Jump to content

Patriarch

Members
  • Content Count

    182
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Posts posted by Patriarch


  1. Revealing the base like this isn't enough for the Imperials to win. If you get to the "deploy" part of the refresh phase, the imperials will instantly win if they deploy a single unit to "their" system.  

    However if the Rebels can either move the base (because they used rapid mobilization already that turn), or an blockade/sabotage the system before deployment happens, then they are still in the game.  Likewise, if the Imperials don't have any units ready to come off the build queue (unlikely but possible).

    Finally, the turn marker will advance before deployment happens, as will the Rebels reputation from scoring an objective.  if the markers meet, the Rebels will win the game before the Imperials occupy the base.


  2. On 8/21/2019 at 10:35 PM, g07h4xf00 said:

    I would say it's AT LEAST 40/60 but might be as bad as 30/70. I recall one large battle where this was particularly bad a few games ago. I was empire attacking the rebel base.

    In space, I had 2 Star Destroyers, 4 assault carriers, and a LOT of TIE fighters about 8 of them with 2 TIE intercepts.

    Rebels had 3 MonCal cruisers, 2 corvettes, and 5 total fighters like 3 X-wings and 2 Y-wings.

    This combat was multiple rolls, but at the end of the day I destroyed 1 MonCal cruiser, 1 corvette, and 3 fighters total while the Rebel player destroyed ALL my ships. It was Palpatine vs Akbar as the leaders.

    It was insane. Defenders never need to "over damage" while attackers always do but even when I would over damage by 1 sometimes they were still able to heal their cruisers enough to live for another round.

    There were a few other egregious examples of this defender's advantage that I can recall, but it's always in favor of defenders. 

    I'd like to write a program in python simulating combat one day to get the true numerical value of this advantage.

    That battle sounds like it went as it should.  Attacking 3 Mon Cals (+ chaff) with only 2 Star Destroyers (+ chaff) would be a very iffy prospect.  Even with the base rules attacker slight advantage, I wouldn't assume you'd win that attack.

    As it is, you can reverse the order of attack with the appropriate card (negating the "going second" advantage), but it means your opponent get a "free" combat card effect to hurt you.  Is the "going second" advantage so huge that you'd give up the chance of playing a different card?


  3. It means that unless the action card says "move this leader to X system", you must get the leader to that system through the normal rules (with an activation, or a mission, or joining a combat) before you can make use (or try to make use) of the action card.  However, getting the leader to the system may also be the event that you want to use the card for.

    For example, if you want to use "One in a Million" to ensure you blow up the Death Star during a combat, you need to make sure that Luke or Wedge is going to be in the system when that combat takes place.  That usually means that Luke or Wedge is the leader who causes that combat - either they are one of the leaders assigned to the mission, or they are the leader who activates the system and moves the units in for the fight.  Once they are there, they can play the action card at the appropriate point.  (In rare cases, Luke or Wedge can taken from the pool at the start of combat, if the Rebels didn't have a leader with tactics in the system already.  That usually only happens if it is the Imperials attacking).

    They could also already be in the system, before the mission or activation which causes the combat takes place.  e.g. Luke attempts "Sabotage" in the Death Star's system.  Later in the round, Dodonna attempts "Plan the Assault" and moves lots of ships into the same system.  Because Luke is present in the system, he could use the action card at an appropriate moment.  However, you could have assigned Luke to Dodonna's mission as well, and he would also get to use his action card.

    What you can't do, is wait until the combat has started with leaders present already, and decide you'd really like to use an action card right now, and "teleport" Luke or Wedge to the system mid combat.  They have to be there at the start following the normal rules for placing leaders in a system.  If you already had a tactics leader in the system when the combat was triggered, too bad: you cant add another leader (like Luke) from the pool, so no action card.

    If Luke is already on the board somewhere else, or he is still stuck on a mission you haven't played yet, or you aren't able to get him out of the leader pool by the normal rules, then you don't get to play an action card with him.

