Jump to content

Matrim

Members
  • Content Count

    516
  • Joined

  • Last visited


Reputation Activity

  1. Like
    Matrim reacted to RobertK in Multiple Elusive Creatures   
    “The first time a creature with the elusive keyword is attacked each turn, it is dealt no damage and deals no damage to the attacker in the fight.”
    If you think there is an ambiguity here, how about we cast about for the intent. But where could we look, you say? How about the reminder text! Maybe it casts a glimmer of illumination on this conundrum! Let’s see!!
    ”(The first time THIS creature is attacked each turn, no damage is dealt.)”
    Are there truly those present who wish to patently ignore the transparently clear intent of this reminder text simply to argue in favor of a contrived ambiguity?
    Again, please stop. The rule and the reminder text make the intent clear. And please don’t invoke rules from other games about the role of reminder text. I could invoke rules from Panzerblitz and the invocation would be similarly irrelevant.
  2. Like
    Matrim reacted to BigBadAndy in Multiple Elusive Creatures   
    Well, saying someone is being ridiculous is not name calling.  It’s a description of an action.  Name calling would be “you are ridiculous.”  I suppose I could say “this is just you advancing a laughably unlikely interpretation of the rules which is not likely to ever be raised by anyone in the real world, which I think is ridiculous.”  But since he put his previous response in a haiku I’m guessing he appreciates the elegance of “you being ridiculous” more.  But if I’ve triggered anyone they are free to file a complaint.
    EDIT: Speaking of triggered, @Poposhka please tell me that’s a digital image or a dry erase marker on a card sleeve and that you didn’t write in the actual card...
  3. Like
    Matrim reacted to BigBadAndy in Multiple Elusive Creatures   
    The reminder text in the cards makes it pretty clear that “the first time a creature with elusive is attacked” means “a particular creature.”  This is a very valid interpretation of the article a. For example, if you said “the first time a man is arrested he receives a lighter sentence,” not a single person anywhere in the world would say “but the first time a man was arrested was many years ago when the first person was ever arrested.  Therefore no one gets a lighter sentence anymore.”  
    This is not a rule that is causing any confusion.  This is just you being ridiculous. Edit: maybe that was a little more harsh than intended.  But the combination of the simplest most obvious interpretation being confirmed by the reminder text makes this a no brainer to me.
  4. Like
    Matrim reacted to RobertK in Multiple Elusive Creatures   
    With the rules text, to be very clear...
     
    What value would the "it" that I have bolded have if elusive was intended to only work once for the whole turn? That "it" would serve no purpose. It would be worded entirely differently.
    This isn't about you being clever and showing that you can squeeze a new meaning out of mis-parsed words. This is about adding confusion where none needs to be. Please stop.
  5. Like
    Matrim reacted to Poposhka in Multiple Elusive Creatures   
    I have attached a helpful image. Please stop being purposefully obtuse in this and other threads, you are detrimental to the community  

  6. Like
    Matrim reacted to ornithologist in Krump destoyed timing   
    Someone got an email ruling back on this:
     
    Does Krump need to survive the fight to resolve this ability?

    Yes. The creature must always survive the fight to resolve both triggered and constant abilities.

    Does this work when Krump is attacked?

    Yes. Constant abilities are always active and resolve whenever Krump is fighting, not only when attacking.
  7. Like
    Matrim reacted to TheSpitfired in Gabos Longarms + Elusive interaction.   
    I will admit that I do kind of almost see the other side of this, but I will answer like I did on BGG:
    Gabos Longarms is built to attack Elusive creatures.
    Gabos attacks creature A (who has elusive).
    His before fight ability triggers and he deals damage to a different target. Creature B.
    Now his fight resolves with creature A, and elusive triggers. No damage is received by creature A and Gabos is dealt no damage in return.
    If a second creature attacks Creature A, fight goes as normal as elusive has been triggered.
    Even one step further, let’s say Creature B had elusive? Gabos is dealing it damage directly before the fight, not attacking it this turn. Elusive doesn’t trigger on creature B.
    Because Elusive specifically applies to the creature that has it (IT is dealt no damage) I don’t think its ability can reduce the damage Gabos is dealing to other creatures as it is not the one being dealt damage.
  8. Like
    Matrim reacted to twinstarbmc in Gabos Longarms + Elusive interaction.   
    @WonderWAAAGH, @Palpster
    Hm... Ok, ok, let's break this down into little tiny steps.
    Let's say I have Gabos, and you have the Unnamed Elusive Creature.
    I declare I'm attacking your UEC with my Gabos.  Before we actually fight, I say Gabos is going to deal its damage to Unnamed Nonlusive Creature (UNC). Gabos fights UEC. Check Elusive: "The first time a creature with the elusive keyword is attacked each turn..." - TRUE "...it is dealt no damage and deals no damage to the attacker in the fight." Looks like the key here is "it is dealt no damage," where it is the UEC. Gabos isn't trying to damage it, it's damaging the UNC instead. So yeah, I take it back, Gabos would still deal damage to the other creature.
  9. Like
    Matrim reacted to RobertK in Armageddon Cloak versus Stealer of Souls   
    This is clearly the correct answer. Anything that happens only "after" a particular event happens can not occur unless that prerequisite event actually occurs. The result of Armageddon's Cloak effect is that the creature is NOT destroyed, therefore effect of Stealer of Souls can NOT happen either.
  10. Like
    Matrim got a reaction from Deathseed in What's the deal with archiving   
    My favourite archive type is to archive a 'useless' card that is situational. Say Bait and Switch when you have 6 aember and your opponent none. Archive it and wait until it is needed. That way you dont discard it (as otherwsie it fills up a useful card slot or worse keep it in hand lowering your options).
     
