Jump to content

Fizz

Members
  • Content Count

    1,634
  • Joined

  • Last visited


Reputation Activity

  1. Like
    Fizz got a reaction from toxic newb in Roll in FOST dice. Are they character dice?   
    These extra FOST dice are great for using Fighting Pit's power action. Free reroll of one of your FOST die, with a chance to do damage, and no damage coming your way.

    "Power Action - Reroll an opponent's character die. Reroll one of your character dice. Then deal damage to those characters equal to the value showing on the other character's die."
     
  2. Like
    Fizz got a reaction from Fromper in Roll in FOST dice. Are they character dice?   
    These extra FOST dice are great for using Fighting Pit's power action. Free reroll of one of your FOST die, with a chance to do damage, and no damage coming your way.

    "Power Action - Reroll an opponent's character die. Reroll one of your character dice. Then deal damage to those characters equal to the value showing on the other character's die."
     
  3. Like
    Fizz got a reaction from toxic newb in Supports into characters   
    The character card name is "Commando Droid"
    The support card name is "Droid Commandos"

    These cards do not share the same name, so there is no naming restriction. 

    Neither card is unique.
  4. Like
    Fizz got a reaction from a1bert in Official FAQ and Current Tournament Maps   
    Ahhh, so they were answered. I'll remove them then.
  5. Thanks
    Fizz got a reaction from KingBlade in Giving shields to a character that has 3 already to activate a cards ability.   
    In the above case, the words "then", "before" and/or "after" are not present, so actual shield gain is not a requirement. 
    So you give up to two characters shields, they would ignore the excess shield gain, and activate the those characters.
    "Then Effects" Page 19:
    In order to resolve an effect that is preceded by the word “then,” the previous effects on the card must have fully resolved (i.e., the game state changes to reflect the intent of the effect in its entirety). If the part of an ability that precedes the word “then” does not successfully resolve in full, the part of the ability that follows the word “then” does not attempt to resolve.
  6. Like
    Fizz got a reaction from Rafug9 in Giving shields to a character that has 3 already to activate a cards ability.   
    In the above case, the words "then", "before" and/or "after" are not present, so actual shield gain is not a requirement. 
    So you give up to two characters shields, they would ignore the excess shield gain, and activate the those characters.
    "Then Effects" Page 19:
    In order to resolve an effect that is preceded by the word “then,” the previous effects on the card must have fully resolved (i.e., the game state changes to reflect the intent of the effect in its entirety). If the part of an ability that precedes the word “then” does not successfully resolve in full, the part of the ability that follows the word “then” does not attempt to resolve.
  7. Like
    Fizz got a reaction from a1bert in Jyn Odan - Trick Shot Range   
    Thread resurrection? nice.

    Sorry, i have not been online in the IA forums very much, Destiny sucked me in and got me. I made a fix denoting range needed in the first example is 2, not 1.
     
  8. Like
    Fizz got a reaction from JoshisJoshingyou in Infinite holocron predictions   
    The only Infinite prediction I have is the prices of all the Awakenings block doing a power dive into the toilet, as the markets saturate with cards nobody is buying.

    It'll be a great time for those completionist collectors though.
  9. Like
    Fizz got a reaction from JuzFuzz in Infinite holocron predictions   
    The only Infinite prediction I have is the prices of all the Awakenings block doing a power dive into the toilet, as the markets saturate with cards nobody is buying.

    It'll be a great time for those completionist collectors though.
  10. Like
    Fizz got a reaction from Rafug9 in Luke3 with Aturu Strike   
    If this works, why dont we have a FAQ in the holocron document? That's what we NEED.
  11. Like
    Fizz got a reaction from Razelll in Luke3 with Aturu Strike   
    If this works, why dont we have a FAQ in the holocron document? That's what we NEED.
  12. Like
    Fizz got a reaction from player3366711 in Passing items between heroes?   
    This actually answers the OP's original question:
     
    There are rules for retrieving tokens listed under the aptly named "Retrieving Tokens", RRG, Page 22:
     
    (Bolded certain things that are important)
     
    Some missions allow figures to retrieve specific tokens. A figure adjacent to or in the same space as the token can perform an interact to retrieve the token. Place the token on the figure’s base to mark that the figure is now carrying that token. The token now moves with the figure.
     
