Jump to content


  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited


Everything posted by player338225

  1. Answers from Adam Sadler, received the 17th of september: His words are bold. Q: Hand-to-hand weapons are useless if you are also equipped with a ranged weapon. However, Wolf and Brown for example have such redundant equipment. Isn't there a design issue here? A : Hand-to-hand weapons are still useful when performing a free melee attack, such as after a failed bull rush. In addition, Barry Daniel Brown cannot launch an overwatch attack with his Flash Machine Gun A6A because of the Heavy trait, but he can use his knife for an overwatch attack. Q : Smoke Grenade rules: "Any character standing on a circle filled with smoke can only attack targets in adjacent circles" From the FAQ: "Q: How do Grenades interact with Smoke Grenades? A: If a character is on a path under the effects of smoke, he may only target adjacent circles for his grenade." But when you throw a grenade you are not making an attack. A : This is correct. Throwing a grenade does not constitute making an attack so it would not be affected by the smoke grenade. The FAQ will be update to reflect this. Q : Additionally it seems it was ruled that Doom ignores smoke for the reason that it "does not require LOS". Doom is an attack, and it requires a target. According to smoke rules, it should not ignore smoke. Smoke rules do not talk about LOS. A : Doom does not ignore smoke. Q : Can you field 4 voïvodes with Oksana. We don't find that the rules are clear enough and both interpretations (2 or 4) seem possible. Yes, you can field 4 Voivodes with Oksana. However, this would replace both Troopers on that team. Q : Ramirez' Weapon (Mark 19 Mod A1). When it attacks, does it count as "targeting" models he rolls against (for the purpose of effects requiring a Mental Duel before targeting, such as the Masque of Samhain)? On the same token, can you make a Counter attack with this weapon? Can it be used while affected by Patmos Amulet? If the chosen circle contains a character, then it counts as targeting that character. You can launch a counterattack with the Mark 19 Mod A1 and it can be used while affected by the Patmos Amulet. Q : Heïzinger's Hermetica Occulta. "A given character may only initiate this mental duel once per activation. This duel must be fought each time a character wishes to enter into a circle on your path". Suppose a model starts its activation in the middle of Heïzinger's path. In order to move, do you need to win a duel (you are already in Hermann's path? If the answer is that you have to win the duel, and you if you lose it, then you cannot move, right? If you win the duel, you may go wherever you want, right? A character may move to a circle on a different path if able because he only needs to test if he enters a circle on Von Heizinger’s path. Q : The fire grenade from Commando Delta's Command pack. "Each time a character enters a circle on the same path as a Fire token, he sufffers three Automatic Successes." Is that for each circle or only once where you enters an on fire path ? It looks like it's on each circle but, for example, if I am not wrong, you only make one mental duel against Hermann's Hermetica Occulta for the whole path, and it has the same "once per circle" wording (seen question 5). A character suffers three automatic successes for each circle he moves into. Q : Oksana's voïvode make take the F.A.S. equipment, which reads: "This Voïvode may repair any adjacent character that can be repaired." It does not say it requires the voïvode's action. So it is free? Is it a once per activation thing? The F.A.S requires an action to perform. This will be added to the FAQ.
  2. Additional question on F.A.S.: It reads "The repaired character may activate later in the turn, as long as it has not yet been activated this turn." If voïvode F repairs voïvode E, can you activate it immediately (as they usually activate in pair)?
  3. "Any character lacking the Obscura Korps unit affiliation symbol who wishes to move into a circle on your path must win a Mental duel (which does not require an action) against you first." I suppose this is not in effect when you are moved with the Amulet, but I wanted to check with the community.
  4. Hand to Hand weapon "This device can be used as a normal melee weapon or to make a special attack. To make a special attack with this weapon, target a circle adjacent to you. Then, select a character sharing a path with the targeted circle ; that character suffers three automatic attack successes." 1/ Can you use the special attack on a Counterattack? 2/ On an Overwatch attack? 3/ Against the Patmos Amulet, which reads: "the target immediately attacks the closest character to him, friend or foe, with your choice of his Weapons." Can you use the special attack?
  5. 1/ Crown of Cernunnos and smoke Give the smoke versus grenade and smoke versus Doom official rulings, I think that: * smoke's effect is not only limited to attacks (it works againts smoke) * Smoke is not limited to things that require a target model (it works against smoke) * Smoke applies to "stuff requiring a LOS", which means "stuff affecting a model in your path" (smoke does not protect from Doom or several out of path Mental attacks). My question is: Can you use Crown of Cernunnos against a model not adjacent to you while you are in smoke? My understanding of both precedences is that Crown of Cernunnos should be affected. 2/ Prescience against Counterattack or Overwatch. Can you use Prescience when being targeted by a Counter attack or an Overwatch attack? This might be related to the following official ruling: The Masque of Samhain does not work against a counterattack. 3/ By the way, does the Masque works against an Overwatch attack?
  6. Many thanks. This answers that question.
  7. That was my analysis as well. As for asking FFG directly, I already have quite a few questions awating answers on another game!
  8. There is an option: Asteros, as mentioned several times, I think.
  9. One way or the other, it is not clear. And it is possible to field Oksana + 2 voïvodes, with Asteros.
  10. Miah999 said: F.A.S. only allows the Voivode to repair one other Voivode per action, because it says "Character" not "characters". While I agree with the "per action" comment, was this ever clarified?
  11. I meant "action" instead of "activation". Also which models may be "repaired"? I assumed voïvodes could but it is not that clear. Zor'ka can but, well, not while Oksana is here.
  12. LETE said: (AFTBR): There's a statement in the main rulebook about only Zor'ka having 4 voivodes. I don't think that there is such statement in the rulebook. Is in in Oksana's booklet?
  13. player338225


