 1 toughness. Do the instances of their ability use resolve separately, such that the toughness cancels each point of damage individually, or do they go through a damage assignment and commitment phase, and thus get clumped together, killing the unit? Initially I assumed the first instance, then I read in the rules: "Outside of combat, some card effects also deal damage to units or to a player’s capital. When these effects resolve, this damage is first assigned and then applied to the target in a manner similar to the way damage is handled in combat. The one exception to this rule is the Counterstrike keyword (see Counterstrike, page 16). Counterstrike damage is always applied as soon as it is assigned."
×
×
  • Create New...