Jump to content

Ispher

Members
  • Content Count

    359
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Ispher

  1. I agree with any2cards that rules should not be overthought too much. In this case, the rules say that heroes may move each refugee up to 3 spaces. That's it. Nowhere does it say that heroes can use additional movement points if the refugees gain them somehow. "Heroes may move each refugee up to 3 spaces." Nothing more is written = Nothing more is allowed.
  2. Your OL can't decide the order because Worn Down says: "Exhaust this card after a hero uses a class card that has a fatigue cost." He has no choice: it says "after", so he can't chose "before". Choice of order is only possible when two effects could be seen as simultaneous, which generally means they have the same trigger, such as two effects having an "at the start of your turn" trigger or two players wanting to play an effect off the same trigger.
  3. From the CRRG, page 26: “Remove and place” and “Place” • The figure is removed from its current space on the map and placed in another space. Eligible target spaces are defined by the effect itself (such as “within 3 spaces“, or “in the closest empty space adjacent to the monster“). The new position is determined by counting spaces, no movement points are gained or spent. • This type of movement is not considered to be a move action. It does not result in the figure moving into any spaces and only the target space is entered. It cannot be interrupted. • As no movement points are involved, terrain that increases movement point costs has no effect, other rules unrelated to movement points still apply. The quest rules text for Eliza Farrow's teleport ability has the same wording as Astarra's hero ability, so I think it belongs to the same "Remove and place" category described here. The relevant points are: "only the target space is entered" and "other rules unrelated to movement points still apply" (in this case, taking 2 damage). It seems to me that if Eliza teleports into the pit space, she takes 2 damage.
  4. Good thanks. I actually checked this entry, but I was made unsure because of the entry just above, under Entering and Exiting a space: • When a figure changes its position from one space on the map to another space on the map, it is considered to be exiting its current space [...] I wondered if "exiting" meant "moving out of". Maybe it would be good to add, under "Movement", after A figure being “placed” is not moving into a space: A figure being "removed" is not moving out of a space.
  5. About the Master Cave Spider's Web ability, the CRRG says: Web Card text: “Web: Each hero adjacent to this monster must suffer 1 stamina to move out of his current space; this is in addition to any other stamina suffered to move.” • A hero at full stamina suffers 1 health if he moves (or is moved) out of a space adjacent to a monster with Web. Do heroes suffer 1 stamina if they move out of such a space with an ability that doesn't use the word "move", such as Astarra's hero ability (Spend 1 movement point to remove your figure from the map...) or the skill Shadow Step (Exhaust this card to place your hero figure in a space that contains only a Shadow Soul), or do they not?
  6. The rules say on page 9: "To move off the map, the figure must move to one of the edge spaces (marked below in red) on the entrance or exit tile and then spend one movement point." Spending a movement point is something figures must be able to do when on a friendly figure's space, otherwise they would never be able to exit that space (and therefore never be able to enter it). I would be wary of making moving off the map an exception to this rule. However, I do agree that Grease Trap would not make the hero slide off the map, as he has to spend that movement point. Same for "move X spaces", as no movement point is gained.
  7. I smiled. I don't think you should have changed the title though because I think I would have smiled twice (I think I would have fallen for it and then groaned about the new "deception" mechanic).
  8. Thanks. I had forgotten that it is not playing the card that interrupts the movement, but that it is the additional action that cards like Dash and Frenzy give that allows to interrupt/expand.
  9. In the CRRG, I noticed this: “During your turn” and “when activating a monster” effects can trigger before or after an action or during a move action of a monster. Until now, I used this rule to my advantage as a OL by playing cards like Dash and Frenzy during move actions of large monsters to allow them to expand. However, I never thought about other cards played during your turn that don't target a specific monster such as, for example, Dragonbone Pendant, Airborne or Schemes. Is it also possible to play those cards during a large monster's move action to allow them to expand?