    This Oksana's Voïvode ability reads: This voïvode may repair any adjacent character that can be repaired. As written, it does not eat the repairing voïvode's activation and it looks like it may repair several models (voïvodes). Doesn't it look very wrong?
  14. They could have used a d6 and gotten the same results. This would make things die a bit quicker. So it would not be the same result. The intent is that we use a d8, and it comes within the box, so why trying something else? I suppose thats why you got no reply. I find it very frustrating when heavy armor units take more hits because they are wearing heavy armor. Could you clarify this? Heavy armors take less hits. Also it's very difficult for a foot unit to do any damage to a cavalry units. This brings the chance of a foot unit hitting a cavalry unit with one dice from 12.5% to 16.7% You are talking about red cavalry, not "a cavalry". Green cavalry dies a lot. The only problem is that it makes green units even more fragile. It makes everybody more fragile.
  15. Neovortice said: so, zorka hurts himself?, So no. Miah said no and the old FAQ agrees.
  16. "Supporting units give up their normal attack to add their attack dice minus one to the lead unit’s attack. All attack dice are rolled together." Forests: "Maximum of two combat dice rolled against a unit in a forest hex (before modifiers) Unit in a forest hex rolls a maximum of two combat dice (before modifiers)" First case: A and B are in a forest and want to make a coordinated attack against C, not in a forest. 1/ Can A roll more than 2 dice thanks to B (B is in forest)? 2/ If yes, can B add more than 2 dice? 3/ If yes to 1/ and no to 2/, does B add 2 for forest minus 1, or : color minus 1, max being 2? A and B are red. How many dice are rolled? A and B are not in a forest and attack C, which is in a forest. 4/ With a combined attack, can A roll more than 2 dice? 5/ If yes, can B add more than 2 dice (target in forest)? 6/ If yes to 4/ and no to 5/, does B add 2 for target being in forest minus 1, or : color minus 1, max being 2? A and B are red. How many dice are rolled? Hope this is all clear!
  17. "At the beginning of each scenario in the campaign each character is brought back to full health." "Any equipment expended is not refreshed at the start of the next scenario. Characters may not choose a new pack at the start of a new scenario." What about equipment not expended but lost when the model is destroyed? I think that these equipments should be available again if only for balance sake... If so, what about a grenade that is lost when a model is destroyed and then later used by another model?
  18. Bomb tokens are placed on the map faceup. The number revealed indicates how many full game turns elapse before the bomb explodes. At the beginning of each turn, replace the token with the next token. For example, a bomb token with the number “2” on it would be replaced with a bomb token with the number “1” on it. If the number “1” is on the board, it would explode at the beginning of the turn, rather than being replaced. And then later: A bomb that is disarmed is turned facedown and remains in place on the map, but will not explode. A bomb that is rearmed is turned faceup and begins its countdown again from where it left off. And again: When a bomb explodes, discard the bomb token from play... A "1" token is supposed to mean 1 full game turn. If it explodes at the beginning of the following turn, then it is not 1 full turn. A "2" token is supposed to mean 2 full game turns. How do I do what the scenario says if the "1" token was either disarmed or removed from play? It does not work at all as it worked in V1. In V1 it was "really" full game turns and you did not replace tokens with other tokens. The Matriarchy player wins by detonating three bombs. The other player wins if there are ever two disarmed bombs on the map simultaneously. What about killing everybody? Killing the Matriarchy army was a victory condition in V1...
  19. Has this question been submitted to FFG? The rules are all but clear on this. Oksana's rule say : "her two voïvodes must replace one of your troopers". This led me to think that she couldn't take more. But I can see it going the other way.
  20. It's a question that was already directly asked to FFG since the FAQ cas released?
  21. Smoke Grenade rules: "Any character standing on a circle filled with smoke can only attack targets in adjacent circles" From the FAQ: Q: How do Grenades interact with Smoke Grenades? A: If a character is on a path under the effects of smoke, he may only target adjacent circles for his grenade. But when you throw a grenade you are not making an attack... So how can the FAQ be correct, unless it is a "we say so" case?
  22. hebus said: 1) no attacks from off board! 2) you can't reach in one turn the circle! 3) No entry point, no reinforcement. Only troopers can be used as reinforcement. Martriarchy does not have troopers anyway. 1) If the only way to free the entry point is Bullrush, it largely affects the scenario. 2) Yes you can. Thunderstruck has very specific starting points for Matriarchy and the 3 starting points at the left of the board are very easy to reach. You may take the 3 with a grenade during the first Union model's activation. 3)First no, Reinforcement is not limited to Troopers. For example, Irina may come as Reinforcement thanks to he special object. So since it is a Matriarchy scenario, it stands to reason that the special object of a Matriarchy model should work somehow. Second, and that's not the question in this scenario since there is only 2 Command Points, but Troopers or not, Voïvodes may generally come as reinforcements. I can buy the idea that the Russian starting points are not entry points, but I am not sure. And it is not clear...
  23. 1) Couldn't they attack from off board? 2) The starting points are not exactly the same in v1 and v2. In v2 the russians start on path circles so why woul't they be reachable by grenades at game start? 3) How do we know that there are no possibilities for Reinforcements? Nothing says so in the scenario special rules.
  24. It's a bit problematic... They are available tokens as all other are. The rule do not suggest that their use is limited by the agreement of your opponent.
  25. May be I was not clear enough. He may reroll dice thanks to Combat Infantry Badge. Assuming he did not roll natural 10's first, then he rerolls two dice and gets a 10. Is it a natural 10 ? I think it counts but we had a debate during game...
  • Create New...