Jump to content

grisix

Members
  • Content Count

    25
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About grisix

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    www.grisix.com
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Seattle, Washington, United States

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. grisix

    Rebel base space question

    It seems your friend has decided to reveal the base, placing his units in the system instead of the rebel base space, as you seem to imply that you knew he had placed his units in the base's system instead of the base's space.. In that case, the number of units on the rebel base system is still counted for Gather Intel. The rules specifically mention that when the base is revealed, all effects associated with rebel base space use the rebel base system instead.
  2. I do not believe there is some typical battles occurring every game, each game is quite different from each others in term of locations of units and battles. I do love the new combat with the RotE units and tactic cards. The U-Wing brings a lot of movement capabilities to the rebel, enhanced by the tactical card that can add an extra triangle ground unit. usually as a rebel, I try to keep my fleet of big ships together to create a real threat and force the Empire to regroup his own units and thus cover less ground, while putting one U-Wing and one rebel trooper in different systems to harass subjugated systems... As for the Empire, your fleet composition at the start really depends on your initial setup (RotE style or regular game style), as the RotE setup spread your units more but with the benefit of an extra planet in your probe deck from the start, but it makes you more vulnerable to a strong rebel attack in the first turns. With RotE setup, my Star Destroyers always start with an Assault carrier, one tie fighter and one tie striker to limit the temptation for the rebel to attack early. So this only three fleets plus the death star in construction with the remaining fighters, and I leave 2 imperial planets (not subjugated) with token ground defenses. I like to deploy my At-AT sin Utapau, Corellia and Mon Calamari to protect these blue square planets once they are secured.
  3. grisix

    Leader Death at End of Combat?

    No, the hero does not die. The only risk for one Imperial leader in the system is during a ground combat, if you play with RotE and the rebel player won the ground battle by eliminating your ground units the round he also played the confrontation tactic card.
  4. I have now been playing this game at least 20 times, half of it with the expansion. With my friend, we have added a few minor house rules. I wanted to post those here, as well as get feedback from anyone else about their own preferred house rules suggestions. Setup (RotE p1) Prepare objective deck House rule "V. Randomly pick three of the unused objective cards , one from each stage, and show them to all players". reasoning: For the Empire, knowing one of the objectives at each tier that will not be a potential risk during this game reduces a little bit the significant impact RotE had over the ability of the imperial player to try to prevent objectives conditions, when the game had no discarded objectives cards pre-RotE. Place starting Units and Loyalty Current rule "players must agree on whether to use the starting unit from the base game or the RotE starting units" House rule "Imperial player decides for both players on whether to use the starting units from the base game or the RotE starting units" reasoning: This decision is significantly more meaningful for the imperial player than for the rebel player. ERRATA Current rule "If the Rebel player wishes to optionally reveal his base, he can do so at the start of one of his turns of the command phase, before using one of his leader" House rule "If the Rebel player wishes to optionally reveal his base, he can do so at the start of one of his turns of the command phase, before using one of his leader, or when the imperial player decides to retreat in his hidden base system, revealing the units there and preventing the retreat in that system." reasoning: being able to move a fleet in two different systems in one turn to reveal the still hidden base and possibly bring ground units there thanks to a "retreat" is too strong of a capability for the Empire. The retreat move would still reveal the hiddeb base, but prevent ground units there this turn if the rebel has any units left in the base.
  5. When sending a leader to command his fleet, it is not his command phase so he does not "activate" the system, and thus can't bring in adjacent units there. Either player can chose to retreat or stay at the end of each combat round, active player deciding first.
  6. grisix