  10. Wouldn't an attack that deals less or equal damage than shields rolled be an instance of targeting and not affecting? Or when a hero passes the awareness test on Pit Trap, wasn't he targeted but not affected? In any case, I asked FFG. Thanks for your help!
  11. In our campaign, one of the heroes wears the Cloak of Deception (for which there unfortunately is no entry in the CRRG): "If you roll a blank on any of your defense dice, you may exhaust this card to test awareness. If you pass, you are not affected by the attack." Which, if any, of the following things do have an effect on a hero who has successfully passed the test on Cloak of Deception: 1) Does the hero gain an infect token from Airborne? 2) Can the hero be moved with the Hellhound's use of a surge with Hunt (surge: After this attack resolves, you may remove the target from the map and place it in an empty space adjacent to this monster)? I am sure Knockback doesn't work, but for Hunt I am not sure because it says "after this attack resolves". 3) Can the OL use surge effects that do not affect the hero, like the Flesh Moulders' Mend or the Shadow Rune's surge: draw 1 Overlord card? Thanks for any help.
  12. That would make the OL win on turn one with the heroes having only one minimal chance of preventing it (almost none if the OL fills his deck with web traps, pit trap, no rest for the wicked, dark fortitudes or imploding rifts): kill every plague worm on their first turn. If you play the Lair of the Wyrm mini-campaign with these rules, you should also play with the official rule that all quest information is revealed to the heroes before the start of the campaign and explain them that ending. This way, either they won't waste their time on a campaign they know they'll lose, or take up the challenge and try to build a very specific hero group that would be able to have a chance in this situation. Rather than allowing such a turn 1 win, I would suggest adding to the rules that while under the OL control, Jorem Tolk cannot be moved by any means. Sometimes you just have to ask yourself the basic question: "Is this quest playable with these rules?"
  13. Like you I wasn't sure, so I asked FFG about it. I made the question very specific so as not to leave any possibility of doubt in the answer (and because the lieutenant in question appeared in the next quest we were playing). Q: If Merick uses Ignite affecting 3 heroes with Andira Runehand among them, and they all suffer damage, does he suffer 3 or 1 damage from her hero ability? A: He suffers 3 damage. The answer came from Nathan Hajek, designer (among others) of the Heirs of Blood campaign, so now I am sure.
  14. Obsidian Scalemail puts a limit of one per turn to skills and abilities with an arrow. Common actions don't have an arrow in front of them, therefore Obsidian Scalemail doesn't limit common actions. I think it's that simple. The rulebook says there are two possible ways of saying something is an action on page 7: Special: Different cards or quests may provide heroes with unique actions to perform. These actions are either clearly stated "as an action" or noted with a -> . If it is noted with an arrow, Obsidian Scalemail limits it; if it isn't, it doesn't.
  15. Coincidentally, we are at exactly the same point in our campaign: we have played the first encounter of Prison of Khinn and will play the second in about 3 weeks. My heroes fared maybe a little better than yours in this first encounter, in which I used Barghests: 3 managed to escape and I could stop only one thanks to Pit Trap to use up his last remaining movement point on the space before the exit (he had no fatigue left either). I didn't even stun him. I will start with only 1 token, so I might not be able to summon anything on my first turn. ...But then maybe they fared not that much better because without intending to do so (it was just how the dice rolled), I managed to get 3 heroes down to 1 health left, which means that in the second encounter, even the Zombies will be a threat.
  16. Descent 2nd Edition is exactly that: a single, epic standalone mission where heroes start as weaklings with a single skill and rolling 2 dice and end as superheroes with up to 6 skills and rolling up to 6 dice. Only that now it takes a manly 20 hours to play, not the laughable 4 hours it took before. Don't let the words fool you: a "campaign" is just one mission with lots and lots of loot (you see between 45-50 treasure objects - way more than in any Descent 1 mission) and, when put together, a bigger map than any Descent 1st edition map you played before (except Road to Legend of course). Descent got more epic, not less.
