Jump to content


  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Kirov

  • Rank

Contact Methods

  • AIM
  • MSN
  • Website URL
  • ICQ
  • Yahoo
  • Skype

Profile Information

  • Location
    Doraville, Georgia, United States
  1. The 500 in both Expert and Veteran reflects that the stat comes easily to that career (Agility for the Scum and Assassin careers, for example, or Strength for the Guardsman). I don't know what you mean by "swingy", though.
  2. While there is no hard and fast rule about what to give out when, I can at least say a few additional things on the matter: 1. Exotic ammunition (manstopper rounds, dumdum bullets, etc.) should generally be restricted in some way. For example, manstopper rounds should generally not be readily available as it invalidates other weapon choices (typically lasguns). In my group, we had to acquire such rounds with our own funds, which meant that filling up that autopistol or autorifle with manstopper rounds was typically not an option; usually, only hunting rifles and handcannons were loaded with them. 2. Some extra leeway should be given to guardsman characters as their base income is generally pretty low. If need be, the guardsman should justify to their inquisitor exactly why they need certain pieces of equipment. For example, my guardsman character, a combat engineer, initially asked for and was granted a melta cutter for cutting through doors and other obstacles. As the threats facing the party increased, the melta cutter was traded in for a thermal lance. 3. The sort of threats that you send against the party will determine to some degree what equipment the group acquires. If the group is always facing massed gangs of unarmored cultists, for example, it makes little sense to waste valuable and expensive boltgun rounds on them when a lasgun or autogun will suffice.
  3. It seems I'm rather late to the party. Nonetheless, I offer the following to the original poster: I once asked my DnD 3.5 group if they've seen anybody else besides me take the Leadership feat or otherwise go out of their way to acquire minions/allies in other systems. Their answer was "no", and this was despite just how much help an extra set of helping hands can be, something that I proved time and again in the current campaign (do not underestimate the power of a coordinated attack, even when the character partnered with you isn't as high level as you). Heck, even a good contact can be a MASSIVE help, something that I demonstrated in my second Dark Heresy campaign where I spent 190 XP to acquire a reliable armorsmith contact (and let me tell you that that was a major sacrifice on my part as the GM only awarded on average maybe 50 XP per session). Not only was everybody able to get better armor and enjoy increased survivability in the trials that came later, our Inquisitor (yes, our boss) went and got some better armor made for himself, too, especially after suffering some debilitating injuries going toe-to-toe with a greater Slaaneshi daemon. So what's the deal? Why do so many players seem to ignore this option even though it can make the entire group's life so much easier? Well, I think my GM's answer perhaps explains all: players (a large number of them, anyway) are only interested in personal, individual power. That is, they're only interested in abilities that will personally allow them to turn their next opponent into red paste that much more quickly. Anything else is pretty much ignored. As for how to change that behavior? Well, one thing that I can say is that a given player group will tend to equip themselves according to the threats they keep facing. For example, in my first Dark Heresy campaign, we never bothered with trying to get meltas, bolters, or heck, even large amounts of specialist stubber ammo, and all because of the very large groups (20-50 individuals, typically) of virtually unarmored cultists we kept having to fight. Not only would the expensive ammo not have been worth it for such peons, but the small magazine capacities of the bolters and meltas (and to a lesser extent, slug-throwing guns) would have made reloading frequently a dicey proposition at best. In a Rogue Trader campaign, then, try throwing a boarding action or two or otherwise create a situation where having lots of extra friends around is more beneficial than being able to splatter a single opponent in one turn rather than two. Hopefully, when the self-aggrandising character ends up burning fate point because it was going to take 50 turns to kill that entire group of Orks all the while said Orks were shooting at him, he'll get a clue. -Kirov, who plans on asking for counter-espionage agents-turned-wait staff the next time he gets a chance to play Rogue Trader
  4. Nerhesi said: Can these advances be taken multiple times? Example, if I choose that as my optional benefit for becoming an inquisitor, can I increase my Psy Rating more than once for 1,500.. can I purchase more than one psychic ascended power? I ask because it seems rather weird (at least lore wise as I only have started playing the game), that an inquistor would be limited to Psy Rating 7 Max and only 1 Ascended Power at all… Or are other ways to continue to increase your psy rating/gain ascended powers? Thanks Indeed you can, but please keep in mind that you will generally be paying twice as much in XP for the same benefit as a Primaris Psyker would normally pay. Unless your GM is excessively generous, well . . . -Kirov
  5. RobOut said: I can think of at least two examples given in various books. One mentions a RT fleet that had Space Marine support and vanished into the expanse - no mention of chapter. Ah, Rogue Trader Kinker Drub you mean? His entry is on page 330 of the Rogue Trader core rulebook at the top of the page. Perhaps more precisely, there is no mention of what chapters (yes, plural). Apparently, squads drawn from several different chapters formed the composite Astartes force. The incident described happened during the "closing months of the 40th millenium", so it's anybody's guess if any of those Astartes troops are still alive and conducting operations.
