Jump to content

Blasto

Members
  • Content Count

    11
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Blasto

  • Rank
    Member

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    -
  • MSN
    -
  • Website URL
    -
  • ICQ
    -
  • Yahoo
    -
  • Skype
    -

Profile Information

  • Location
    Seattle, Washington, United States

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Hello Fellow Geeks and FFG! Both Imperial Assault, and Descent 2 have great Apps that take on the role as the Overlord/Imperial player. Removing the requirement for someone to take on the roll of the "Bad Guy" making the game 100% Co-op (thank you). It also allows people who have busy schedules to play both games in a kind of solo mode (thank you again). As a suggestion, I would love to see an Update/Add-on that allows the Human player to take on the role of the Overlord/Imperial player and the App/IA take on the roll of the Heroes. I think this would allow people to enjoy both sides of the game that FFG's put so much effort in to developing. Thanks for the listen!
  2. Hello, A question came up in our first 5 player game of Civ last night. When you invest a coin token, you remove the token and get an investment token, then reduce the number of coins on your dial. In my question, a coin was taken off the Tech card "Democracy" and converted in to an investment token. The Democracy tech allows you to convert 6 trade in to a coin, for a max of 4 coins. With Investments removing tokens the question came up, is it a max of 4 uses of the tech ability, or a max of 4 tokens on the card at any one time? We played this as a Max of 4 coin tokens at any one time. Thank you for your input!
  3. Ispher said: If the Lieutenant can put himself in a position where he is not reachable, maybe a new concept should be introduced: the Stand-Off. A Stand-Off would be a new outcome to a Lieutenant fight where, if after an arbitrary number of turns (my guess would be somewhere between 10 and 15) no side has won or fled, the fight ends in a Stand-Off. In a Stand-Off, both sides stay in the same location they met. All siege engines in that location are removed (the Lieutenant was "distracted" from sieging by the heroes), but the heroes may not visit the location either (the fight "took the whole week"). Additionally, both sides may not attack each other the following week (because of exhaustion). Of course, it is not very different from a Lieutenant flight (except that the heroes may not visit the location), but with such situations that seem to be game bugs, I agree one has to come up with some kind of solution... I think this is still a little to heavy in the partys favor. Pretty quickly the Lieutenants can get killed by the party in a single turn. I don't think the Lieutentant should be forced to suicide in to the party before they can full sail the Revenge off the other side of the map. My game group just did the 4 hour Stand-Off with the Siren at copper level and somthing should be done to address that. The Heros could kill all of the Skeletons that I could summon in a single turn and would do enouf damage to the LT in a single round that going toe to toe with the Party was silly. But on the flip side Those sharks just destroy Heros at copper and they can't swim out to engauge the LT either. I like the Stand-Off idea, I'm not sure how many turns it would need to be. But discarding ALL of the Siege tokens would be a bit much. I think a better Idea would be to remove 1 Token. The party can not enter the city. This would stop the LT from Rolling to destroy a City, but still keep the pressure on to deal with the LT or have the LT engauge the party as no progress will be made. If you remove the stack of siege tokens the party will force the stand-off rule every few turns to reset the Siege clock with never really needing to deal with the LT.
  4. I believe these encounters will be easier when the heroes invest in the swim skill.
  5. Hello, I read the FAQ on Sea of Blood and it states that monsters cannot actavite the revenge on Island levels. The FAQ also states you can not spawn on the Revenge during Island levels. For Encounters is this the same? Well, spawning you still can't as the monsters come on from the board edge. But I'm thinking that I can have the monsters board the heros ships and stier it of the game map. In the FAQ FFG stated Island levels. I agree with this, having the Overlord being able to kick the heros out of the dungeon is a little to powerful. I think FFG would have stated "Monsters cannot activate the Revenge" if they also ment the encounters.
  6. Corbon said: I mean, have you really played so many campaigns that you've used run out of heroes and need a new one? Thanks for the reply, No we havn't played so often that we've run out of heroes yet. For our Sea of Blood Campaign we did remove all of the ones we've used in our 4 campaigns so far so the whole campaign felt "new". The hero players drew three heros for each spot and Tobin came up. I picked up Kel and Tobin during FFG's Black Friday sale and I didn't know what promotion they were part of. The campaign is almost to Silver and the Overlord (me) is sitting at 54points ahead at the moment so they havn't been breaking the game. Tobin does a large amount of damage, so if he's on guard you need to go smack him with a crappy monster to either draw out the guard token or hit him and lose it before showing the larger monster out. Tobin with being able to use his ability with a cannon would make the ship encounters almost pointless. We'll see how he does in Silver and Gold, when those ranged weapons really up the power he might go though the roof. If thats the case we'll just remove him for our character stack for most games. Luckly my game group mains focus is to have fun so we're all for not having a run-away game. Thanks again for the reply and the info on Tobin!
  7. Hello, I wanted to get your feelings toward the Promo Hero Tobin Farslayer and Cannons in SoB. The new FAQ states that Heros can use their skills and abilities while shooting cannons in SoB. I'm cool with this for all the heroes save Tobin Farslayer. His ability to add range to damage will sink the encounters ships almost in one shot everytime. I'm thinking of a house rule that blocks this one ability from use with cannons. What do you think?