    Tactics Talk: First Two Rounds

    I just had a game where as a rebel I removed two subjugation from the Empire the first turn. Empire had Saleucemi and Mygeeto subjugated, and my main starting fleet started in Ord Mantel and attacked from there, wiping imperial ground units, while I had set up the base in Toydaria and attacked Saleucemi from there after the empire predictably moved from there to Mon Calamari, leaving only one stormtrooper behind, unable to resist the lure of the blue square.... I moved the base on turn three or four, and moved it again in that game, and ended up winning. This was a Death Star in construction set-up and it forces the Empire to over-extend, and I believe that using your base to launch early attacks is a great opening move for rebels, as long as you properly follow-up with a relocation
  7. We had an interesting fight going where one U-Wing and a rebel trooper landed on Ord Mantel under Chirrut Imwe command. The Empire had a tie fighter in space, and a stormtrooper and a shield bunker on the planet. He brought-in Darth Vador for this fight, then I played Chirrut Imwe action card to remove two points of unit in the system, effectively killing the tie fighter and the stormtrooper before the start of the fight, and leaving the shield bunker by himself. During the first tactical card step, I played Confrontation, and he played Armored Position. Shield bunker not being able to do any damage, we assumed it was the same situation as a rebel transport during a space battle, i.e. it would be destroyed at the end of the retreat space. #1 Is it the right assumption, or should we have run multiple combat rounds until all three red damages were done to the bunker? #2 if our assumption of handling shield bunker like a transport was right, is that loss still a win for the Confrontation card, sealing the fate of Darth Vador? We ended deciding on a compromise where #1 was true and #2 false, but we are not sure if we messed up here...
  8. Can I chose to reveal subjugation during my command phase turn as a warning to imperial future missions, and by so doing giving me an extra command this turn, or does playing Subjugation forces me to lose a command action this turn?
  9. grisix

    RotE Combat Questions

    #1 - it is once per combat round that you can reroll according to the relevant leader's tactical value. #2 - yes, whoever rolls first in a fight is going to lose healing results from light sabers unless they took damage from the tactical cards. Hence the card that allows you to roll last for this round and the next for this battle is useful to heal better. In your example you destroyed all his fighters, because his lightsaber results could only remove damages done before you rolled your dice. Well done, says the Emperor.
  10. In my playing group, we have agreed that the Empire will always decides about the initial set-up. If they go with the expansion setup, rebels must do that too. The set up being chosen after we know the five imperial starting systems, and the three rebellion ones, it allows the Empire to plug a "coverage" hole by choosing to over-extend a bit from the start and make the selection of the rebel base more difficult. It is a double-edged sword though...
  11. I am going to list a few things that we found are easy to forget, especially when you switch sides each game. Any other tips of easy to forget things with this game will be welcome... 1. Tie Fighters can not travel in space like X-Wings and Y-wings can't. They need to be transported. 2. When the rebel player peaks at his objectives deck after a successful intel mission, they can't take the objective card of choice in their hand immediately, the best one has to go back on top of the objective to be drawn later this turn.
  12. grisix

    Ground Units being carried

    We had the same question when we started playing, but the nature of the combats where you do not retreat until you have had both a space battle round then a land battle round answered it for us... The only way to blockade incoming land units one system away is to play first and send ships in the system where the incoming ships are, and hope that your opponent is going to bring a leader to the combat, thus locking his ships in place for this turn... Short of this, there is no way to prevent land units to land on a planet even if you have total superiority in space.
  13. grisix

    Unused missions

    I do not think Obi-wan stays for one more turn after Noble Sacrifice, and yes, assigning missions and choosing not to resolve them to keep the mission card for later can be very useful sometimes...
  14. In today's game, my opponent used the Death Star on Coruscant, destroying the planet as he knew froma previous mission that I had the Heart of the Empire objective card. If Coruscant is destroyed, can I still claim the 2 victory points with that objective if there is no imperial units and only rebel units there, even if the planet is gone?
  15. grisix

    Another first-play session report

    Agreed.. Wonder if this card should have been created as a project rather than as a base mission... We had two games where this combined with "Fear will keep them in line" resulted in Empire victory quickly, one on turn 3 and one on turn 4.
×