Jump to content

Argon

Members
  • Content Count

    15
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Argon

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    http://-
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    San Carlos, California, United States
  1. Greetings, fellow investigators I'm "keeping" a game of Silver Tablet tomorrow, and I was looking around for errata, in a spirit of pure prophylaxy. I found a post on Board Game Geek that claimed that 4A/4B and 5A/5B should be swapped (I'm sure you've seen it too), but frustratingly, nothing from FFG, or even anything on these fora, that said the same. So, what should I do? Believe the fellow from BGG? Ignore him? Ask FFG whether they have a page of official errata anywhere (I couldn't find one)? Just make sure that I pick the same choice for 4 and 5, so that the question doesn't arise? It would be wonderful if FFG had a promptly updated errata page somewhere. Could this be true? Thanks to any allies against those who seek to overwhelm us! —A
  2. Oh, yes, indeed: there are exactly 3 outdoor spaces, which are being counted as rooms. Many thanx!
  3. I'm setting up Blood Ties, and the last step is to put an unused card in each empty room. Well, I have 6 unused cards and only 3 empty rooms (Guest bedroom, Entryway, Cave 2). Did I do something stupid? I don't see anything out there about other people having the same problem, but I was very careful! Cheers ~Ar
  4. I do it like this ... —When the first investigator (also second, third etc) moves in, they must evade the monster. —The combat happens when the last investigator moves in. They don't have to evade. —All investigators must pass the horror check. (If they don't, they are incapable of teamwork.) —On each round, all the investigators roll and successes are added together. —If the monster survives, the investigator(s) who failed horror checks take their turns separately. That's all we've needed so far. I like the idea the "overwhelming" counts against everyone. I also like the idea that the trophy must go to someone who rolled the most successes in the final round. Cheers
  5. I played that you could trade clues like other tradable items. It makes so much sense thematically that I sometimes want to do it anyway.
  6. I would like to have a set of cards that tell me what expansion sets are in play. There would be 9 cards, and on each card would be the picture that identifies an expansion set (http://www.arkhamhorrorwiki.com/Expansion). For Kingsport, a lighthouse with a beam shining down and to the right; for Dunwich, a barn and a chimney; for Lurker, a Lurker. All nicely drawn full size cards with colour artwork, but recognisably the same image that's used as the icon on the cards from the expansion set. I'd put the cards for the expansion sets in use across the top of the board, face up, and the rest in the box. Then it would be easy to quickly compare the icons on the card you've just drawn (from whatever deck) to the pictures representing the current game, and discard the card if it has anything that isn't being used. Some of these pieces of artwork already exist—the Eye of Horus (for Dark Pharaoh) is already on the backs of the Exhibition encounter cards. But what about the rest? Is there a good picture of a goat's head, an anchor, or a book? Or do these pictures only exist in tiny black and white form?
  7. Julia said: Argon said: [...] there is a great difference between monsters on the Terrible experiment card, and normal monsters swarming Arkham. Basically, if there is a group of monsters in a street, you have to deal with all of them. With the Terrible experiment card, you're allowed to cherry-pick them. And this is a great difference. I would say, not so great. You can simply choose to fight all of them! At once! And there they are, all cute and unsuspecting, when "toot, toot, toot, AAAAAAARRRRRRGHGHGHGHGHGH!!!!!" As I said originally, I don't dispute that you could read the letter of the rules the way you have; but my (yes, house-) ruling was that it worked. It was much too satisfying to pass by, really.
  8. I was worried about the "cost" versus "loss" of the sanity effect, so I'm glad I got that right. I also agree that for casting a spell, the description clearly says "cost", so if you don't have it, you can't cast the spell. All very consistent and agreeable! I wasn't worried about the fact the monsters are not "on the board", because while that might be true in a strict reading of the rules, common sense dictates that if you can get close enough to the monsters to fight them, as you can, you can obviously get close enough to play them a merry tune (or even a despairing tone of endless power) upon the flute. So I concluded that the words 'in your area" on the Flute must be interpreted in a more flexible way than just meaning your area on the board. This is often necessary, as applying it strictly in this case would mean that you couldn't use it in a Location, but only in a Street area. The terms are often used in a contrastive way, but often "area" just seems to mean "vicinity", as here. So I'm happy with my interpretation there. Thanks, everyone!
