Jump to content


  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Ispher

  • Rank
  • Birthday

Contact Methods

  • AIM
  • MSN
  • Website URL
  • ICQ
  • Yahoo
  • Skype

Profile Information

  • Location
    , Geneva, Switzerland

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Ispher

    Worn Down plot card

    Your OL can't decide the order because Worn Down says: "Exhaust this card after a hero uses a class card that has a fatigue cost." He has no choice: it says "after", so he can't chose "before". Choice of order is only possible when two effects could be seen as simultaneous, which generally means they have the same trigger, such as two effects having an "at the start of your turn" trigger or two players wanting to play an effect off the same trigger.
  2. From the CRRG, page 26: “Remove and place” and “Place” • The figure is removed from its current space on the map and placed in another space. Eligible target spaces are defined by the effect itself (such as “within 3 spaces“, or “in the closest empty space adjacent to the monster“). The new position is determined by counting spaces, no movement points are gained or spent. • This type of movement is not considered to be a move action. It does not result in the figure moving into any spaces and only the target space is entered. It cannot be interrupted. • As no movement points are involved, terrain that increases movement point costs has no effect, other rules unrelated to movement points still apply. The quest rules text for Eliza Farrow's teleport ability has the same wording as Astarra's hero ability, so I think it belongs to the same "Remove and place" category described here. The relevant points are: "only the target space is entered" and "other rules unrelated to movement points still apply" (in this case, taking 2 damage). It seems to me that if Eliza teleports into the pit space, she takes 2 damage.
  3. Ispher


    Good thanks. I actually checked this entry, but I was made unsure because of the entry just above, under Entering and Exiting a space: • When a figure changes its position from one space on the map to another space on the map, it is considered to be exiting its current space [...] I wondered if "exiting" meant "moving out of". Maybe it would be good to add, under "Movement", after A figure being “placed” is not moving into a space: A figure being "removed" is not moving out of a space.
  4. Ispher


    About the Master Cave Spider's Web ability, the CRRG says: Web Card text: “Web: Each hero adjacent to this monster must suffer 1 stamina to move out of his current space; this is in addition to any other stamina suffered to move.” • A hero at full stamina suffers 1 health if he moves (or is moved) out of a space adjacent to a monster with Web. Do heroes suffer 1 stamina if they move out of such a space with an ability that doesn't use the word "move", such as Astarra's hero ability (Spend 1 movement point to remove your figure from the map...) or the skill Shadow Step (Exhaust this card to place your hero figure in a space that contains only a Shadow Soul), or do they not?
  5. Ispher

