Jump to content

JgzMan

Members
  • Content Count

    588
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About JgzMan

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    , Tennessee, United States

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Thanks for the answer. Like I said, I'm not at all sure why I would do this. I'm working on an Imperial fleet that starts with fighters/interceptors, then deploys bombers when the sky is clear. Tried making a rebel version, and hit upon this combo.
  2. I'm putting together a really odd build, and I happened across a timing conflict. It SEEMS like I can do this, but if I'm wrong, I'd like to know about it now. Given: Pelta-class Command Ship --Flight Commander --Rapid Launch Bays --Fighter Coordination Team Since FC and FCT both trigger on "after you execute a manuver," it seems like I can carry out my entire Squadron Activation command, and then move the squadrons up to distance 1. In turn, it seems I should be allowed to move my ship, use FC to resolve my Squadron Command, use the squadron command to place three squadrons, activate them with the squadron command to perform an attack, then use FCT to move them up to distance 1. (assuming not engaged) Leaving aside the question of "under what circumstances would this be a good idea," is any part of this illegal? Thanks!
  3. I would disagree with that. Each squadron attacks during it's own activation, and Screed can be used once against each squadron.
  4. Ah, fair enough. Thanks.
  5. I don't think she appears anywhere in the FAQ. Also, everyone keeps talking about the Flotillas having a hard cap, and I don't see any mention of that at all. Am I taking crazy pills?
  6. Importantly, this also applies only to ships and BOMBERs. Starfighters do no damage on a CRIT icon.
  7. Ideally, I think player skill should win out. Build a fleet that you understand and can fly well, and it should win. I agree, though, that 3 archetypes isn't too bad, as long as it's not a paper-rock-scissors sort of thing.
  8. Yes, it does. For a start, each Raider or Hammerhead takes up roughly twice as many points as the same-faction Flotilla. That's a major reduction, for starters. Secondly, while a flotilla is of limited combat utility, keeping a Raider or Hammerhead away from combat the entire game is a very questionably use of 30-40 points. They may want to hover around the edges, waiting for their moment, but if they do that, they risk getting attacked before they are ready. You know, tactical decisions and whatnot.
  9. What is this? Did they change the flotillas while I wasn't looking? I'm not aware of any flotilla with battery dice on all four sides.
  10. I guess sometimes thread necromancy is a good thing. My group is not Armada-only, but we have regular Armada nights, and irregular Armada nights are fairly common. https://www.meetup.com/Goose-Creek-Board-Game-Meetup/
  11. I think you're misunderstanding the way it's supposed to work. The first player is required to split his fleet which, in theory, allows me to fight half his fleet with all of my fleet. In practice, it doesn't work very well. If I were to change it, I would do two things. First, move the ambush zone closer to the second player. A ship deployed all the back to the first player, moving slowly, functionally negates the entire point of the objective. I would set it at 5 away from the second player edge, and 7 away from the first player edge. (I am aware, of course, that there is no "7' on the ruler) Second, I would let the second player place all obstacles. I'm doing the ambushing, so I get to pick the location. With these changes, I could more easily force the opportunity to separate one or two of the enemy's ships from the rest of his fleet, and then defeat those ships in detail. I'm not too upset about the fighters, or the possibility of Demolisher. That just separates them from their fleet even further. I'm similarly not worried about them fielding their flotillas, or their ISD up front. If they give me the ability to strip out their extra activations, I'll take it, and if they give me the chance to overwhelm their ISD without distraction, I'll take that too.
  12. I love this so much. Not a lot of extra points for Squads, though.
  13. I'm gonna go with the ruling that yes, you can deploy these ships on top of squadrons, with the same results as moving on top of them. As above, I see no rule saying not to, and one rule saying what to do when you do it.
  14. That's what I want to see anyway. Heavy ships slugging it out, and light ships harassing around the edges. To be fair, activation advantage would still be a thing, but not in the extreme way it is now. You'd still want to wait out the enemy.
×
×
  • Create New...