    Also, leaders who are captured, eliminated, or Turned to the Dark Side, don't get to use their action cards.  The one exception is Obi Wan Kenobi, who gets to use "Noble Sacrifice" as soon as he is captured (if you want).

     

     


  4. The Rebel player isn't losing too much in this event.  Because of the Imperial ships already in the Rebel system, he could neither build units from that system's icons, nor could be deploy units there.  

    The Imperial player may have suffered slightly, in that those ships now have a (retreated) Imperial leader blocking their movement out of the system this turn.

    Advancing by retreat is definitely a tactic in this game, but it takes a bit of setting up to pull it off.  You need to make sure that you are actually allowed to go to the system you are intending to retreat to.  That usually requires having no units or loyalty/subjugation on any adjacent systems; or, in this case, having units already present where you want to go.


  5. On 8/12/2019 at 2:00 AM, Eruletho said:

    The sturdiest thing I've ever seen was a guy who put a washer in the bottom and filled it out with some sort of dried gel or glue or something - I forgot to ask him what it was.

    Almost certainly silicone sealant - the sort of stuff you can line windows and showers with.  It's the stuff I used when I put washers in my bases.   A bugger to do at the time, but totally worth it.


  6. The torture route seems riskier to me because it's not enough to find the base, you have to be able to win a space combat and a ground combat in it.  If you don't have a large enough combined force in that area of the map and been aggressively smothering all the escape routes, the Rebels will mobilise away long before you get there.  Doing a successful torture game demands too much from your leaders to spread out enough IMO.


  7. On 4/21/2019 at 12:44 PM, Scoundrel said:

    the rebels always win in my playgroup. we are trying to find a winning strategy for the imps but it seems impossible. we are even considering to place the marker further back at the start of the game.

    For the Imperials, don't fall into the trap of assigning lots of cool missions.  Concentrate more on spreading out and suffocating the rebels, whilst keeping your production up.  Every turn, at least half of your leaders should be moving fleets around.  The others should be trying to keep production up, or otherwise frustrating the Rebel's attempts at scoring objectives.  If the Rebels have nowhere to run, you should be able to build up enough units to go and crush them.

    And in the base game, make sure the Death Star has lots of TIE fighter bodyguards.


  8. On 10/5/2017 at 10:32 AM, Libero03 said:

    Basically heals for the attacker can't save any unit during the battle. The defender do not have to overkill units assigning more hits than necessary, because the attacker can't heal units that will be destroyed anyway.

    To me this is huge. Can someone please explain how is this balanced?

    Yes they can - larger units can be saved one turn to the next if they aren't overwhelmed with damage. If I send a pair of Star Destroyers or AT-ATs into battle I will expect to be rolling some lightsabers next round to repair some of the damage picked up in round 1. Also, if the defender uses his combat card to hit single-wound units (fighters, troops) before the dice are rolled, the attacker's lightsabers can be used for those units.  The attacker can also swing the order of battle around if he is willing to pay the price (using his card to do that, whilst the opponent chooses a card with a different benefit).

    The pendulum swings to the defender in the cinematic rules, however it is overall balanced for a number of reasons.  The attacker has chosen to do this attack, with resources from whatever systems could reach, and therefore presumably is expecting to win.  The defender has to sit there and take it. The attacker always has a leader for rerolls, the defender may not.  What has changed is the cost/benefit of whether he wants to attack with the resources he has.

    In the base game the Rebels could always send their fleet out on the opening turn and have a reasonable chance of taking down a lone Star Destroyer for an easy objective if they were lucky enough to start with that card.  This is no longer the case; the Rebels need to do more planning and marshal their forces for most "combat" objectives.  To me this is a significant improvement in the strategic game as well as the combat itself.


  9. It has to be the card you recruited from.

    No, you don't show your opponent the card, so he can't be sure which card you got.  However when you later play the card for its effect, you will show the card to your opponent.   Any cards you don't play will still be in your area at the end of the game, in theory that's when you'd show them to your opponent.

