Jump to content

player999299

Members
  • Content Count

    104
  • Joined

  • Last visited

    Never

About player999299

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Denver, Colorado, United States
  1. I agree that the new card should be revealed when you would resolve it (that is after resolving the deck 1 card), but I think the wildling threat is added. While the rewording of the 2nd edition rules make it sound like you would skip it, the player aide makes it pretty clear that you should count the new wildling threat (as in 1st edition). Presumably that could also cause an immediate wildling attack if the threat went to 12. (That's not addressed in 1st edition, since there was no immediate wildling attack rule).
  2. Timofeo said: In terms of which is activated first I would say placement on the Iron Throne should decide Tyrion is always resolved before the opponent's card. The general rule from page 19 is that cards which ignore or cancel the opponent's card are resolved first. Also, the situation here is that Aeron wasn't even played initially, he is played as a result of resolving Tyrion's card.
  3. Following the rules you do not use Tides of Battle cards when attacking neutral forces.
  4. Actually 1st edition base game was 5 players. The first expansion added the 6th player and a host of optional components. The second expansion added a separate 4 player map with several rules changes, plus a few options to mix into the base game. The 1st edition add-ons they still don't have are 1-time orders, fortifications, leaders, and tactics cards. (Although the change to the special consolidate order partially implements the 1-time orders). That said, I agree that Fantasy Flight seems unlikely to release these as an expansion for 2nd edition. What I would be happiest to see is a whole 2nd edition reprint of the Storm of Swords map, but it seems they are trying to do something similar with just cards in the Feast for Crows expansion.
  5. This is the forum for the board game, you are looking for the LCG forum. I know there is a very detailed FAQ on the timing of LCG card effects, but I don't know the answer to your question.
  6. No, you can only place an order in an area with a unit. This is spelled out at the start of the Assign Orders step on page 12.
  7. I think we're already having this discussion on BGG, but I say no. When a House card say's "your opponent" it just means the other side of the battle (the attacker or defender). This was specifically clarified in the 1st edition FAQ, but I think it is also the logical reading of the card. Even if another player is supporting your opponent, the support order still belongs to that player, so Queen of Thorns cannot discard it.
  8. It all depends on how tight a game you want. If your players are not very aggressive, you might go higher, but the low end is probably better. (In fact, on further thought, anything above 6 is rather excessive). The Lannister/Greyjoy thing is a whole different issue that stems largely from the very strong housecards that Greyjoy was given in 2nd edition. I think with more experience players start to adapt to this, but the learning experience can be more fun for Greyjoy than Lannister. (Basically Greyjoy learns that being too aggressive without getting 7 castles is likely to open the door for someone else to grab the win, but Lannister spends those games feeling picked on). It's probably one of the best arguments for swapping out Greyjoy or Lannister with Tyrel. Personally I would avoid changing game rules or trying too hard to reproduce the novels, but whatever your group has fun with. I'm a big believer in the idea that just about any setup can be balanced if players can evaluate the threats and potential allies, and everyone stays focused on winning.
  9. Unfortunately this weekend was not the release unless you know someone at the event, but a preview of an expansion that will likely be released in the next six months. For the meantime, I think the main thing you want to do to balance the four player game is give about 4 to 8 castle areas impassable garrisons. You can do this with the suggested houses and just block most of the south. Another suggestion I've liked but haven't played is to use Lannister, Baratheon, Tyrel, and Martell, then block of Pyke, the top two sea areas, and all the land north of Seagard.
  10. Any area adjacent to the sea can muster ships into that sea area (provided it does not contain enemy ships of course). This is a common misunderstanding due to some unfortunate ambiguous wording the rules. They mention both a mustering area and a port, then use the phrase adjacent sea area without specifying what it needs to be adjacent to. However if you look in the mustering example in the rules, it shows an area with no port mustering ships into the adjacent sea area. For your second question, each port is only adjacent to one sea area. So Winterfell can muster ships into the port or either sea area, but ships in the port can only march, raid, support, and be raided by the Bay of Ice.
  11. Batu said: But how about pg 25 "Other Port Rules", last bullet? Is the intent that a Special(starred) Consolidate Power token can never be used to muster ships or only not to muster them in port, but mustering at sea is OK? The intent is that when the special consolidate power order is placed in the port it cannot be used to muster. It is kind of strange clarification, since it is just one case of the more general rule from page 22 that a special consolidate power order placed in an area without a castle or stronghold cannot be used to muster. When the special consolidate is resolved in an area with a stronghold or castle it can muster ships into adjacent sea areas and the adjacent port according to normal mustering rules.
  12. There actually is a rule specifically against it in the Ship Transport section on page 23. "a player may never use ships of another House as transports, even if given permission by that House." In general, the argument of "there is no rule against it" is not enough to mean something is allowed. For example there is no rule against raiding your opponent's march orders. Instead there are specific rules stating what you can raid: adjacent enemy raid, support, or consolidate power orders, or adjacent enemy defense orders if using the special raid.
  13. No, a verbal alliance with another player is just that: a verbal alliance. They must still treat all of your units as enemies. Also, the order token on a ship has no effect on whether it can be used for ship transport.
  14. 1) A port is its own area for all purposes. The ships there always count as a separate army from units in the adjacent land area and sea area. 2) You do not need to leave a power token in your own home territory. Whenever that area is empty, the sigil printed on the board acts like one of your power tokens.
  15. If there are not enough cards in the blip pile to spawn the full amount, you must spawn as many as you are able. So in your example the one genestealer on the right would spawn on the red terrain, then the top two genestealers on the left would spawn on the yellow terrain. Then you would do Genestealer movement (assuming there is one on this event card). At this point the event phase ends and since the right blip pile is empty you travel now. The last genestealer in the left blip pile is discarded, then the blip piles will get refilled as you setup the next location.
×
×
  • Create New...