  11. Like
    Matrim reacted to debiant in What's the deal with archiving   
    This... Not that it isn't nice to have a huge draw on a later turn, it's a huge benefit, but there are cards that can wreck your archive and ruin your big turn. Situational cards find a good home in the archive. Bait and Switch and certain other cards can be brutal at the appropriate time, but a lot of times, they just clog your hand. 
  12. Like
    Matrim got a reaction from debiant in What's the deal with archiving   
    My favourite archive type is to archive a 'useless' card that is situational. Say Bait and Switch when you have 6 aember and your opponent none. Archive it and wait until it is needed. That way you dont discard it (as otherwsie it fills up a useful card slot or worse keep it in hand lowering your options).
     
  13. Like
    Matrim got a reaction from Artedil in What's the deal with archiving   
    My favourite archive type is to archive a 'useless' card that is situational. Say Bait and Switch when you have 6 aember and your opponent none. Archive it and wait until it is needed. That way you dont discard it (as otherwsie it fills up a useful card slot or worse keep it in hand lowering your options).
     
  14. Like
    Matrim reacted to dpuck1998 in Shadow self   
    Trolling me for some reason?  Nope was in response to the question asked.  
    Not sure why you find it rude but guess you are looking to be offended.  
  15. Like
    Matrim reacted to Derrault in Question about Horseman of Famine   
    Your hint is the use of the article “the” and the singular “creature”. 
    It’s telling you to destroy one, don’t overthink it. 
    Edit: blah, late post 
  16. Like
    Matrim reacted to TwitchyBait in Question about Horseman of Famine   
    The text doesn’t have to say selecting, it states blatantly a singular not plural thus if there are two creatures of least power in play and you only get to destroy one as the text says you must, by logic, select one.
  17. Like
    Matrim reacted to TwitchyBait in Question about Horseman of Famine   
    It does require a selection, creature is singular thus if there are more than one you must select one. If it meant for you to destroy all with the least power it would say creatures, plural.
  18. Like
    Matrim reacted to Palpster in Question about Horseman of Famine   
    send it in as a question. You’ll get a response back that only one creature is chosen. 
    I will admit you make *some* sense technically, but it’s reaching and looks to be clearly against intent. If yiu want to be sure, ask FFG.
  19. Like
    Matrim reacted to RobertK in Question about Horseman of Famine   
    The text indicates "creature". That is singular. One creature.  That is why you have to make a choice. And thus the rule on choosing one "least powerful" creature comes into play.
  20. Like
    Matrim got a reaction from Brekekekiwi in Question about Horseman of Famine   
    Aha a question related to my speciality 'English' . You will note the card says 'destroy the least powerful  creature'
    I find this a give away. This is what we commonly call a 'single' object in that it references one of an item. Other ways that the sentence can be generated include something called 'plural' which references multiple creatures.
     
    Anyway sarcasm aside please carry on trying to make a strong card stronger by mis-reading the card.
  21. Like
    Matrim got a reaction from TwitchyBait in Question about Horseman of Famine   
    Aha a question related to my speciality 'English' . You will note the card says 'destroy the least powerful  creature'
    I find this a give away. This is what we commonly call a 'single' object in that it references one of an item. Other ways that the sentence can be generated include something called 'plural' which references multiple creatures.
     
    Anyway sarcasm aside please carry on trying to make a strong card stronger by mis-reading the card.
  22. Like
    Matrim got a reaction from sabrjay in Question about Horseman of Famine   
    No one, feel free to look up 'sarcasm' in dictionary.
  23. Haha
    Matrim got a reaction from Dave Cordeiro [REAPOUT] in Question about Horseman of Famine   
    Aha a question related to my speciality 'English' . You will note the card says 'destroy the least powerful  creature'
    I find this a give away. This is what we commonly call a 'single' object in that it references one of an item. Other ways that the sentence can be generated include something called 'plural' which references multiple creatures.
     
    Anyway sarcasm aside please carry on trying to make a strong card stronger by mis-reading the card.
  24. Like
    Matrim got a reaction from sabrjay in Question about Horseman of Famine   
    Aha a question related to my speciality 'English' . You will note the card says 'destroy the least powerful  creature'
    I find this a give away. This is what we commonly call a 'single' object in that it references one of an item. Other ways that the sentence can be generated include something called 'plural' which references multiple creatures.
     
    Anyway sarcasm aside please carry on trying to make a strong card stronger by mis-reading the card.
  25. Sad
    Matrim got a reaction from Cgriffith in Question about Horseman of Famine   
    Aha a question related to my speciality 'English' . You will note the card says 'destroy the least powerful  creature'
    I find this a give away. This is what we commonly call a 'single' object in that it references one of an item. Other ways that the sentence can be generated include something called 'plural' which references multiple creatures.
     
    Anyway sarcasm aside please carry on trying to make a strong card stronger by mis-reading the card.
×
×
  • Create New...