Jump to content

Amante

Members
  • Content Count

    144
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Amante

  1. I'd like to see a NBN identity that makes it more expensive to trash tags. I imagine such a thing will probably be coming in the near future, though…
  2. I haven't played CoC for a good long while, so I'm going over all the cards I've missed. One that caught my attention was Lookout, a Syndicate character with a triggered ability that reads, "Response: After a character enters play, exhaust Lookout to exhaust that character. Until the end of the phase, treat that character as if its text box was blank." I started wondering if Lookout could be used to shut down characters with disruptive 'entering play' Responses (Hard Case, Hungry Dark Young, Victoria Glasser, et cetera). Obviously, Lookout's Response would have to take place first for the text blanking to "stop" the Response on a the character that just entered play. It was at this point that I realized I wasn't entirely sure who got first priority on Response opportunities, so I opened up the FAQ to check. Inside, I found two seemingly contradicting answers. Hopefully you guys can tell me which of the two to go by: 'Action, Disrupt, and Response Effects', Page 17: "Any number of responses can be played in response to any occurrence that allows them to trigger, with response opportunities passing back and forth between players, starting with the active player." '6) Responses', Page 18: "After all disrupts, passive abilities, and/or forced responses to an action are resolved, players may now play normal responses in clockwise order (starting with the player to the left of the player who initiated the action)."
  3. This post involves a rules question that arises as a result of two specific event cards: Vengeful Hit and Vengeful Mob. Vengeful Hit - Disrupt: After you lose an Investigation struggle, choose a character with an Investigation icon, remove that character from the story it is committed to, then exhaust it if it is not already exhausted. Vengeful Mob - Response: After you lose a Combat struggle, choose an opponent's character. If that character has fewer Combat icons than all of your characters that are not committed to a story, wound the target character. While the timing on the two cards is different, both highlight the same question. We know that a player who has 1+ icon(s) in a specific type can "win" a struggle even if unopposed -- but does the other player "lose" it (allowing him to play Vengeful Hit / Mob as a result), or no? I've heard somewhat convincing arguments for either side, but there just isn't enough information in the rules and errata to come up with a proper answer as players. Thus, a ruling would be very helpful. Any thoughts?
  4. I was playing a friendly game a few days ago that caused an unexpected rules debate to arise over Professor Nathaniel Peaslee. His triggered ability reads: "Response: After Professor Nathaniel Peaslee enters your discard pile from play, pay 2 to put into play all characters that entered a discard pile this phase." We were resolving a story where my friend had committed Peaslee alone, under the assumption that Peaslee's response could be used to revive him after he lost the Combat struggle. After Peaslee was wounded, my friend attempted to use the response to bring Peaslee back. I reminded my friend that doing so would be an illegal move, due to the restriction against playing actions and/or responses during story resolution. My friend acquiesced on this, but then insisted that he should be able to play the response during the "responses to struggle and success results may be played" step that occurs directly after story resolution. I argued against this, based on two rationale. The first was the following excerpt from 'Actions, Disrupts, and Responses' in the official FAQ: "Responses are played after the resolution of the action or framework game event that meets their play requirement, but before the next player action is taken, or before the next game event resolves. Any number of responses can be played in response to any occurrence that allows them to trigger, with response opportunities passing back and forth between players, starting with the active player. Once both players pass a response opportunity, play proceeds to the next action or game effect." I backed this up with an unrelated but seemingly supporting fragment of evidence from the example involving Living Mummy in 'Card States', which reads: "Once both players pass, play proceeds and the window to respond to the card being placed in the discard pile is now closed." For what it's worth, Living Mummy's forced response also happens to use the exact same template as Peaslee's response: "After Living Mummy enters your discard pile from play..." With those official sources in hand, I made the argument that he could not use Peaslee's response, as it was too late to respond to him leaving play during story resolution by the time it was finally legal to play a response. Was I right in this situation? Given that this could significantly change my interpretation of how a number of cards work if I'm not, it'd be nice to know! Thanks in advance for any help you guys can provide.
  5. Apparently, some people already have it. Could someone who does please post some spoilers?
  6. To those lucky few with packs already, could you post spoilers please?
