Jump to content

Amante

Members
  • Content Count

    144
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Amante

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    http://-
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Santa Cruz, California, United States
  1. I'd like to see a NBN identity that makes it more expensive to trash tags. I imagine such a thing will probably be coming in the near future, though…
  2. I haven't played CoC for a good long while, so I'm going over all the cards I've missed. One that caught my attention was Lookout, a Syndicate character with a triggered ability that reads, "Response: After a character enters play, exhaust Lookout to exhaust that character. Until the end of the phase, treat that character as if its text box was blank." I started wondering if Lookout could be used to shut down characters with disruptive 'entering play' Responses (Hard Case, Hungry Dark Young, Victoria Glasser, et cetera). Obviously, Lookout's Response would have to take place first for the text blanking to "stop" the Response on a the character that just entered play. It was at this point that I realized I wasn't entirely sure who got first priority on Response opportunities, so I opened up the FAQ to check. Inside, I found two seemingly contradicting answers. Hopefully you guys can tell me which of the two to go by: 'Action, Disrupt, and Response Effects', Page 17: "Any number of responses can be played in response to any occurrence that allows them to trigger, with response opportunities passing back and forth between players, starting with the active player." '6) Responses', Page 18: "After all disrupts, passive abilities, and/or forced responses to an action are resolved, players may now play normal responses in clockwise order (starting with the player to the left of the player who initiated the action)."
  3. This post involves a rules question that arises as a result of two specific event cards: Vengeful Hit and Vengeful Mob. Vengeful Hit - Disrupt: After you lose an Investigation struggle, choose a character with an Investigation icon, remove that character from the story it is committed to, then exhaust it if it is not already exhausted. Vengeful Mob - Response: After you lose a Combat struggle, choose an opponent's character. If that character has fewer Combat icons than all of your characters that are not committed to a story, wound the target character. While the timing on the two cards is different, both highlight the same question. We know that a player who has 1+ icon(s) in a specific type can "win" a struggle even if unopposed -- but does the other player "lose" it (allowing him to play Vengeful Hit / Mob as a result), or no? I've heard somewhat convincing arguments for either side, but there just isn't enough information in the rules and errata to come up with a proper answer as players. Thus, a ruling would be very helpful. Any thoughts?
  4. I was playing a friendly game a few days ago that caused an unexpected rules debate to arise over Professor Nathaniel Peaslee. His triggered ability reads: "Response: After Professor Nathaniel Peaslee enters your discard pile from play, pay 2 to put into play all characters that entered a discard pile this phase." We were resolving a story where my friend had committed Peaslee alone, under the assumption that Peaslee's response could be used to revive him after he lost the Combat struggle. After Peaslee was wounded, my friend attempted to use the response to bring Peaslee back. I reminded my friend that doing so would be an illegal move, due to the restriction against playing actions and/or responses during story resolution. My friend acquiesced on this, but then insisted that he should be able to play the response during the "responses to struggle and success results may be played" step that occurs directly after story resolution. I argued against this, based on two rationale. The first was the following excerpt from 'Actions, Disrupts, and Responses' in the official FAQ: "Responses are played after the resolution of the action or framework game event that meets their play requirement, but before the next player action is taken, or before the next game event resolves. Any number of responses can be played in response to any occurrence that allows them to trigger, with response opportunities passing back and forth between players, starting with the active player. Once both players pass a response opportunity, play proceeds to the next action or game effect." I backed this up with an unrelated but seemingly supporting fragment of evidence from the example involving Living Mummy in 'Card States', which reads: "Once both players pass, play proceeds and the window to respond to the card being placed in the discard pile is now closed." For what it's worth, Living Mummy's forced response also happens to use the exact same template as Peaslee's response: "After Living Mummy enters your discard pile from play..." With those official sources in hand, I made the argument that he could not use Peaslee's response, as it was too late to respond to him leaving play during story resolution by the time it was finally legal to play a response. Was I right in this situation? Given that this could significantly change my interpretation of how a number of cards work if I'm not, it'd be nice to know! Thanks in advance for any help you guys can provide.
  5. Apparently, some people already have it. Could someone who does please post some spoilers?
  6. To those lucky few with packs already, could you post spoilers please?
  7. The default Core Set stories are also a bit boring in their effects; the Secrets of Arkham ones are much more interesting.
  8. Out of curiosity: is a deck builder update coming for Secrets of Arkham? Thanks again for the program btw, it's a real life saver for building decks.
  9. I think Deep One Rising received that change to make it combo smoother with Hydra. Edit: actually maybe not, could just be a wording change. Wouldn't it just say, "enters play" if it wasn't discriminating, based on more recent wording?
  10. I forgot all about that mode! Thank you for the heads up.
  11. The deckbuilder has the stories? Are you sure? Last I checked, it has every type of card EXCEPT stories, and any attempt to search for a story in it (old or new) was met with failure.
  12. If those stars are supposed to denote new cards, "The Greatest Fear" and "Terrors In The Dark" are reprints and yet still have stars. Again, can someone post the text of the reprinted stories please?
  13. Some very awesome reprints there. That combined with the fact that there's two of each card per box (are you listening, Warhammer Invasion team?) means I'll definitely be splitting the cost of three of these with a friend on the 1st. Could someone in the know post the text of the reprinted stories? The deck builder has everything but stories, so I can't look them up there, and I didn't have much luck finding them through a quick google.
  14. Unfortunately, your opponent gets a chance to play something first, so cards like Dampen Light and Dreamlore Documents are really lessened in effectiveness.
×
×
  • Create New...