    • A carried token cannot be retrieved by other figures, traded to other figures, or voluntarily dropped.
     
    • If a figure is defeated, any tokens that it is carrying are dropped in its space. This includes when a hero becomes wounded or if he withdraws.
     
    • Mission rules specify the effect and purpose of retrieving tokens.
     
    • At the end of a mission, all carried tokens are returned to the game box.
     
    • Retrieving a token is not claiming a token.
  13. Thanks
    Fizz got a reaction from The Cocky Rooster in Agenda deck   
    1) The agenda deck does not change once it has been built. Some agenda cards state that once used, you can either remove them from the game, or shuffle them back into the deck. Any that you purchase, you follow the directions on the agenda card.
     
    2) Rules state you cannot change your agenda deck, but many groups have house rules stating that as long as no cards in a set have been purchased, you can swap out that set for a newly purchased expansion. Again, that is a HOUSE RULE. Technically, you must wait until you start a new campaign before you can add new expansion cards into your agenda deck.
     
    Rules for the Imperial Upgrade Stage are on page 14 of the RRG, with the Agenda specific bits listed below:
     
    "Imperial Upgrade Stage" RRG, Page 14:
     
    To purchase Agenda cards, the Imperial player shuffles the Agenda deck and secretly draws four of them. He may purchase any of these cards by spending influence equal to the cards’ costs.
    -- The Imperial player does not show his drawn Agenda cards to the heroes. Any cards he does not purchase are shuffled back into the deck without being revealed.
    -- Most Agenda cards are immediately read aloud and resolved when purchased. The only exception is if the card instructs the player to “keep this card secret.” The Imperial player keeps the card and resolves the effect when he plays it (see “Types of Agenda Cards” on page 4).
     
    So basically, you build your deck of 18 agenda cards. Then, during your Imperial upgrade step between missions, you secretly draw four agendas. Any that you do not purchase are shuffled back into your agenda deck for future upgrade steps. Any that you do purchase are either placed into play as an ongoing effect, a mission, or kept face down and are "secret" until the conditions are met to trigger them.

    Make sense?
  14. Like
    Fizz got a reaction from Fightwookies in Official FAQ and Current Tournament Maps   
    Updated link to current FAQ.
  15. Like
    Fizz got a reaction from Majushi in Stun to prevent parting shot   
    Being able to admit fault, or to be able to process new information to change one's opinion or ruling on something, should be viewed in a positive light. It means that one has the wisdom to analyze the data in front of them and make the best decision, not just defend a viewpoint blindly.
     
    If one is criticized for fixing a mistake, or changing their opinion on something, then we denigrate the value of intellectual discourse while simultaneously incentivizing stalwart and stubborn thinking.
     
    You can make up for it by having me on one of your podcasts sometime.
  16. Like
    Fizz got a reaction from a1bert in Official FAQ and Current Tournament Maps   
    Updated link to current FAQ.
  17. Like
    Fizz got a reaction from wannabepudge in Official FAQ and Current Tournament Maps   
    #faq #rules #fizzgrid
     
    IMPORTANT NOTE: This thread is not meant for rules discussion. Please limit discussion to new threads in the Rules Forum.

    Link to Official FAQ: (Effective 3-12-2018, Version 3.0)
    https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/80/b6/80b64200-dfe6-4963-8eea-51e806b31d8d/swi_faq_v30.pdf
    Link to Current Tournament Rules: (Version 3.3, Effective February 5th, 2019)
    https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/97/34/97349cce-5abc-45c1-9a45-236c07b572e9/swi_tournament_regulations_v33_text_version.pdf

    Current Tournament Map Rotation (Oldest map listed first)
    Uscru Entertainment District Tarkin Initiative Labs Lothal Wastes
     
     
    Link to explanation of changes to Royal Guard, Imperial Officer and Rebel Saboteur:
     
    https://www.fantasyflightgames.com/en/news/2015/12/21/great-change-in-the-galaxy/
     
    ------
     
    If you get rules answered directly from FFG and would like them added here, please send me a PM with the full text and I will add it.
     