  6. venkelos said: So, I have been hopping around between the various game threads, and spending some time at DW stuff. One of the thoughts that they often have is including Inquisitors in with a Kill Team, but that requires a significant amount of high-end gear to have a squishy Human, even an Inquisitor, stand with the Space Marines, and not die for it. My dilemma, however, is how might the Inquisitor get said gear? In Ascension, Influence gets you stuff, but numerous things are -30 or worse, on Influence rolls, and that doesn't even include ownership. Add to that the likelyhood that an Inquisitor built to go with them probably caps out at Influence 50-60, and they will often fail checks to acquire their gear. I don't know if there are some hammered together rules for an Inquisitor getting Requisiton as a DW player character (Rank and Renown are alien to them), but I had a little dumb thought. Maybe, just maybe, they could spend an Elite Advance to get something akin to Signature Wargear, allowing them to not have to make a -50+ Influence check, or some such, for each and every piece of gear they will need. At higher levels, at least, it seems almost a more likely way an Inquisitor, like Coteaz, or such, could have acquired Artificer Armor, or maybe even Termie Armor, like they can get in the Malleus (TT, I guess anyone could try from Daemon Hunter's writeup). Otherwise, the books are filled with many things that it would be very hard to ever get (I know, it's the point, but still). What are people's thoughts? Could an Inquisitor PC pay out the bum to SW a really hard to get item, or are they forever restricted to difficult Influence tests vs Near-Unique items? I'd imagine it is really only more appropriate for Deathwatch, but if a high-ranking Space Marine can prove to his Chapter that he deserves Artificer Armor (only attainable by EA, I believe), just based on his actions, one would think that an Inquisitor could do the same, with his organization, every once in a great while. Otherwise, only a Lord Inquisitor could wear Terminator Armor with the Space Marines (no one else could succeed the -70 to -90 Influence test to get it, and that's just the armor, then you have other stuff). What are people's thoughts on those who are meant to have unilateral authority? This isn't just for Deathwatch, that's why I posted it here, but if you want to say yay or nay for individual settings, that's cool. Rites of Battle gives some guidelines about joint operations (page 72). Those normal humans accompanying a kill-team may add, as a bonus to a single acquisition test for that mission, 25% of the Requisition Rating of the mission. Rogue Trader characters may burn Profit Factor for a +10 bonus to the test for each Profit Factor burned (Into the Storm, page 223) Throne Agents may permanently lower their Influence by 1d5 to automatically succeed at a test (Ascension, page 15) If you're balking at the "burning" part, please bear in mind that the normal humans generally always have their power base, be it Profit Factor or Influence. The Requisition that the Astartes get is granted on a mission-to-mission basis only, and is much more limited in scope. Also note that the Astartes generally can't get something "just because" outside of a mission. If that Tactical Marine wants a suit of Terminator Armor, chances are he's going to have to first build up the Renown (which can take a while), and then be assigned enough Requisition for a mission to use that terminator armor at all. An Inquisitor, on the other hand, if he wants a suit badly enough, can burn some influence to get a suit of Terminator Armor. Since they're burning influence to automatically succeed regardless of modifiers, chances are that that suit of terminator armor is going to be tricked out to high heaven (hexagrammic wards, artificer-quality construction complete with silver and adamantine inlay, etc.). What's more, it's his suit of terminator armor, which means he can bring it along wherever he wants whenever he wants, barring, of course, mission requirements. Finally, the Inqusitor can do this long before the Tactical Marine acquires enough renown for the mere right to wear that Tactical Dreadnought Armor. Of course, Rogue Trader groups trump even the Inquisitor, or haven't you seen a starting Rogue Trader group burn some PF to acquire a tricked out Battlecruiser? Anyway, to answer your question, I really don't think that the Signature Wargear talent is really necessary for the Throne Agents. They've already got something that, in many ways, trumps Signature Wargear. -Kirov
  7. lordharadris said: Hello fellow sentients, I'm new to 40k rpg and cannot seem to find anything to solve my problem. Im a psycher that seems to like perils of the warp . Ive killed entire market squares of civillians, caused 50+ corruption points to my party members etc. my question is: Is there anything i can do to try and safeguard myself against perils? by that i mean talents, skills, gear etc to try and reduce the chances of me murdering everyone within 5 square miles by just trying to use spectral hands? I remember that when i played the black crusade demo advneture, my psycher has a "psy grounding unit" that looked like a big circular rack that she wore on her back. what is that thing? can i get it or something kind like it for my dark heresy character? thanks for the help You might not like this option very much, but there is also the Sanction Wardens cell directive from the Blood of Martyrs book. Essentially, if the psyker being watched causes Perils of the Warp, just before rolling on that table, other members of the cell may immediately make an attack against the psyker as a reaction. Should at least one Wound be inflicted on the offending psyker, the psychic power fails, but the Perils of the Warp doesn't happen. On the plus side, I daresay a GM would be more willing to allow this option than they would using the fettered/unfettered/push rules pre-Ascension or letting your character take Favored By the Warp as an Elite Advance. -Kirov