  17. Thanks for sending in the question to FFG, I'm also interested in their answer. I know about the nerfing of Unholy Ritual, and that's why I play only one. But one is good because I almost always find a window to cast it without hurting me, at least in the first turn(s) of either encounter or at the very end of encounter 1. Sometimes a group is "imprisoned" in a room and can't do much before the end of the encounter anyway (Blood Will Tell, The Baron Returns, Saradyn in Flames...), then it's 2 good cards (because you get to choose) for one without any disadvantage. Also, I currently play Enchanter cards and Unholy Ritual is very good at getting me the combo of Sign of the Last Zenith / Rune of the Phoenix quickly.
  18. What you did is probably allowed. I say probably because although the order of things is decided by the active player, I don't know whether things that happen according to a state of the game at the start of turn have that state of the game checked just once and then the active player can do things in any order he wants, or if the active player can change the state of the game during his start of the turn so that he can get two effects that seem mutually exclusive, one before having changed the state of the game and the other after, which would make the game "check twice" in the same turn for something that normally should be checked only once (until the ruse is over, do this at the start of the turn; when the ruse is over, do that at the start of the turn instead). I don't think I have ever seen a ruling on this, so it might be worth asking.
  19. You've played 3 rumors. Against a Treasure Hunter. With 3 additional quests, no wonder the heroes are flush with money.
  20. Since you can see that Logan can do such things, the question that comes to mind is, why do you use Crypt Dragons, a relatively fragile 2-figure monster group, that makes it possible for him to completely annihilate a whole open group all by himself? 4 quests won on each side: I see a perfectly balanced campaign. What's to complain about? Sure, it is the end of Act I and that's when heroes are comparatively strongest, but now you'll be getting Act II monsters. And you are right, the errata'd Bloodlust is not really worth it any longer. I usually buy 1 Unholy Ritual for card drawing instead. There often is a group far enough away that they just diddle around for 1 or 2 turns anyway, or Zombies that can only move once so they don't mind losing an action. And it is very good for quickly getting infector or enchanter cards together. You are going to play Army of Dal'Zunm next. If you had gone the Magus way and bought Rise Again, you'd have an almost sure win, since it teleports a Zombie right into the Open Field from 8 spaces away... And once you have the first Zombie mutate into an Ettin, it gets much easier.
  21. Tyrus' resolve is described at the bottom of page 66: Each time his resolve increases by an amount, place that number of fatigue tokens on the "Lady Eliza Farrow" Lieutenant card. Each time his resolve decreases by an amount, remove that number of fatigue tokens from the "Lady Eliza Farrow" Lieutenant card. His resolve is counted with and represented by the fatigue tokens. It doesn't say so, therefore no. You'll notice that it is stated for Merick & Alric, so they would have stated it for Tyrus too if it was the case. Besides, it would make the last encounter impossible for the heroes. Yes, it is a normal transition. I remember a ruling that said you could use a relic equipped by a Lieutenant if it is listed under "Monsters" even though it does not appear on the map. Unfortunately, I don't remember where I read that...
  22. Shifting Earth says " Move each hero that fails 2 spaces." You cannot count spaces through a door, even if heroes can move through it. I don't think Shifting Earth can move heroes through a door, even if a special rule says heroes can move through it. (Also, does a special rule that says "heroes can move through the door" necessarily imply that "heroes can be moved through the door"? My experience with special rules is that you better don't imply too much and just keep exactly to what's written).
  23. But if the next hero attacks twice, he would add 1 to both of his attacks, wouldn't he?
  24. I don't think that Dark Charm turns heroes into monsters (or into non-heroes) for quest rules purposes. There are a number of quests in which monsters may leave the map. If the OL could make a hero leave the map with Dark Charm, how would he get back? Would the hero player just watch the game for 2 hours doing nothing? It wouldn't make sense. An example of this is the 2nd encounter of Caladen's Crossing, where the rules say: "Monsters may move off the map through the Town Entrance or Exit. Each time a monster moves off the map through the Exit, the gatehouse suffers 3 damage." Dark Charm - Bye, you can go home now? I don't think so.
×
×
  • Create New...