    Rules questions not yet on the FAQ:
     
    **) Jyn's Trick Shot can be used to establish LOS when interrupting to perform an attack, and can be used in conjunction with Jyn's Quick Draw ability.
     
     
    **) Abilities cannot be used by or affect incapacitated heroes.
     
     
    **) Jyn's Gunslinger ability: You can use both the surges from the pistol you attacked with, and any other pistol you brought to the mission. Remember that each hero can only bring 2 weapons to a mission, however.
     
     
    **) Strain caused by Bleeding is not voluntary.
     
        q) "Does choosing to suffer strain not being allow if it would go over endurance apply to indirect sources? Such as bleed and choosing do another action that would cause you to suffer strain over your limit. IE I'm full on strain, bleeding, and choose to attack. This will cause me strain over my limit. Is that allowed?"
         a) Yes. In this case, you would take damage instead.
     
     
    **) There are some missions which place objectives in a space that are impossible to be adjacent to. How is this resolved?
     
         a) This is a case where specific scenario rules take priority over core rules (see “Golden Rules” on page 2 of the Rules Reference guide). The mission rules could not function at all if the terminals could not be interacted with.
     
     
    **) "If Gideon has both Masterstroke and Mobile Tactician, what are the restrictions on when he may/must spend the bonus movement points?

        a) "Gideon cannot interrupt the Masterstroke to spend the 2 movement points from his first command. Gaining the movement points is an interrupt, essentially the same way gaining access to the second command is, but spending movement points cannot be done as an interrupt, so they have to sit in his pool until after the entire masterstroke is resolved."
     
     
    **) The deployment cost of a group is not altered when an upgrade is attached to it.
     
    The deployment cost of a group is not altered when an upgrade is attached to it. They each have their own separate deployment costs that are both scored when that group is defeated. So, an attachment on a Stormtrooper group would not affect their eligibility for Squad Swarm or Strength in Numbers.
     
     
    **) Urgency:  Any movement points gained during Urgency must be spent as part of that action since they were gained from a special action. The movement points are not added to a pool that can be spent and divided throughout the activation.
     
     
    **) Does damage from Relentless count as damage sustained during the attack? This has implications for abilities such as Han's Return Fire.
     
       a) No, it doesn’t. Whenever an ability checks for X damage after an attack resolves, that ability only checks the damage suffered during Step 7 of that attack. Relentless is an ability that resolves outside of the attack, even though its trigger is the attack itself.
     
     
    **) "Start of Round" and "End of Round" are considered single instances so you could not play multiple copies of Jundland Terror or Reinforcements at once, even if you used different eligible targets for those cards’ abilities.
     
     
    **) Awkward prohibits an attack on any adjacent figure, regardless of where the targeted space lies. This is an important distinction to make when the target is a large figure and occupies a space that is not adjacent to the Awkward attacking unit. For example: an AT-ST could not attack an adjacent Bantha Rider, even if the targeted space was not adjacent to the AT-ST.
     
    **) Mortar would not affect figures behind the door, even if it is destroyed. The Blast ruling deals with if the door is the target of an attack that then triggers Blast, since the damage from an attack is dealt before blast resolves. Mortar resolves all at once.
     
    **Source: Paul Winchester, Creative Content Developer
     
     
    >>)  Does Provoke prevent passing (re: passing activation due to your opponent having more active deployment cards)?
     
       a) Provoke would override the ability to pass because the targeted figure would still be able to activate. So, the player who had been “Provoked” would not be allowed to pass.
     
