Jump to content

Smashotron

Members
  • Content Count

    305
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Smashotron

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    http://-
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Philadelphia, PA, USA

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Use Heroic Effort to potentially draw into Negation in order to cancel Celebration. If it goes attacker->defender then Celebration always goes off. If it goes by initiative, and the defending player has initiative, then there is a chance this situation occurs. (Insert "so you're saying there's a chance" meme)
  2. Figures are typically defeated in Step 7 of an Attack. For cards such as Celebration ("Use after a unique hostile figure is defeated") and Heroic Effort ("When one of your figures is defeated"), do you use initiative to determine the order of play or do you use attacker-then-defender per the FAQ? Basically are these cards happening during the attack or after the attack?
  3. Hey all, I recieved a response from Todd that indicates that you follow the order of operations until the point (as soon as) a player scores 40+VP. Dying Lunge and Parting Shot can interrupt to win the game. I can upload the screenshot once it stops failing but in the meantime, here is the full text:
  4. I understand what you keep saying, but I am asking where does it say that in the rules or FAQ? From what I see, a player does hit 40VP and win the mission as soon as defeating a figure puts them at or over 40VP. I can't find "let's wait for additional effects to trigger after a player hits 40VP" in the rules. I'm asking for the proper resolution reinforced by rules or rulings. I have follow-up question regarding Dying Lunge on Dying Lunge in a similar end-game scenario but that depends on finding how to resolve this initial interaction.
  5. You do resolve mission rules like scoring objectives simultaneously, but in this scenario the VP are gained by one player effect. VP over 40 would be scored from either: a) As soon as the hostile figure is defeated due to Dying Lunge (before "Then you are defeated"). b) As soon as Celebration is played, after a unique hostile figure is defeated, as a card effect (before "Then you are defeated"). I am wondering where it states, or where a precedent had been establish, that a player could not win with Dying Lunge/Parting Shot or the use of Celebration, before the opponent properly defeats the friendly figure that would subsequently be defeated (if the game continued). Here are the full rules for winning a skirmish mission. The use a bold matches RRG p25. The RRG seems to stress "as soon as (possible)". The very last part also raises the question of whether if I Dying Lunge/Parting Shot with my last friendly figure and defeat his last figure, who "loses the game immediately, regardless of victory points"? I would argue there is a board-state where all my opponent's figures are defeated, but my last figure has not been defeated yet. This last rule indicated that you check the board-state immediately.
  6. I had a couple questions that would apply to abilities like Dying Lunge or Parting Shot, roughly revolving around whether you can win the game right before your opponent would otherwise. The short version would be: The long version would be all these questions I bombarded my friends with: The RRG has this clear-cut entry, but I wasn't sure if there was any precedent established to fully resolve those abilities and reach "Then you are defeated" before actually accumulating your VPs. Thanks!
  7. No. If a figure is defeated during its activation, its activation immediately ends. (RRG p.10)
  8. Yeah I'm headed to Nationals and I don't want to mess up the timing and get called out on it. It sounds like Return Fire, Marksman, attack. So there exists the slim chance that Marksman is Comms Disrupted and I spent my Return Fire.
  9. So the proper usage should be? 1) "Thank you for shooting my face. I play Marksman. Now I declare Return Fire on your face." or 2) "Thank you for shooting my face. I declare Return Fire. I play Marksman, and now declare your face as the target of my attack (nested within Return Fire)."
  10. After an attack targeting Han Solo resolves, can you play the Marksman command card before declaring, or in the process of resolving, his Return Fire ability? Marksman reads, "Use before declaring a ranged attack. Figures do not block light of sight for this attack."
  11. Would you be able to resolve Urgency in this case, if you really wanted to move > Barrage > move?
  12. These are always good reads. I am looking forward to getting CT into battle. Keep up the great work!
  13. Imps just need a map where the deployment zones are adjacent, that's all guys. Help us out FFG
  14. But the FAQ Q/A makes no distinction on which figure is performing the attack. They are still special actions "that involve performing attack(s)" even if the activating figure is not the attacker. There is nothing in the rules for Interrupt that would define these special actions as _not_ involving performing attack(s) just because another figure performs the attack. My case is not about exceeding the one-attack-per-(your)-activation rule, its about what constitutes "a special action that involves performing an attack."
  15. In regards to this Q/A, "Q: Can “Single Purpose” be used to perform a special action twice if that action involves performing an attack? A: No," what makes Firing Squad/Executive Order/Overclock not count as 'a special action...that involves performing an attack'? All three say a figure may interrupt to perform an attack. It sounds like all three are special actions that involve performing attacks.
×
×
  • Create New...