  9. I used the Flute of the Outer Gods ("Lose 3 Sanity and 3 Stamina and discard Flute of the Outer Gods before making a Combat check to defeat all monsters in your current area") to defeat the monsters on a "scientific experiment gone awry" rumour yesterday. It was very satisfying! My question arises because I only had 1 sanity at the time. Now, I've read often on these forums that there is a difference between a "discard" and a "loss". If it said "Discard 3 Sanity and 3 Stamina" I couldn't have done it, because I couldn't meet the precondition; but since it said "Lose", I reasoned that I could take the loss of 3 stamina (reduced to 2 because I was Michael McGlen) and take a loss of 3 sanity, the first of which drove me insane and the rest of which had no effect---just as if it was a loss inflicted by an attack. So I got 6 monster trophies and went to the asylum. Yay me! But ... was I right?
  10. Tibs said: If it's not in the officially published FAQ, then it is in the ghostly proto-FAQ definitely. I'm sure I've seen it. Yes, taking the wording literally, it is impossible to pass the rumor, and yet there is a pass condition listed; there must be a typo. I would not hold out for a re-print. I've never seen reprints except for those items you've mentioned. Particularly, I've heard that Kevin Wilson didn't have a hand in the development of this expansion, so that makes an updated reprint less likely. Is this "ghostly proto-FAQ" an existing thing, or just some spectral excrescence beating at the gates of time and space, seeking entry into our reality, and our very minds? I've read of various ambitious attempts to create vast master tomes including all the knowledge that exists on this eldritch subject; has such ambition ever borne fruit, or merely fallen into the pit that inevitably awaits all doomed human folly? Even partial, incomplete or fragmentary information would be helpful to those who seek the truth ...
  11. Tibs said: "Cancel one attack" means just that. The Ancient attacks multiple times during final or otherworld combat: its "attack" is specifically listed on its sheet. Besides, assuming that a single item could automatically win battle with an Ancient One is a little bold! Bold, yes! That's what some other players thought too. But it's the only way to read what is written on the card-it says "cancel an Ancient One's entire attack for 1 turn." A turn is a specific thing, and the intensifier "entire" (I thought) meant that the effect was intended to be dramatic. So, you are saying that the last word on the card should have been "round", yes? And the word "entire" is not really needed? I'll change my card to say so. Cheers
  12. If you are attacked by an Ancient One in another world, and you have the Warding Statue, is the Ancient One's entire attack cancelled, or only one round of it? One of us was attacked by Ithaqua when Nyarlathotep was the Ancient One. We played that the entire attack was cancelled, so Ithaqua lost, because the whole fight took place within a single turn. I looked up the rules for "Final Battle", and it said the final battle was divided into "rounds"---not turns. So it seemed clear that only 1 turn was passing during the (non-final) battle, though several rounds of combat. If you have the Warding Statue during the final Final Battle, would the same apply? Or are the rounds of the final battle also turns, and so only 1 attack by the Ancient One is cancelled? Thanks
  13. Solan said: Argon said: "At the end of every mythos phase after the first, move 1 doom token from this card to the terror track and increase the terror track by 1. Any player may exhaust a ready exhibit item or discard a unique item to negate both effects." So, if you don't burn an item, the number of tokens on the card goes down; otherwise it stays the same. All you can do is delay the inevitable. So you can't ever pass! Is that really the intent? Also, after 5 turns of not spending an item (possibly interspersed with other turns where you do), you have a terror level of +5, and 5 doom tokens on the terror track. So does the terror level then go up by another 5, a total of 10 caused by this card? Ouch! Sadly the card was very poorly worded. You remove a doom token from it each turn no matter what happens; sacrificing a Unique Item or exhausting an Exhibit Item keeps that Doom token from being placed on the Terror Track and keeps the Terror Track from increasing by 1. Yes, this Rumor potentially takes the Terror Track from 0 to 10, just as the Terrible Experiment can. It's a nasty one, no doubt. It does say "... to negate both effects," which is pretty clear, so I think "poorly worded" is a bit of an understatement.. So it's a mistake, then? Is there an official errata list, somewhere? If there's some new wording, I'd like to write it on the card for future games. Maybe it could be fixed in a future reprint, like the lantern and the healing stone were? Thanks much!
  14. "At the end of every mythos phase after the first, move 1 doom token from this card to the terror track and increase the terror track by 1. Any player may exhaust a ready exhibit item or discard a unique item to negate both effects." So, if you don't burn an item, the number of tokens on the card goes down; otherwise it stays the same. All you can do is delay the inevitable. So you can't ever pass! Is that really the intent? Also, after 5 turns of not spending an item (possibly interspersed with other turns where you do), you have a terror level of +5, and 5 doom tokens on the terror track. So does the terror level then go up by another 5, a total of 10 caused by this card? Ouch!
  15. Me too! The only ones I've found online are too low-resolution to be useful.
×
×
  • Create New...