Jump to content

Joseph_Lavode

Members
  • Content Count

    219
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Joseph_Lavode

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Seattle, Washington, United States
  1. You're reading that correctly, the additional action only comes with the discard.
  2. This isn't an app, but for saving table space I'm using a system I picked up in AH of storing most of my cards in racks of business card holders. It cuts card space waaaay down.
  3. How fortunate I found a sword in that library then. Thanks!
  4. Hello all, I'm playing against Cthulhu and "Queen of the Deep Ones" is the active mystery. This mystery states "When an investigator would gain an Artifact, he may gain the Sword of Y'ha-Talla Artifact instead." One of my investigators passed a test in an encounter allowing them to "gain 1 Tome Artifact." In this case can the investigator gain the Sword, or does the fact that the encounter specifes a Tome override that? Thanks!
  5. Actually that's in the reference guide as well, under Gaining Possessions and Conditions. Whenever you search a deck, which I think is every time for conditions, you shuffle it afterwards.
  6. Hi folks, pretty new to this game and had a situation come up today I couldn't find resolved in the rules. I may have been looking in the wrong spot. I had an investigator defeated, and when I set up their replacement I noticed one of their starting assets was already taken. What do you do in this situation? The decision I made was that they were out of luck and just had to start worse off than normal, is there an official take on this I missed? Or an unofficial but popularly used one?
  7. I always play that the nightgaunt returns to the cup, myself.
  8. It matters for gameplay purposes. Mainly because combat stops movement. Once combat begins, your investigator's movement is over for the turn, meaning you can't finish off a monster or two, then move somewhere and have an encounter/pick up clues/whatever. And thematically, being in the same area as a monster doesn't mean you're in the same room, street sections, etc, so in your movement phase you have a chance to try to evade the beast and leave the area, or sneak around the area, without it finding you. Again, though, this doesn't apply to monsters fought during an encounter. Those are fought or evaded immediately.
  9. Combat doesn't occur until the movement phase. So the nightgaunt swoops down in the Mythos phase, but you don't fight it until movement. ETA: In some cases combat can occur in other phases, due to encounters, for example, but for monsters wandering the table it only occurs in the movement phase.
  10. They are all stable, the dangers on the Kingsport board come from other sources...
  11. The explosion only happens if you fail the initial roll to operate the machine. After that for each gate closing roll the only consequence for failure is that the gate stays open.
  12. I don't like to use more than 2 expansions at once, or now 2 plus Miskatonic. I leave all the expansions shuffled in, because separating them out is too annoying and time consuming for me, but for Mythos and Encounter cards of any sort I keep drawing until I find a card from the expansions I'm using in the game, and discard all those from other expansions. I usually use all the items, etc, regardless of what expansions I'm using, except allies and one or two skills from miskatonic tied to specific expansions.
  13. Yes, yes, and yes. And move the monster, if appropriate. EDIT: unless it's a rumor. Then draw a whole new Mythos card.
  14. Nope. That card wouldn't be much of a threat otherwise!
×
×
  • Create New...