  8. James McMurray said: Blasto said: Hello, We started a new SoB campaign this Saturday and had a few questions that we couldn't find answers to. We've played RTL twice so we're used to the campaign system. 1) One of the players is using a Promo Hero (well, 3 out of 4 are promo's but only one has a question). One of Truthseer Kel's abilitys is "Obstacles and other figures do not block Line of Sight". At first we just assumed this ment for attacks, but at the end of the days gaming it was talked about how it would also effect Summoning. Now other versions that allow figures to ignore LoS issues is usually limited to one square. Is her ability just for attacking or also for Summoning? Is her ability only blocked by walls? Is her ability more then one square? 2) In RTL the FAQ removes a few of the overlord cards and some of the hero's skills. Some new skills were removed in SoB, but not all of them, I was wondering if this was a typo or missprint. These cards are: QuickCasting (not allowed in RTL, but not in the list for SoB) Poltergeist (Overlord card) Rolling Stone (Overlord card) Crushing Blow (Limited to 1 in RTL, not listed in SoB) 3) Lastly, as the Overlord I picked The Count for our first time though and bought BloodSuckers greatly boosting the RazorWings. After the 1st dungeon I found Leech to be almost to strong, so I wanted to make sure we're doing it correctly. A hero has zero fatigue left, he has 2 armor and gets hit by a RazorWing for 5 damage. 3 damage is done after armor, since he has zero fatigue he takes 3 more damage. Is this correct? If the monster is at full health does leach still happen? 4) Can you swing on a rope diagonaly? Thank you for your input! 1) One of the players is using a Promo Hero (well, 3 out of 4 are promo's but only one has a question). One of Truthseer Kel's abilitys is "Obstacles and other figures do not block Line of Sight". At first we just assumed this ment for attacks, but at the end of the days gaming it was talked about how it would also effect Summoning. Now other versions that allow figures to ignore LoS issues is usually limited to one square. Is her ability just for attacking or also for Summoning? Is her ability only blocked by walls? Is her ability more then one square? Currently the ability affects all aspects of line of sight, not just attacking. It's definitely more than one square. It's only obstacles though, so anything that is a prop but not a figure or obstacle would still work. Good luck getting a definitive list of what counts. Check the "list of obstacles" thread for a contentious list of what all things are labelled obstacles (but might not actually be meant to be obstacles). 2) In RTL the FAQ removes a few of the overlord cards and some of the hero's skills. Some new skills were removed in SoB, but not all of them, I was wondering if this was a typo or missprint. These cards are: QuickCasting (not allowed in RTL, but not in the list for SoB) Poltergeist (Overlord card) Rolling Stone (Overlord card) Crushing Blow (Limited to 1 in RTL, not listed in SoB) The RTL FAQ currently has no effect on Sea of Blood, though some will say that any entries which refer to "the advanced campaign" would affect both. With any luck there's a SoB FAQ on its way. 3) Lastly, as the Overlord I picked The Count for our first time though and bought BloodSuckers greatly boosting the RazorWings. After the 1st dungeon I found Leech to be almost to strong, so I wanted to make sure we're doing it correctly. A hero has zero fatigue left, he has 2 armor and gets hit by a RazorWing for 5 damage. 3 damage is done after armor, since he has zero fatigue he takes 3 more damage. Is this correct? If the monster is at full health does leach still happen? This is correct. If the monster is at full health, the extra damage is still dealt. 4) Can you swing on a rope diagonaly? Sorry, your last question said "lastly," so I won't answer this one. No, you cannot swing diagonally on a rope. LOL, Thanks I fixed teh lastly part, I rememberd that question at the end.
  9. Hello, We started a new SoB campaign this Saturday and had a few questions that we couldn't find answers to. We've played RTL twice so we're used to the campaign system. 1) One of the players is using a Promo Hero (well, 3 out of 4 are promo's but only one has a question). One of Truthseer Kel's abilitys is "Obstacles and other figures do not block Line of Sight". At first we just assumed this ment for attacks, but at the end of the days gaming it was talked about how it would also effect Summoning. Now other versions that allow figures to ignore LoS issues is usually limited to one square. Is her ability just for attacking or also for Summoning? Is her ability only blocked by walls? Is her ability more then one square? 2) In RTL the FAQ removes a few of the overlord cards and some of the hero's skills. Some new skills were removed in SoB, but not all of them, I was wondering if this was a typo or missprint. These cards are: QuickCasting (not allowed in RTL, but not in the list for SoB) Poltergeist (Overlord card) Rolling Stone (Overlord card) Crushing Blow (Limited to 1 in RTL, not listed in SoB) 3) As the Overlord I picked The Count for our first time though and bought BloodSuckers greatly boosting the RazorWings. After the 1st dungeon I found Leech to be almost to strong, so I wanted to make sure we're doing it correctly. A hero has zero fatigue left, he has 2 armor and gets hit by a RazorWing for 5 damage. 3 damage is done after armor, since he has zero fatigue he takes 3 more damage. Is this correct? If the monster is at full health does leach still happen? 4) Can you swing on a rope diagonaly? Thank you for your input!
  10. Hello, We finished our game week and found out we're over the 600point mark and the final battle is going to start when we get together again. After reading the rules it looks like the players get 1 training action be for the 5 level dungon starts. My friends also noted that I get to buy one more upgrade (I'm the Overlord). But when I look at the rule book, I don't see where it says the Overlord gets a chance to buy anything, nor do I see it in the FAQ. Our Sea's of Blood campaign is next, and in that book it does show that the Overlord gets a buy action at the end, just not for RTL. Am I missing where this is (not on page 10 or 20)? Thank you for your help, Dave
×
×
  • Create New...