  8. Additionally: "They must be male, because zygotes are keyed to male hormones and tissue types . . ." (Page 15, Deathwatch core rulebook) Seems pretty conclusive to me on why gene seed cannot be implanted in human females. Anyway, if I was running a game and a player wanted to run a superhuman female character of some kind, I'd tell them to go make a female Vindicare. I certainly don't see why not a Vindicare can't somehow go rogue if we're talking about a Black Crusade game. -Kirov
  9. GreyHunter88 said: Thanks for the replies guys! I didn't have access to my Deathwatch book, so I haven't been able to check the stats on the Astartes Shotgun. The Book of Judgment mentions that the arbitrators use a shell almost as large as the Astartes, but much larger than a standard. 1d10+6 seems a lot more reasonable, as that makes it better than an average shotgun but no more powerful against armoured targets than a hand cannon or something. I'd be happy to contact the developers, but I'll admit that I'm new to this whole forum and Errata thing, so I'm not sure what the best means to get an answer out of them would be. Scroll all the way down the page, and look for a link called "Rules Questions". Yes, I missed it too the first time around. -Kirov
  10. I'm voting typo as well. 1d10+9 is the damage an Astartes Shotgun does, at least according to the revised weapon stats in the Deathwatch Living Errata. Has anybody contacted the developers yet? -Kirov
  11. Hmmm . . . upon a second look, it seems that "The wisdom of thousands of the Imperium's warriors has contributed to the codex" (Page 54, Deathwatch Core Rulebook) simply means that Roboute Guilliman incorporated the essays of other tacticians of the time into the codex rather than the codex being constantly added to like how it is with the Tactica Imperialis. My mistake.
  12. In the Imperium, there are apparently two books of strategy: the Codex Astartes, and the Tactica Imperialis. 1. What are some of the key differences between the two "books"? Are there any, aside from the Codex apparently being more specific to the Space Marines? 2. What does the Tactica Imperialis have to offer that might prompt a Space Marine of a Codex Chapter to refer to it rather than the Codex? 3. Conversely, what would prompt an Imperial Guard or Imperial Navy officer to refer to the Codex Astartes? Do they even have access to it at all? 4. Whose treatises would be considered for inclusion in either book? Might something written by a "mere mortal" somehow make it into the Codex Astartes, and if so, would this be a relatively common or more like one-in-a-million? Obviously, for a Space Marine, having his treatise included in the Codex Astartes would be a major honor, but would it also be a great honor to be included in the Tactica Imperialis? Anybody have any thoughts on the matter? -Kirov
  13. I'd also like to point out that you have to survive long enough to reach the appropriate ranks for some of those talents. Not all GMs award experience at the same rate, and in some cases, you might not even reach the higher ranks at all before a campaign's end. Besides, when one of the results of Perils of the Warp is summoning a fraggin' Daemon Prince, I would hope that the Librarian has at least some means of not getting to that point in the first place! -Kirov
  14. Dark Bunny Lord said: So I'm new to Deathwatch (long time Rouge Trader / Dark Heresy player) and started building my own chapter but I noticed something missing in the "Rites of Battle" book that walks you through building your own custom chapter and that was that there didn't seem to be anything about making the trappings. They had very detailed stuff for all the other rules, but trappings where missing. Anyone know if I'm simply missing it somewhere, was it just forgot or what? Well . . . I get the feeling that it's both an oversight and that it's not something that can necessarily be constrained to a set of rules. Anyway, take a look at the Chapter Trappings for already defined chapters on page 169 of the Deathwatch core rulebook. As best as I can tell, they're items that are a part of the culture and traditions of the chapter and, with exception to the ornamental/symbolic weapons, provide a small bonus of some kind to the battle brother of the appropriate chapter wearing it. The bonuses themselves are small - typically no more than 1-3 points to a stat or test - and are often highly situational. They're also items that all battle brothers of that chapter would be in possession of, so they shouldn't be anything exceptionally rare or outlandish. Hope this helps somewhat. -Kirov
  15. Well . . . don't forget that you can also burn PF when acquiring something, particularly if it's hideously expensive (like a light cruiser). Each PF burned gives +10 to the acquisition roll, and as the penalty to the roll in this case is at minimum the starship's SP cost, those extra PF will come in handy. Under such circumstances, having an extra 4 PF as "disposable income" as it were will be appreciated, even if the warrant already provides for a large starting PF. I can certainly see a situation where a group with a 70 PF/ 20 SP warrant will try to acquire such a ship as one of their first acquisitions, 'cause quite frankly, that slow-as-molasses, handles-like-a-pregnant-yak tin can transport just ain't gonna cut it when the pirates start swarming. Whether or not it's worth the XP cost, I don't know. It's ultimately going to depend on what your group is planning to do as their first endeavors. -Kirov
  • Create New...