Jump to content

Muzar

Members
  • Content Count

    89
  • Joined

  • Last visited

    Never

About Muzar

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Melbourne, VIC, Australia
  1. EchPiEl is spot-on. The rules state on Page 9: "... each story card (that contains committed characters) must be resolved." The corollary is that story cards without committed characters don't get resolved. So if the Captain uses his Action on a story but nobody on the attacking side commits to it, then that's a complete waste of his Action.
  2. Nate and Eric are not beings of omnipotent power - they could say that there's a rule that FFG employees always win, yet this would not make it so unless it got published in an official FAQ or other documented material. (Babylon 5 CCG had an equivalent promo card, "Surprise!" which was quite cool) Regardless of what they may or may not have said, verbal 'rulings' are not available to players internationally (or even nationally) who weren't in the room with them at the time and any repetition of their purported words is hearsay and probably unverifiable. I'm not suggesting that they didn't talk about a mulligan rule - perhaps that's an unwritten thing they've always assumed - but I reject the notion that it's part of the Call of Cthulhu CCG (or LCG) rules unless it's actually written down and made officially available to players everywhere. Or, at the very least, until I get a signed letter from Nate or Eric informing me of this new rule.
  3. Just to confirm, you're all aware that each turn you get to ready all of your exhausted characters but only can restore ONE insane character. Some of the posts have talked about "restoring characters" and you only get to do more than one if you have a card effect in play to accomplish that. The 'Detailed Turn Sequence' on page 13 of the LCG rules is quite a handy reference. On that topic - I just noticed a mistake in the Turn Sequence. It should say to ready all exhausted character and support cards (as per page 8 which gives details of what to do in the Refresh phase)...
  4. KallistiBRC took the words right out of my mouth - for the most part if an attachment logically enhances the character it's attached to then the benefit will not go away even if control of the character changes. Text such as "Attached character gains..." is not control-sensitive and is quite common. On the other hand, interesting attachments which are curses (or cursed) or otherwise have effects which can be negative are excellent options for subtle play when either played on an opponents' character or on your own prior to it being controlled. The rules are quite clear and logical - and with the exception of the mulligan rule nothing in this post is new or unusual. I have no idea where the mulligan rule can be found in the rules or FAQ, though.
  5. Personally, I very much prefer the previous art for Triggerman and would rather play the black-bordered version for that reason (despite having three of the white-bordered versions in my possession).
  6. And it's definitely in the LCG rules - top left corner of page 12. Helps if you know what to look for, though, as it lacks an illustration.
  7. In the good ole' CCG days Cthulhu were the faction for that, with Forgotten Isle, Primal Fear, Unmasking Cruelty and so on. In the LCG the joy of blanking text boxes is spread out a little more. At the high end both Antarctic Yeti and Richard Upton Pickman can blank text boxes. Called By Azathoth will also do the trick (at a much lower cost) but is a one-shot per character. Finally, The Night could be useful against non-unique characters (and is either the most expensive option or a mid-level option depending on how many Night cards you want to field). I'd do a Hastur-Cthulhu deck with both Called By Azathoth and The Night, backed up with some decent Night cards. Or maybe that's old-game CCG thinking and you should go with a Hastur-Syndicate deck using Richard Upton Pickman and The Night plus some Low Blows. The choices are yours...
  8. Technically, it is possible (with CCG cards only) to make a not-too-bad 'Rainbow' deck with all or most factions (up to 7 factions plus neutrals). When the relevant cards first came out the 'Rainbow' deck was actually the one to beat, but since it was so powerful the mechanics were nerfed by errata. Definitely go with two factions for a well-balanced deck. Three if you really know what you're doing and absolutely need all those factions' mechanics, and mono-faction likewise (e.g. you want to play lots of Behind the Pallid Mask or similar). I think it's also quite possible to put together a halfway-decent Neutral-only LCG deck - this was posted quite a while ago so I haven't updated it with options from the last few Asylum Packs. 8x AMM F16 Alaskan Sledge Dog 3x ATT F76 Clever Zoog 3x CS F152 Dabbler in the Unknown 3x ATT F75 Descendant of Eibon, Master of the Black Arts 3x ASL F17 •Julia Brown, Insomniac 3x ATS F97 Obsessive Inmate 3x CS F145 Overzealous Initiate 3x ATT F77 Struggling Artist 3x AAD F57 The Cornered Man, "Like an Animal" 3x CS F144 Political Demonstration 2x ATT F79 Stealing the Glory 2x ATS F99 The Spawn of Madness 2x ATT F78 Total Eclipse 2x CS F146 Arkham Asylum 2x CS F153 Gentleman's Club 3x ATS F98 Parallel Universe 2x AAD F58 Secret Stiletto Total 50
