Jump to content

McLaine

Members
  • Content Count

    64
  • Joined

  • Last visited


Reputation Activity

  1. Like
    McLaine got a reaction from Lt. Kettch in OCX Radio is the second best X-Wing podcast   
    Don't forget the Cold Hotdogs!
  2. Like
    McLaine got a reaction from Boom Owl in OCX Radio is the second best X-Wing podcast   
    I shan't be able to join you live, but to get things off to a good start ...

    THWEEK!!!!
  3. Like
    McLaine got a reaction from jokerkd in OCX Radio is the second best X-Wing podcast   
    I shan't be able to join you live, but to get things off to a good start ...

    THWEEK!!!!
  4. Like
    McLaine got a reaction from Brunas in OCX Radio is the second best X-Wing podcast   
    Stumbled on it one sleepless night, joined in the net Town hall for a laugh and ended up drinking with them at 5am (for me, in the UK)

    It's the best of All worlds!
  5. Haha
    McLaine got a reaction from Boom Owl in OCX Radio is the second best X-Wing podcast   
    Stumbled on it one sleepless night, joined in the net Town hall for a laugh and ended up drinking with them at 5am (for me, in the UK)

    It's the best of All worlds!
  6. Like
    McLaine reacted to DR4CO in Poe and R2 take a ride...   
    Actually, Artoo recovers his shield before rolling for damage when his ship overlaps an obstacle (refer to his entry in the FAQ). If you were at max shields already, then he will do nothing and you will be down a shield after rolling the [hit] from the rock.
  7. Like
    McLaine reacted to Achowat in Various TIEs vs R4 interaction.   
    Modifying All of Your <eye> Results when you have non <eye> results is still modifying, and Dark Curse and Omega Leader shut it down. Can't proc R4.
  8. Like
    McLaine reacted to Dr Zoidberg in Can I snapshot out of auxillary arc?   
    No.  Snap Shot is a secondary weapon and therefore is restricted to primary arc only.
    Also, adding results (e.g. Backdraft's ability of adding a crit result) is most definitely a modification.
  9. Like
    McLaine reacted to Parravon in Tractor Beam   
    Just a small point, but the rulebook actually says:
    There's no actual blanket rule that says "cannot trumps may" when it's in reference to rules, only card abilities and mission rules.
    The Tractor Beam Reference card clearly overrides the rules in this case, because the rule says you cannot boost or barrel roll if your ship or maneuver template would overlap an obstacle. Now the reference card only mentions the ship being able to overlap and does not say anything about the template. This may be an oversight, or it might not be, but the Obstacles entry in the FAQ directly beneath the Tractor Beam Reference Card entry, would tend to imply that the template can overlap an obstacle when a ship is tractored.
  10. Like
    McLaine got a reaction from nitrobenz in tactician   
    For mandatory effects, it's both players responsibility to maintain the board state. Both players would be at fault for missing Tactician, or Rebel captive etc ...

    Judges may adjust the board state, more likely if it's a very recent 'miss', less likely if the miss was a previous turn.

    They are also within their remit to say 'play on with the current state'.

     
  11. Like
    McLaine got a reaction from BlodVargarna in Nien Nunb vs Jam   
    Nope, the infinite loop version is still just one interpretation, and one that fails to look at the the rest of the game and cards and how the general case works.
  12. Like
    McLaine reacted to joeshmoe554 in tactician   
    Adding the tournament regulations statement on Missed Opportunities, emphasis has been added to mandatory effects which would include Tactician.
     
  13. Like
    McLaine got a reaction from StevenO in Nien Nunb vs Jam   
    Not an infinite loop. You check the current stress on Nien ONCE at time of triggering the JAM action. This tells you how many stress to assign. You don't then go back to check again.

    Now you assign the allocated stress to Nien, one at a time. Each stress assigned gives Nien an opportunity to trigger his ability.
  14. Like
    McLaine got a reaction from SlaveofChrist in Nien Nunb vs Jam   
    Not going to argue with you Zefirus, as there is no concrete ruling that can be brought to bear.