    Moving off the map

    The rules say on page 9: "To move off the map, the figure must move to one of the edge spaces (marked below in red) on the entrance or exit tile and then spend one movement point." Spending a movement point is something figures must be able to do when on a friendly figure's space, otherwise they would never be able to exit that space (and therefore never be able to enter it). I would be wary of making moving off the map an exception to this rule. However, I do agree that Grease Trap would not make the hero slide off the map, as he has to spend that movement point. Same for "move X spaces", as no movement point is gained.
  6. I smiled. I don't think you should have changed the title though because I think I would have smiled twice (I think I would have fallen for it and then groaned about the new "deception" mechanic).
  7. Thanks. I had forgotten that it is not playing the card that interrupts the movement, but that it is the additional action that cards like Dash and Frenzy give that allows to interrupt/expand.
  8. In the CRRG, I noticed this: “During your turn” and “when activating a monster” effects can trigger before or after an action or during a move action of a monster. Until now, I used this rule to my advantage as a OL by playing cards like Dash and Frenzy during move actions of large monsters to allow them to expand. However, I never thought about other cards played during your turn that don't target a specific monster such as, for example, Dragonbone Pendant, Airborne or Schemes. Is it also possible to play those cards during a large monster's move action to allow them to expand?
  9. Wouldn't an attack that deals less or equal damage than shields rolled be an instance of targeting and not affecting? Or when a hero passes the awareness test on Pit Trap, wasn't he targeted but not affected? In any case, I asked FFG. Thanks for your help!
  10. In our campaign, one of the heroes wears the Cloak of Deception (for which there unfortunately is no entry in the CRRG): "If you roll a blank on any of your defense dice, you may exhaust this card to test awareness. If you pass, you are not affected by the attack." Which, if any, of the following things do have an effect on a hero who has successfully passed the test on Cloak of Deception: 1) Does the hero gain an infect token from Airborne? 2) Can the hero be moved with the Hellhound's use of a surge with Hunt (surge: After this attack resolves, you may remove the target from the map and place it in an empty space adjacent to this monster)? I am sure Knockback doesn't work, but for Hunt I am not sure because it says "after this attack resolves". 3) Can the OL use surge effects that do not affect the hero, like the Flesh Moulders' Mend or the Shadow Rune's surge: draw 1 Overlord card? Thanks for any help.
  11. That would make the OL win on turn one with the heroes having only one minimal chance of preventing it (almost none if the OL fills his deck with web traps, pit trap, no rest for the wicked, dark fortitudes or imploding rifts): kill every plague worm on their first turn. If you play the Lair of the Wyrm mini-campaign with these rules, you should also play with the official rule that all quest information is revealed to the heroes before the start of the campaign and explain them that ending. This way, either they won't waste their time on a campaign they know they'll lose, or take up the challenge and try to build a very specific hero group that would be able to have a chance in this situation. Rather than allowing such a turn 1 win, I would suggest adding to the rules that while under the OL control, Jorem Tolk cannot be moved by any means. Sometimes you just have to ask yourself the basic question: "Is this quest playable with these rules?"
  12. Ispher

    Andira Runehand Hero Ability

    Like you I wasn't sure, so I asked FFG about it. I made the question very specific so as not to leave any possibility of doubt in the answer (and because the lieutenant in question appeared in the next quest we were playing). Q: If Merick uses Ignite affecting 3 heroes with Andira Runehand among them, and they all suffer damage, does he suffer 3 or 1 damage from her hero ability? A: He suffers 3 damage. The answer came from Nathan Hajek, designer (among others) of the Heirs of Blood campaign, so now I am sure.
  13. Ispher

    Question: What is an ability?

    Obsidian Scalemail puts a limit of one per turn to skills and abilities with an arrow. Common actions don't have an arrow in front of them, therefore Obsidian Scalemail doesn't limit common actions. I think it's that simple. The rulebook says there are two possible ways of saying something is an action on page 7: Special: Different cards or quests may provide heroes with unique actions to perform. These actions are either clearly stated "as an action" or noted with a -> . If it is noted with an arrow, Obsidian Scalemail limits it; if it isn't, it doesn't.
  14. Ispher

    Prison of Khinn

    Coincidentally, we are at exactly the same point in our campaign: we have played the first encounter of Prison of Khinn and will play the second in about 3 weeks. My heroes fared maybe a little better than yours in this first encounter, in which I used Barghests: 3 managed to escape and I could stop only one thanks to Pit Trap to use up his last remaining movement point on the space before the exit (he had no fatigue left either). I didn't even stun him. I will start with only 1 token, so I might not be able to summon anything on my first turn. ...But then maybe they fared not that much better because without intending to do so (it was just how the dice rolled), I managed to get 3 heroes down to 1 health left, which means that in the second encounter, even the Zombies will be a threat.
  15. Descent 2nd Edition is exactly that: a single, epic standalone mission where heroes start as weaklings with a single skill and rolling 2 dice and end as superheroes with up to 6 skills and rolling up to 6 dice. Only that now it takes a manly 20 hours to play, not the laughable 4 hours it took before. Don't let the words fool you: a "campaign" is just one mission with lots and lots of loot (you see between 45-50 treasure objects - way more than in any Descent 1 mission) and, when put together, a bigger map than any Descent 1st edition map you played before (except Road to Legend of course). Descent got more epic, not less.