  7. The default Core Set stories are also a bit boring in their effects; the Secrets of Arkham ones are much more interesting.
  8. Out of curiosity: is a deck builder update coming for Secrets of Arkham? Thanks again for the program btw, it's a real life saver for building decks.
  9. I think Deep One Rising received that change to make it combo smoother with Hydra. Edit: actually maybe not, could just be a wording change. Wouldn't it just say, "enters play" if it wasn't discriminating, based on more recent wording?
  10. I forgot all about that mode! Thank you for the heads up.
  11. The deckbuilder has the stories? Are you sure? Last I checked, it has every type of card EXCEPT stories, and any attempt to search for a story in it (old or new) was met with failure.
  12. If those stars are supposed to denote new cards, "The Greatest Fear" and "Terrors In The Dark" are reprints and yet still have stars. Again, can someone post the text of the reprinted stories please?
  13. Some very awesome reprints there. That combined with the fact that there's two of each card per box (are you listening, Warhammer Invasion team?) means I'll definitely be splitting the cost of three of these with a friend on the 1st. Could someone in the know post the text of the reprinted stories? The deck builder has everything but stories, so I can't look them up there, and I didn't have much luck finding them through a quick google.
  14. Unfortunately, your opponent gets a chance to play something first, so cards like Dampen Light and Dreamlore Documents are really lessened in effectiveness.
  15. How many do you need to buy to get a full playset of each card? Please don't say three.
  16. Late to the party, but I'm thinking of buying the Core Set and trying to get a couple friends into the game alongside me. My main question is: how many Core Sets does it take to make a full 3x play set?
  17. What a shame -- Trent was one of my favorite cards. He wasn't even all that strong; I found that it generally took something like playing Trent (cost 4) and a Lamp (cost 2) to have much success. Even given that, they decided to errata him into uselessness. I'm not sure why -- was anyone really heartbroken over how devastatingly powerful Trent was?
  18. I see no reason to believe that one of them can't be exhausted already, due to the wording. For one, you CAN exhaust something that has already been exhausted (or ready something that isn't exhausted, for that matter). Cards generally don't specify that something has to be in a specific state to be exhausted / readied, but a few do. Bringer of Fire, however, does not. It merely says "exhaust all copies of Bringer of Fire". If one of them is already exhausted, that's not my problem. I'm still properly following the instructions as printed on the card. If it was the design intent that all copies had to be unexhausted to properly exhaust for the effect, errata would be necessary, because the current wording doesn't support that.
  19. Hmm, I was not aware of this. I thought a character being insane removed their title as well. ****, I'm gonna have trouble with my friend's Sledge Dog deck.
  20. To the original poster: Yes, you can use the ability with "only" two copies of Bringer of Fire on your side of the field. The point of the text is that you need multiple Bringers to unlock its ability; just one won't do. And it is a rather powerful card, assuming you can get a second copy out -- but that's the challenge, isn't it? I probably wouldn't use the card in Mono Hastur (which is hard to play in LCG anyway), but it can be absolutely devastating in Shub-Hastur. Draw and play one Bringer normally, and then use Shocking Transformation (my favorite Shub card so far) to replace something expendable with a second Bringer. Fireworks ensue Also keep in mind you can do tricky stuff like leaving one Bringer at home and committing another to a story, exhausting the one at home to destroy one of the opponent's characters, and then untapping the committed Bringer with Arcane so you can use it to destroy another of the opponent's characters after story resolution is finished. Granted, you have to win Arcane with the committed Bringer for that to work, but as you can destroy almost any of the opponent's characters, you can use the one that stays at home to make sure you win Arcane at the story the other is committed to.
  21. My interpretation would be that his ability creates a "ghost" at the story (much like Trent's). Your opponent can defend against the ghost, but icon struggle resolution at the ghost's story can't make your character take a wound, go insane, etc. Assuming that you use it before the opponent has had a chance to declare defenders, that is. The obvious advantage with the Captain is that you can wait until defenders have been declared and then use his ability, and there's not really much the opponent can do. Hmm, that's powerful.
  22. It's obviously going to be errataed, so don't be a ****** and play it as letting you summon Ancient Ones.
  23. Yu-Gi-Oh's forbidden list isn't as much a form of rotation as much as the designers haven't always thought the deepest about how a given card might impact the game - and rather than errata cards (like many games do), they just tend to ban or restrict them instead. Any game will eventually have problems with card pool and power creep, though, and rotation is one possible way to deal with it. There's no guaranteed method to avoid problems.
×
×
  • Create New...