Jump to content

fabest

Members
  • Content Count

    159
  • Joined

  • Last visited

    Never

Everything posted by fabest

  1. The french version says "When…". But it's a response so it's obvious he doesn't take any damage when using it. It's not an action.
  2. I think he's quite amazing as Spirit can easily reduce the total threat. And he's quite cheap too. Far better than Eleanor for the same price in my opinion.
  3. - First you deal 1 shadow card to each enemy engaged with you. So the Beastmaster has his 1st one. - Then, when I decide that it's his turn to attack, I deal him another one. - Finally I resolve both during the step "Resolve shadow effect" That's how I play it and how it seems to make sense to me.
  4. Attacking is not comparing offense vs defense and dealing damage. This is the last step of the attacking phase. Attacking starts with Choose an enemy. From this moment the chosen enemy is considered as attacking. So I play everything that says "after X attacks" right after X's attack has been chosen to be resolved.
  5. I've already asked this, no consensus on this one. Need to wait for the FAQ, until then you just play it the way you prefer ^^
  6. Nothing official yet but there's one thread in these forums that gather most of the rules questions (check for the FAQ keyword ^^).
  7. Yes, it's amazing. A blast to watch and very intuitive to use. Thx ! Edit: I notice some mistakes though. Faramir & Guard of the Citadel are not displayed when sorting cards with the Gondor trait.
  8. You're not supposed to do this, but you play the way you like ^^
  9. That's absolutely correct. In the 3rd scenario, it's very bad to have an objective card shuffled back in the encounter deck.
  10. You can play actions after the shadow card is revealed / resolved and before the combat damage is determined. So in your example yes you can save your character. But if the Shadow card would have said "deal 1 damage to defending character", you wouldn't have been able to save him.
  11. Only a Response can make you react to something. An Action can be played only when an action window is open, and when no other Action (by another player or by the game) is resolving.
  12. I like him with Thalin too. You can kill right away any enemy with 2 HP or less.
  13. Well yes, in that case, you raise your threat by the amount of Hero you are playing. Not the worst card to start with in my opinion.
  14. I don't understand. Driven by Shadow does nothing in the set-up phase. It says that it raises the threat of the cards in the SA but there are no cards in the SA. And even if there were some, their threat isn't relevant until the Quest phase. You don't even apply the Surge keyword as it is only active during the Quest phase. Text : When Revealed: Each enemy and each location in the staging area gets +1 until the of the phase. If there are no cards in the staging area, Driven by Shadow gains surge.
  15. I like your thinking although you're elven, Elven Archer.
  16. Note that these are not Shadow cards but encounter cards (or cards from the encounter deck). Shadow is something different in this game.
  17. sorty said: Maybe another question for the FAQ: If the first card attached to an objective is a location with "surge" keyword, I reveal another card from the encounter deck but where do I place this new "surged" card? Do I attach it to the objective, together with the first encounter card - and both of them are protecting the same objective card - or do I place it separately in the staging area? I posted the same question on bgg and there are very different answers, so I think this could be added to the FAQ. What do you think, anyway? I would place it separately as nothing says in the rules that an objective can have several cards protecting it. "Surge" says to reveal another card, just like it was another card you would have revealed anyway. So in a multiplayers game, if the first card revealed is an objective, you draw another one to protect it. If it has Surge, you draw another one as if it was the encounter card of the next player (but you will still have to draw one for him of course).
  18. Gandalf is a must play now because there are not a lot of cards available. In my opinion, the solo play is too much luck reliant and so it's not very interesting yet. You can do 2 games with the same deck, 1 you can win and the other one you can be trashed. If the encounter deck is against you, there's almost nothing you can do. Only the nightmare mode can prevent this, but it's long But with the extensions, some cards will help the resources & draw management, which are crucial. And so the decks would be more consistent and you will probably be able to win the 2nd scenario with a good ratio without Gandalf .
  19. servant of the secret fire said: If i want to make a deck with more than 50 cards can i have 54-55 or if i pass 50 i must have 60?I can't find a rule for this. Why would you have to make a 60 cards deck if you wanna use more than 50 cards (which is not a great idea by the way) ?
  20. The quest is completed immediately, so Legolas counters will be put on the new one. Legolas ability waits until the end of the combat phase, and so occurs after the change of quest. This has been ruled like that on the french official forums.
  21. Paul Grogan said: fabest said: This is official. Whilst I agree with the ruling (though the card is worded really bad), it isnt official until we get the FAQ or an official answer from FFG. I've not seen either yet In France, the person in charge of the rules on the official forums said that it should be played like that. Offical enough for me ^^
  22. scottindeed said: With the Shadow Card that makes you discard an attachment, I would argue you can get rid of Caught In A Web. On p25 of the Rulebook: "Players always assume control of Attachments that have been played on their characters". Yes you would argue but this has been argued before. A card that comes from the encounter deck is never considered as "being played" or "played". Only cards that comes from player's hands can be considered "played". So you do not control Caught in a Web. This is official.
  23. The enemies and locations that grant you victory points are not shuffled back in the encounter deck (the encounter deck depletes quickly with several players). You keep them close to you until the game ends.
  24. Well, as long as you don't name the card directly… You can say "ok let's all go questing, trust me it's the best thing to do this round". With 5 resources available on your characters, the other players will probably understand what's going on. But it's not against the rules, and I play like that. Obviously, when more cards will be available, other players won't be able to know exactly what you're planning but they should trust you anyway as you work together.
×
×
  • Create New...