  9. You are inserting words into the card text which do not exist. It does not say 'this card', it does not imply 'this card', and nothing in the rules or errata suggest (to me) that card text can only refer to the card it's printed on. Why add words which don't exist? The card says, "After Ravager from the Deep is..." so the trigger for the Forced Response is a card named Ravager from the Deep committing to a story. That's all there is to it. Unless a rule or FAQ says otherwise, a player can't go around inserting words into card text which aren't there.
  10. I think that's very well picked up and that your Situation B is quite correct (so is Situation A, of course). I don't have time now to pore over the rules and FAQ, but it's quite clear that Pickman doesn't affect a card's name, and that his newly-acquired Forced Response ability must trigger as a result of a card named Ravager from the Deep committing to a story (regardless of where Pickman is or what he's doing). It strikes me that the person who noticed this has a very good head for CCGs, and I don't know that I'd want to play against them in a tournament! It also means that Pickman is ineffective at stopping Ravager, unless one or the other of them receives a future erratum amendment.
  11. Here's something that I posted a while ago to answer another question. It goes into more detail than you probably need, but might help to clarify matters. Just note that an Event card is (usually) nothing more than a vehicle for a triggered effect which may be an Action, Response, Forced Response or Disrupt and you can play those effects (via an Event card, an in-play Character or Support card, or an out-of-play Character or Support card whose effect specifically occurs from out-of-play) whenever the rules allow you to. When is that? See below (with reference to the Detailed Turn Sequence chart from page 13 of the LCG Rules book): Timing in a Action Sequence An Action may be played whenever an opportunity arises during an "Actions may be taken" white box. Opportunities to play Actions (and Responses, Disrupts, etc) alternate between players in every "Actions may be taken" box, with the active player going first. Even if the active player doesn't play an Action when an opportunity arises (e.g. after drawing 2 cards), that's considered a 'pass' and their opponent may still play an Action (e.g. Panic) before play continues to the next green box (e.g. attaching a resource). An Action must resolve completely before anything else can happen, except for Disrupts. A Disrupt must be resolved completely before the Action finishes resolving, unless Disrupted itself. Then, any Forced Responses which were triggered by the prior Action must occur. Some Disrupts can interrupt these, too. Some Forced Response effects are not triggered by player-initiated Actions, but they too must occur immediately after their trigger resolves (e.g. after Ravager from the Deep is committed to a story, which, by extension, means after all of that player's characters are committed to stories). Then, one or more Responses may be played if their trigger conditions were met by the immediately preceding Action or Forced Response. Again, these can be Disrupted by certain cards, and may be triggered by other effects (e.g. the act of drawing a card). A Disrupt can only occur during another effect (e.g. Action, Response, Forced Response, Combat Struggle, etc.) and cannot be triggered on their own. Below the '6. End of Turn' phase on the turn sequence page, there are some useful notes. As I read it, only Disrupt effects occur inside a 'green box' and Forced Response effects must occur immediately as soon as the box is finished (i.e. before Actions or Responses may be played). The definitions of triggered effects and triggered ability on page 13 are also quite handy and worth remembering.
  12. Don't forget that Mountains of Madness has the rather good card Alaskan Sledge Dog of which many decks want 8 copies...
  13. I can understand humans passing around a bottle (i.e. Item) to help them work up the gumption to take on eldritch horrors (maybe it should have provided Willpower instead of Toughness), but I, for one, wouldn't want to take a sip of anything that had previously touched the lips of a Shoggoth or Ghoul! My condolences to any human characters in a mixed Syndicate-Mythos deck...
  14. I understand that the current official ruling is that CCG cards which have been reprinted without change in the LCG may be legally played (with card sleeves), but be aware that some of the 'reprints' in the LCG Core Set have changed the text, icons or faction of their CCG predecessors. If you don't want those changed cards (and the cute little statues), then perhaps don't bother with the box. Having too much money and too little sense, I got three of the box so that I can build competitive LCG-only decks rather than re-use my CCG cards (which are busy in their own decks, anyway).
  15. Heh, just play Brain Transplant during the Refresh Phase!
×
×
  • Create New...