    If you were playing with a (non starting) leader that you couldn't show an action card for, then you lose the game regardless of how it unfolded.

    In reality, you wouldn't be playing with people who would do that on purpose...


  10. I really like the Harsh Rules videos.

    These are pretty good, but one fairly major mistake is that he has the Rebel player select the location of the base by drawing a probe card at random from the deck, rather than actually selecting the location by choosing from all the probe cards, then shuffling the remainder.


  11. 15 hours ago, TheVillageIdiot said:
    • And when retreating, regardless of the answer on the previous question: can both sides retreat?

    Sort of.  If the attacker retreats, and removes all his space and ground units, the defender cannot retreat.  There must be at least one unit (ground or space, doesn't matter which) to retreat from. 

    If the attacker retreats, but leaves behind any TIEs or ground units, then the defender can retreat.


  12. Essentially 1 and 3 are the same.  The team rules more or less are the same, but specify which team member gets the final say if they can't agree on various decisions (generally based on which board elements the player is sitting close to).

    The only significant changes are the rotating turn order for using leaders (Rebel admiral, Imperial admiral, Imperial general, Rebel general), that team members can "pass" independently, and that planning is discussed semi-openly, so it's hard to plan complete surprises.


  13. On 09/12/2017 at 1:10 AM, Seabook said:

    And the last doubt... what happens when you only have structures at ground battle, like Ion Cannons, Shield Generators and Golan Arm Turrets, against normal soldiers and AT-ATs? Do all the structures gets destroyed if there are no soldiers or Snowspeeders?

    Yep, and as long as the Golan turret is still there firing, the other structures are immune from this effect.


  14. On 09/12/2017 at 0:59 AM, Seabook said:

    The other doubt is about tactical cards that lets you play an addictional tactical card only. What is that card for? Only to empty faster your missing cards so you can get your discarded cards back faster? And what happens if that is the last card you have and you don't have another card to play with? oO 

    Normally, you pick your tactic card simultaneously with your opponent, so you have to guess what card he will take.  If you have the option to take an additional card, you can do so already knowing which card he took, and react accordingly.

    In this case, you put your first card down, and collect all your other cards.  You can now immediately play any one of those. At the end of this combat round, those two cards will be in your discard pile and the rest will be in your hand ready to play.


  15. On 09/12/2017 at 0:54 AM, Seabook said:

    The other doubt is about Luke Skywalker after doing the Seek Yoda mission and getting the Master Yoda ring. If Luke Skywalker is in combat in a system, how many dices he can reroll for each combat for each round? 3 or 4? The Seek Yoda mission card doesn't explain how many times I can reroll with the ring.

    The Yoda reroll is a separate thing from leader rerolls. It's a one-off per combat, and can be made in addition to the rerolls that the leader gives you.

    It is different in that you can only use it once per game round (so in this specific case, once in the entire combat, and therefore not in any mission later that round), but could be used to reroll a die which you had already rerolled as a leader.  


  16. You are right, that is a difficult one to give a straight answer to.

    It would be rare to have more than one Star Destroyer or AT-AT in a battle, as these units are difficult to produce, and the Empire can't afford to concentrate its power too much.

    Some battles are only just one or two troops against each other unless the Empire comes to wipe out a Rebel strong point.

    If the Rebels have been turtling, and the Imperials work out the base's location with time to spare, the game is set for a larger battle with maybe a dozen Rebel units and perhaps twice that many Imperials.  That is a rare occurrence though, maybe two or three times that's happened in games I've seen.


  17. And to add, if the Rebel base is revealed to be in a neutral system, it doesn't automatically make that system Rebel loyal.  The Rebel Base space can still contribute its icons to the build queue (if there are no imperial units in the now-revealed Rebel base system), but can't deploy units to the base in the Refresh phase.  The system is treated like any other system for deploying units there - it has to be Rebel loyal and free of Imperials.

×
×
  • Create New...