    I'm drawing on experience and precedent of how the game functions to draw a sensible conclusion.

    You play it how you like. Have fun with your infinite loop, and enjoy all the arguments it will cause.
  15. Like
    McLaine reacted to thespaceinvader in M9-G8 vs advance targeting computer   
    Adding a die (the TIE/sf or ARC *titles* for instance, or Jan Ors pilot ability, or simply range 1 with a primary) IS different from modification.  Adding a *die result* is a modification (Norra's ability, Backdraft's ability, ATC, etc).  The difference is whether it is a die before rolling whose result will be random, or it is a specific result being added (blank, eye, evade, hit, or crit).
    It's super confusing to talk about the SF and Norra because they can both do both, and being clear about which you mean is difficult.
  16. Like
    McLaine got a reaction from BlodVargarna in Nien Nunb vs Jam   
    Not going to argue with you Zefirus, as there is no concrete ruling that can be brought to bear.

    I'm drawing on experience and precedent of how the game functions to draw a sensible conclusion.

    You play it how you like. Have fun with your infinite loop, and enjoy all the arguments it will cause.
  17. Like
    McLaine got a reaction from Parakitor in M9-G8 vs advance targeting computer   
    DR4CO, I can see where you're going.

    The distinction though is 'Dice' and 'Dice Results'.

    Your original wording is a little confusing, but the essence is correct.

     
  18. Like
    McLaine reacted to Kalandros in K4 works if I bump?   
    Yes it does, you acquire a TL with K4, you do not do a free TL Action.
    Which is something FFG needs to address, making so many upgrades require 0 skill, one change with x7 was good, they need to do more changes like that.
  19. Like
    McLaine reacted to PanchoX1 in Captured TIE Errata?   
    pretty sure this was not done maliciously. I would have verified it on the spot if I had the time but i was rushing and it was just a friendly game. Thank you for the confirmation of the non existent errata. I'll be sure to let him know.
  20. Like
    McLaine reacted to StevenO in Captured TIE Errata?   
    If there were errata, which there is no, ask him to point it out to you in the FAQ and then make sure he is using a legitimate FAQ.
    Sounds to me like you had an opponent who was willing to cheat in order to win.  If the situations were reversed I highly doubt he would "remember" the so called errata that isn't.
     
  21. Like
    McLaine reacted to digitalbusker in A Queston about Han's pilot ability   
    Drive-by citation: Rules Reference page 13 "Modifying Dice"
  22. Like
    McLaine reacted to thespaceinvader in A Queston about Han's pilot ability   
    Han has to reroll all the dice he can. Usually this means all of them, but each die can only be rerolled once, so if he had already rerolled a die with Predator for instance his ability could not reroll that die again.
  23. Like
    McLaine reacted to Marinealver in Focus?   
    As of now the only thing that can modify the die roll of Saboteur is Emperor Palpatine. However you will have to announce your intentions to use Emperor Palpatine before you roll for Saboteur under the new errata. If you don't it is considered a miss opportunity and the roll stands.
  24. Like
    McLaine reacted to Innese in I need help with card   
    Twin Laser Turret allows you to attack twice against the same target at range 2-3. It follows all the normal steps for making an attack (In no specific order, declaring target, checking range, etc) before rolling dice. You roll your attack dice, modify as necessary, then set the hits & crits aside. The defender rolls their defense dice, modify as necessary, then sets any evade results aside. At comparison, if you have more hits & crits than your opponent has evade results, you deal -1- damage to the target ship. You then repeat this a second time.
  25. Like
    McLaine reacted to shaunmerritt in Question about Third-Party Dice at Store Champs   
    Hey everyone,
    TO here, we had this happen last year and I told them no just in the essence of fairness. You cannot take the chance of someone accusing them of being weighted to favor a certain build (modified dice don't always roll hits or evades). Plus, if it was revealed someone won a semi-major event with custom dice.... you best be sure people would be a little suspicious. Best to play it safe. 
×
×
  • Create New...