Jump to content

air show

Members
  • Content Count

    142
  • Joined

  • Last visited

    Never

About air show

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Modena, Modena, Italy
  1. It passed a lot of time from my last post here, but I admit that your posts are always excellent, Elliot! great work as usual! AS
  2. 1) yes 2) yes (you can resurface into a Tower space)
  3. Hi guys, I was in the catacombs, then I found an exit and I resurfaced in an unexplored place, so as usual I drew a new tile to place...ta-daaa, a bottomless pit. So, rules are clear about resurfacing into bridge and chasm, but I wasn't able to find anything about the B. pit...Should I test luck as usual to avoid istant death or can I resurface to the other side (overcoming the pit), moving in the adiacent space during my next turn?
  4. this is DQ: love it or hate it. Also My friends could be divided about DQ when choosing the game to play...but the reason is not the time (when we started with talisman we played for average 3+1/2 hours) or the combat system (they learnt it well). some of them don't like they cannot control events...you can play perfectly, but if you find the bad tile or the back card, you die the same. And maybe people who play for the first time can reach an exit with ease. it's not a game for everyone, and I love it even for this reason. DQ rules!!
  5. I was one of the people saying: "awful combat system, wee need something different!" only reading the rulebook. So I choose one alternative homemade combat system (not from official variants, but from a BGG forum's user) and it works pretty well. After 2 weeks, I tried the original combat version... ok I was wrong. It's not difficult (even my girlfriend after the first explanation was able to give me 7 wounds with a sorcerer) and it can be pretty deep. I like it, even if combat times in some cases would be longer, but I have changed at all my considerations. Surely I won't use other variants.
  6. JCHendee said: How many people here play that an exit card from the catacombs must be used? How many play that the exit is marked but can be ignored to continue onward in the catacombs? ??? I haven't the card here right now, but we play that if you find an exit you MAY exit, as you can continue inside catacombs if you wish. And what do you mean by "the exit is marked"? I haven't seen any rule about marking the exits. Anyway, we play this way: if you want to exit, then exit. If you want to continue, go ahead, no problem (and I think that is according with rules).
  7. Hy guys, I would like to make a thread about clarifications that I'd like to see in the first FAQ. After playing about 12 games (2 with 4 players, 1 for two players, and 9 alone) and some time spent on forums (FFG and BGG), these are my not-answered-yet doubts: 1)how the corridor rule “you cannot enter the same corridor twince in the same turn” works if the corridor ends to a wall or a chamber of darkness which obbligate you to come back. 2)Ferrox and determination tokens: it is allowed to use DT against ferrox? And must you discard DT after each hit or you can take them until ferrox's death? 3)How do you combine the “death can wait” optional rule with bottomless pit and swinging blade? We houserule the bottomless pit with a 2d6 wounds and falling in the catacombs, and 2d6 wounds for the swinging blade but I'd like an official answer. That's all for me. Cheers!
  8. JCHendee said: Simply put, it's a terrible idea for multiple reasons beyond even those you mention. The fatality rate in DQ has always been high, and it should be. This notion is just to pacify those who got knocked out and let them try to escalate the chance of a no-win ending. That ending is always possible, even likely, in DQ. Putting the escalation into the hands of those who've already lost is not an option to be applied to DQ.... it's pandering. ahahah, you're right JC! surely it wasn't a great idea...
  9. finally got the game, and tried few times catacombs... now I understand why they chenged the deviation system: catacombs are really deadly, more difficult than the old DQ catacombs (sneak attacks, hidden traps etc.) even with more exits (6 vs 3). So they choose to allows players to choose the direction of the deviation. I thought I would use the older DQ chart, but now I think that the new system is balanced.
  10. After an answer on BGG, I found it out this way: Ithink the correct way is discard half of total wounds, not wounds that a hero suffers sufficient to die. Note that rules say total wounds and round up, so in the first example 9+6=15/2=7,5 => rounded up => 8 (discards 8). here some examples: consider 13 LP total: case 1) 9 old wounds, 6 new wounds total: 15 wounds (death) 15/2 = 7,5 round up 8 SO 8 wound to discard: 15-8= 7 wounds remaining SO 6 remaining LP. case 2) 11 old wounds, 3 new wounds total: 14 wounds (death) 14/2 = 7 SO 7 wound to discard: 14-7= 7 wounds remaining SO 6 remaining LP. case 3) 11 old wounds, 2 new wounds total: 13 wounds (death) 13/2 = 6.5 round up 7 SO 7 wound to discard: 13-7= 6 wounds remaining SO 7 remaining LP. case 4) 11 old wounds, 6 new wounds total: 17 wounds (death) 17/2 = 8.5 round up 9 SO 9 wound to discard: 17-9= 8 wounds remaining SO 5 remaining LP. it seems that more wounds you die by, the less LP you have when restart, and I agree with this. I think that you can do it only once, at this point. But I think that it doesn't work with swinging blade or bottomless pit.
  11. DoomTurtle said: Actually, it is better to say that when you counterattack, you must play the type that has the same counterattack symbol in the upper right. If your opponent plays a 3 Red (melee) and you play a 2 Blue (range) you should have the red melee counterattack symbol on the upper right of your card. because you have the lower number, and your counterattack symbol matches your opponents card type, you can play more cards. The extra cards you can play will all be blue range cards. However, they MUST have the counterattack symbol on the upper right (usually 3's and lower). Level 4 cards do not have the counterattack symbol on them and cannot be used for counterattacking. you're right! I always forget the level 4 cards, because I play with a different homemade combat system...
  12. When you use the servants of kallandra optional rule, dead players will control monsters on the board and may put more monsters on the board (if there are less monster than players alive on the board). Monsters ignore doors, portcuils and tile's special effects, but me and my friends verified in our last games that is difficult for a monster to reach one character if the monster isn't able to pass through walls OR move on unexplored places. Rules don't allows monsters to do that, what do you think about it? The only doubt is that the dungeon is so hard to escape from even without monsters passing through walls (like zombies in last night on earth) and with this homemade rule it could became harder, nearly impossible.
  13. Hi guys, me and my friends played this optional rule yesterday evening during a game, and I had 2 questions: how does the wound recovery work? and how many times can each player die? For example, Br. Gherrin has 13 LP, and he loses 9 LP during the first 10 rounds. THEN he find a trap, and the trap does 6 wound. Gherrin dies, but with the DCW rule he can discard half of the total wounds he suffered...so it means that he suffer only 3 wounds (6 / 2) or it means that he recover half of ALL the wounds he suffers from the beginning (9+6 / 2= 7 wounds)? for ex, the first situation allows him to survive but with only 1 LP remaining, whereas the second gives him 6 remaining LP. I don't think this is correct, but I can't figure it out this time...any ideas? And more, how many times can you do this? our group decided to allow only once, then killed players will become servants of kallandra. cheers!
  14. this is correct. If you are able to counterattack you must use the same combat type.
×
×
  • Create New...