    >>Source: Megan Duehn
     
    ---------------------------------------
    Shameless link to Fizzgrid™:
     
    https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/135087-fizzgrid™-technologyfor-your-rules-question-needs/
  18. Like
    Fizz got a reaction from GottaBadFeelingAboutThis in Skirmish Map Puzzle Guides   
    Except those of us who play at FFG, we can't use pre-printed maps. So we use foamcore templates to drop in the maptiles instead:


     
    Makes assembly very easy. And if you own multiple tile sets, you can leave them assembled for transport.
    Cat not included.
  19. Like
    Fizz got a reaction from 54NCH32 in I'm New - Maybe I don't get it - But Imperial Assault is starting to be a disappointment   
    The tutorial mission is garbage meant to teach you mechanics, and nothing more.
     
    You should give the campaign a real what-for instead of poo-pooing it based on the tutorial.
  20. Like
    Fizz got a reaction from Stone37 in End of game, no cards left in either players hand or deck, 3 characters (2 for one player, 1 for the other), who wins?   
    In tournaments, (or events with timed rounds) damage dealt and cards left are calculated as well.

    Page 14: SWD: Tournament Regulations:
    Going to Time
    If neither player has achieved victory at the end of a tournament round, they must follow the
    steps below, in order, to determine who receives a win for the current game. That player’s
    opponent receives a loss for the game. If a single elimination round with a best-of-three match
    ends and only one player has a game win for the match, the player with a game win wins the
    match instead of players following the steps below.
    1.    The player who has less damage on their characters receives a win. To determine this,
    players count the total amount of damage on any characters in play and add the total
    health value of all their defeated characters to achieve a final number. If both players
    have the same total, proceed to step 2.
    2.    The player with the most cards remaining in his or her deck and hand receives a win. If
    both players have the same number of cards remaining, proceed to step 3.
    3.    The player who controls the battlefield at the end of the game receives a win.

    (Source: https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/10/fd/10fd1014-0865-40ef-b817-fe0896941bc8/swd_tournament_regulations_v20_text_version.pdf)
  21. Like
    Fizz got a reaction from machfalcon in I'm New - Maybe I don't get it - But Imperial Assault is starting to be a disappointment   
    The tutorial mission is garbage meant to teach you mechanics, and nothing more.
     
    You should give the campaign a real what-for instead of poo-pooing it based on the tutorial.
  22. Like
    Fizz got a reaction from fanIam in So do the imperials ever win?   
    If you got a bunch of friends together with good food, good drink (alcohol / non alcohol), and got to move models and toss dice, then I am pretty sure you won.
  23. Like
    Fizz got a reaction from angelman2 in Tier 1 & 2 Items   
    When the rulebook says to choose from 2 tiers, you draw 6 cards from each tier, giving you 12 cards to choose from:
     
    "Rebel Upgrade Stage", RRG, Page 21:
     
    If more than one Item deck is listed on the campaign log, players shuffle and draw six cards from each deck.
  24. Like
    Fizz got a reaction from gran_orco in Maul and Last Resort   
    Well, technically, Maul cannot be defeated unless he has *resolved* an activation.

    So wouldn't the timing be:

    - Maul has not yet activated.
    - Maul suffers 12/12 damage.
    - Last Resort trigger condition met.
    - Last Resort depleted.
    - Last Resort "before" effect cannot yet resolve, stays in limbo.
    - Maul Activates
    - Maul's activation completes, Last Resort "before defeated" effect triggers.
    - Last Resort triggers.
    - Maul is defeated. 
  25. Like
    Fizz reacted to 54NCH32 in How do you store your tiles?   
    I use several zip-lock / seal baggies, stored in my core box
    I sort them into:
    (e.g. Core set:)
    1-10
    11-20
    21-30
    31-40
    Then chuck them all into a bigger one (with a couple of the bigger pieces that wouldn’t fit in the other bags). So each expansion goes into its own big bag, to keep them separate).
    Really helps speed up build and break down times.
×
×
  • Create New...